“Come to Me” (Mt 11:28)

Fourteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Zechariah 9:9-10

Thus says the LORD: Rejoice heartily, O daughter Zion, shout for joy, O daughter Jerusalem! See, your king shall come to you; a just savior is he, meek, and riding on an ass, on a colt, the foal of an ass. He shall banish the chariot from Ephraim, and the horse from Jerusalem; the warrior's bow shall be banished, and he shall proclaim peace to the nations. His dominion shall be from sea to sea, and from the River to the ends of the earth.

Romans 8:9, 11-13

Brothers and sisters: You are not in the flesh; on the contrary, you are in the spirit, if only the Spirit of God dwells in you. Whoever does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him. If the Spirit of the one who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, the one who raised Christ from the dead will give life to your mortal bodies also, through his Spirit that dwells in you. Consequently, brothers and sisters, we are not debtors to the flesh, to live according to the flesh. For if you live according to the flesh, you will die, but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.

Matthew 11:25-30

At that time Jesus exclaimed: "I give praise to you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, for although you have hidden these things from the wise and the learned you have revealed them to little ones. Yes, Father, such has been your gracious will. All things have been handed over to me by my Father. No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son wishes to reveal him." "Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden light."

I think it is fair to say, what a strange year 2020 has been! When an unknown “novel” virus hit North America at the beginning of this year, who would have thought our lives would be altered for good. While the lifestyle in which we take comfort has taken a sudden turn and our certainties have turned into quicksand, we are forced to adapt a new way of thinking and living. It is exactly in these times of uncertainties that we are brought back to the only certainty of hope and love through the in-dwelling Spirit of Christ.

At the height of the Pandemic lockdown, we weren’t even able to see our own family; parents, grandparents, siblings, in-laws, and so on. The physical distancing, though absolutely necessary, has put tremendous stress on individuals and families: financial, social, emotional, psychological and certainly, spiritual. Some feel disconnected; cut off from the rest of the world and are plagued by feelings of intense loneliness and helplessness (think of our seniors in long-term care homes and hospices).

This week’s readings cannot come at a better time! St. Paul reminds us in the letter to the Romans that in truth, God’s Spirit dwells in us and because we have the Spirit of Christ, we all belong to Christ. Jesus, our constant companion on our journey, walks with us every solitary step of the way! The same “Spirit of God who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in [us]”; gives us the certainty and hope that “he who raised Christ from the dead will give life to [our] mortal bodies also through his Spirit that dwells in [us]” (Rm 8:11).

When we feel we’re crumbling under the weight of our worries, insecurities, and doubts, Jesus tells us, “Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest” (Mt 11:28). Such is a gentle but affirmative call; beckoning us to return to Christ, the source of life. Jesus says, “Take my yoke upon you”; interestingly, He never says that He’ll take away our yoke completely (Mt 11:29). He reassures us that His “yoke is easy” and His “burden is light” (Mt 11:30). Whether we notice it or not, Christ walks with us through every hill and valley, sharing our yoke and burden. Yes, we all have our “yoke”, but our human spirit can always find strength in the in-dwelling Spirit of Christ! Jesus reminds us: “I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Mt 11:29). With gentleness and humility, we trek on with the hope and certainty that only the Holy Spirit can give.

Only Jesus can unbind us – from our worries, fear, doubts, uncertainties – thus, we shall rejoice like the sons and daughters of Zion. Let us shout joyfully because “your king comes to you; triumphant and victorious is he, humble and riding on a donkey” (Zech 9:9).

Posted: July 5, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to Ask for the Best Gifts
"At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night; and God said, 'Ask what I should give you'" (1 Kg 3:5).—This is what God is saying to… Continue Reading >

「你們都到我跟前來」(瑪 11:28)

常年期第十四主日

匝加利亞先知書 9:9-10

上主這樣說:「熙雍女子,你應盡量喜樂!耶路撒冷女子,你應該歡呼!看,你的君王來到你這裡;他是正義的、勝利的、謙遜的,騎在驢上,騎在驢駒上。他要由厄弗辣因,剷除戰車;從耶路撒冷,除掉戰馬;作戰的弓箭,也要被消除。他要向萬民宣布和平;他的權柄,由這海到那海,從大河直達地極。」

羅馬書 8:9,11-13

弟兄姊妹們:你們已不屬於肉性,而是屬於聖神,只要天主的聖神,住在你們內。誰若沒有基督的聖神,誰就不屬於基督。再者,如果那使耶穌從死者中復活者的聖神,住在你們內,那麼,那使基督從死者中復活的,也必要藉那住在你們內的聖神,使你們有死的身體復活。弟兄們!這樣看來,我們並不欠肉性的債,以致該隨從肉性生活。如果你們隨從肉性生活,必要死亡;然而,如果你們依賴聖神,去致死肉性的妄動,必能生活。

瑪竇福音 11:25-30

那時候,耶穌發言說:「父啊!天地的主宰!我稱謝你,因為你將這些事,瞞住了智慧和明達的人,而啟示給小孩子。是的,父啊!你原來喜歡這樣。我父將一切交給了我;除了父之外,沒有人認識子;除了子,和子所願意啟示的人外,也沒有人認識父。「凡勞苦和負重擔的,你們都到我面前來;我要使你們安息。你們背起我的軛,跟我學習吧!因為我是良善心謙的。這樣,你們必要找得你們靈魂的安息,因為我的軛是柔和的,我的擔子是輕鬆的。」

2020 年真是奇怪的一年!我想這個說法是公平的。 當一個不為人知的「新型」病毒在年初襲擊北美洲的時候,誰會想到我們的生活從此被改變。當我們一向習慣了的自在生活方式,忽然急劇轉變,一向肯定掌握到的事情變成流沙,我們被迫適應新思維和新的生活方式。在這些不明朗的時刻,基督內的聖神把我們帶回唯一肯定的希望和仁愛。

在因疫情而禁足的非常時期,我們不能去見自己的家人 — 父母、祖父母、兄弟姊妹、姻親等等。儘管保持距離是必要的,卻對個人或家庭造成極大的壓力:經濟上、社交上、情緒上、心理上和靈性上的壓力。有些人會覺得與人失了聯繫,與世界隔絕了和被嚴重的孤單無助感折磨着(想想我們住在長期護理院和善終院舍裏面的長者)。

本週的讀經實在合時!聖保祿在致羅馬人書裏提醒我們,真理是,天主聖神住在我們內,而我們因為有基督的聖神,所以我們同屬於基督。耶穌 — 我們旅途上永遠的同伴 — 與我們一起踏上獨行中的每一步!同一個「使耶穌從死者中復活的聖神住在【我們】內」;給予我們肯定和希望「那使基督從死者中復活的,也必要藉那住在【我們】內的聖神,使【我們】有死的身體復活」(羅 8:11) 。

當我們感覺自己被憂慮、缺乏安全感和懷疑的重擔壓得倒下來的時候,耶穌告訴我們:「凡勞苦和負重擔的,你們都到我跟前來,我要使你們安息」(瑪 11:28)。這呼喚是如此溫柔和肯定;向我們招手,回到生命之源 — 基督那裏。耶穌說:「你們背起我的軛」;有趣的是,祂從來沒有說祂會完全免除我們的軛 (瑪 11:29)。祂向我們保證祂的「軛是柔和的」和祂的「擔子是輕鬆的」(瑪 11:30)。無論我們有沒有留意,基督與我們一起走過每一個山嶺和幽谷,分擔我們的軛和重擔。是的,我們每人都有自己的「軛」,但我們人的靈魂經常可以從住在我們內的基督聖神找到力量!耶穌提醒我們:「我是良善心謙的,⋯ 你們必要找得你們靈魂的安息」(瑪 11:29)。溫和謙卑地,我們以只有天主聖神才能賜予的希望和肯定,向前邁進。

只有耶穌能夠從掛慮、恐懼、懷疑與不肯定中解放我們,故此,我們會像熙雍的子女般喜樂歡欣。讓我們喜樂地歡呼,因為 「你的君王到你這裡來,他是正義的,勝利的,謙遜的,騎在驢上」(匝 9:9)。

Posted: July 5, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十四主日:耶穌的祈禱與邀請 吳智勳神父

今日的福音分為兩部分:第一部分是耶穌的祈禱,感謝天父對人的啟示;第二部分是耶穌邀請門徒學習祂良善心謙。 祈禱最能透露天主與人之間的關係。如果我想知道別人的信仰狀況,我會先問他的祈禱生活。

繼續閱讀 >
接受我們身體的自由 Fr. Jusin Huang

今天來談談不接受自己的身體的挑戰話題。我們每個人都有過對自己的外表不滿意的經歷。我們會因為自己的身高、體型或外表感到不自在。也許人們曾經取笑我們的長相。有時候即使人們什麼也沒對我們說,我們也不想讓別人看到自己有不完美的地方。神父們也有這樣的煩惱,相信我,我只是不想說太多。

繼續閱讀 >