Freedom in Accepting Our Bodies

Fourteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Zechariah 9:9-10

Thus says the LORD: Rejoice heartily, O daughter Zion, shout for joy, O daughter Jerusalem! See, your king shall come to you; a just savior is he, meek, and riding on an ass, on a colt, the foal of an ass. He shall banish the chariot from Ephraim, and the horse from Jerusalem; the warrior's bow shall be banished, and he shall proclaim peace to the nations. His dominion shall be from sea to sea, and from the River to the ends of the earth.

Romans 8:9, 11-13

Brothers and sisters: You are not in the flesh; on the contrary, you are in the spirit, if only the Spirit of God dwells in you. Whoever does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him. If the Spirit of the one who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, the one who raised Christ from the dead will give life to your mortal bodies also, through his Spirit that dwells in you. Consequently, brothers and sisters, we are not debtors to the flesh, to live according to the flesh. For if you live according to the flesh, you will die, but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live.

Matthew 11:25-30

At that time Jesus exclaimed: "I give praise to you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, for although you have hidden these things from the wise and the learned you have revealed them to little ones. Yes, Father, such has been your gracious will. All things have been handed over to me by my Father. No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son wishes to reveal him." "Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden light."

Let’s talk about the challenge of not accepting our bodies. All of us have experiences of not being satisfied with the way we look. We’re self-conscious about our size, shape, or appearance. Perhaps people have made fun of the way we look. Sometimes, even if people don’t say anything, we have imperfections that we don’t want others to see. Priests have this problem too, believe me! I just don’t talk about it.

[Listen to Fr. Justin’s homily here.]
Part 1 : http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/p1-Homily-July-5-2020.mp3
Part 2 : http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/p2-Homily-July-5-2020.mp3

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]
https://youtu.be/nnPPd0vEZMM

Related to this is the topic of transgender issues. This is much more complex, and I don’t intend to cover the whole issue. I want to do it in a respectful way, not hurting anyone, seeking the truth as much as possible, and situate it in the larger context of accepting our bodies.

Also, please pay attention to how you respond internally when you read this, because the feedback I receive the team that helps me prepare these homilies was very interesting: many brought up issues and experiences that were connected with this topic, but weren’t directly related to something I said. So, please be aware of what I’m saying, what I’m not saying, and, if what you’re feeling is based on what I’m saying.

The goal today is finding freedom in Jesus, and accepting our bodies and the male and female body in general! Jesus says in the Gospel, “Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest [Being dissatisfied with our bodies is a burden that He doesn’t want us to carry]. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me [What we want to do today is approach our bodies the way Jesus does and learn from His perspective]; for I am gentle and humble of heart, and you will find rest for your souls [God wants us to be at peace with our bodies]. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” (Mt 11:29-30).

The reason we’re focused on the body is because the First Reading, which corresponds to the Gospel, has marriage imagery with themes of masculinity and femininity. God says to the people of Jerusalem, “Rejoice greatly, O daughter Zion! Shout aloud, O daughter Jerusalem!” Why? Because “your king comes to you; triumphant and victorious is he, humble and riding on a donkey” (Zech 9:9). Dr. John Bergsma, a scripture scholar, points out that the terms ‘Daughter Zion’ and ‘Daughter Jerusalem’ symbolize the people being “one of the royal virgin daughters of marriageable age: a young woman of wealth and royal birth, at the prime of her life and beauty.” And the king is the bridegroom (https://thesacredpagearchive.blogspot.com/2017/07/not-republic-but-universal-kingdom-14th.html). So, today is a celebration of marriage and being made male and female, and thus, accepting our bodies.

I remember seeing a young woman I knew who just had plastic surgery to improve her appearance. Yet she was just as self-conscious after as she was before—that’s tragic, isn’t it? The problem wasn’t with her body. There was a wound in her heart that hadn’t yet been healed.

Jason Evert, a speaker on theology of the body, tells the following story that a surgeon wrote in his journal: After performing an operation on the face of a young wife, he was standing by her bedside, and her face was drooping on one side. One of the muscles in her mouth had been severed in order to remove a tumor in her cheek, and she was now paralyzed in part of her face. The doctor, however, marveled at the husband who was there, still loving his wife. When she asked, “Doctor, will my face always be like this?” he said, “Yes,” and she nodded in acceptance. Then her husband smiled and said in sympathy but with sincerity, “I like it. It’s kind of cute,” then bent down to kiss her on the mouth. Seeing this amazing act of love, the doctor wrote, “I hold my breath and let the wonder in” (Jason Evert, How to Date Your Soulmate, Track 3).

Deep down, we all know that’s how we’re meant to be loved and how we’re supposed to love. That’s the freedom Jesus is offering us today, that, even in spite of our many bodily imperfections, we are still loved, as male and female, and we are still good, strong, and beautiful!

Jesus wants that young woman who had plastic surgery to have that freedom, but and it doesn’t comes from changing her body, but from an experience of being loved as she truly is.

There are three truths from the Gospel that will help us:

1) The relationship between parents and children. In the Gospel, Jesus says, “All things have been handed over to me by my Father; and no one knows the Son except the Father; and no one knows the Father except the Son” (Mt 11:27). What we have here is intimacy between Father and Son. For our purposes today, we want to extend this love of the Father for the Son to all parents loving their children, because this is foundational to accepting our bodies as male and female. Dr. Richard Fitzgibbons, who has written much on the topic of gender identity disorder, says, “Children are born with a drive to seek love and acceptance from each parent… If this need is met, children develop a positive identification with their masculinity or femininity” (https://www.childhealing.com/articles/transsexualIssues.php). This doesn’t mean accepting bad moral behaviour or sin, but accepting our children with their weaknesses and being aware that sometimes we can be unfairly critical of those weaknesses.

Some of us are aware of how parents don’t always affirm their children in their masculinity or femininity. As children, maybe we heard or felt that our parents wanted a child of the opposite sex, were dissatisfied with our abilities, that we somehow didn’t measure up as a boy or girl, or that they didn’t think we were strong or beautiful. There are some fathers who don’t affirm their sons because they aren’t good at sports, or there are emotionally distant, angry, depressed or critical mothers who fail to bond closely with their daughters (https://www.childhealing.com/articles/transsexualIssues.php).

So, Fitzgibbons writes, “Each parent should regularly compliment their daughter and affirm her goodness as a female that enriches their lives” (https://www.childhealing.com/articles/transsexualAttractionsInYoungFemales.php), and fathers’ “affirming their son’s special God-given gifts and [for boys who perhaps struggle with sports] by minimizing the importance of sports in masculine identity is very important” (https:/ /www.childhealing.com/articles/GenderDysphoriaInBoys.pdf).

It’s of great import that young men learn how to be masculine from older men, and young women learn how to be feminine from older women, because this helps us accept who are we. At the same time, we all need nurturing women and protective men, without ever being smothered.

I was blessed to learn how to be more truly masculine at my youth group in Richmond. There were strong male role models who showed me how to be manly, Christlike, and comfortable with myself, without trying to be macho or feeling insecure. The women there were also feminine, beautiful on the inside and out, and to see the interaction between the guys and girls who were dating was a treat to experience.

2) Humility in accepting truth. Jesus says today, “I thank you, Father… because you have hidden these things from the wise and the intelligent and have revealed them to infants” (Mt 11:25). Transgender thought is very popular among academics and on university campuses, but fails to accept some basic truths of the human body.

For example, if a man feels that he’s a woman, but his body has no physical abnormalities, is it possible that his feelings are mistaken? We should listen to our feelings because they give us information, but sometimes our feelings don’t see reality as it is. If a woman is anorexic and believes she’s fat, she’s not correct. There’s nothing wrong with her body. She needs help accepting the goodness of her body. I’m not saying this is easy, but it is the right direction.

For argument’s sake, could it be that the body is wrong and the mind is right? I don’t see how that’s possible because the body isn’t conscious and can’t be right or wrong; it just is. But the mind can be wrong. Sometimes, for example, we don’t feel loved when we are loved. Or, let’s say I’m convinced I have cancer, but the doctors say that I show no physical symptoms, would it still be right to operate on my body?

Some say that there’s a distinction between gender and sex, where gender is what we identify with and sex is purely physical, so they can be different. But there is a correspondence between the mental and the physical. That’s the point of having sex-reassignment surgery. A man, for example, feels he’s a woman and so changes his body to match his mind. He does that because he knows that sex and gender are the same. Again, just as with someone who’s anorexic, the solution is not to do surgery on the body.

It’s not right to give puberty-blocking drugs to minors, especially given that this can be an unalterable life decision that can’t be taken back (https://sexchangeregret.com/gender-affirming-hormone-in-children-and- adolescents/). Is it right to do surgery on a healthy body, to remove a man’s penis and testes, to give him breast implants, or to remove a woman’s breasts, to give testosterone to stimulate facial hair, and remove her uterus? (https://truthandlove.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/SRS_217-1.pdf). Those are healthy parts of the body that we should accept.

Dr. Paul McHugh, at Johns Hopkins University, said that his university pioneered sex-change surgery in the 1970s but he, as chief psychiatrist, shut the clinic down because there was no mental benefit to their patients (https://www.firstthings.com/article/2004/11/surgical-sex). And he says that changing one’s sex is impossible: “Transgendered men do not become women, nor do transgendered women become men” (https://www.thepublicdiscourse.com/2015/06/15145/).

The reason for classifying humans into two sexes is not only because it’s obvious that there are psychological, hormonal, genetic, and bodily differences, but also because the whole race functions on sexual dimorphism; the human race is built upon this for the continuation of the species (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAAlFya89aw).

3) Rest in the truth. Jesus says, “Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble of heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” We need to learn from Jesus what He teaches about the body, and this will lead to peace. The book of Genesis teaches that God intentionally created us male and female (1:27; 2:18-24), and St. John Paul II, in his philosophical analysis, says that “masculinity and femininity… are… two ways in which the same human being… is a body” (Man and Woman He Created Them, Translation by Michael Waldstein, 157). Did you hear that? There are two different ways of being a body—why? One theological reason is because we’re made for marriage. Marriage is God’s symbol of His love for us, that the human race is made for an intimate union with Him. He could have created us in other ways, but chose to make two sexes that were made for marriage (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2016/11/06/20161106-made-for-marriage-with-god/ See also Christopher West, God’s Plan for a Joy-filled Marriage). He wanted us to think about marriage so much that He stamped it into our bodies. Every body is made for marriage, in the sense that the body points to union with another; that doesn’t mean that everyone will get physically married (surprise!), but the human person is made to be married ultimately with God, and our body points to that.

So, our body is not an accident. I was struck when I read this statement: “God prescribed every single detail of your body. He deliberately chose your race, the color of your skin, your hair, and every other feature. He custom-made your body just the way he wanted it” (Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 22).

I remember being made fun of in Grade 8 for having no hair on my legs, as if I were a girl. And I don’t have a deep voice like other men. I remember Fr. Nicolas Tumbelaka making fun of the tenors at the seminary, “So feminine!” And I can’t grow an epic beard. But, thanks be to God, I’ve always been loved and accepted by most people. And I know that God allows for unique expressions of masculinity and femininity. There’s a range of expression of masculine and feminine.

Try Fr. Anthony Ho. He’s not athletic and not physically robust, but he is masculine and accepts himself. And he is peaceful in this truth.

So why does God allow us to have physical imperfections? He could have made us all stronger and more beautiful—why didn’t He? First, it points us to heaven. We all desire perfect beauty, but it can’t be found on earth. Our discontent with our bodies is a constant reminder that life on earth is a temporary assignment (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/05/24/life-is-a-test-and-temporary-assignment/). Second, what is true strength? That a man can bench-press his weight or that he can control his sexual desires? What is true beauty, that a woman is a supermodel, or that she’s kind to strangers, children, and the poor? Third, all of us peak in our strength and beauty in our 20s and 30s. Not everyone can be as good-looking as Deacon Andrew in their 60s—why? It’s time to celebrate others’ strength and beauty. We had our time of physical perfection, and now we point to something more important, spiritual and moral perfection.

Now that it’s July, we’re starting our parish season of the Sabbath Summer. The first thing we want to do is to have a summer of affirmation. Parents, our responsibility is to affirm our boys in their masculinity and girls in their femininity, recognizing that there are different expressions of each and each child is unique.

Second, pray for help in accepting the truth. And pray for healing. Do we hold any resentment towards God for the way we’re made?

Third, rest in the truth that God made our bodies the way He wanted them. Our physical imperfections point to something deeper.

Please remember the story about the wife whose face was left paralyzed after surgery. Grace came through a relationship: Her husband loved her like God, with absolute love. Not only did he see her spiritual beauty but he still saw and loved her physical beauty. That gave her freedom, freedom to accept her body, and a freedom God wants all of us to have.

Source: TheJustMeasure:Freedom in Accepting Our Bodies (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/07/05/freedom-in-accepting-our-bodies/)

Posted: July 5, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to Ask for the Best Gifts
"At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night; and God said, 'Ask what I should give you'" (1 Kg 3:5).—This is what God is saying to… Continue Reading >

接受我們身體的自由

常年期第十四主日

匝加利亞先知書 9:9-10

上主這樣說:「熙雍女子,你應盡量喜樂!耶路撒冷女子,你應該歡呼!看,你的君王來到你這裡;他是正義的、勝利的、謙遜的,騎在驢上,騎在驢駒上。他要由厄弗辣因,剷除戰車;從耶路撒冷,除掉戰馬;作戰的弓箭,也要被消除。他要向萬民宣布和平;他的權柄,由這海到那海,從大河直達地極。」

羅馬書 8:9,11-13

弟兄姊妹們:你們已不屬於肉性,而是屬於聖神,只要天主的聖神,住在你們內。誰若沒有基督的聖神,誰就不屬於基督。再者,如果那使耶穌從死者中復活者的聖神,住在你們內,那麼,那使基督從死者中復活的,也必要藉那住在你們內的聖神,使你們有死的身體復活。弟兄們!這樣看來,我們並不欠肉性的債,以致該隨從肉性生活。如果你們隨從肉性生活,必要死亡;然而,如果你們依賴聖神,去致死肉性的妄動,必能生活。

瑪竇福音 11:25-30

那時候,耶穌發言說:「父啊!天地的主宰!我稱謝你,因為你將這些事,瞞住了智慧和明達的人,而啟示給小孩子。是的,父啊!你原來喜歡這樣。我父將一切交給了我;除了父之外,沒有人認識子;除了子,和子所願意啟示的人外,也沒有人認識父。「凡勞苦和負重擔的,你們都到我面前來;我要使你們安息。你們背起我的軛,跟我學習吧!因為我是良善心謙的。這樣,你們必要找得你們靈魂的安息,因為我的軛是柔和的,我的擔子是輕鬆的。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿, http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/07/05/freedom-in-accepting-our-bodies/, 為準。)

今天來談談不接受自己的身體的挑戰話題。我們每個人都有過對自己的外表不滿意的經歷。我們會因為自己的身高、體型或外表感到不自在。也許人們曾經取笑我們的長相。有時候即使人們什麼也沒對我們說,我們也不想讓別人看到自己有不完美的地方。神父們也有這樣的煩惱,相信我,我只是不想說太多。

講道錄音 (英語):
第1部分 : http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/p1-Homily-July-5-2020.mp3
第2部分 : http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/p2-Homily-July-5-2020.mp3

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]
https://youtu.be/nnPPd0vEZMM

與此相關的話題是變換性別,這個太複雜了,我並不想涉及所有相關問題。我希望以一種尊重的方式,從廣義的接受自己的身體出發,盡可能多尋求事情的真相。

並請專注於你內心的反應,因為我得到幫我準備這次講道的組員的回應,他們甚感興趣並提出很多與此相關的問題和經驗,但是並不是直接與我所說的有關聯,所以請留意什麼是我說的, 什麼是我沒說的, 而你的感受應是基於我所說的。

今天的目標是在耶穌身上找到自由,接受我們的身體,就是一般而言的男性和女性的身體!耶穌在福音中說:「凡勞苦和負重擔的,你們都到我跟前來,我要使你們安息。」(不滿我們的身體,是祂不願我們背負的擔子)。把我的軛帶在你們身上,向我學習[我們今天想要的是像耶穌那樣對待我們的身體,從他的觀點中學習];因為我是良善心謙的: 這樣你們必要找到你們靈魂的安息。 」[天主要我們與身體和睦,為我們的靈魂找到安息]。 「因為我的軛是柔和的,我的擔子是輕鬆的。(瑪11:29-30)

我們關注身體的原因是,與福音相對應的第一篇讀經有男性和女性主題的婚姻意象。天主對耶路撒冷的居民說、「熙雍女子,你應盡量喜樂!耶路撒冷女子,你應該歡呼。

為什麼?因為「你的君王到你這裏來,他是正義的,勝利的,謙遜的,騎在驢上,騎在驢駒上。”( 匝加利亞9:9)。聖經學家約翰•伯格斯馬博士Dr. John Bergsma 指出,“熙雍女子”和“耶路撒冷女子”這兩個詞象徵著人們是“適婚年齡的王室處女:一位富有、出身皇室的年輕女子,正處於生命的巔峰時期和美麗的時刻。”國王是新郎(https://thesacredpagearchive.blogspot.com/2017/07/not-republic-but-universal-kingdom-14th.html)。所以,今天是慶祝結婚和成為男性和女性的慶典,因此,我們應接受我們的身體。

我記得見過一位我認識的年輕女子,她剛剛做了整容手術來改善自己的外表。然而,她還是像以前一樣難為情–這是個悲劇,不是嗎?問題不在於她的身體。她心中有一處傷口還沒有癒合。

身體神學演講者傑森•埃弗特(Jason Evert) 講述了一名外科醫生在他的日記中寫下的以下故事:給一名年輕妻子的臉做完手術後,他站在她床邊,她的臉一側下垂。為了切除臉頰上的腫瘤,她嘴裡的一塊肌肉被切斷,部分臉部癱瘓了。醫生卻對守在那裡仍然愛著自己妻子的丈夫大為讚歎。當妻子問:「醫生,我的臉會一直這樣嗎?他說,「是的,她點點頭表示接受。然後她的丈夫笑了笑,深情而真誠地說:「我喜歡。還挺可愛的,然後彎下身吻她的嘴。看到這種令人驚嘆的愛的行為,醫生寫道,「我屏住呼吸,讓奇蹟進來吧!」(Jason Evert, How to Date Your Soulmate, Track 3) 。

在內心深處,我們都知道這就是我們應該如何被愛,我們應該如何去愛。這就是耶穌今天給我們的自由,即使我們身體上有許多不完美,我們仍然是被愛的,無論男女,我們仍然是善良、堅強和美麗的!

耶穌希望做過整形的女士能擁有這份自由,這自由是來自被愛的經歷,她的確是被愛的。

福音中有三個事實將對我們有所幫助:

1)親子關係。耶穌說:「我父將一切交給了我;除了父外,沒有人認識子;除了子和子所願意啟示的人外,也沒有人認識父。

(瑪11:27)。我們在這裡看到的是父子之間的親密關係。為了我們今天的目的,我們想把父對兒子的愛延伸到所有愛他們孩子的父母,因為這是接受我們男性和女性身體的基礎。理查德•菲茨吉本斯博士Dr. Richard Fitzgibbons 寫了很多關於性別認同障礙的文章,他說:“孩子們生來就有一種從父母…那裡尋求愛和接納的衝動。如果這一需求得到滿足,孩子們就會對他們的男性或女性氣質產生一種積極的認同。“(https://www.childhealing.com/articles/transsexualIssues.php)。這並不意味著接受壞的道德行為或者罪惡,而是接受孩子的弱點,並且懂得我們有些時候會對這些弱點持有不公正的批評。

我們中的一些人知道,父母並不總是肯定孩子的男性氣概或女性氣質。在孩提時代,我們可能聽說或感覺到父母想要一個異性孩子,對我們的天賦不滿意,我們不知何故沒有達到男孩或女孩的標準,或者他們認為我們不強壯或不漂亮。有一些父親不肯定他們的兒子,因為他們不擅長體育運動,或者對孩子有一些情感疏遠、憤怒、沮喪的挑剔的母親未能與女兒建立緊密的關係。 (https://www.childhealing.com/articles/transsexualIssues.php)

所以,菲茨吉本斯Fitzgibbons 寫道,「每個父母都應該時常稱讚他們的女兒,肯定她女性的善良,從而充實她的生(https://www.childhealing.com/articles/transsexualAttractionsInYoungFemales.php) ,同樣,父親們肯定神所給與兒子的特殊天賦,(對於那些可能在運動中苦苦掙扎的男孩)通過盡可能弱化運動在男性性別辨識中的重要性是非常重要的。(https:/ /www.childhealing.com/articles/GenderDysphoriaInBoys.pdf)

非常重要的一點是,年輕的男人要從年長的男人那裡學習如何變得有男子氣概,年輕的女人要從比自己年紀大的女人那裡學習如何變得有女人味,因為這能幫助我們接受我們是誰。與此同時,在沒有任何壓抑的情況下,我們都需要一位養育型的女性,一位保護型的男性。

我有幸在烈治文的青年團體學習瞭如何變得更具有真正的男子漢氣概。有一些堅強的男性榜樣向我展示瞭如何變得有男子氣概,像基督一樣,對自己感到自在,而不是大男子主義或沒有安全感。團體裡面的女人也很很有女人味,由內而外的美麗, 看這些男孩女孩約會時彼此的互動是一種美好的感受。

(2)謙虛地接受真理。耶穌今天說,“我感謝祢你,…聖父。因為祢向智慧人和聰明人隱瞞這些事,卻向嬰孩顯露出來“(太11:25)。變性人的想法在學者和大學校園中非常流行,但他們未能接受人體的一些基本事實。

例如,如果一個男人內心覺得他是女人,但他的身體沒有異常,他的感覺有沒有可能是錯的?我們應該傾聽我們的感覺,因為它們給了我們信息,但有時我們的感覺看不到現實的本來面目。如果一個女人患有厭食症,並且認為自己很胖,那她就錯了。她的身體沒有任何問題。她需要人幫助她去接受她的身體是正常的事實。我並不是說這很容易,但這是正確的方向。

從辯論的角度出發,有沒有可能有可能身體存在問題而意識正確呢?我不認為因為身體沒有意識就沒有對錯?其實有的。但是意識本身也可能是錯的。比如說,有時候我們明明被愛卻不能感覺到它。或者假設我相信自己有癌症,但是醫生說沒有任何症狀,直接就在我身體上動手術是正確的麼?

有人說,性別和性是有區別的,性別是我們認同的,而性純粹是身體上的。但很明顯,精神和身體之間存在著一種對應關係。這就是變性手術的意義所在。例如,一個男人覺得他是個女人,所以改變了他的身體以匹配他的思想。他這樣做是因為他知道性和性別是一樣的。同樣,就像患有厭食症的人一樣,解決方案不是對身體做手術,而是幫助人們接受身體。

給未成年人服用阻止青春期的藥物是不對的,特別是考慮到這可能是一個不能更改的人生決定,不能收回(https://sexchangeregret.com/gender-affirming-hormone-in-children-and- adolescents/).。對一個原本健康的身體做手術,切除男人的陰莖和睾丸,給他隆胸,或者切除女人的乳房,給她睾丸激素刺激面部毛髮,然後給她做子宮切除術,這對嗎? (https://truthandlove.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/SRS_217-1.pdf) 。這些都是健康的身體部位,我們應該接受。

約翰•霍普金斯大學(John Hopkins University)的保羅•麥克休(Paul McHugh)博士說,他的大學在20世紀70年代率先進行了變性手術,但是,作為首席精神科醫生,他關閉了他的診所,因為這對患者的精神沒有任何好處。他還說,改變性別是不可能的:「變性人的男人不會變成女人,變性人的女人也不會變成男人。(https://www.thepublicdiscourse.com/2015/06/15145/ )

人類之所以分為兩種性別的理由,不僅是因為很明顯,兩者在心理、荷爾蒙、遺傳和身體上存在差異,還因為整個種族的功能有賴於性別二態,因為整個人類都建立在這一點上,以延續物種(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAAlFya89aw)

3)安息於真理之中。耶穌又說:「你們背起我的軛,跟我學吧! 因為我是良善心謙的: 這樣你們必要找到你們靈魂的安息。」(瑪11:29) 天主在“創世紀”中教導說,祂創造了我們男性和女性(創1:27),聖若望•保祿二世在他的哲學分析中說,男性和女性是「同一個人…的兩種方式。是一個身體。」(Man and Woman He Created Them, Translation by Michael Waldstein, 157)。你聽到了嗎?作為一個身體有兩種不同的方式–為什麼?其中一個神學原因是因為我們是為婚姻而生的。婚姻是天主對我們愛的象徵,人類是為與祂親密結合而生的。祂太想讓我們考慮婚姻了,所以祂把它植入了我們的身體。每個人都是為結婚而生的。他可以在很多方面創造我們,但他選擇了為婚姻而生的兩個性別(參見(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2016/11/06/20161106-made-for-marriage-with-god/ See also Christopher West, God’s Plan for a Joy-filled Marriage).。太棒了!

所以,你的身體不是偶然突發的。當我讀到這句話時,我感到震驚:「天主規定了你身體的每一個細節。祂故意選擇了你的種族,你的膚色,你的頭髮,以及其他所有特徵。祂按照祂想要的方式定制了你的身體(Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 22)。

我記得在八年級時,有人嘲笑我腿上沒有毛髮,就像我是個女孩一樣。我的嗓音也不像其他男人那麼低沉。我記得尼古拉斯•湯貝拉卡 (Nicolas Tumbelaka )神父取笑神學院的男高音們,「太女性化了!

我不能蓄留濃密的大鬍子。但是,感謝天主,我一直被大多數人所愛和接受。我知道天主允許男性和女性的獨特表達。男性和女性有不同的表達方式。

試想何神父Fr. Anthony Ho。他不擅長運動, 身體也不健碩,但他很有男子氣概,他接受了自己並安於這個真理。

那麼,為什麼天主允許我們有身體上的缺陷呢?祂本可以讓我們變得更強壯更美麗–為什麼祂沒有這麼做呢?首先,祂指引我們嚮往天堂。我們都渴望完美的美,但它在地球上是找不到的。我們對自己身體的不滿不斷提醒我們,地球上的生命是一項臨時任務。第二,什麼是真正的力量?一個男人可以仰臥推舉自己的體重,或者他可以控制自己的性慾?大多數女人想嫁給哪一個男人?什麼是真正的美,一個女人是超模,還是她對陌生人、孩子和窮人都很友善?第三,我們每個人都在二三十歲的時候達到堅挺實力和美麗的頂峰。不是每個人都能在60多歲時像龔執事那樣英俊-為什麼?現在是慶祝別人的實力和美麗的時候了。我們有過身體上的完美時光,現在我們要指出一些更重要的東西,精神和道德上的完美。

現在是七月,我們要開始安息日夏天的堂區季節了。我們想要做的第一件事就是度過一個“肯定”的夏天,看到別人的優點並稱讚他們。家長們,我們的責任是肯定我們的男孩的男子氣概和女孩的女性氣質,認識到每個孩子都有不同的表達方式,每個孩子都是獨一無二的。

第二,祈求幫助來接受真相。讓我們請求治愈吧。我們對天主創造我們的方式有任何怨恨嗎?

第三,堅持真理, 接受天主給我們的身體。我們也應該坦然面對我們身體上的一些不完美,因為它們將我們引向一個更深的層次。

請記住那個妻子手術後臉部癱瘓的故事。格蕾絲Grace 經歷了一段感情:她的丈夫像天主一樣以絶對的愛來愛她。他不僅看到了她的靈性之美,而且還看到並愛上了她的身體之美。這給了她接受自己身體的自由, 一種天主要我們所有人都要的自由。

Posted: July 5, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十四主日:耶穌的祈禱與邀請 吳智勳神父

今日的福音分為兩部分:第一部分是耶穌的祈禱,感謝天父對人的啟示;第二部分是耶穌邀請門徒學習祂良善心謙。 祈禱最能透露天主與人之間的關係。如果我想知道別人的信仰狀況,我會先問他的祈禱生活。

繼續閱讀 >
「你們都到我跟前來」(瑪 11:28) Susanna Mak

在這些不明朗的時刻,基督內的聖神把我們帶回唯一肯定的希望和仁愛。

繼續閱讀 >