“For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save” (Luke 19:10)

Thirty-first Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 11:22-12:2

Before the LORD the whole universe is as a grain from a balance or a drop of morning dew come down upon the earth. But you have mercy on all, because you can do all things; and you overlook people's sins that they may repent. For you love all things that are and loathe nothing that you have made; for what you hated, you would not have fashioned. And how could a thing remain, unless you willed it; or be preserved, had it not been called forth by you? But you spare all things, because they are yours, O LORD and lover of souls, for your imperishable spirit is in all things! Therefore you rebuke offenders little by little, warn them and remind them of the sins they are committing, that they may abandon their wickedness and believe in you, O LORD!

2 Thessalonians 1:11-2:2

Brothers and sisters: We always pray for you, that our God may make you worthy of his calling and powerfully bring to fulfillment every good purpose and every effort of faith, that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you, and you in him, in accord with the grace of our God and Lord Jesus Christ. We ask you, brothers and sisters, with regard to the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ and our assembling with him, not to be shaken out of your minds suddenly, or to be alarmed either by a “spirit,” or by an oral statement, or by a letter allegedly from us to the effect that the day of the Lord is at hand.

Luke 19:1-10

At that time, Jesus came to Jericho and intended to pass through the town. Now a man there named Zacchaeus, who was a chief tax collector and also a wealthy man, was seeking to see who Jesus was; but he could not see him because of the crowd, for he was short in stature. So he ran ahead and climbed a sycamore tree in order to see Jesus, who was about to pass that way. When he reached the place, Jesus looked up and said, “Zacchaeus, come down quickly, for today I must stay at your house.” And he came down quickly and received him with joy. When they all saw this, they began to grumble, saying, “He has gone to stay at the house of a sinner.” But Zacchaeus stood there and said to the Lord, “Behold, half of my possessions, Lord, I shall give to the poor, and if I have extorted anything from anyone I shall repay it four times over.” And Jesus said to him, “Today salvation has come to this house because this man too is a descendant of Abraham. For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save what was lost.”

“For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save what was lost” (Lk 19:10). With this stunning statement from Jesus, this Sunday’s Mass readings conclude with a big bang.

Jesus, the Son of Man, is divine; he is God. In making this statement, what he is saying effectively is that God has PERSONALLY come to seek us out and to save us! “What was lost”, understood in its individual sense, refers to you and me; who are “lost” because we are sinners. When understood corporately, the term means the whole creation, which “was made subject to futility…[and] is groaning in labor pains even until now” since the fall of our first parents (Rom 8:20, 22). What is so stunning about Jesus’ claim? Think about it: God, the Almighty, in whom “all things in heaven and on earth, the visible and the invisible” were created and before whom “every knee should bend, somehow has chosen to humble Himself and descend into this lower sphere that is ours, which is both sinful and chaotic, in order to seek and save us” (Col 1:16, Phil 2:10)! If this is not stunning, I don’t know what is.

The Judeo-Christian concept that sees salvation as a top-down, divine effort from above – not a bottom-up, human effort from below – is unique and highly intriguing. Just as intriguing is the consistency of the Scriptures in advancing this idea. “It was not you who chose me, but I who chose you”, insists Jesus (John 15:16). Long before him, we have Ezekiel’s prophetic declaration: “For thus says the Lord GOD: I myself will look after and tend my sheep” (Eze 34:11, italic mine). Before Ezekiel, Isaiah’s message is just as enlightening: “Say to those whose hearts are frightened: Be strong, fear not! Here is your God, he comes with vindication; With divine recompense he comes to save you” (Is 35:4, italic mine).

“Jesus’ death”, explains Pope Benedict XVI, “[is] the fulfillment of a love in which God himself comes down to us, so as to draw us back up to himself” (Jesus of Nazareth II, p. 253). In other words, salvation is a divine initiative in which God descends to seek and save us out of love, not a human endeavor in which we ascend to attain divine greatness, as so many religions outside of the Judeo-Christian tradition generally believe. It is a cosmic and monumental undertaking carefully thought out and miraculously accomplished by God and God alone. It’s a merciful act because its benevolence we do not deserve. It’s called grace because what’s bestowed on us is from above, beyond human ability and comprehension.

Is this a totally one-sided equation – a purely God-driven undertaking that requires or allows no human input whatsoever? No. What is required – and what God has graciously allowed in order to make us a partner, no matter how small, of this monumental endeavor – is our free and humble response to God’s call for repentance. It’s exactly what Jesus asked of us when he proclaimed the coming of his kingdom: “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand” (Mt 4:17). He was inviting the world to get ready for this important partnership.

A case in point is this Sunday’s gospel. Zacchaeus, a chief tax collector in Jericho, repents upon seeing Jesus, and promises to give away half of his possessions to the poor and repay four times over anything he has extorted from anyone (Lk 19:1-2, 8). Zacchaeus repents in both words and deeds. He does so because he realizes he has sinned. And he is able to realize because he has humility in his heart, which causes him to repent. True repentance will not go unnoticed by Jesus. He sees in Zacchaeus, who is “short in stature”, a giant of a man because he, like Jesus, is willing to humble himself. He is ready for partnership; he can be saved.

It pains my heart to see that so many people still rely on their own effort to try to “find God”. They work hard to “elevate themselves spiritually to a higher level of perfection”. We like to think that we can have God in our own pockets. But we’ve got it all wrong. It’s God who finds us and reveals Himself to us; it’s Him who saves us even though jis economy of salvation always has room for our input and partnership – our repentance. This reminder from Jesus is spot on: “It is not you who chose me, but I who chose you” (John 15:16).

Posted: November 3, 2019

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

“Rejoice in the Lord always; … the Lord is near” (Philippians 4:4-5)
Let us take a moment from our busy Christmas preparations to contemplate on what “the Lord is near” means for us (Philippians 4:5) Continue Reading >
A Shoot from the Stump of Jesse and a Voice in the Desert
Two takeaways from this Sunday’s readings. Both are powerful prophecies of Isaiah. Continue Reading >
Welcoming Others as Christ Welcomed Us
Three weeks ago, we gathered donations for the seven people who lost their belongings in a fire that burned their three-storey apartment building in our neighbourhood. Two of them, Fernanda… Continue Reading >

「因為人子來,是為尋找及拯救迷失了的人。」(路 19:10)

常年期第三十一主日 諸聖節

智慧篇 11:22-12:2

上主,整個世界,在你跟前,有如天秤上的一粒沙塵,落在地面上的一滴朝露。但是,你憐憫眾生,因為你是無所不能的。你假裝看不見人的罪,是為叫罪人悔改。的確,你愛惜一切所有,不惱恨你所造的;如果你憎恨什麼,你必不會造它。如果你不願意,什麼東西能夠存在?如果你不吩咐,什麼東西能夠保全?愛護眾生的主宰!只有你愛惜萬物,因為萬物都是你的。你那不死不滅的氣息,在萬物之內;因此,你逐步懲罰墮落的人,要他們想起所犯的罪惡,藉以警告他們,離棄惡事,而相信你——上主。

得撒洛尼後書 1:11-2:2

弟兄姊妹們:我們常為你們祈禱,求我們的天主,使你們相稱於他的召叫;求他以德能,成全你們各種樂意向善的心,及信德的行為,好使我們的主耶穌基督的名字,在你們內受光榮,你們也在他內,賴我們的天主和主耶穌基督的恩寵,受光榮。弟兄們,關於我們的主耶穌基督的來臨,和我們聚集到他面前的事,我們請求你們,不要因著什麼神恩,或什麼言論,或什麼似乎出於我們的書信,好像說主的日子迫近了,就迅速失去理智,驚慌失措。

路加福音 19:1-10

那時候,耶穌進入耶里哥,正經過的時候,有一個人,名叫匝凱,他原是稅吏,是個富有的人。他想要看看耶穌是什麼人;但由於人多,不能看見,因為他身材短小。於是他往前奔跑,攀上了一棵野桑樹,要看看耶穌,因為耶穌就要從那裡經過。耶穌來到那地方,抬頭一看,對他說:「匝凱,你快下來!因為我今天必須住在你家中。」匝凱便趕快下來,喜悅地接待耶穌。眾人見了,都竊竊私議說:「耶穌竟然到有罪的人那裡投宿。」匝凱站起來對主說:「主,你看,我把我財物的一半施捨給窮人;我如果欺騙過誰,我就以四倍賠償。」耶穌對他說:「今天救恩臨到了這一家,因為他也是亞巴郎之子。因為人子來,是為尋找及拯救迷失了的人。」

「因為人子來,是為尋找及拯救迷失了的人」 (路 19:10)。 本主日的彌撒讀經,以耶穌這當頭棒喝的話來結束。

耶穌,人子,是從天主而來的;祂是天主。耶穌的說話正好說明,天主要親自尋找我們和拯救我們!「迷失了的人」按狹義看,是指你和我;我們「迷失了」,因為我們是罪人。按廣義而言,「迷失了的人」是指自從原祖父母被罰,所有受造物皆「被屈伏在敗壞的狀態之下 ⋯ 【和】直到如今,一切受造之物都一同歎息,同受產痛」(羅 8:20, 22)。為什麼我們說耶穌所言有如當頭棒喝?試想想:「在天上和在地下的一切,可見的與不可見的」受造物,在全能的天主面前「無不屈膝叩拜」(哥 1:16, 斐 2:10) ,而這位天主竟選擇了謙卑自下,下降到我們身處的低劣和罪惡紛亂的世界,來找尋我們,救贖我們!如果這還不算是當頭棒喝的話,我不知道什麼才是。

猶太—基督信仰傳統觀念中,救恩是從上而下,從天主而來的—不是從下而上,從人的努力而得的。這觀念非常獨特和奇異。同樣奇異的是,聖經如何貫徹始終地推行這觀念。耶穌堅持地說:「不是你們揀選了我,而是我揀選了你們」(若 15:16)。遠在耶穌之前,我們已經有厄則克耳作為先知的聲明:「因為吾主上主這樣說:看,我要親自去尋找我的羊,我要親自照顧我的羊」(則 34:11)。在厄則克耳之前,依撒意亞先知的訊息同樣發人深省:「告訴:心怯的人說:鼓起勇氣來,不要畏懼!看,你們的天主,報復已到,天主的報酬已到,他要親自來拯救你們」 (依 35:4)。

教宗本篤十六世解釋「耶穌之死」是「愛的滿全,基於這大愛天主下降到我們當中,為的是把我們帶回祂的地方去 」(Jesus of Nazareth II, p. 253)。換句話說, 救贖計劃源於天主並由祂作主動;祂因為愛我們而來到我們中間找尋我們,救贖我們;並不如猶太-基督信仰傳統以外的宗教所相信,是人藉着自己的努力和修練,將自己提升到天主的層面的一回事。這浩瀚無邊的工程是天主自己精心策劃,奧妙地完成的。這是慈悲的行為,我們並不堪當這樣的仁慈。我們稱之為恩寵,因為它是上天所賜,超越人的能力和理解。

這是否一個完全單向的方程式—一個純粹天主主動,而完全不需要或不容許人參與的計劃?不是的。需要的是我們自由,和謙卑地用悔改去回應天主的召叫。祂無限仁慈,竟容許我們在這龐大的計劃中做祂的小伙伴。這正是耶穌在宣講祂的天國臨近時,所要求我們的:「悔改罷!因為天國臨近了」(瑪 4:17)。祂邀請世人為這重要的合作作好準備。

本主日的福音讀經便有這樣的一個事例。一個耶里哥的稅吏匝凱,看見耶穌之後便悔改,更應許把財物的一半施捨給窮人,而他欺騙過的人,則以四倍賠償 (路19:1-2, 8)。匝凱以言以行地悔改。他這樣做是因為他知道自己犯了罪。而他能夠知道,是因為心存謙遜,使他悔改。耶穌不會不留意到這真心的痛悔。匝凱雖然「身材短小」,耶穌在身上卻看到了一位巨人,因為他有如耶穌一般,願意謙卑自下。他為合作關係已作好準備;他能得救。

當我看見很多人仍然倚賴自己的努力,嘗試去「發現天主」時,總 覺心裡忍忍作痛。他們努力地要將自己「在靈性上提升到一個更高和完美的層次」。我們總以為自己勝算在握,天主是可以信手拈來的。若這樣想,我們便徹底地錯了。是天主找尋我們,把祂自己顯示給我們;是祂拯救了我們,雖然祂給我們留下參與和合作的空間—即我們的悔改。耶穌的提醒一語中的:「不是你們揀選了我,而是我揀選了你們」(若 15:16)。

Posted: November 3, 2019

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

一個「期待和警醒的時刻」(天主教教理 672)
讓我們與聖詠作者一起誦唱,讚美上主,在一個我們不知道的日子,… 繼續閱讀 >
丙常年期第三十三主日:災難中的福音
災難性的事任誰聽來也不會舒服,本週的福音讀經正記載耶穌預言了… 繼續閱讀 >
「深信天主許諾使人復活」(加下 7:14)
當我們穿越人生的山嶺和幽谷時,讓我們將目光從自己的黑暗轉向基… 繼續閱讀 >