What should we do to have peace within us in this day and age of terrorism and self-destruction?

Third Sunday of Advent

Zephaniah 3:14-18A

Shout for joy, O daughter Zion! Sing joyfully, O Israel! Be glad and exult with all your heart, O daughter Jerusalem! The LORD has removed the judgment against you he has turned away your enemies; the King of Israel, the LORD, is in your midst, you have no further misfortune to fear. On that day, it shall be said to Jerusalem: Fear not, O Zion, be not discouraged! The LORD, your God, is in your midst, a mighty savior; he will rejoice over you with gladness, and renew you in his love, he will sing joyfully because of you, as one sings at festivals.

Philippians 4:4-7

Brothers and sisters: Rejoice in the Lord always. I shall say it again: rejoice! Your kindness should be known to all. The Lord is near. Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God. Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.

Luke 3:10-18

The crowds asked John the Baptist, “What should we do?” He said to them in reply, “Whoever has two cloaks should share with the person who has none. And whoever has food should do likewise.” Even tax collectors came to be baptized and they said to him, “Teacher, what should we do?” He answered them, “Stop collecting more than what is prescribed.” Soldiers also asked him, “And what is it that we should do?” He told them, “Do not practice extortion, do not falsely accuse anyone, and be satisfied with your wages.” Now the people were filled with expectation, and all were asking in their hearts whether John might be the Christ. John answered them all, saying, “I am baptizing you with water, but one mightier than I is coming. I am not worthy to loosen the thongs of his sandals. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire. His winnowing fan is in his hand to clear his threshing floor and to gather the wheat into his barn, but the chaff he will burn with unquenchable fire.” Exhorting them in many other ways, he preached good news to the people.

In this third Sunday of Advent as we anticipate and prepare ourselves to relive the spirit of that first Christmas more than two thousand years ago, the scripture readings remind us of the comings of Jesus Christ. The Gospel reading is about the first coming of Christ and the Second reading is about His second coming.

In the Gospel reading, we can see and feel the people’s passionate anticipation for the coming of the Messiah who according to prophesy, was to deliver them from their distress and predicament in this world. They asked John the Baptist, “What should we do?” (Luke 3:12) as they awaited the coming of the Messiah. The advice from John the Baptist was for them to share what they had with those who had not, to be satisfied with what was due to them, to not be greedy. This advice is timeless, we must do what is right and just to our neighbors, even more so in this day and age of terrorism and self-destruction.

As we anticipate the re-birth of Christ in us in a spiritual way, we are also awaiting His second coming. The people asked John the Baptist “What should we do?” We also want to ask, “What should we do to have peace within us in a world of fighting, retaliation and violence with no peace in sight?” The answer is in the words of St. Paul in the Second reading: “Do not worry about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God.” (Philippians 4:6) In other words, we are encouraged to pray and ask for God’s grace. We must offer to God our fears, worries and our needs. If we do so, “the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:7)

We celebrate the Christmas spirit of joy, love and peace with our family and friends, people who are dear to us. As we engage ourselves in the festive celebrations, I remember what a colleague of mine does during Advent every year. She is not Christian. But she picks a charity every year to make a donation before she does her Christmas shopping to make sure that this act of charity would not be overlooked as the preparation for Christmas becomes hectic. Personally I am very impressed. I think this is a fine example of sharing what we have with those who are less fortunate. Such generosity is of special significance during Christmas, the season of giving and sharing.

Posted: December 13, 2015

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

St. Luke’s version of the Beatitudes
If we live like Jesus, St. Luke assures us that we will “rejoice in that day” when He will come again, we will “leap for joy” for “surely [our] reward… Continue Reading >
The Christian call to holiness
Every vocation is a commitment to love. Continue Reading >
Where do I come from? Where am I going? What is my purpose? Who am I?
In this third Sunday of Advent as we anticipate and prepare ourselves to relive the spirit of that first Christmas more than two thousand years ago, the scripture readings remind… Continue Reading >

在這紛亂,報復,仇恨之世,我們該做甚麼才能得到內在的平安?

將臨期第三主日

索福尼亞先知書 3:14-18

熙雍女子,你應歡樂!以色列,你應歡呼!耶路撒冷女子,你應滿心高興喜樂!上主已撤銷了對你的定案,掃除了你的仇敵。以色列的君王——上主,在你中間,你再不會遇見災禍!在那一天,人必對耶路撒冷說:「熙雍,你不用害怕,不要雙手低垂!上主你的天主,在你中間;他是一位施救的勇士。他必為你喜不自勝;對你重溫他的愛情;且因你而歡躍喜樂,有如在慶節之日。」我必消滅打擊你的人,使你不再受羞辱。

斐理伯書 4:4-7

弟兄姊妹們:你們在主內應當常常喜樂;我再說:你們應當喜樂!你們的寬仁,應當叫眾人知道:主快來了。你們什麼也不要掛慮,只在一切事上,以懇求和祈禱,懷著感謝之心,向天主呈上你們的請求;這樣,天主那超乎各種意想的平安,必要在基督耶穌內,固守你們的心思念慮。

路加福音 3:10-18

那時候,群眾問若翰說:「那麼,我們該做什麼呢?」若翰答覆他們說:「有兩件內衣的,要分給那沒有的;有食物的,也應照樣做。」稅吏也來受洗,並問若翰說:「師父,我們該做什麼呢?」若翰向他們說:「除了規定給你們的,不要多收!」軍人也問若翰說:「我們該做什麼呢?」若翰向他們說:「不要勒索人,也不要敲詐;對你們的糧餉,應當知足!」那時,百姓都在期待【默西亞】,為此,人人心中推想:或許若翰就是默西亞。若翰便向眾人說:「我固然以水洗你們,但是,比我強的那一位,要來;就是解他的鞋帶,我也不配。他要以聖神和火洗你們。木 已放在他手中,他要揚淨自己的禾場,把麥粒收在倉內;至於糠秕,卻要用不滅的火燒掉。」若翰還講了許多其他勸言,給百姓傳報喜訊。

在這將臨期的第三主日,我們準備自己,期待重溫二千年前第一個耶穌聖誕的精神。
主日的讀經提醒我們耶穌的降臨: 第一讀經是關於耶穌的第一次來臨,而第二讀經是關於耶穌的第二次來臨。

在福音讀經,我們可以看見和感受到人們熱切期待默西亞的來臨。經上預言默西亞會從世上的憂患和苦難中拯救他們。當他們在等待默西亞的時候,群眾問約翰說:「我們該做甚麼呢?」(路:3-12) 約翰對他們說: 有的要分給沒有的,要知足,不要貪心。這忠告萬古長青,沒有時間性,對今天的我們,仍然適合。我們要合理和正義地對待我們的鄰人。尤其是在現今這充斥着恐怖主義和自我毀滅的世代,這樣做尤為重要。

當我們期待在心靈上重新體驗耶穌的降生,我們也在期待祂的第二次來臨。群眾問約翰說:「我們該做甚麼呢?」我們也要問,在這紛亂,報復,仇恨之世,我們該做甚麼才能得到內在的平安?在讀經二聖保祿宗徒的說話,我們找到答案:「你們甚麼也不要掛慮,只要在一切事情上,懷着感恩的心情,藉着懇求和祈禱,向天主陳述你們的需要」。換句話說,聖保祿宗徒鼓勵我們祈禱和向天主求恩。如果我們向天主奉獻上我們的恐懼,擔憂和需要,「天主必將以超越我們理解的平安,在基督耶穌內固守你們的心思意念。」(斐 4:7)

我們與家人和朋友,我們最親愛的人慶祝聖誕帶來的喜樂,愛與平安。當準備慶祝聖誕之際,我想起我一位同事每年在將臨期所做的一件事情。她並非基督徒,但每年在她開始購買聖誕禮物之前,她總會事先捐獻給一個慈善團體,以免因為忙碌準備過節而忘記做這件事。這善行給我留下深刻印象。這好例子,讓我們看到應怎樣把我們所擁有的,與一些沒有我們那麼幸運的人分享。這種慷慨大方,在聖誕節這個施予和分享的季節,確實別具意義。

Posted: December 13, 2015

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

我們該做甚麼? 吳智勳神父

路加福音是一部很重視社會問題的福音,特別關心貧窮的人,常常透露天主不會捨棄他們。今天問問題的三批人,都是邊緣人物,他們沒有社會地位,甚至受人鄙視,但福音就偏偏把他們記了下來。至於其他重要人物問了甚麼,福音倒沒有興趣記載。

繼續閱讀 >