The God of mercy, love and peace

The Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity

EX 34:4B-6, 8-9

Early in the morning Moses went up Mount Sinai as the LORD had commanded him, taking along the two stone tablets. Having come down in a cloud, the LORD stood with Moses there and proclaimed his name, "LORD." Thus the LORD passed before him and cried out, "The LORD, the LORD, a merciful and gracious God, slow to anger and rich in kindness and fidelity." Moses at once bowed down to the ground in worship. Then he said, "If I find favor with you, O Lord, do come along in our company. This is indeed a stiff-necked people; yet pardon our wickedness and sins, and receive us as your own."

2 Corinthians 13:11-13

Brothers and sisters, rejoice. Mend your ways, encourage one another, agree with one another, live in peace, and the God of love and peace will be with you. Greet one another with a holy kiss. All the holy ones greet you. The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ and the love of God and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with all of you.

John 3:16-18

God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him might not perish but might have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through him. Whoever believes in him will not be condemned, but whoever does not believe has already been condemned, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God.

While the celebration of Pentecost signifies the birth of the Church, the celebration of the Holy Trinity that follows reveals the fundamental belief of the Church – the doctrine of the Holy Trinity. Inasmuch as it is fundamental, it is the most difficult to comprehend. It is hard to comprehend because it is so different and novel from the beliefs of other monotheistic religions. The Christian God is one in three persons; not three gods but one God in the divine persons of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. Since many attempts have been made to address this “mystery”, I would like then, to try to reflect, based on this Sunday’s readings, how this Trinitarian God relates to us.

First Reading reveals this triune God is a god who is “merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness” (Ex 34:6). A god who saved the Israelites from the Egyptians, who helped them to cross the Red Sea, who accompanied them in the wilderness, who worked wonders and led them into the Promised Land. This is the God who goes with humanity. He is not a god who just looks from his lofty dwelling but one who journeys with us. We, too, are like the Israelites. We face obstacles, we sin, we struggle and we fall; but God is always with us. He walks beside us, sustains us, protects us and cares for us as a father for his children. He is a father who is compassionate and hears his children’s cries (rf Ex 3:7-10). No wonder Moses prays, “let the Lord go with us . . . pardon our iniquity and our sin, and take us for your inheritance” (Ex 34:9).

The Gospel Reading reveals this God is a god who “so loved the world” that He concretely comes down to us (Jn 3:16). This time, not only with His presence but truly becomes one of us in flesh and blood (rf Jn 1:14). And this God of love manifests His love for all of us by giving His only begotten Son who is with the Father from the very beginning (rf Jn 3:16, 1:2). The Son was sent from the Father’s bosom to save the world and He was the revelation of the Father, “. . . he who sees me sees also the Father” (rf Jn 1:18, 14:9). This Son, being God Himself, is willing to experience what we experience, including sufferings and death. When we are in doubt of God’s love, look at the cross, the pinnacle of His love for us, and meditate its “breadth and length and height and depth”, so that we may “know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge” (Eph 3:18-19). And by believing in Him, we “may not perish, but may have life everlasting” (Jn 3:16).

Second Reading reveals this God is a god of peace. This is not the kind of peace without conflicts but peace that is within the Trinity; the peace that Jesus gave to His disciples before He departed from the world. “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives” (Jn 14:27). It is “the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, [which] will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus” (Phil 4:7). It is the kind of peace that “even though [we] walk through the valley of the shadow of death, [we] will fear no evil” (Ps 23:4). It is a tranquil state of appreciation and faith. This peace is given through the Holy Spirit to those who agree and live in peace with each other (rf 2 Cor 13:11).

Perhaps the final verse in the Second Letter to the Corinthians – “The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, the love of God and the communion of the Holy Spirit” – sums up the doctrine of the Holy Trinity’s ecclesial unity in its clearest way. Yes, we may not be able to fully understand the “mystery,” but our Triune God manifests Himself continuously throughout our human history. Whenever we forgive, love and unify, He comes and dwells in us; and the love, peace and joy of the Trinity will be reflected in us.

Posted: June 7, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to Ask for the Best Gifts
"At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night; and God said, 'Ask what I should give you'" (1 Kg 3:5).—This is what God is saying to… Continue Reading >

一個慈悲、仁愛和平安的天主

天主聖三節

出谷紀 34:4-6,8-9

那時候,梅瑟照上主的吩咐,清早起來,上了西乃山,手中拿著兩塊石版。 上主乘雲降下,站在梅瑟身旁,宣告上主的名號。上主由梅瑟面前經過時,大聲喊說:「上主,上主是慈悲寬仁的天主,緩於發怒,富於慈愛信實。」 梅瑟急忙俯伏在地朝拜,說:「上主,如果我真的在你眼中得寵,求上主與我們同行;這百姓固然執拗,但求你寬赦我們的過犯和罪惡,以我們作你的產業。」

格林多後書 13:11-13

弟兄姊妹們: 你們要喜樂,要勉力成全,要服從勸勉,要同心合意,要彼此和睦。這樣,仁愛與平安的天主,必與你們同在。 你們要以聖潔之吻,彼此問候。 這裡的眾聖徒都問候你們。 願主耶穌基督的恩寵,和天主的愛情,及聖神的相通,常與你們眾人同在。

若望福音 3:16-18

天主竟這樣愛了世界,甚至賜下了自己的獨生子,使凡信他的人不至喪亡,反而獲得永生,因為天主沒有派遣子到世界上來審判世界,而是為叫世界,藉著他而獲救。那信從他的,不受審判;那不信的,已受了審判,因為他沒有信從天主獨生子的名字。

如聖神降臨節標誌著教會的誕生,隨後的天主聖三節則展示了教會的基本信仰 — 天主聖三的道理。雖然這是基本的道理,卻最難理解。難理解是因為這道理與其他一神宗教所相信的有異而截然不同。基督宗教的三位一體天主,不是三個天主,而是一個三位分明:聖父、聖子、聖神, 性體卻唯一的天主。因這「奧蹟」已有不少文筆論述過,那麼, 我就嘗試根據本主日的讀經來反思這三位一體的天主與我們的關係。

讀經一顯示了這三位一體的天主「是慈悲寬仁的天主,緩於發怒,富於慈愛忠誠」(出 34:6)。一個從埃及人手中拯救了以色列人的天主。祂幫助他們渡過紅海,在荒野中陪伴他們,行奇迹和帶領他們進入應許之地。這是個與人同伴的天主。祂不是只住在高天看世人的天主,而是與我們同行的天主。我們也像以色列人一樣。我們會遇到障礙,我們會犯錯、掙扎,亦會跌倒; 但天主一直與我們同在。祂走在我們身邊,支持我們、保護我們,像父親照顧孩子一樣。祂是一個富有同情心的父親,會聆聽孩子們的喊聲 (參 出 3:7-10)。怪不得梅瑟向天主祈禱「求吾主與我們同行 . . . 求你寬免我們的過犯和罪惡,以我們為你的所有物」(出 34:9)。

福音讀經顯示這天主是「竟這樣愛了世界」而確實來到我們中間的天主 (若 3:16)。這一次,祂不僅臨在,而是取了血肉,真的成為我們的一員 (參 若 1:14)。而這仁愛的天主,為表達祂對我們的愛,把起初已與祂同在的獨生子賜予我們 (參 若 3:16, 1:2)。從聖父的懷裡,聖子被派遣拯救世人,而聖子顯現了聖父,「. . . 誰看見了我,就是看見了父」(參 若 1:18, 14:9)。這聖子,雖自身是天主,卻願意經歷我們所經歷的,包括苦難與死亡。當我們懷疑天主的愛時,請看看十字架,它是天主對我們巔峰的愛; 然後默想這愛「是怎樣的廣、闊、高、深」,讓我們「知道基督的愛是遠超人所能知的」(弗 3:18-19)。而因為相信祂,我們「不至喪亡,反而獲得永生」(若 3:16)。

讀經二顯示了這天主是平安的天主。這平安不是那種沒有衝突的平安,而是天主聖三內的平安;是耶穌離開世界前給門徒們的平安,「我把平安留給你們,我將我的平安賜給你們;我所賜給你們的,不像世界所賜的一樣」(若 14:27)。是「天主那超乎各種意想的平安,必要在基督耶穌內固守你們的心思念慮」(斐 4:7)。是「縱使【我們】應走過陰森的幽谷,【我們】不怕凶險」的平安 (詠 23:4)。這是充滿信德和感恩的平靜與安寧。這平安是藉著聖神賜給同心合意,彼此在和睦中生活的人 (參 格後 13:11)。

《格林多人後書》的最後一節,或許最清楚地總結了天主聖三在教會內共融的道理:「主耶穌基督的恩寵,和天主的愛情,以及聖神的相通」。對的,我們也許不能完全明白這「奧蹟」,但三位一體的天主在我們人類歷史中不斷彰顯自己。每當我們寬恕、愛和團結的時候,祂就會降臨,居住在我們中間;而天主聖三的仁愛、平安和喜樂會在我們身上顯露出來。

Posted: June 7, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 聖三主日(聖三節):天主 創造、救贖、啟迪我 吳智勳神父

復活期後的常年期以天主聖三節開始,教會願信友知道天主聖三在基督徒生活上的重要。聖三的道理不好懂,不少人曾嘗試以概念、實物,或形象去解釋,例如:三角形、火舌、河流和樹木等;表面上似乎可把道理解釋過去,但實際上仍有不妥善之處,因為有限的語言總無法把無限的天主解釋清楚。

繼續閱讀 >
過度看重自己的另一種解藥 Fr. Jusin Huang

兩週前,有個想法引起了大家許多共鳴:我們把自己看得太重了。例如,當我們把失敗看得太重;犯了一個錯誤反复思考;不再為我們周圍的好事感到高興;儘管我們一直在進步,感覺我們家人的健康完全依賴於我們;為著我們年復一年犯同樣的錯誤而沮喪;過分地在意別人對我們外表的看法;期望每一次的講道都是完美的(這是對我自己說的)。

繼續閱讀 >