God is Good!

Twenty-seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time

Genesis 2:18 - 24

The LORD God said: "It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a suitable partner for him." So the LORD God formed out of the ground various wild animals and various birds of the air, and he brought them to the man to see what he would call them; whatever the man called each of them would be its name. The man gave names to all the cattle, all the birds of the air, and all wild animals; but none proved to be the suitable partner for the man. So the LORD God cast a deep sleep on the man, and while he was asleep, he took out one of his ribs and closed up its place with flesh. The LORD God then built up into a woman the rib that he had taken from the man. When he brought her to the man, the man said: "This one, at last, is bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; this one shall be called 'woman, ' for out of 'her man’ this one has been taken." That is why a man leaves his father and mother and clings to his wife, and the two of them become one flesh.

Hebrews 2:9 - 11

Brothers and sisters: He "for a little while" was made "lower than the angels, " that by the grace of God he might taste death for everyone. For it was fitting that he, for whom and through whom all things exist, in bringing many children to glory, should make the leader to their salvation perfect through suffering. He who consecrates and those who are being consecrated all have one origin. Therefore, he is not ashamed to call them “brothers.”

Mark 10:2 - 16

The Pharisees approached Jesus and asked, "Is it lawful for a husband to divorce his wife?" They were testing him. He said to them in reply, "What did Moses command you?" They replied, "Moses permitted a husband to write a bill of divorce and dismiss her." But Jesus told them, "Because of the hardness of your hearts he wrote you this commandment. But from the beginning of creation, God made them male and female. For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh. So they are no longer two but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, no human being must separate." In the house the disciples again questioned Jesus about this. He said to them, "Whoever divorces his wife and marries another commits adultery against her; and if she divorces her husband and marries another, she commits adultery." And people were bringing children to him that he might touch them, but the disciples rebuked them. When Jesus saw this he became indignant and said to them, "Let the children come to me; do not prevent them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Amen, I say to you, whoever does not accept the kingdom of God like a child will not enter it." Then he embraced them and blessed them, placing his hands on them.

When we think of the greatest inventions of the world, some may say insulin, electricity, the combustion engine, wind turbines, solar panels, computers, fibre optics; perhaps sliced bread or the zipper. What about creation itself? Human ingenuity is, indeed, only a pale reflection of our Creator’s imagination and vision! This week’s readings reveal the unfathomable depth of God’s love for all creation and remind us of the intimate relationship between creation and Creator, genuine relationships among humanity, and the mysterious relationship between Christ and the Church. “Creation is the foundation of ‘all God’s saving plans,’ the ‘beginning of the history of salvation’ that culminates in Christ. Conversely, the mystery of Christ casts conclusive light on the mystery of creation and reveals the end for which ‘in the beginning God created the heavens and the earth’: from the beginning, God envisaged the glory of the new creation in Christ” (CCC 280).

Like many, I love nature and enjoy spending time outdoors; trekking through the beauty of each season. Each blade of grass and cluster of wild flowers; each tree and shrub; birds, bees, and butterflies; everything that walks, crawls, or slithers on land; everything that swims in the waters; all sings of God’s glory in each of their unique ways. Everything works according to the Creator’s design and each supports and sustains each other without interruption. Indeed, God is good! It is God’s will to reveal Himself to us through creation. The Catechism of the Catholic Church teaches that “It pleased God, in his goodness and wisdom, to reveal himself and to make known the mystery of his will” (CCC 51). God, who lovingly creates this beautiful world, not only invites us to enjoy it but also bear witness “to his almighty love and his wisdom, the first proclamation of the ‘plan of his loving goodness’, which finds its goal in the new creation in Christ” (CCC 315). Genesis’ creation story reveals that God also wants “man” to participate in the creative process. God asks “man” to name “all the cattle, all the birds of the air, and all wild animals”, “whatever the man called each of them would be its name” (Gn 2:19-20). By partaking in the creative process “man” (humanity) is also called to be steward of God’s creation. However, “the man” cannot possibly accomplish such a feat alone. God recognizes that “man” needs a “suitable partner”, “woman” who is “bone of [his] bones and flesh of [his] flesh” (Gn 2:20-21). The creation story, therefore, underscores our vocation to care for creation and each other. God said, “Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth and subdue it; and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the air and over every living thing that moves upon the earth” (Gn 1:28). “Dominion”, though literally means power and authority; however, it is also a reminder of our responsibilities to care for creation and each other, like a patient gardener tending to and nurturing all that is in their charge.

Though creation is created to be harmonious and good, discord happens when we are not in good relationship with God, each other, or creation. The Pharisees’ challenge to Jesus regarding the question of divorce, portrayed in the Gospel of Mark, reveals the hardness of the human heart; a heart that is obstinate and proud. While Moses’ law has made a provision for divorce, Jesus argues that this is only written “because of the hardness of your hearts” (Mk 10:5). So, referring to Genesis, Jesus affirms that “Therefore what God has joined together, no human being must separate” (ref. Gn 2:24, Mk 10:9). More importantly, the marital relationship between spouses points us to the intimate relationship between Christ and the Church. Jesus is the spouse and head of the Church. Just as husband and wife love, care for, respect, and even sacrifice for each other, Christ willingly offers himself, once and for all, to “reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, by making peace through the blood of his cross” (Col 1:20). Jesus, “for a little while” was made ‘lower than the angels’ that by the grace of God he might taste death for everyone” (Heb 2:9). Further, St. Paul explains, “For no one ever hates his own body, but he nourishes and tenderly cares for it, just as Christ does for the church, because we are members of his body. ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.’ This is a great mystery, and I am applying it to Christ and the church” (Eph 5:29-32).

God of wisdom and all that is good, “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and put a new and right spirit within me” (Ps 51:10). When our eyes are blinded by greed and arrogance, and our heart clogged with pride, shine your light upon us and show us your mercy and unconditional love. Heal our broken relationships – with you, each other, and the earth. Refresh our spirit so that we may glorify you in all we do and in unison with all of your creation. Send forth your Spirit to guide us onto the right path towards healing and reconciliation. Amen.

Posted: October 3, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Patience in Desolation
Our opening question is: When will the darkness pass? In the book Discernment of Spirits in Marriage, which we’re using as an aid, Anne sees a pattern: When we’re in… Continue Reading >
Advent is not only a time of promises and anticipation, but also a homecoming.
Make straight our crooked ways; recognize the blindspots of our lives and fill our spiritual valley with compassion and kindness; level our mountain of pride and self-centeredness; and in the… Continue Reading >
Recognizing and Deflecting Desolation
Mark wrote in his journal that things are a mess. This past month for him has been dark, and he’s keeping his wife at a distance. He’s not praying as… Continue Reading >

天主是美善的!

常年期第二十七主日

創世紀 2:18-24

上主天主說:「人單獨不好,我要給他造個與他相稱的助手。」 上主天主用塵土,造了各種野獸,及天空中的各種飛鳥,都引到人面前,看人怎樣起名;凡人給生物起的名字,就成了那生物的名字。人於是給各種畜牲、天空中各種飛鳥,和各種野獸,起了名字;但人沒有找到一個與自己相稱的助手。 上主天主於是使人熟睡,當人睡著了,就取出了他的一根肋骨,再用肉補滿原處。然後,上主天主用那由人取來的肋骨,形成了一個女人,引她到人面前。 人於是說:「這才真是我的骨中之骨,肉中之肉,她應稱為『女人』,因為是由男人取出的。」 為此,人應離開自己的父母,依附自己的妻子,兩人成為一體。

希伯來書 2:9-11

弟兄姊妹們: 我們看見了那位「稍微遜於天使」的耶穌,因所受死亡之苦,接受了尊崇和光榮的冠冕;這原是出於天主的恩寵,使他為每個人嘗到死味。 其實,這是適當的:那為萬物終向,及萬物根源的天主,要藉苦難,來成全那領導眾子進入光榮,並拯救眾子的首領。因為祝聖者與被祝聖者,都是出於一源;為這個原故,耶穌稱眾人為弟兄,並不以為恥。

馬爾谷福音 10:2-16

那時候,有些法利塞人前來問耶穌:許不許丈夫休妻?意思是要試探他。 耶穌回答他們說:「梅瑟吩咐了你們什麼?」 他們說:「梅瑟准許了寫休書休妻。」 耶穌對他們說:「這是因為你們心硬,梅瑟才給你們寫下了這條法令。但是,從創造之初,天主造了他們一男一女。為此,人要離開他的父母,依附自己的妻子,兩人成為一體,以致他們不再是兩個,而是一體了。所以,天主所結合的,人不可拆散。」 回到家裡,門徒又問耶穌這事。耶穌對他們說:「誰若休自己的妻子,而另娶,就是犯姦淫,辜負妻子;若妻子離棄自己的丈夫,而另嫁,也是犯姦淫。」 有人帶一些小孩子來見耶穌,要耶穌撫摸他們;門徒卻斥責他們。耶穌見了,就生氣,對門徒說:「讓小孩子到我跟前來,不要阻止他們!因為天主的國,正屬於這樣的人。我實在告訴你們:誰若不像小孩子一樣,接受天主的國,決不能進去。」 耶穌於是抱起小孩子來,給他們覆手,祝福了他們。

當我們想到世界上的最偉大發明,有人會說是胰島素、電力、引擎、風力發電機、太陽能發電板、電腦、光纖;或許是切片麵包或拉鍊。那麼受造的天地萬物又如何?人類的創造力,的確只能微弱地反映我們的創造者的想像力和視野!本週的讀經,展示了天主對祂所有受造物的豐厚而深不可測的慈愛,也提醒我們受造物與創造者之間的親密關係;人與人之間的真摯關係;基督和聖教會之間的奧秘關係。「創造是『天主一切救恩計劃』的基礎,是『救恩史的開始』,在基督身上達到了巔峰。反過來說,基督的奧蹟對創造的奧跡也有決定性的光照,它揭露了『在起初天主創造了天地』的目的:從起初天主就想到了在基督內新創造的光榮」(天主教教理 280)。
像許多人一樣,我喜愛大自然,非常享受在戶外的時光;在每個季節的美景下遊歷。每一片青草的葉子和每一束野花;每一棵樹和每一叢灌木;飛鳥、蜜蜂和蝴蝶;所有在大地上行走、爬行、和滑行的;所有在水裏游泳的;他們都用獨一無二的方式,唱出了天主的榮光。每事每物都按著造物主的設計而運作,互相支持和支撐,從不間斷。真的,天主是美善的!從祂所創造的天地萬物中,向我們展現自己,是天主的旨意。《天主教教理》教導我們「天主因著祂的仁愛和智慧,將自己啟示給人,為使人認識祂旨意的奧秘」(天主教教理 51)。天主以仁愛來創造這美麗的大地,祂請我們不但去享受這世界,亦為祂作見證「天主在創世和造人時,已「為祂全能的愛心和智慧 ⋯ 也初次宣布了祂的『慈愛計劃』,其目的是指向基督內的新創造」 (天主教教理 315)。《創世紀》所記載的天主創世故事,顯示了天主也要求「人」參與這創造工程。天主要求「人」「給各種畜牲、天空中的各種飛鳥和各種野獸起了名字」,「凡人給生物起的名字,就成了那生物的名字」(創 2:19-20)。參與了創造工程,「人」(人類)被召叫為天主創造的管理者。但「人」不能單獨完成這偉大的壯舉。天主知道「人」需要「一個⋯相稱的助手」,「女人」— 她「是【他】的骨中之骨,肉中之肉」(創 2:20-21)。天主創世的故事成了我們被召喚為照顧天地萬物和互相照顧的根基。天主說,「你們要生育繁殖,充滿大地,治理大地,管理海中的魚、天空的飛鳥、各種在地上爬行的生物!」(創 1:28)。「管理」雖然字面上有權柄和行使權力的意思,卻也提醒我們,自己的責任,是照顧天地萬物、和互相照顧,像一個有耐性的園丁,照料和培育他職責所在的一樣。
雖然,天地萬物被造成和諧美好,但當我們與天主、與人、或與受造物關係不好的時候,便會出現爭議。在《馬爾谷福音》法利塞人以離婚問題挑戰耶穌,顯示出人的心硬;頑固而驕傲的心。雖然梅瑟的律法,有離婚這法令,但耶穌認為寫下這律法「是為了你們的心硬」(谷 10:5)。耶穌以《創世紀》肯定了「所以,天主所結合的,人不可拆散」 (參 創 2:24, 谷 10:9)。更重要的是,夫婦之間的婚姻關係,為我們指向基督和聖教會的親密關係。耶穌是配偶和聖教會之首。就像夫婦互相愛慕、照顧、尊敬,甚至為對方犧牲,基督自願奉獻自己,只一次「藉著他使萬有,無論是地上的,是天上的,都與自己重歸於好,因著他十字架的血立定了和平」(哥 1:20)。耶穌「那位『稍微遜於天使』的耶穌⋯出於天主的恩寵,使他為每個人嘗到死味」(希 2:9)。聖保祿進一步解釋,「因為從來沒有人恨過自己的肉身,反而培養撫育它,一如基督之對教會;因為我們都是他身上的肢體。『為此,人應離開自己的父母,依附自己的妻子,二人成為一體。』這奧秘真是偉大!但我是指基督和教會說的」(弗 5:29-32)。
上智和美善的天主,「求你給我再造一顆純潔的心,求你使我心重獲堅固的精神」(詠 51:12)。當我們的眼睛被貪婪和傲慢所蒙蔽,當我們的心被驕傲所堵塞,請祢光照我們,以祢的慈悲和無條件的愛啓迪我們。治癒我們的破損關係 — 與祢,與大地,和彼此的關係。更新我們的靈魂,好讓我們在所做的一切事情上,與祢所造的萬有,齊聲光榮你。請派遣祢的聖神,帶領我們走上正確的道路,走向痊癒及修和。亞孟。

Posted: October 3, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

我們的身體是好的 Fr. Justin Huang

幾週前,我們學校的一些學生問我,天主教徒是否應該支持LGBTQ運動(男女同性戀,雙性人,跨換性別者)–他們暢所欲言,真是太棒了。我試圖通過揭露變性人意識形態中最糟糕的部分來回答:對兒童的困惑以及對他們的傷害,以及青春期阻滯劑的倡導和對兒童的性別重置手術,以及對身體造成不可挽回的變更。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第廿七主日:男女地位平等 吳智勳神父

今日的福音明顯地論男女的結合,特別強調婚姻不可拆散。這種講法,基督徒已是耳熟能詳了,我們現在則以婦女的地位,作為今天反省的主題。  從前,在猶太社會中,婦女地位低微。在統計人數時,女人與小孩都不算在內。例如:舊約以色列人出埃及,只算男子六十萬;新約五餅二魚的奇蹟,只統計男子有五千。可見這是猶太人的風俗,但聖經的啟示,並沒有輕視婦女的地位。

繼續閱讀 >