“My flesh is food . . . my blood is drink”

The Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi)

Exodus 24:3-8

When Moses came to the people and related all the words and ordinances of the LORD, they all answered with one voice, "We will do everything that the LORD has told us." Moses then wrote down all the words of the LORD and, rising early the next day, he erected at the foot of the mountain an altar and twelve pillars for the twelve tribes of Israel. Then, having sent certain young men of the Israelites to offer holocausts and sacrifice young bulls as peace offerings to the LORD, Moses took half of the blood and put it in large bowls; the other half he splashed on the altar. Taking the book of the covenant, he read it aloud to the people, who answered, "All that the LORD has said, we will heed and do." Then he took the blood and sprinkled it on the people, saying, "This is the blood of the covenant that the LORD has made with you in accordance with all these words of his."

Hebrews 9:11-15

Brothers and sisters: When Christ came as high priest of the good things that have come to be, passing through the greater and more perfect tabernacle not made by hands, that is, not belonging to this creation, he entered once for all into the sanctuary, not with the blood of goats and calves but with his own blood, thus obtaining eternal redemption. For if the blood of goats and bulls and the sprinkling of a heifer's ashes can sanctify those who are defiled so that their flesh is cleansed, how much more will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from dead works to worship the living God. For this reason he is mediator of a new covenant: since a death has taken place for deliverance from transgressions under the first covenant, those who are called may receive the promised eternal inheritance.

Mark 14:12-16, 22-26

On the first day of the Feast of Unleavened Bread, when they sacrificed the Passover lamb, Jesus’ disciples said to him, "Where do you want us to go and prepare for you to eat the Passover?" He sent two of his disciples and said to them, "Go into the city and a man will meet you, carrying a jar of water. Follow him. Wherever he enters, say to the master of the house, 'The Teacher says, "Where is my guest room where I may eat the Passover with my disciples?"' Then he will show you a large upper room furnished and ready. Make the preparations for us there." The disciples then went off, entered the city, and found it just as he had told them; and they prepared the Passover. While they were eating, he took bread, said the blessing, broke it, gave it to them, and said, "Take it; this is my body." Then he took a cup, gave thanks, and gave it to them, and they all drank from it. He said to them, "This is my blood of the covenant, which will be shed for many. Amen, I say to you, I shall not drink again the fruit of the vine until the day when I drink it new in the kingdom of God." Then, after singing a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.

Today’s feast of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi) celebrates our Church’s greatest treasure – the Most Blessed Sacrament of the Eucharist. In the First Reading, the ratification of the covenant between God and the Israelites by a sacrifice prefigures our covenant with God in Jesus Christ; a covenant not sealed with the blood of bulls but with the sacrifice of His own precious blood. And though the institution of the Holy Eucharist is celebrated on Holy Thursday, the feast of Corpus Christi celebrates the real presence of Jesus in the Eucharist.

Jesus bears witness to His real presence in the Eucharist when He says “I am the bread of life . . . I am the living bread that has come down from heaven . . . and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world . . . unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you shall not have life in you. He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood has life everlasting . . . for my flesh is food indeed and my blood is drink indeed” (Jn 6:48-55). Hence, to eat Jesus’ flesh and drink His blood is not simply metaphorical or symbolic, “As the living Father has sent me, and as I live because of the Father so he who eats me, he also shall live because of me” (Jn 6:58). The Eucharist gives us a share in that life which the Father shares with the Son, and it is only possible when the Son is truly present in the Eucharist.

When Jesus says before His ascension, “behold, I am with you always, until the end of the age”, He is promising His real, though invisible, continuous presence (Mt 28:20). In one of his sermons on the Ascension, Pope St. Leo the Great explains, “And so our Redeemer’s visible presence has passed into the sacraments. Our faith is nobler and stronger because sight has been replaced by a doctrine whose authority is accepted by believing hearts, enlightened from on high” (excerpt from Sermo 2 de Ascensione 1-4: PL 54, 397-399). Those with “believing hearts” believe the sacraments are not mere symbols but the reality of God’s living presence among us. The Eucharist is truly “the source and summit of the Christian life” (Lumen Gentium P 11), “for in the Blessed Eucharist is contained the whole spiritual good of the Church, namely Christ himself, our Pasch” (Presbyterorum Ordinis P5 Pope St Paul VI 1965). The Eucharist is truly everything because it is Jesus Himself really and substantially present: body, blood, soul and divinity. It is the food for our journey through life, a medicine to heaven.

Traditionally where this Feast is celebrated, there will be exposition, adoration, benediction and procession of the Blessed Sacrament. These devotions are expressions of our living faith in the Eucharistic presence of our Lord. Perhaps today’s feast not only celebrates this wonderful gift that the Lord gives us, but also invites us to go deeper into its mystery and its underlying love. Do we have believing hearts? Do we hunger for the Bread of Life? Are we eager to become the Eucharistic People by leading a Eucharistic life, a life of faith, love, service, piety, humility, gratitude and reverence?

Posted: June 6, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Truth or Trendiness
I’d like to talk about the current situation surrounding the Kamloops Indian Residential School with a view towards truth and reconciliation. Keep in mind that I’m only addressing you, the… Continue Reading >
“Why are you afraid? Have you still no faith?” (Mk 4:40)
We must entrust to Christ for He alone can bring us to the safe haven of salvation Continue Reading >
Seeing Life as a Mission
Given that we’re celebrating the solemnity of our patron, St. Anthony, today’s homily is about celebration and mission. The Readings are about Jesus’ mission, and they’ve touched me deeply. The… Continue Reading >

「我的肉是食品 . . . 我的血是飲料」

基督聖體聖血節

出谷紀 24:3-8

那時候,梅瑟下來,將上主的一切話和誡命,講述給百姓聽;眾百姓都同聲回答說:「凡上主所吩咐的話,我們全要奉行。」梅瑟於是將上主的一切話,記錄下來。第二天清早,梅瑟在山下,立了一座祭壇,又按以色列十二支派,立了十二根石柱,又派了以色列子民的一些青年人,去奉獻全燔祭,宰殺了牛犢,作為獻給上主的和平祭。梅瑟取了一半的血,盛在盆中,取了另一半的血,灑在祭壇上;然後,拿過約書來,念給百姓聽。以後,百姓回答說:「凡上主所吩咐的,我們必聽從奉行。」梅瑟於是拿血來, 灑在百姓身上,說:「看,這是盟約的血,是上主本著這一切話,同你們訂立的約。」

希伯來書 9:11-15

弟兄姊妹們:基督一到,就作了未來鴻恩的大司祭。他經過了那更大,更齊全的,不是人手所造,不屬於受造世界的帳幕;不是帶著公山羊和牛犢的血,而是帶著自己的血,一次而為永遠,進入了天上的聖殿,獲得了永遠的救贖。如果公山羊和牛犢的血,以及母牛的灰燼,灑在那些受玷污的人身上,可淨化他們,得到肉身的潔淨,何況基督的血呢?基督藉著永生的神,已把自己,毫無瑕疵地奉獻於天主,他的血豈不更能潔淨我們的良心,除去死亡的行為,好去事奉生活的天主?為此,基督作了新約的中保,以他的死亡,補贖了在先前盟約之下,所有的罪過,好叫那些蒙召的人,獲得所應許的永遠產業。

馬爾谷福音 14:12-16,22-26

無酵節的第一天,即宰殺逾越節羔羊的那一天,門徒對耶穌說:「你願意我們到那裡,給你預備吃逾越節晚餐?」耶穌就打發兩個門徒,對他們說:「你們往城裡去,必有一個拿著水罐的人,迎面而來,你們就跟著他走;他無論進入那裡,你們就對那家主說:師父問:我同我的門徒,吃逾越節晚餐的客廳在那裡?他必指給你們一間舖設好的寬大樓廳,你們就在那裡,為我們預備吧!」門徒去了,來到城裡,所遇見的,正如耶穌給他們所說的;他們就預備了逾越節晚餐。他們正吃的時候,耶穌拿起餅來,祝福了,擘開,遞給他們說:「你們拿去吃吧!這是我的身體。」耶穌又拿起杯來,祝謝了,遞給他們;他們都從那杯喝了。耶穌對他們說:「這是我的血,盟約的血,為大眾而傾流的。我實在告訴你們:我決不再喝這葡萄汁了,直到我在天主的國裡,喝新酒的那天。」他們唱完聖詠,就出來,往橄欖山去。

今天基督聖體聖血節 (Corpus Christi)是慶祝我們教會一個最大的寶藏 — 在聖體聖事內的耶穌體血。在《讀經一》,天主和以色列人以祭獻來訂立的盟約,預像在耶穌基督內,我們與天主所立的盟約;這盟約不是由牛犢的血來訂立,而是以祂自己的寶血來作祭獻。雖然教會在聖週四慶祝聖體聖事的建立,基督聖體聖血節卻是慶祝耶穌真正的臨在於聖體聖事內。
耶穌為自己真實的臨在於聖體聖血內而作證。祂說:「我是生命的食糧 . . . 我是從天上降下的生活的食糧 . . . 是為世界的生命而賜給的 . . . 你們若不吃人子的肉,不喝他的血,在你們內,便沒有生命。誰吃我的肉,並喝我的血,必得永生 . . . 因為我的肉,是真實的食品;我的血,是真實的飲料」 (若 6:48-55)。因此,食耶穌的肉和飲祂的血不僅是隱喻或象徵性,「就如那生活的父派遣了我,我因父而生活;照樣,那吃我的人,也要因我而生活」(若 6:57)。聖體聖事讓我們也可分享聖父與聖子之間所分享的生活,而我們之可以能分享這生活,全因為聖子真的臨在於聖體聖血內。

當耶穌在祂升天前說:「看!我同你們天天在一起,直到今世的終結」,祂答應我們的是祂實在的,雖看不見,卻是繼續的存在 (瑪 28:20)。在教宗聖良一世其中一個關於耶穌升天的講道裏,他解釋說:「我們的救主看得見的存在,已經傳到聖事內。我們的信德更高尚、更堅強,眼見的已被教義所代替,而這教義的權力,藉着從高天而來的啟迪,已被相信的心接受了(Sermo 2 de Ascensione 1-4: PL 54, 397-399 摘要)。那些「有相信的心」的人,相信聖事不單是象徵,而是生活的天主,真實的臨在於我們中間。聖體真的是「基督徒生活的源頭和高峰」(教會憲章11)。「因為在聖體聖事內,是教會整個屬靈的至善,就是基督自己,我們的逾越節」(Presbyterorum Ordinis P5 Pope St Paul VI 1965)。聖體聖事真是一切,因為是耶穌本人真的、實質的存在:身體、血、靈魂和天主性。這是我們生命之糧,往天堂之良藥。

傳統上,慶祝這節日會有朝拜聖體、聖體降福和聖體遊行。這些敬禮,是為表達我們相信我們的主臨在於聖體內。或許今天的節日不單是慶祝上主給我們這美妙的禮物,也邀請我們更進一步探索這奧蹟及其中的仁愛。我們有相信的心嗎?我們有沒有渴求生命的食糧?我們是否渴望成為聖體聖事的人,渡聖體聖事的生活, 一種充滿信德、仁愛、服務、虔誠、謙虛, 感恩和敬畏的生活?

Posted: June 6, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 基督聖體聖血節:基督祝聖的行動 吳智勳神父

聖體聖事是一件愛情的聖事,最能反映我們對基督愛的程度,我們看重此聖事與否,顯出我們對基督的愛有多少。這也是一件信德的聖事,當日不少門徒受不了考驗而離去,不能接受要食耶穌的肉,喝祂的血。我們常常領受此聖事,心理挑戰比領其他聖事大,必須相信耶穌的話,相信祝聖過的餅酒,確實是祂的體血。這是一件團結合一的聖事,早期基督徒在領完聖體後,以彼此分享所有去表達在主內的共融合一,今天我們會以甚麼去表達呢?

繼續閱讀 >