Giving the Body for Others

The Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi)

Exodus 24:3-8

When Moses came to the people and related all the words and ordinances of the LORD, they all answered with one voice, "We will do everything that the LORD has told us." Moses then wrote down all the words of the LORD and, rising early the next day, he erected at the foot of the mountain an altar and twelve pillars for the twelve tribes of Israel. Then, having sent certain young men of the Israelites to offer holocausts and sacrifice young bulls as peace offerings to the LORD, Moses took half of the blood and put it in large bowls; the other half he splashed on the altar. Taking the book of the covenant, he read it aloud to the people, who answered, "All that the LORD has said, we will heed and do." Then he took the blood and sprinkled it on the people, saying, "This is the blood of the covenant that the LORD has made with you in accordance with all these words of his."

Hebrews 9:11-15

Brothers and sisters: When Christ came as high priest of the good things that have come to be, passing through the greater and more perfect tabernacle not made by hands, that is, not belonging to this creation, he entered once for all into the sanctuary, not with the blood of goats and calves but with his own blood, thus obtaining eternal redemption. For if the blood of goats and bulls and the sprinkling of a heifer's ashes can sanctify those who are defiled so that their flesh is cleansed, how much more will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from dead works to worship the living God. For this reason he is mediator of a new covenant: since a death has taken place for deliverance from transgressions under the first covenant, those who are called may receive the promised eternal inheritance.

Mark 14:12-16, 22-26

On the first day of the Feast of Unleavened Bread, when they sacrificed the Passover lamb, Jesus’ disciples said to him, "Where do you want us to go and prepare for you to eat the Passover?" He sent two of his disciples and said to them, "Go into the city and a man will meet you, carrying a jar of water. Follow him. Wherever he enters, say to the master of the house, 'The Teacher says, "Where is my guest room where I may eat the Passover with my disciples?"' Then he will show you a large upper room furnished and ready. Make the preparations for us there." The disciples then went off, entered the city, and found it just as he had told them; and they prepared the Passover. While they were eating, he took bread, said the blessing, broke it, gave it to them, and said, "Take it; this is my body." Then he took a cup, gave thanks, and gave it to them, and they all drank from it. He said to them, "This is my blood of the covenant, which will be shed for many. Amen, I say to you, I shall not drink again the fruit of the vine until the day when I drink it new in the kingdom of God." Then, after singing a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.

I’ve never forgotten what the spiritual writer, Kimberly Hahn, said about the C-section scars on her stomach.  She was saddened by them, but her husband said that maybe the marks would be on her resurrected body, meaning that they’re signs of love, because she bore those wounds for Christ.  She said, “Stretch marks, varicose veins, and then afterbirth—there are so many opportunities to lay down our physical bodies for life”.

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]

When I look at pictures from years ago, I see how I’ve aged.  A part of me is saddened that I’ve lost something, but a deeper part of me is happy that I’ve been able to lay down my life so that others can live.  Actually, getting old in ministry is worth it, and I’m so thankful that people have spiritually grown.

One of our deepest spiritual needs is to give ourselves to others, because the nature of love is to give of itself and receive of the other.

Here’s the key theological point: When we give of ourselves to each other, we always do so through the body.  St. John Paul II called this the ‘language of the body.’  And there are different ways of doing this: We hug people; we write them emails of affection; we buy gifts; we spend time with and do acts of service for each other.  We always express love through the body.

However, we can either tell a truth or lie with our bodies.  If I make a deal to sell you my car, knowing that it’s got some hidden damage, and then shake your hand, that’s a lie.  Shaking hands in our culture is a sign of goodwill, but I just lied with that sign.  And we can tell truths and lies in a powerful way through our sexuality, because sexuality touches our soul—more on this later.

When parents lose sleep, sacrifice their bodies and their personal dreams for their children, they’re speaking a great truth: their children are their deepest treasures.

God also speaks through the language of the body.  Why did He become man?  One reason is to take on a body.  The second Person of the Trinity united a human nature to Himself so that He could give Himself to us physically.  When Jesus died on the Cross, He was saying with His body, “I love you without reserve.  My love is greater than your sins.”

His love on the Cross was prefigured at the Last Supper, which is today’s Gospel: “While they were eating, he took a loaf of bread, and after blessing it he broke it, gave it to them, and said, ‘Take; this is my Body.’  Then he took a cup, and after giving thanks he gave it to them, and all of them drank from it.  He said to them, ‘This is my Blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many’” (Mk 14:22-24).  Let’s consider three truths Jesus was speaking here:

1) When Jesus broke the bread, the disciples understood this language.  It was the Passover language of the father of a family who broke the bread, symbolizing God the Father who gives everything.  It’s also the language of hospitality: When a stranger was welcomed to a home, they would be given food.  But Jesus took this language to the highest level possible, because the food He was giving was Himself (Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth, Volume 2, 129).

2) The phrase ‘Blood of the covenant’ is the language of oneness, and is only used in one other place in the Bible, that is, our First Reading, where Moses slaughters oxen, sprinkling half of the blood on the altar and the other half on the people.  Blood was the sign of life, so, by sprinkling it on the altar, which represented God, and on the people, Moses was saying that God and the people were one.  Now Jesus says, ‘This is my Blood of the covenant,’ meaning we’re one with Him.

3) Being ‘poured out for many’ is the language of reparation: Jesus’ dying to repair our disobedience with His obedience.  We always betray God, but Jesus always loves God faithfully on our behalf.

There are four characteristics to describe Jesus’ love in the Eucharist and on the Cross: free, faithful, total, fruitful.  He gave His body willingly (Cf. Jn 10:18).  It was a faithful love.  Even though we reject Him, He will never reject us (Cf. 2 Tim 2:13).  It was total: He held nothing back (Cf. Jn 15:13).  And it was fruitful because it engendered our salvation (Cf. Jn 12:32).

Does anyone know the one word to describe love that is free, faithful, total, and fruitful?  Marriage.  Many times we’ve talked about the fact that the Bible is a love story, and God wants to marry us, in the sense that we’re completely united to Him.  So there’s a connection between God’s love and marriage/sexuality.

On the day of a wedding, in the questions before the minister and in the exchange of consent, husband and wife commit to loving each other freely, faithfully until death, totally, and fruitfully, meaning they’re open to new life.  And typically, on the night of the wedding, the couple expresses those vows no longer with words, but with their bodies.  When they make love, it’s freely given; it’s faithful until death; it’s total because they hold nothing back; and it’s fruitful, meaning the act is open to new life.

The theologian, Christopher West, tells a story about his father-in-law, who, the day after his wedding, was crying during Mass after receiving Communion.  His wife asked why.  He answered, “For the first time in my life, I understood those words, ‘This is my Body given up for you’” (Christopher West, Marriage and the Eucharist, Track 4).  This is what marital love is meant to express.  When Christian couples express their sexual love for each other, it’s connected to Jesus’ giving of His body in the Eucharist and on the Cross.

But there are other ways to express this love.  All day long, couples give their bodies for each other when they serve each other.  Here’s a short story video about marital love:

That’s the kind of love we’re meant to give!  If we start understanding the nature of love, and the different ways we can express it, especially that the highest and most fulfilling form of love is laying down our lives so that others can live (Cf. Jn 15:13), we’ll start understanding the nature of sexuality and the Eucharist, because they’re both about fully giving of our bodies.

First, with regard to sexuality, our society has conditioned us to think that sex is about pleasure, but the Bible teaches it’s much deeper.  Think about these phrases: “I want to have coffee with you.  I want to play tennis with you.  I want to have sex with you.”  No big deal.  But, think about these words, “I want to have a baby with you.”  If someone were to say that to us that means they want to be committed for life, to be there in the bad times, they love us so much that they want another one of us.  What God is telling us is that sex is marital by definition; it should never be separated from marriage, where it should be free, faithful, total, and fruitful.  To separate it from marriage is to lie with our bodies, which is why it’s a sin.

Even in marriage, a couple can have non-marital sex, when, for instance, one uses the other, or when they contracept—that’s not what sexuality was designed to be.  Contraception says with our bodies: ‘I want you, but not your fertility.  Let’s put a barrier between ourselves (that’s not total love).  I should take the birth control pill because I need to suppress my fertility.  I want the pleasure, but not the responsibility.’  There are more reasons I can give, and I will cover other issues in the future, but today we’re laying the groundwork for understanding the language of the body.

For years, when dating couples have asked me how far is too far, I say, “Don’t do anything that says you’re married.  I want you two to focus on discerning marriage, showing affection, being romantic.  If you go further than that, you’re saying something with your body that you can’t mean.  She’s not your wife.  You haven’t promised to love until death, to raise children with her.”

For people in homosexual relationships, I say, “Your love for each other is real.  You care for each other—that’s wonderful.  But sex belongs in marriage where it can be fruitful.  Sex is not just for two people who love each other.  Sex is also about openness to life.”  You’d be surprised how many people in homosexual relationships with whom I’ve talked accept this.

Yet we may object, “But, Father, they’re being denied love!”  Think about what you’re saying.  Do you actually think people will be denied happiness if they don’t have sex?  “But, Father, you’re telling them not to have sex.”  No.  I’m not the one telling; Jesus is telling us what the nature of sex is, and this applies to all people, single and married, heterosexual and homosexual.  And He’s not forcing anyone.  He’s just teaching us that non-marital sex cannot lead to the happiness for which we’re designed.  It can give pleasure, and it will bond people, but it will hit a painful limit for our souls.

When God asked me to be celibate, I didn’t know if I would be happy, because I was raised in our culture like everyone else.  I didn’t understand that God could fill me to the point that I just want to be with Him.  So, I do understand your questions.  Just keep on thinking about this: Can people find the happiness for which God designed us without sex?  Is that possible?

This brings us to the second point: The love Jesus gives us in the Eucharist.  Dr. Gregory Bottaro, in our consecration book, writes, “It takes a special kind of madness to conceive something so outrageous as to become food for one’s beloved.  It also takes Divine Power to be able to accomplish such a task.  This is the madness of the love of God.  He longs for union with us so deeply and doesn’t want to wait for us to pass from this life to the next that he turns himself into our food that we may consume him and consummate our love with him” (Dr. Gregory Bottaro & Jennifer Settle, Consecration to Jesus Through Saint Joseph, 113).

The Eucharist is the sign of how precious we are to Jesus!  He loves us so much that He offers us His own body.  Whenever we talk about sexual sins, a part of us can feel discouraged about our sins.  I know what that’s like, to feel ashamed.  But Jesus is saying to us, “In spite of any sins, you are so good that I want you to come to Me, first in Confession, then in the Eucharist!”

Jesus wants to give Himself to us, and we want to give ourselves to Him, because that’s the nature of love.  What could we do with our bodies, to express our love for Him?  Come to Mass, genuflect more lovingly, prostrate ourselves, spend time with Him in adoration?  We end now with this one-minute clip of The Passion of the Christ, where Jesus has just been arrested, is in jail and alone, awaiting His trial, but our Mother Mary seeks Him out and does the best she can to be close to Him.  Notice the language of her body.

Posted:

Keith Fung

 


Other Sunday Reflections

Into the Wild
As the Israelites learn to trust God throughout their journey in the wilderness, we, too, must journey through the wilderness of our heart to the doorstep of our loving God,… Continue Reading >
God Speaks Only One Word in the Whole Bible
And when the long-anticipated Christ event finally arrives, it often catches us completely by surprise: it comes with a theological significance and finality no scriptural readers could have expected. Continue Reading >
Having Compassion on Yourself and Others
When I was 25, volunteering at St. Joseph’s Medical Centre in New York, I always finished my days exhausted. When driving back to the seminary with Guillermo, he was always… Continue Reading >

把身體給別人

基督聖體聖血節

出谷紀 24:3-8

那時候,梅瑟下來,將上主的一切話和誡命,講述給百姓聽;眾百姓都同聲回答說:「凡上主所吩咐的話,我們全要奉行。」梅瑟於是將上主的一切話,記錄下來。第二天清早,梅瑟在山下,立了一座祭壇,又按以色列十二支派,立了十二根石柱,又派了以色列子民的一些青年人,去奉獻全燔祭,宰殺了牛犢,作為獻給上主的和平祭。梅瑟取了一半的血,盛在盆中,取了另一半的血,灑在祭壇上;然後,拿過約書來,念給百姓聽。以後,百姓回答說:「凡上主所吩咐的,我們必聽從奉行。」梅瑟於是拿血來, 灑在百姓身上,說:「看,這是盟約的血,是上主本著這一切話,同你們訂立的約。」

希伯來書 9:11-15

弟兄姊妹們:基督一到,就作了未來鴻恩的大司祭。他經過了那更大,更齊全的,不是人手所造,不屬於受造世界的帳幕;不是帶著公山羊和牛犢的血,而是帶著自己的血,一次而為永遠,進入了天上的聖殿,獲得了永遠的救贖。如果公山羊和牛犢的血,以及母牛的灰燼,灑在那些受玷污的人身上,可淨化他們,得到肉身的潔淨,何況基督的血呢?基督藉著永生的神,已把自己,毫無瑕疵地奉獻於天主,他的血豈不更能潔淨我們的良心,除去死亡的行為,好去事奉生活的天主?為此,基督作了新約的中保,以他的死亡,補贖了在先前盟約之下,所有的罪過,好叫那些蒙召的人,獲得所應許的永遠產業。

馬爾谷福音 14:12-16,22-26

無酵節的第一天,即宰殺逾越節羔羊的那一天,門徒對耶穌說:「你願意我們到那裡,給你預備吃逾越節晚餐?」耶穌就打發兩個門徒,對他們說:「你們往城裡去,必有一個拿著水罐的人,迎面而來,你們就跟著他走;他無論進入那裡,你們就對那家主說:師父問:我同我的門徒,吃逾越節晚餐的客廳在那裡?他必指給你們一間舖設好的寬大樓廳,你們就在那裡,為我們預備吧!」門徒去了,來到城裡,所遇見的,正如耶穌給他們所說的;他們就預備了逾越節晚餐。他們正吃的時候,耶穌拿起餅來,祝福了,擘開,遞給他們說:「你們拿去吃吧!這是我的身體。」耶穌又拿起杯來,祝謝了,遞給他們;他們都從那杯喝了。耶穌對他們說:「這是我的血,盟約的血,為大眾而傾流的。我實在告訴你們:我決不再喝這葡萄汁了,直到我在天主的國裡,喝新酒的那天。」他們唱完聖詠,就出來,往橄欖山去。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

我永遠不會忘記神修作家金伯利·哈恩(Kimberly Hahn)講的關於她剖腹產後在腹部留下疤痕的事情。她為這些傷痕感到難過,她的丈夫郤說,這些傷痕可能會出現在她復活後的身體上,這意味著它們是愛的標記,因為她為基督背負著這些傷痕。她說:「妊娠紋、靜脈曲張,以及生產後–我們有太多的機會讓我們的肉體為生命犧牲。(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQzA2h2Dqko)。

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]

當我看自己多年前的照片時,發覺自己真是變老了。我的內心一部分為失去了一些東西而悲傷,但在更深的層次是喜悅:我很高興我能夠捨下我的生命,讓其他人都能活下去。事實上,在事工上變老是值得的,我為人們在靈性上有了成長而感恩。我們最深層次的精神需求之一就是把自己奉獻給他人,因為愛的本質就是奉獻自己,接受他人。

這裡有一個關鍵的神學觀點:當我們把自己奉獻給對方時,我們總是通過身體做到這一點。聖若望·保祿二世稱之為「身體語言」。我們有不同的方式來做到這一點:我們擁抱別人;我們給他們寫充滿愛意的電子郵件;買禮物;花時間與他人在一起,並以行動為對方服務。我們總是通過身體來表達愛。

但我們既可以用身體說真話,也可以撒謊。如果我把車賣給你, 明知車有隱蔽的損壞,最後跟你握手成交,那就是撒謊。在我們的文化中,握手是善意的象徵,但我剛才用那個手勢撒了謊。我們同樣可以通過我們的性行為這種更強有力的方式說出真相和謊言,因為性行為觸動了我們的靈魂–稍後會有更詳細的內容。

當父母為了孩子失眠、犧牲健康和個人夢想時,其實說的是一個偉大的事實, 那就是: 孩子是他們最大的寶富。天主也通過身體的語言說話。祂為什麼要降生為人?其中一個原因是要成為血肉之軀。三位一體中的第二位取了人性,這樣祂就可以把自己的肉體獻給我們。

當耶穌死在十字架上時,祂用身體說:「我毫無保留地愛你。我的愛比你的罪更大。」祂在最後晚餐時預告了祂的十字架上的愛,也就是今天的福音:「他們正吃的時候,耶穌拿起餅來,祝福了,擘開,遞給他們說:『你們拿去吃吧!這是我的身體。』,又拿起杯來祝謝了,遞給他們,他們都從杯中喝了。耶穌對他們說:『這是我的血,新約的血,為大眾流出來的。』」(谷14:22-24)。讓我們考慮一下耶穌在這裡說的三個真理:1)當耶穌擘開餅的時候,宗徒們聽懂了這種語言。這是一個家中父親的逾越節語言,他擘開了餅,象徵著天父給予一切。這也是熱情好客的語言:當我們歡迎陌生人到家裡時,他們會得到食物的款待。但是耶穌把這種語言發揮到了最高的水平,因為祂給的食物就是祂自己。 (Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth,Volume 2, 129)

2)「新約之血」是合一的語言,只在聖經的另一處使用過,那就是今天的第一篇讀經,「梅瑟屠牛取血,一半灑在祭壇上,另一半灑在人們身上。血是生命的標誌,因此,梅瑟將血灑在代表天主的祭壇上,並灑在人們身上,就是在說天主和人們是一體的。現在耶穌說,『這是新約的血』,意思是我們和祂是一體的。

3)「為眾人傾流」是贖罪的語言:耶穌的死要用祂的聽命來彌補我們的不聽命。我們總是背叛天主,但耶穌總是代表我們忠心地愛天主。

通過最後晚餐和十字架上所描述的耶穌的愛有四個特點:自由、忠誠、完全、豐盛。他心甘情願地獻出了自己的身體。 (Cf. Jn 10:18) 這是一段忠貞的愛。即使我們拒絕祂,祂也永遠不會拒絕我們。 (Cf. 2 Tim 2:13)這是完完全全的愛:祂沒有任何保留(參見。約15:13)。它之所以結出碩果,是因為它給我們帶來了救恩。 (Cf. Jn 12:32)

有沒有人知道用一個詞來形容愛,那就是「甘願 徹底 忠信 豐盛 的愛free, faithful, total, and fruitful」?那就是「婚姻 marriage」。我們已經談過很多次,聖經是一個愛情故事,天主想要與我們結婚,從這個意義上說,我們完全與祂結合。所以天主的愛和婚姻/性行為之間是有聯繫的。

在婚禮當天,在神父或執事提出的問題中,在彼此同意締結婚姻的過程中,夫妻雙方承諾甘願、忠信地彼此相愛,直到死亡,徹底的、豐盛的,這意味著他們將接納新生命的到來。通常,在婚禮當晚,新人不再用語言來表達這些誓言,而是用他們的身體來表達。當他們圓房時,它是無私奉獻的;是忠誠至死的;是徹底的,因為他們沒有任何保留;它是豐盛的,這意味著這種行為對新的生命是開放的。

神學家克里斯托弗·韋斯特(Christopher West) 講述了一個關於他岳父的故事,他的岳父在婚禮後的第二天,在彌撒中領聖體後哭泣了。他的妻子問為什麼。他回答說:「這是我有生以來第一次明白這些話,『這是我為你捨棄的身體』」(Christopher West, Marriage and the Eucharist, Track 4)
。這就是婚姻愛情的意義所在。當基督徒夫婦表達他們對彼此的性愛時,這與耶穌在聖體和十字架上獻出自己的身體有關。

但還有其他方式來表達這種愛。夫婦二人整天在互相服務的時候都會為對方獻出自己的身體。這是一段關於婚姻愛情的短片。(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_99ySDoC1fw).

這就是我們應該付出的愛!如果我們開始理解愛的本質,以及我們可以用不同的方式表達愛,特別是愛的最高和最有成就感的形式是獻出我們的生命,讓別人能夠活著(Cf. Jn 15:13),我們將開始了解性和聖體的本質,因為它們都是關於我們身體的充分奉獻。

首先,關於性,我們的社會已將之設限為關乎性快樂的,但聖經告訴我們的要深刻得多。想想這些短語:「我想和你一起喝咖啡。我想和你一起打網球。我想和你做愛。」。沒什麼大不了的。但是,想想這些話,「我想和你生個孩子。」如果有人對我們說這句話,那就意味著他們想要一生的承諾,在困難的時候陪伴在我們身邊,他們是如此地愛我們,以至於他們想要我們的另一個自己。天主告訴我們,從定義上講,性是婚姻;它永遠不應該與婚姻分開,在婚姻中,它應該是甘願、徹底、忠信、豐盛 的。把它從婚姻中分離出來, 就是用我們的身體撒謊,這就是為什麼它是一種罪。

即使在婚姻中,一對夫婦也可能進行非婚姻性行為,例如,當其中一方利用另一方時,或者當他們避孕時—這不是性的設計初衷。避孕對我們的身體說:「我想要你,但不是你的生育能力。讓我們在我們之間設置一道屏障(這不是完全的愛)。我要服避孕藥,因為我需要抑制生育能力。我只想要快樂,但不想要責任。 」我可以給出更多的理由,我會在未來給出其他的問題,但今天我們正在為理解身體的語言奠定基礎。

多年來,當正在約會的情侶問我「怎樣才算超越界限how far is too far?」時,我會說:「不要做任何說你已結婚的事。我想讓你們兩個專注於辨識婚姻,表達感情,浪漫。如果你超越這個界限,你就是在用你的身體說一些你不想說的話。她不是你妻子。你沒有答應過要愛到死,和她一起撫養孩子。」

對於同性戀關係中的人,我會說,「你們對彼此的愛是真實的。你們互相關心–這太好了。但是,性屬於婚姻,通過它可以結出豐盛的果實。性愛不僅僅是兩個相愛的人之間的事。性也是對生命的意願。」你會驚訝與我交談過的同性戀者有多少人接受了這一點。

然而,我們可能會反對,「但是,神父,他們被剝奪了愛!」好好想想你在說什麼。你真的認為如果人們沒有性生活就會被剝奪幸福感嗎? 「但是,神父,你是在告訴他們不要做愛。」不,不是我說的;是耶穌告訴我們性的本質是什麼,這適用於所有的人,無論是單身的還是已婚的,異性戀的還是同性戀的。祂沒有強迫任何人。他只是在教導我們,非婚性行為不能帶來我們原本想要的幸福。它能給人帶來快樂,也能把人們聯繫在一起,但它會給我們的靈魂帶來痛苦的極限。

當天主要求我獨身時,我不知道我是否會幸福,因為我和其他人一樣在我們的文化中長大。我不明白天主能把我填滿,以至於我只想和祂在一起。所以,我明白你的問題了。只要繼續思考這個問題:人們能不能在沒有性生活的情況下找到天主為我們設計的幸福呢?這有可能嗎?這就引出了第二點:耶穌在聖體中給我們的愛。格雷戈里·博塔羅博士Dr.Gregory Bottaro在我們的「通過聖若瑟夫獻給耶穌」一書中寫道:「想要成為心愛的人的食物,需要一種特殊的瘋狂。也需要神聖的力量才能完成這樣的任務。這就是天主的瘋狂的愛。祂深深地渴望與我們結合,不想等待我們從今生到來世,以至於祂把自己變成我們的食物,這樣我們就可以吃掉祂,完成我們對祂的愛(Dr. Gregory Bottaro & Jennifer Settle, Consecration to Jesus Through Saint Joseph, 113).

聖體標誌著我們對於耶穌來說是多麼珍貴!祂是如此的愛我們,以至於把祂自己的身體獻給了我們。每當我們談論性罪過時,我們中的一部分人會對我們的罪孽感到氣餒。我知道那是什麼感覺,感到羞愧。但耶穌對我們說:「儘管有任何罪,你是如此美好,我想讓你先辦告解,然後在聖體聖事中來找我!」

耶穌想把自己給我們,我們也想把自己給祂,因為這是愛的本質。我們能用我們的身體做些什麼,來表達我們對他的愛?來參加彌撒,滿懷愛心地跪下,匍伏朝拜,花時間朝拜祂?我們現在以這段一分鐘的「耶穌受難記The Passion of the Christ」片段結束,耶穌剛剛被捕,正在監獄裡孤獨地等待著審判,但我們的母親瑪利亞找到了祂,並儘她所能與他親近。注意她的身體語言(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3Nqm7T-V3c)。

Posted: June 6, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

「我的肉是食品 . . . 我的血是飲料」 May Tam

聖體聖事的生活就是信德、仁愛、服務、虔誠、謙遜、感恩和敬畏的生活

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 基督聖體聖血節:基督祝聖的行動 吳智勳神父

聖體聖事是一件愛情的聖事,最能反映我們對基督愛的程度,我們看重此聖事與否,顯出我們對基督的愛有多少。這也是一件信德的聖事,當日不少門徒受不了考驗而離去,不能接受要食耶穌的肉,喝祂的血。我們常常領受此聖事,心理挑戰比領其他聖事大,必須相信耶穌的話,相信祝聖過的餅酒,確實是祂的體血。這是一件團結合一的聖事,早期基督徒在領完聖體後,以彼此分享所有去表達在主內的共融合一,今天我們會以甚麼去表達呢?

繼續閱讀 >