“Abide in me as I abide in you.”

Fifth Sunday of Easter

Acts 9:26-31

When Saul arrived in Jerusalem he tried to join the disciples, but they were all afraid of him, not believing that he was a disciple. Then Barnabas took charge of him and brought him to the apostles, and he reported to them how he had seen the Lord, and that he had spoken to him, and how in Damascus he had spoken out boldly in the name of Jesus. He moved about freely with them in Jerusalem, and spoke out boldly in the name of the Lord. He also spoke and debated with the Hellenists, but they tried to kill him. And when the brothers learned of this, they took him down to Caesarea and sent him on his way to Tarsus. The church throughout all Judea, Galilee, and Samaria was at peace. It was being built up and walked in the fear of the Lord, and with the consolation of the Holy Spirit it grew in numbers.

1 John 3:18-24

Children, let us love not in word or speech but in deed and truth. Now this is how we shall know that we belong to the truth and reassure our hearts before him in whatever our hearts condemn, for God is greater than our hearts and knows everything. Beloved, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence in God and receive from him whatever we ask, because we keep his commandments and do what pleases him. And his commandment is this: we should believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and love one another just as he commanded us. Those who keep his commandments remain in him, and he in them, and the way we know that he remains in us is from the Spirit he gave us.

John 15:1-8

Jesus said to his disciples: "I am the true vine, and my Father is the vine grower. He takes away every branch in me that does not bear fruit, and every one that does he prunes so that it bears more fruit. You are already pruned because of the word that I spoke to you. Remain in me, as I remain in you. Just as a branch cannot bear fruit on its own unless it remains on the vine, so neither can you unless you remain in me. I am the vine, you are the branches. Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit, because without me you can do nothing. Anyone who does not remain in me will be thrown out like a branch and wither; people will gather them and throw them into a fire and they will be burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask for whatever you want and it will be done for you. By this is my Father glorified, that you bear much fruit and become my disciples."

In the Old Testament, Israel is frequently portrayed as God’s choice vine (or vineyard); one that God nurtures with care but produces bitter fruits nonetheless (rf Hos 10:1, Is 5:1-7, Ez 17:5-10, Ps 79: 9-17). In today’s Gospel reading, Jesus proclaims that He is the vine, the vine of the New Israel. In union with Him, Christians of the New Israel will bear fruits that are pleasing to God the vine-dresser (rf Jn 15:5, 8). In the Old Testament, God often threatens to prune or even uproot the unproductive vine (rf Is 5:1-7, Jer 2:21, Ez 15:1-6, 19:10-14). In today’s Gospel reading, Jesus says those who do not abide in Him will be cast out, withered and burned in fire (rf Jn 15:6). In the Old Testament, Abraham is the ideal; he is the friend of God (rf Is 41:8, 2 Chr 20:7). In today’s Gospel reading, Jesus’ disciples outshine that of Abraham for abiding in Jesus, they can ask whatever they will and it shall be done to them (rf Jn 15:7).

Abiding in Jesus is of paramount importance. When Jesus speaks of the union with Him, it is not meant to be understood metaphorically or symbolically. It is not a moral or intellectual union either but a reality of our life in Christ, the reality of divine indwelling. This divine indwelling (perichoresis in Greek) is not a one-way imposition but a mutual interpersonal bond, an active and a passive relationship. It is active because it is something we have to do – “abide in me”; it is passive because we have to let Jesus to do in us – “as I abide in you” (Jn 15:4). It is like the relationship of the three Divine Persons of the Trinity, that of “being-in-one-another” and this is what makes Christian life peculiar. St. Paul describes this relationship effectively in his epistle to the Galatians “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me; and the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me” (Gal 2:20).

Through Baptism, we bear the name of Christ as Christians and are able to share in His life. This reality is brought about in two ways. Externally, it is through the Sacraments. Our participation in the Church’s sacramental life is a participation in the mystery of God’s life. The experience of mutual indwelling is especially effected through the Blessed Eucharist (Holy Communion). Jesus Himself bears witness to the reality of this union when He said, “He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood lives in me and I in him” (Jn 6:56). Internally, this union with Jesus is a process of becoming Christ-like. Just like the life of the vine reproduces in the branches and causes them to bear fruits, Jesus works in us and reproduces His life in us. And the logical consequence of this mutual indwelling will be that of the imitation of Christ.

Identifying ourselves with Jesus is a choice. Abiding in Him is the will. When we deliberately decide to allow time for Jesus, to pray and talk to Him, to listen and read His words, to obey and do what He says and let go of things in our old life that are not Christ-like, we endeavour to be united with Him. Then in Christ’s view and with Christ’s mind, He will produce the fruit in us just like the vine brings forth fruits to the branches naturally (as long as the branches stay with the vine). The fruit is Christ-likeness – the likeness of God (rf Jn 10:30, 14:9).

How great is our privilege that God Himself shares His life with us through His son, Jesus. This privilege to share in the communion of the divine life is a work accomplished by Jesus for us. As God’s adopted children, we can now partake in the transcendent life of the Divinity here on earth (rf Gal 4:6, Rm 8:15, Heb 5:7). But it is absolutely necessary for us to be abound in Jesus in order to be transformed into God’s likeness. From Jesus the Vine comes the natural outflow of life and He is the source of our never ending renewal and transformation.

Posted: May 2, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

The Catholic Church and Catholicity
When the Catholic Church opens her arms to welcome all peoples, she does so not only because of charity, important as it is in Jesus’ teaching, it’s also because of… Continue Reading >
“Abide in me as I abide in you.”
From Jesus the Vine comes the natural outflow of life Continue Reading >
What our eyes cannot see, our heart perceives and understands
The Spirit in us; the same Spirit promised by Jesus and given to us through the sacrament of confirmation, sharpens all our senses, and most importantly our heart, to “taste… Continue Reading >

「住在我內,我也住在你內。」

復活期第五主日

宗徒大事錄 9:26-31

那時候,掃祿來到耶路撒冷,設法交結門徒;眾人都怕他,不信他是門徒。巴爾納伯卻接待了他,引他去見宗徒,並給宗徒講述掃祿在路上怎樣看見了主;主怎樣給他說了話;他又怎樣在大馬士革,因耶穌的名字勇敢講道。掃祿於是在耶路撒冷同眾門徒來往,也因主的名字勇敢講道。掃祿並且同希臘化的猶太人交談辯論;他們就打算殺害掃祿。眾兄弟一知道這事,就帶他下到凱撒勒雅,以後打發他到塔爾索去了。教會既在全猶太、加里肋亞和撒瑪黎雅,得享平安,遂建立起來,懷著敬畏上主之情行事,並因著聖神的鼓勵,逐漸發展。

若望一書 3:18-24

孩子們,我們愛,不可只用言語,也不可只用口舌,而要用行動和事實。在這一點,我們可以認出,我們是出於真理,並且在天主面前,可以安心;縱然我們的心責備我們,我們還可以安心,因為天主比我們的心大;他原知道一切。可愛的諸位,如果我們的心不責備我們,在天主前便可放心大膽;那麼,我們無論求什麼,必由他獲得,因為我們遵守了他的命令,行了他所喜悅的事。他的命令,就是叫我們信他兒子耶穌基督的名字,並按照他給我們的命令,彼此相愛。那遵守天主命令的,就住在天主內,天主也住在他內;我們所以知道天主住在我們內,是藉著他賜給我們的聖神。

若望福音 15:1-8

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「我是真葡萄樹,我父是園丁。凡在我身上不結果實的枝條,他便剪掉;凡結果實的,他就清理,使他結更多果實;你們因我對你們所講的話,已是清潔的了。你們住在我內,我也住在你們內。正如枝條如果不留在葡萄樹上,憑自己不能結果實;你們如果不住在我內,也一無所能。「我是葡萄樹,你們是枝條;那住在我內,我也住在他內的,他就結許多果實;因為離開了我,你們什麼也不能作。誰若不住在我內,便彷彿枝條丟在外面,枯乾了,人便把它拾起來,投入火中焚燒。你們如果住在我內,而我的話也存在你們內,如此,你們願意什麼,求吧!必給你們成就。我父受光榮,即在於你們多結果實,如此,你們就成為我的門徒。」

在舊約中,以色列經常被描繪為天主精選的葡萄樹(或葡萄園);一棵天主小心培育的葡萄樹,但可惜仍然結出苦澀的果實(參考 歐 10:1, 依 5:1-7, 則 17:5-10, 詠 79:9-17)。 在今天的福音讀經中,耶穌宣稱衪就是葡萄樹,是新以色列的葡萄樹。 新以色列的基督徒,如與衪結合,會結出使天主(園丁) 滿意的果實(參考 若 15:5, 8)。 在舊約中,天主常常威脅要修剪,甚至連根拔掉那些不結果實的葡萄樹(參考 依 5:1-7, 耶 2:21, 則 15:1-6, 19:10-14)。在今天的福音讀經中,耶穌說那些不住在祂內的人,會被丟在外面,枯乾然後被投入火中焚毀(參考 若 15:6)。在舊約中,亞巴郎是為理想的;他是天主的朋友(參 依 41:8, 2 ;編下 20:7)。 在今天的福音讀經中,耶穌的門徒比亞巴郎更勝一籌。因他們住在耶穌內,他們願意什麼,耶穌必成就他們所求(參考 若 15:7)。

住在耶穌內是至關重要的。當耶穌說與衪結合,意思並不是隱喻或象徵性的。也不是道德上或知識層面上的結合,而是我們生活在基督內的現實,這也是住在上主內與祂共融的一個現實。這個與天主共融的關係(希臘語 perichoresis)不是單方面強加於人的,而是天主與人相互相連,是一個主動又同時是被動的關係。主動是因為這是我們要做的事 — 「住在我內」;被動是因為我們必須讓耶穌對我們這樣做 — 「我也住在你們內」(若 15:4)。就像天主聖三的關係,是「彼此相合為一」的,這就是基督徒生活獨特之處。聖保祿在《迦拉達書》中,有效地表達了這關係:「我已同基督被釘在十字架上了,所以,我生活已不是我生活,而是基督在我內生活;我現今在肉身內生活,是生活在對天主子的信仰內;祂愛了我,且為我捨棄了自己」(迦 2:20)。

藉着聖洗聖事,我們揹負基督之名而成為基督徒,並能分享衪的生命。這事實以兩個方式來達成。外在來說,透過聖事。我們參與教會的聖事生活,便參與了天主生命的奧秘。尤其透過基督聖體的奧蹟(聖體聖事),我們得享住在主內與祂共融的經驗。耶穌親自見證了這真實的結合,衪說:「誰吃我的肉,並喝我的血,便住在我內,我也住在他內」(若 6:56)。內在來說,與耶穌結合是一個使自己肖似基督的過程。就像葡萄樹的生命,繁殖於枝條上結出果實,耶穌在我們內也就孕育了衪的生命。這相互共融所產生的必然結果就是效法基督。

我們認同耶穌是一種選擇。住在祂內是意志。當我們下定決心,騰出時間與耶穌相處、祈禱和交談,聆聽和閱讀衪的聖言,服從和按照衪的意旨做事,並放棄我們過往舊生活中,不肖似基督的事物,我們就是努力嘗試與衪結合。然後,基督的觀點和基督的想法會在我們內,結出果實,就像葡萄樹自然會在樹枝上結出葡萄一樣(只要枝條留在葡萄樹上)。結出的果實就是肖似基督 – 天主的肖像(參考 若 10:30, 14:9)。

我們多麼有幸,天主藉著衪的聖子耶穌,讓我們分享祂的生命。耶穌為我們完成了衪的使命,我們才得享與天主至聖的生命共融。作為天主的子女,我們在世上也可參與至聖天主超性的生命(參考 迦 4:6, 羅 8:15, 希 5:7)。 但我們必需要住在耶穌內,才能可轉變成天主的肖像。生命從耶穌這葡萄樹自然地流出,而祂就是我們永不乾涸的更新和改造之源。

Posted: May 2, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 復活期第五主日:住在基督內 吳智勳神父

「聖言成了血肉,寄居在我們中間」是若望福音的一句名言。人們都只是注意第一句,而往往忽畧了第二句。教會傳統認為兩句都重要。如果只看上一句而沒有下一句襯托,好像與我們扯不上關係。今日的若望一書及若望福音都強調「住在基督內」的重要。就讓我們細味「住在祂內」這句話。

繼續閱讀 >