Be with me through the storms

The Solemnity Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe

Daniel 7:13 - 14

As the visions during the night continued, I saw one like a Son of man coming, on the clouds of heaven; when he reached the Ancient One and was presented before him, the one like a Son of man received dominion, glory, and kingship; all peoples, nations, and languages serve him. His dominion is an everlasting dominion that shall not be taken away, his kingship shall not be destroyed.

Revelation 1:5 - 8

Jesus Christ is the faithful witness, the firstborn of the dead and ruler of the kings of the earth. To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood, who has made us into a kingdom, priests for his God and Father, to him be glory and power forever and ever. Amen. Behold, he is coming amid the clouds, and every eye will see him, even those who pierced him. All the peoples of the earth will lament him. Yes. Amen. "I am the Alpha and the Omega, " says the Lord God, "the one who is and who was and who is to come, the almighty."

John 18:33B - 37

Pilate said to Jesus, "Are you the King of the Jews?" Jesus answered, "Do you say this on your own or have others told you about me?" Pilate answered, "I am not a Jew, am I? Your own nation and the chief priests handed you over to me. What have you done?" Jesus answered, "My kingdom does not belong to this world. If my kingdom did belong to this world, my attendants would be fighting to keep me from being handed over to the Jews. But as it is, my kingdom is not here." So Pilate said to him, "Then you are a king?" Jesus answered, "You say I am a king. For this I was born and for this I came into the world, to testify to the truth. Everyone who belongs to the truth listens to my voice."

We are all like Pilate: we do not understand Christ and His Kingship. So often when we are faced with the many trials and sufferings, or when we are confused by what are happening in this world, we turn to God only to challenge Him, to question Him why things have happened the way they have. We simply do not understand the way of the Lord. We have missed the point and used worldly logic to interrogate the real King of kings. In doing so, we are no different from Pilate.

Let’s make no mistake: Christ’s kingship and His kingdom are established not through violence or earthly powers, but through overcoming sins and death at a pricey cost of a shameful death on the Cross, for you and for me. He has “re-established” His kingdom on earth by His own blood, and we are called to defend and extend this kingdom (His Church and the truth) using His way and not the human way. (Ref. “To Him who loves us and freed us from our sins by His blood, and made us to be a kingdom, priests serving his God and Father.” – Revelation 1:5-6)

“I came into this world to testify to the truth. Everyone who belongs to the truth listens to my voice.” (John 18:37)

We need to challenge our human understanding and the distorted views presented to us by the world. We are called to stand by the truth and declare war on the evil, even when it means immense sufferings and many forms of persecutions.

In Chinese, there is a proverb that says 風雨同路 “As companions along the same path, let’s brave the stormy weather together” which has dual meanings for Christ’s followers. It is God telling us that the earthly journey for us is indeed a stormy one, yet He has also promised to be with us “always until the end of time” (Matthew 28:20). The conflicts between His Kingdom and the earthly powers will continue until He comes again. The final triumph and the true kingship belong to Him and we are to share His glory if we persevere and walk with Him till the end. As He has not deserted us the sinners, let us not make Pilate’s mistake and desert Christ the real king of our lives.

Brothers and sisters, hang in there! As the turmoil, terrors and persecutions of this world continue to haunt us, let us not deviate from His path but stick with this Christ the King who will lead us to the final victory!

Posted: November 22, 2015

Paul Yeung

 
Executive Director of Fountain of Love and Life (FLL).


Other Sunday Reflections

What is your call to Nineveh?
What is God calling you to do? What is the task that God has given to you? What is your call to Nineveh? That is the only question really worth… Continue Reading >
“Come and see” (John 1:39)
“Here I am Lord; I come to do your will” (Psalm 40) Continue Reading >
The Baptism of the Lord
With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility
The Holy Spirit empowers us to let our inner “superhero” out and be the person whom God has called. Continue Reading >

風雨同路

我們的主、耶穌基督、普世君王

達尼爾先知書 7:13-14

我在夜間的神視中觀望:看見一位相似人子者,乘著天上的雲彩而來,走向萬古常存者,便立即被引到萬古常存者面前。萬古常存者便賜給那相似人子者,統治權、尊榮和國度。各民族、各邦國及各種語言的人民,都要事奉那相似人子者;他的王權是永遠的王權,永存不替;他的國度永不滅亡。

默示錄 1:5-8

耶穌基督,是忠實的見證、死者中的首生者,和地上萬王的元首。他愛了我們,並以自己的血,解救我們脫離我們的罪過,使我們成為國度,成為司祭,以事奉他的天主和父;願光榮與權能歸於他,直到萬世萬代。阿們。看,他乘著雲彩降來;眾目都要瞻望他,連那些刺透了他的人,也要瞻望他;地上的各種族,都要哀悼他。的確這樣。阿們。我是「阿耳法」和「敖默加」,那今在、昔在,及將來永在的,全能者上主天主,這樣說。

若望福音 18:33-37

那時候,比拉多對耶穌說:「你是猶太人的君王嗎?」耶穌回答說:「這話是你自己說的,或是別人論及我,而對你說的?」比拉多答說:「莫非我是猶太人?你的民族和司祭長,把你交給我,你做了什麼?」耶穌回答說:「我的國不屬於這世界;如果我的國屬於這世界,我的臣民早已反抗了,使我不至於被交給猶太人;但是,我的國不是這世界的。」於是,比拉多對耶穌說:「那麼,你就是君王了?」耶穌回答說:「你說的是,我是君王。我為此而生,我也為此而來到世界上,為給真理作證;凡屬於真理的,必聽從我的聲音。」

我們都像比拉多一樣,我們不明白基督和祂的王權。很多時當我們面對痛苦試煉,或因為世界上發生的事而感困惑,我們會挑戰及質疑天主,為何令事情這樣發生。我們不了解天主的途徑及作為。我們以世俗的邏輯去質問這真正的萬王之王。這樣做,我們根本與比拉多無異。

我們要清楚:基督的王權和祂的國度不是通過暴力或世俗的權力而建立,而是透過祂為我們所付出的一個沉重代價,即藉著祂在十字架上被羞辱至死,以戰勝罪惡及死亡而建立的。祂用自己的血重新建立祂在地上的國度,而我們應以祂的方法,而不是人的方法去捍衛和拓展這國度(即教會和真理)。( 參:「祂以自己的血解救我們脫離我們的罪過,使我們成為國度,成為侍奉他的天主和父的司祭的那位。」 — 若望默示錄 1:5-6)

「我為此而來到世界上,為給真理作證:凡屬於真理的,必聽從我的聲音。」(若望福音 18:37)

我們需要挑戰人類有限的理解力和扭曲了的世界觀。我們應站在真理的一方向邪惡宣戰,即使這意味著我們將會面對巨大的痛苦和多方面的迫害。

中文有一句成語叫「風雨同路」,這對基督徒來說具有雙重意義。就如天主在告訴我們,俗世旅程確實充滿風風雨雨,但祂承諾與我們天天在一起,直到今世的終結。”(瑪竇福音 28:20)。祂的國度和俗世勢力之間的衝突及角力將持續下去,直到祂再來之時。最終的勝利和真正的王權全屬於祂,如果我們堅定不移地與祂同行,直到今世的結束,我們將能分沾到祂的光榮。正如祂並沒有因為我們是帶罪之身而離棄我們,讓我們不要像比拉多一般離棄基督– 這位我們生命中真正的君王。

兄弟姐妹們,請不要放棄!正當這個世界的動盪、恐怖主義和迫害威嚇著我們之際,讓我們不要偏離祂的路徑,全心信靠這位基督君王帶領我們到達最終的勝利!

Posted: November 22, 2015

Paul Yeung

 
Executive Director of Fountain of Love and Life (FLL).


其他主日反省

耶穌君王節:真理的要求 吳智勳神父

耶穌對這位管治耶路撒冷的羅馬總督比拉多說:「我的國不屬於這個世界。」當比拉多問耶穌是否君王時,耶穌確切地回答是,並說祂為此而生,也為此而來到世界上,為給真理作證,凡屬於真理的人必聽從祂的聲音。耶穌這樣的答覆,比拉多一時不知所措,便問道:「甚麼是真理?」今天讓我們從「真理」作反省。

繼續閱讀 >