“Do not be afraid … Have Faith … Go in Peace”

Thirteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

WISDOM 1:13-15; 2:23-24

God did not make death, nor does he rejoice in the destruction of the living. For he fashioned all things that they might have being; and the creatures of the world are wholesome, and there is not a destructive drug among them nor any domain of the netherworld on earth, for justice is undying. For God formed man to be imperishable; the image of his own nature he made him. But by the envy of the devil, death entered the world, and they who belong to his company experience it.

2 CORINTHIANS 8:7, 9, 13-15

Brothers and sisters: As you excel in every respect, in faith, discourse, knowledge, all earnestness, and in the love we have for you, may you excel in this gracious act also. For you know the gracious act of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, for your sake he became poor, so that by his poverty you might become rich. Not that others should have relief while you are burdened, but that as a matter of equality your abundance at the present time should supply their needs, so that their abundance may also supply your needs, that there may be equality. As it is written: Whoever had much did not have more, and whoever had little did not have less.

MARK 5:21-43

When Jesus had crossed again in the boat to the other side, a large crowd gathered around him, and he stayed close to the sea. One of the synagogue officials, named Jairus, came forward. Seeing him he fell at his feet and pleaded earnestly with him, saying, “My daughter is at the point of death. Please, come lay your hands on her that she may get well and live.” He went off with him, and a large crowd followed him and pressed upon him. There was a woman afflicted with hemorrhages for twelve years. She had suffered greatly at the hands of many doctors and had spent all that she had. Yet she was not helped but only grew worse. She had heard about Jesus and came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak. She said, “If I but touch his clothes, I shall be cured.” Immediately her flow of blood dried up. She felt in her body that she was healed of her affliction. Jesus, aware at once that power had gone out from him, turned around in the crowd and asked, “Who has touched my clothes?” But his disciples said to Jesus, “You see how the crowd is pressing upon you, and yet you ask, ‘Who touched me?’” And he looked around to see who had done it. The woman, realizing what had happened to her, approached in fear and trembling. She fell down before Jesus and told him the whole truth. He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has saved you. Go in peace and be cured of your affliction.” While he was still speaking, people from the synagogue official’s house arrived and said, “Your daughter has died; why trouble the teacher any longer?” Disregarding the message that was reported, Jesus said to the synagogue official, “Do not be afraid; just have faith.” He did not allow anyone to accompany him inside except Peter, James, and John, the brother of James. When they arrived at the house of the synagogue official, he caught sight of a commotion, people weeping and wailing loudly. So he went in and said to them, “Why this commotion and weeping? The child is not dead but asleep.” And they ridiculed him. Then he put them all out. He took along the child’s father and mother and those who were with him and entered the room where the child was. He took the child by the hand and said to her, “Talitha koum,” which means, “Little girl, I say to you, arise!” The girl, a child of twelve, arose immediately and walked around. At that they were utterly astounded. He gave strict orders that no one should know this and said that she should be given something to eat.

As we approach the end of June, the life of the Church seems to have relaxed after all the intense preparations during Lent, and the joy and excitement of Easter and Pentecost, we fall comfortably back into the “ordinary times”. Just when we are about to “chill” from all the apocalyptic warnings about end times and stories about Jesus’ sacrifices and suffering, we are, once again, reminded of the unfathomable breadth, width, and height of God’s love in this week’s readings.

In this Sunday’s Gospel of Mark, we have the privilege of witnessing not just one, but two miracles; both of which reveal the mysterious life of God – the God of justice, fidelity, and most of all, unconditional love. The miracles happen in tandem with each other, revealing the immense depth and width of God’s mercy, as well as our mission as children of God, through the actions and words of His Son, Jesus. In the story, there are two primary players, a synagogue official and the other an outcast, a “woman afflicted with hemorrhages for twelve years” (Mk 5:25). While one is a man who holds office in the synagogue, a highly respected and powerful position, the other is a woman, without any title, prestige, and power. Indeed, one cannot be more different from the other as day and night; however, both are healed by their faith. Jairus, the synagogue official, boldly walks up to Jesus and pleads “earnestly” for the healing of his daughter. The woman who is afflicted with hemorrhages for twelve years, perhaps too ashamed to approach Jesus, resolves to remain silent and hide in the crowd, content with only touching Jesus’ clothes. “Immediately her flow of blood dried up … she was healed of her affliction” (Mk 5:29). All around her, the large crowd continues to press upon Jesus while He and Jairus are probably still talking with each other. Her healing happens quietly without an audience. At least that’s what she thinks. While Jesus is on his way to Jairus’ house, He becomes aware that “power [has] gone out from him” and asks, “Who has touched my clothes” (Mk 5:30)? The woman, now exposed, is left with no option but to approach Jesus “in fear and trembling”; she falls down before the Healer and confesses. Instead of reprimanding her, Jesus commends her, “Daughter, your faith has saved you. Go in peace and be cured of your affliction” (Mk 5:34). Not only is she healed physically but also spiritually! Indeed, as the Psalmist proclaims, God has “changed [her] mourning into dancing” (Ps 30:12). All her pain, loneliness, and shame have been wiped clean; she has received the gift of peace.

Jairus’ journey to healing has its twists and turns, too. While still some distance from his house, he is told that his daughter has died and that he should not “trouble the teacher any longer” (Mk 5:35). Jesus, sensing Jairus’ despair, said, “Do not be afraid; just have faith” (Mk 5:36). Jesus is not just saying it, He means it! Often, it is fear that stands between us and God; between doubts and faith. Like Jairus and the woman, we must take courage and choose faith. Just as the woman is healed by her faith, Jairus’ daughter is revived by the perseverance of Jairus’ faith. We may conclude that two healings have occurred here: the daughter’s and Jairus’ heart.

Such stories demonstrate the “gracious act of our Lord Jesus Christ” that is rooted in love (2Cor 8:9). Whether one is rich or poor, powerful or powerless, Jesus heals without discrimination. In addition, St. Paul encourages us that “as you excel in every respect, in faith, discourse, knowledge, all earnestness, and in the love we have for you, may you excel in this gracious act also” (2Cor 8:7). Jesus, though “he was rich”, becomes poor for our sake (2Cor 8:9). He walks among the poor and the sick and lets his power flow out of him when needed. He understands our fear and despair; so He tells us “do not be afraid” (Mk 5:36). Jesus has laid out the roadmap for us to do the same for others. The Book of Wisdom reminds us that we are “formed to be imperishable” and are made in “the image of [God’s] own nature” (Wis 2:23). We do have the power and responsibility to uplift each other, so that “there may be equality”: “Whoever had much did not have more, and whoever had little did not have less” (2Cor 8:14-15). When we make sacrifices in the name of Jesus, we store up true treasures in heaven. When we willingly die with Christ, we may also rise with Him: “Therefore we have been buried with him by baptism into death, so that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life” (Rm 6:4).

God is, indeed, just and faithful who loves us unconditionally. Like the woman who is afraid to approach Jesus directly, may we take courage to believe and hang on to our faith. Jairus, whose faith is shaken when people tell him not to trouble Jesus any longer, enters his daughter’s room with Jesus anyway. He heeds Jesus’ words, “Do not be afraid” and “have faith”, and subsequently experiences two healings, his daughter’s and himself (Mk 5:36). When we feel weak and hopeless, let us cry out to Jesus, “help my unbelief” (Mk 9:24). With faith, let us go in peace to love God and serve each other.

Posted: June 27, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

“They had argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).
Jesus said to the twelve, “Whoever wants to be the first must be last of all and servant of all” (9:35). Continue Reading >
Perfect Freedom is Found in Christ
In June of this year, I read an article by Sohrab Ahmari, an Iranian who converted to Catholicism in 2016, and about his anxiety as a new father. The anxiety… Continue Reading >
The Mystery of Suffering
The next time we are confounded by the human fear of suffering, will we choose to follow James’ advice to persevere for spiritual maturity? Or, will we adopt the pre-Pentecost… Continue Reading >

「不要害怕 ⋯只要信 ⋯平安去吧」

常年期第十三主日

智慧篇 1:13-15;2:23-24

天主並沒有創造死亡,也不喜歡生靈滅亡。他創造了萬物,為叫它們生存;世上的生物,都有生命力,本身都沒有致命的毒素;陰府在地上,也沒有權勢,因為正義是不死不滅的。其實,天主創造了人,原是不死不滅的,使人成為天主本性的肖像;但因魔鬼的嫉妒,死亡才進入了世界;只有與魔鬼結緣的人,才經歷死亡。

格林多後書 8:7,9,13-15

弟兄姊妹們:正如你們在一切事上,在信德、語言、知識,和各種熱情上,並在我們所交於你們的愛情上,超群出眾,所以,你們也要在這慈善工作上,超群出眾。因為,你們知道,我們的主耶穌基督的恩賜:他本是富有的,為了你們,卻成了貧困的,好使你們因著他的貧困,而成為富有的。這不是要使別人輕鬆,叫你們為難;而是要出於均勻。現在,你們的富裕,彌補了他們的缺乏,好使他們的富裕,也彌補你們的缺乏;這樣就均勻了,正如所記載的:「多收的,沒有剩餘;少收的,也沒有不足。」

馬爾谷福音 5:21-43

那時候,耶穌乘船,回到對岸;有大夥群眾,聚集在他周圍。耶穌於是留在海濱。當時,來了一個會堂長,名叫雅依洛,一見耶穌,就跪伏在耶穌腳前,懇求耶穌說:「我的小女兒快要死了。請你來,給她覆手,叫她康復,使她活下去。」耶穌就同會堂長一起去。有一大群人,跟隨著耶穌,擁擠著耶穌。當時,有一個婦人,患血漏已有十二年。她在許多醫生手裡,受了許多痛苦,花盡了她所有的一切,不但沒有見效,反而病勢日益加重。她聽了有關耶穌的傳說,便來到人群中,從後邊摸了耶穌的衣裳,因為她心裡想:「只要我一摸他的衣裳,我的病就會好了。」結果,她的血漏,立刻停止了,並且覺得身上的疾病也好了。耶穌立刻覺得,有一種能力,從自己身上出去;於是,在人群中,回過頭來,說:「誰摸了我的衣裳?」耶穌的門徒向耶穌說:「你看!群眾四面擁擠著你,你還問:誰摸了我?」耶穌四周觀望,要看做這事的婦人。那婦人明知在自己身上所發生的事,就戰戰兢兢地前來,跪伏在耶穌腳前,把實情完全告訴了耶穌。耶穌便向那婦人說:「女兒,你的信德救了你。平安回去吧!你的疾病必得痊瘉!」耶穌還在說話的時候,有人從會堂長家裡來,說:「你的女兒死了,你還勞煩師父做什麼?」耶穌聽見所說的話,就給會堂長說:「不要怕,只管信。」除了伯多祿、雅各伯,和雅各伯的弟弟若望外,耶穌沒有帶任何人跟他去。他們到了會堂長的家裡,耶穌看見群眾非常喧嘩:有的哭泣,有的哀號;耶穌便進去,給他們說:「你們為什麼喧嘩哭泣呢?小女孩並沒有死,只是睡著了!」他們都譏笑耶穌。耶穌卻把眾人趕出去,帶著小女孩的父親和母親,以及同他在一起的人,進去小女孩所在的地方。耶穌拿起小女孩的手,對她說:「塔里塔,古木!」意思是:「女孩,我命令你起來!」那女孩就立刻起來行走,原來她已十二歲了。眾人都驚訝得目瞪口呆。耶穌卻嚴厲命令他們,不要叫任何人知道這事;又吩咐給女孩子食物吃。

踏入六月底,我們經過了四旬期的密集準備,復活節和五旬節的喜樂和興奮,教會生活似乎放鬆了一點,我們舒適地進入了「常年期」。當有關末日的啟示性警告、耶穌犧牲和苦難的故事令我們「不寒而慄」時,教會在本星期的讀經,再次提醒我們,天主的愛是如此深不可測的廣、闊和深。

在本主日的《馬爾谷福音》,我們有幸見證了不只一個奇蹟,而是兩個;這兩個奇蹟都展示了天主的神秘生活 — 那公義、信實和最主要的,是無條件地愛人的天主。奇蹟連接著發生,展示了天主極深而廣的慈悲,也藉着祂的聖子,耶穌的言行,展示了我們作為天主兒女的使命。故事裏有兩個主要角色,一位是會堂長,另一位則是被摒棄的「婦人,患血漏已有十二年」(谷 5:25) 。一位是男子,他在會堂裏的職位,是可敬和有權力的位置,另一位是女子,沒有任何銜頭、聲望和權勢。他們兩者間有著天淵之別;但他們都因為相信而獲得治癒。會堂長雅依洛勇敢地走到耶穌跟前,「懇切」求祂醫好自己的女兒。那患血漏十二年的婦人,可能不好意思接近耶穌,決定保持緘默,在人群中躲起來,只想摸一摸耶穌的衣服。「她的血源立刻涸竭了,並且覺得身上的疾病也好了」(谷 5:29)。當耶穌和雅依洛可能還在談話的時候,她周圍都是擠擁着耶穌的群眾。沒有任何觀眾,但她卻悄悄地痊癒了。至少這是她的想法。在耶穌往雅依洛家的途中,祂「覺得有一種能力從自己身上出去」,就問:「誰摸了我的衣裳」 (谷 5:30)?婦人被揭發後,別無他法,唯有「戰戰兢兢地前來」;跪伏在醫者面前,把實情相告。耶穌沒有責備她, 反而稱許她:「女兒,你的信德救了你,平安去罷!你的疾病必得痊癒!」(谷 5:34)。她不但身體得到治癒,她的靈魂也痊癒了!就像聖詠作者宣告「 天主已把【她】的哀痛,化成了舞蹈」 (詠 30:12)。她所有的痛苦,孤獨和羞愧已經被抹得一乾二淨;她的恩賜是獲得了平安。

雅依洛的治癒之路也迂迴曲折。當離開他家還有一段路的時候,有人告訴他,女兒已經死了,「你還來煩勞師傅做什麼?」(谷 5:35)。耶穌感覺到他的失望,便對他說:「不要怕,祇管信」(谷 5:36)。耶穌並不是空談,祂的意思確實如此!很多時,恐懼就在我們和天主之間;在疑惑和相信之間。好像雅依洛和那婦人,我們一定要鼓起勇氣,選擇相信。正如那婦人,她因為相信而痊癒了,雅依洛女兒得到重生,因為雅依洛堅持相信。我們可以結論,這裏有兩個治癒:雅依洛的心和他的女兒都復元了。

這些故事顯示出「我們的主耶穌基督的恩賜」是源於仁愛 (格後 8:9)。無論是富或貧,有權或無權者,耶穌都會一視同仁地治癒人。聖保祿更鼓勵我們,「就如你們在一切事上,在信德、語言、知識和各種熱情上,並在我們所交於你們的愛情上,超群出眾,這樣也要在這慈善工作上超群出眾」(格後 8:7)。耶穌「本是富有的」卻為了我們,成了貧困的(格後 8:9)。祂與窮人和病者一起,並在需要時,讓能力從自己身上出去。祂明白我們的害怕和失望;所以祂告訴我們「不要害怕」(谷 5:36)。耶穌向我們展示了要同樣地為他人服務。《智慧篇》提醒我們,我們是按照「【天主】本性的肖像」而受造,是「不死不滅的」(智 2:23)。我們有能力,亦有責任,互相勉勵提升,「要出於均勻」:「多收的沒有剩餘,少收的也沒有不足」(格後 8:14-15)。當我們因耶穌之名而作出犧牲,我們便在天堂儲存了真的寶藏。當我們願意與基督同死,我們便會與祂一起復活:「我們藉著洗禮已歸於死亡與祂同葬了,為的是基督怎樣藉著父的光榮,從死者中復活了,我們也怎樣在新生活中度生」 (羅 6:4)。

天主確是正義和信實的,祂無條件地愛了我們。就像那位害怕直接找耶穌的婦人,願我們提起勇氣去相信,並堅持自己的信仰。當人告訴雅依洛,不要再麻煩耶穌的時候,他的信念受到打擊,但他還是繼續和耶穌一起進入女兒的房間。他聽從耶穌的話「不要怕,祇管信」。終於,他經驗了兩個治癒,他的女兒和他自己都復元了(谷 5:36)。當我們感到軟弱無望的時候,讓我們向耶穌喊道:「請你補助我的無信吧!」(谷 9:24)。懷着信德,讓我們平安地去愛天主和大家彼此服侍。

Posted: June 27, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

花錢傳福音 Fr. Justin Huang

正如兩週前所說,今天我們要重新審視我們在財政上的慷慨開銷,因為這是今天第二篇讀經的重點。
兩週前,我的第三個行動項目是要求你考慮增加你的犧牲奉獻的慷慨度,然而過後我的想法發生了重大變化。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十三主日:耶穌是痛苦與死亡的答案 吳智勳神父

福音中耶穌所行的奇蹟,大致可分為幾類,都是與天國有關:驅逐魔鬼表示天國因耶穌打敗魔鬼的勢力而來臨;平息風浪表示耶穌征服惡勢力,主宰一切,祂能為教會、為個人帶來平安;治好病人表示耶穌能使被痛苦或罪惡困擾的人,獲得希望與寬恕;復活死人顯示天國已來到人間,耶穌使人得到永恆的生命;增餅奇蹟表示耶穌是永生的食糧

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:神聖的生命
繼續閱讀 >