Spending Money on Mission

Thirteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

WISDOM 1:13-15; 2:23-24

God did not make death, nor does he rejoice in the destruction of the living. For he fashioned all things that they might have being; and the creatures of the world are wholesome, and there is not a destructive drug among them nor any domain of the netherworld on earth, for justice is undying. For God formed man to be imperishable; the image of his own nature he made him. But by the envy of the devil, death entered the world, and they who belong to his company experience it.

2 CORINTHIANS 8:7, 9, 13-15

Brothers and sisters: As you excel in every respect, in faith, discourse, knowledge, all earnestness, and in the love we have for you, may you excel in this gracious act also. For you know the gracious act of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, for your sake he became poor, so that by his poverty you might become rich. Not that others should have relief while you are burdened, but that as a matter of equality your abundance at the present time should supply their needs, so that their abundance may also supply your needs, that there may be equality. As it is written: Whoever had much did not have more, and whoever had little did not have less.

MARK 5:21-43

When Jesus had crossed again in the boat to the other side, a large crowd gathered around him, and he stayed close to the sea. One of the synagogue officials, named Jairus, came forward. Seeing him he fell at his feet and pleaded earnestly with him, saying, “My daughter is at the point of death. Please, come lay your hands on her that she may get well and live.” He went off with him, and a large crowd followed him and pressed upon him. There was a woman afflicted with hemorrhages for twelve years. She had suffered greatly at the hands of many doctors and had spent all that she had. Yet she was not helped but only grew worse. She had heard about Jesus and came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak. She said, “If I but touch his clothes, I shall be cured.” Immediately her flow of blood dried up. She felt in her body that she was healed of her affliction. Jesus, aware at once that power had gone out from him, turned around in the crowd and asked, “Who has touched my clothes?” But his disciples said to Jesus, “You see how the crowd is pressing upon you, and yet you ask, ‘Who touched me?’” And he looked around to see who had done it. The woman, realizing what had happened to her, approached in fear and trembling. She fell down before Jesus and told him the whole truth. He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has saved you. Go in peace and be cured of your affliction.” While he was still speaking, people from the synagogue official’s house arrived and said, “Your daughter has died; why trouble the teacher any longer?” Disregarding the message that was reported, Jesus said to the synagogue official, “Do not be afraid; just have faith.” He did not allow anyone to accompany him inside except Peter, James, and John, the brother of James. When they arrived at the house of the synagogue official, he caught sight of a commotion, people weeping and wailing loudly. So he went in and said to them, “Why this commotion and weeping? The child is not dead but asleep.” And they ridiculed him. Then he put them all out. He took along the child’s father and mother and those who were with him and entered the room where the child was. He took the child by the hand and said to her, “Talitha koum,” which means, “Little girl, I say to you, arise!” The girl, a child of twelve, arose immediately and walked around. At that they were utterly astounded. He gave strict orders that no one should know this and said that she should be given something to eat.

As mentioned two weeks ago, today we’re going to re-examine our financial generosity, because that’s the focus of today’s Second Reading.

However, I had a significant change of heart two weeks ago when my third action item was to ask you to think about increasing your sacrificial generosity.  That Sunday afternoon, I realized: The priority is not for you to increase your sacrificial generosity.  The priority is for me and the leadership of the parish to spend the money we already have on mission!   When I wrote that homily, I was still living out of an old mindset, which said, “If we’re going to spend more money and run a deficit budget, I need to ask for help first.”  But then I understood God’s faithfulness and yours and thought, “No, the parish leadership needs to prove to God and you that we’re willing to take risks for Him and for souls, and once we do, then you can support these initiatives.”

So, I’m actually telling you today that you don’t have to increase your generosity now!  Can you believe this?  The goal of our parish now is to be bolder with the gifts God has given us!  I cannot tell you how happy I feel about this.  I feel so free, knowing that He’ll take care of us!

Nevertheless, we’re still going to examine the Christian understanding of sacrificial giving because that’s the content of the Second Reading, and the time will come when God will ask us to increase it.  The context for the Reading is that St. Paul is writing to the Corinthians, in modern-day Greece, asking their financial support to help Christians in Jerusalem who were suffering: “Now as you excel in everything—in faith, in speech, in knowledge, in utmost eagerness, and in our love for you—so we want you to excel also in this generous undertaking” (2 Cor 8:7).

First, St. Paul wants the Corinthians to avoid over-spiritualizing our faith.  People might say that faith is about belief in God, love, and other spiritual matters.  But it also affects tangible things.  Let’s say someone prays but doesn’t love their neighbour, or studies theology but doesn’t take care of their health (Thomas D. Stegman, SJ, Second Corinthians in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture,195-196).  That’s why St. Paul tells the Corinthians that their excellence in spiritual things should carry over into something practical.

Second, the term ‘generous undertaking’ is a loose translation of the word ‘grace,’ which St. Paul uses ten times in this part of his letter.  ‘Grace’ means a favour, the goodwill of a giver, or the gratitude of a receiver; most importantly, it refers to God’s love for us, that He gave us Jesus, Who died and rose for us.  St. Paul is reminding them and us that we’ve received the most important gifts, so we should be generous in giving as well.

Then he points to Jesus’ example of sacrificial generosity: “For you know the generous act of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was richyet for your sakes he became poor, so that by his poverty you might become rich” (2 Cor 8:9).  Jesus couldn’t suffer, yet, He took on our humanity and suffered humiliation so that we could share His glory.  Sacrificial giving is part of this: We give up what we could use so that others will benefit.

Then St. Paul gives some practical teaching: “I do not mean that there should be relief for others and pressure on you, but it is a question of a fair balance between your present abundance and their need… As it is written, ‘The one who had much did not have too much, and the one who had little did not have too little’” (2 Cor 8:13-15).  When we talk about sacrificial generosity, it should hurt, meaning it challenges our current comfort level of giving, but it doesn’t mean it should cause us financial harm.  Here are four steps or levels of generosity that help us grow without putting pressure on ourselves:

1) Planned giving: All generosity starts here, when we choose to designate money in our budget to give to others.

2) Priority giving: As we grow, we give to God first before other expenses.  This is what the Bible means about giving God the ‘first fruits,’ because His mission is the most important mission.  And our parish isn’t the only one sharing in His mission.  If God calls you to help other spiritual missions, please do so!

3) Percentage giving: We don’t give a dollar amount, but a percentage of what God gives us, because He only gives us more so that we can give more.

4) Progressive giving: We increase our sacrifice regularly, if that’s what we discern is God’s call for us (Michael White & Tom Corcoran, Rebuilt, 182).

As we grow in spiritual maturity, we will ascend in these steps.

When St. Paul says, ‘The one who had much did not have too much, and the one who had little did not have too little,’ he’s quoting the Book of Exodus, when the Hebrew people were in the wilderness and God gave them manna from heaven.  God told them to go out every day and collect the manna, and that no one was to collect more than one day’s worth of ration.  Why?  It was to be an act of trust; He would give them their daily bread.  Those who collected much would miraculously have just enough, and those who collected little would also miraculously have just enough.

This is a good opportunity to remind everyone that, if you have a job, then you should give financially.  Even if you’re a student and have some money to buy a Starbucks coffee, you should give.  If you are old enough to get an allowance, you should give.  Don’t just have your parents contribute!  If you have money, make sacrifices with it.  It’s good to start young, since that will prevent greed and selfishness from growing in our hearts.

I want to praise God again for His faithfulness and your generosity!  And please pray that we hire an amazing Director of Evangelization, and start moving on those other hires.  Please pray that we’re bolder with the resources God has already given us.

There’s an amazing Evangelical group with a staff of 24 people that helps churches grow.  They only put three months of operating expenses into the bank and spend the rest on mission.  Their thinking is: If money is just sitting in the bank somewhere, it’s not a good stewardship of God’s resources.  That’s what they tell churches to do as well.  And we are going to aim for mission like this!

This is what’s called the abundance mindset (the more we give, the more we’ll receive), as opposed to the scarcity mindset (I can only give so much because, once I do, there won’t be much left for me).  St. Paul teaches the abundance mindset: “He who supplies seed to the sower… will supply and multiply your seed for sowing and increase the harvest of your righteousness”(2 Cor 9:10).  That’s how God works: The more we spend on His mission, the more He’ll send the resources.

Posted: June 27, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“They had argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).
Jesus said to the twelve, “Whoever wants to be the first must be last of all and servant of all” (9:35). Continue Reading >
Perfect Freedom is Found in Christ
In June of this year, I read an article by Sohrab Ahmari, an Iranian who converted to Catholicism in 2016, and about his anxiety as a new father. The anxiety… Continue Reading >
The Mystery of Suffering
The next time we are confounded by the human fear of suffering, will we choose to follow James’ advice to persevere for spiritual maturity? Or, will we adopt the pre-Pentecost… Continue Reading >

花錢傳福音

常年期第十三主日

智慧篇 1:13-15;2:23-24

天主並沒有創造死亡,也不喜歡生靈滅亡。他創造了萬物,為叫它們生存;世上的生物,都有生命力,本身都沒有致命的毒素;陰府在地上,也沒有權勢,因為正義是不死不滅的。其實,天主創造了人,原是不死不滅的,使人成為天主本性的肖像;但因魔鬼的嫉妒,死亡才進入了世界;只有與魔鬼結緣的人,才經歷死亡。

格林多後書 8:7,9,13-15

弟兄姊妹們:正如你們在一切事上,在信德、語言、知識,和各種熱情上,並在我們所交於你們的愛情上,超群出眾,所以,你們也要在這慈善工作上,超群出眾。因為,你們知道,我們的主耶穌基督的恩賜:他本是富有的,為了你們,卻成了貧困的,好使你們因著他的貧困,而成為富有的。這不是要使別人輕鬆,叫你們為難;而是要出於均勻。現在,你們的富裕,彌補了他們的缺乏,好使他們的富裕,也彌補你們的缺乏;這樣就均勻了,正如所記載的:「多收的,沒有剩餘;少收的,也沒有不足。」

馬爾谷福音 5:21-43

那時候,耶穌乘船,回到對岸;有大夥群眾,聚集在他周圍。耶穌於是留在海濱。當時,來了一個會堂長,名叫雅依洛,一見耶穌,就跪伏在耶穌腳前,懇求耶穌說:「我的小女兒快要死了。請你來,給她覆手,叫她康復,使她活下去。」耶穌就同會堂長一起去。有一大群人,跟隨著耶穌,擁擠著耶穌。當時,有一個婦人,患血漏已有十二年。她在許多醫生手裡,受了許多痛苦,花盡了她所有的一切,不但沒有見效,反而病勢日益加重。她聽了有關耶穌的傳說,便來到人群中,從後邊摸了耶穌的衣裳,因為她心裡想:「只要我一摸他的衣裳,我的病就會好了。」結果,她的血漏,立刻停止了,並且覺得身上的疾病也好了。耶穌立刻覺得,有一種能力,從自己身上出去;於是,在人群中,回過頭來,說:「誰摸了我的衣裳?」耶穌的門徒向耶穌說:「你看!群眾四面擁擠著你,你還問:誰摸了我?」耶穌四周觀望,要看做這事的婦人。那婦人明知在自己身上所發生的事,就戰戰兢兢地前來,跪伏在耶穌腳前,把實情完全告訴了耶穌。耶穌便向那婦人說:「女兒,你的信德救了你。平安回去吧!你的疾病必得痊瘉!」耶穌還在說話的時候,有人從會堂長家裡來,說:「你的女兒死了,你還勞煩師父做什麼?」耶穌聽見所說的話,就給會堂長說:「不要怕,只管信。」除了伯多祿、雅各伯,和雅各伯的弟弟若望外,耶穌沒有帶任何人跟他去。他們到了會堂長的家裡,耶穌看見群眾非常喧嘩:有的哭泣,有的哀號;耶穌便進去,給他們說:「你們為什麼喧嘩哭泣呢?小女孩並沒有死,只是睡著了!」他們都譏笑耶穌。耶穌卻把眾人趕出去,帶著小女孩的父親和母親,以及同他在一起的人,進去小女孩所在的地方。耶穌拿起小女孩的手,對她說:「塔里塔,古木!」意思是:「女孩,我命令你起來!」那女孩就立刻起來行走,原來她已十二歲了。眾人都驚訝得目瞪口呆。耶穌卻嚴厲命令他們,不要叫任何人知道這事;又吩咐給女孩子食物吃。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
正如兩週前所說,今天我們要重新審視我們在財政上的慷慨開銷,因為這是今天第二篇讀經的重點。
兩週前,我的第三個行動項目是要求你考慮增加你的犧牲奉獻的慷慨度,然而過後我的想法發生了重大變化。那個星期天下午,我意識到:當務之急不是要求你們更慷慨。當務之急是,我和堂區領導應該把我們已有的錢花在傳教上!當我寫那篇講道的時候,我仍然生活在一種舊的心態中,那就是:「如果要花更多的錢運行赤字預算,我們需要首先尋求幫助。」但後來我理解了天主和你們的忠誠,我想,「不,堂區領導層需要向天主和你們證明,我們願意為祂和靈魂上冒風險,一旦我們這樣做了,你會願意支持這些倡議。」
所以,我今天實際上是在告訴你,你現在不必慷慨增加你的奉獻了!你能相信嗎,我們堂區現在的目標是要更大膽地對待天主賜予我們的禮物!我無法告訴你我對此有多高興。我感覺很釋懷,知道祂會照顧我們!
儘管如此,我們還是要檢討基督徒對犧牲奉獻的理解,因為這是今天第二篇讀經的內容,天主要求我們增加的時候,時機就會到來。
經文的背景是,聖保祿寫信給格林多人,就是今天的希臘,請求他們給予財政支持,幫助耶路撒冷受苦的基督徒:「就如你們在一切事上,在信德、言語、知識,和各種熱情上, 並在我們所交予你們的愛情上,超群出眾,這樣也要在這慈善事上(generous undertaking)超群出眾。」(格後8:7)。
首先,聖保祿希望格林多人不要在信仰上過度靈性化。人們可能會說,信仰是關於對天主、愛和其他靈性事務的信仰。但它也會影響有形的實際東西。讓我們假設某人祈禱但不愛他們的鄰居,或者學習神學但不照顧自己的健康(Thomas D. Stegman, SJ, Second Corinthians in Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture,195-196)。這就是為什麼聖保祿告訴格林多前書,他們在靈性方面的卓越應該延續到一些實際的東西上。
第二,「慈善事generous undertaking」一詞是「恩典」一詞的粗略翻譯,聖保祿在書信中使用了十次。 「恩典」指的是恩惠、施予者的善意或接受者的感激之情;最重要的是,它指的是天主對我們的愛,祂把耶穌賜給我們,耶穌為我們而死,為我們復活。聖保祿提醒他們和我們,我們已經收到了最重要的禮物,所以我們也應該慷慨地捐贈禮物。
然後他指出耶穌慷慨奉獻的例子:「因為你們知道我們的主耶穌基督的恩賜:,他本是富有的,為了你們卻成了貧困的,好使你們因著祂的貧困而成為富有的」(格後8:9)。耶穌本不會受苦,但祂取了我們的人性,承受了屈辱,讓我們可以分享祂的榮耀。
犧牲奉獻是其中的一部分:我們放棄我們可以使用的東西,這樣其他人就會受益。
然後,聖保祿給了一些實際的教導:「這不是說要給別人輕鬆,叫你們為難;而是一個公正的平衡性問題:在你們現時的富足和他們的需求之間的平衡(…) ,正如所記載的,『多收的沒有剩餘,少收的也沒有不足。』」(格後8:13-15)。當我們談到犧牲的慷慨時,我們會感覺到傷害,意味著它挑戰了我們目前給予的舒適水平,但這並不意味著它應該給我們帶來經濟上的損害。
以下四個步驟或程度的慷慨可以幫助我們成長,而不會給自己帶來壓力:
1)有計劃的捐贈Planned giving:慷慨解囊始於我們選擇在預算中指定捐款給別人,所有的慷慨都從這裡開始。
2)優先給予Priority giving:隨著我們的成長,我們首先給予天主,然後才付出其他費用。這就是聖經所說的給神「第一批果子」的意思,因為祂的使命是最重要的使命。我們的堂區並不是唯一一個分享祂使命的堂區。如果天主呼召你去幫助其他屬靈的使命,請照做!
3)給予的百分比Percentage giving:我們給的不是錢的數目,而是天主所給我們的百分比,因為祂只會多給我們,以至於我們能給予更多。
4)循序漸進的奉獻Progressive giving:如果我們覺察到天主在召喚我們,我們會定期增加我們的犧牲捐贈(Michael White & Tom Corcoran,Rebuild,182)。
隨著我們靈性成熟的成長,我們將在這些步驟中提升。
當聖保祿說,「多收的沒有剩餘,少收的也沒有不足」時,他引用了「出谷」,當時希伯來人在曠野,天主從天上賜給他們瑪納。天主告訴他們每天出去收集瑪納,任何人都不能收集超過一天的口糧。為什麼?這是一種信任的行為,祂會給他們每天的食糧。收集得多的人會奇蹟般地只擁有足夠的,而收集得很少的人也會奇蹟般地擁有足夠的。 (https://biblehub.com/exodus/16-18.htm#commentary)
這是一個提醒每個人的好機會,如果你有工作,那麼你應該在經濟上給予。即使你是一名學生,有錢買星巴克咖啡,你也應該捐。如果你到了拿零用錢的年齡,你就應該給。不要只讓父母捐贈!如果你有錢,就用它做出犧牲。從小開始是件好事,因為這樣可以防止貪婪和自私在我們心中滋長。
我想再次感謝天主,感謝祂的信實和您的慷慨!
祈禱我們能聘請到一位令人驚嘆的福傳主任祈禱,並開始著手聘用其他人。請為我們禱告,願我們在天主已經賜給我們的資源上更加大膽運用。
有一個令人驚嘆的福音派團體,有24人的工作人員,幫助各地的教會發展。他們只將三個月的運營費用存入銀行,其餘的全都用於執行任務。他們的想法是:如果錢只是存在銀行的某個地方,那就不算妥當地管理天主的資源(https://careynieuwhof.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/CNLP_418-–With_Tony-Morgan.pdf)。這也是他們告訴所指導的教會要做的事。我們將以這樣的使命為目標!
這就是所謂的富足心態abundance mindset (我們付出的越多,得到的就越多),而不是稀缺心態scarcity mindset (我只能付出這麼多,因為一旦我付出了,就不會剩下多少了) 。聖保祿教導富足心態:「那供給播種者種子。必要供給和增多你們的種子,且使你們仁義的出產增加,叫你們事事富足。」(格後9:10)。這就是天主的工作方式:我們在祂的使命上花費越多,祂送來的資源也就會越多。

Posted: June 27, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

「不要害怕 ⋯只要信 ⋯平安去吧」 Susanna Mak

兩個奇蹟連續發生,展示了天主極深而廣的慈悲,也藉着祂的聖子耶穌的言行,展示了我們作為天主兒女的使命。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十三主日:耶穌是痛苦與死亡的答案 吳智勳神父

福音中耶穌所行的奇蹟,大致可分為幾類,都是與天國有關:驅逐魔鬼表示天國因耶穌打敗魔鬼的勢力而來臨;平息風浪表示耶穌征服惡勢力,主宰一切,祂能為教會、為個人帶來平安;治好病人表示耶穌能使被痛苦或罪惡困擾的人,獲得希望與寬恕;復活死人顯示天國已來到人間,耶穌使人得到永恆的生命;增餅奇蹟表示耶穌是永生的食糧

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:神聖的生命
繼續閱讀 >