Finding Yourself Requires a Sincere Gift of Self

Twenty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Jeremiah 20:7-9

You duped me, O LORD, and I let myself be duped; you were too strong for me, and you triumphed. All the day I am an object of laughter; everyone mocks me. Whenever I speak, I must cry out, violence and outrage is my message; the word of the LORD has brought me derision and reproach all the day. I say to myself, I will not mention him, I will speak in his name no more. But then it becomes like fire burning in my heart, imprisoned in my bones; I grow weary holding it in, I cannot endure it.

Romans 12:1-2

I urge you, brothers and sisters, by the mercies of God, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God, your spiritual worship. Do not conform yourselves to this age but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and pleasing and perfect.

Matthew 16:21-27

Jesus began to show his disciples that he must go to Jerusalem and suffer greatly from the elders, the chief priests, and the scribes, and be killed and on the third day be raised. Then Peter took Jesus aside and began to rebuke him, "God forbid, Lord! No such thing shall ever happen to you." He turned and said to Peter, "Get behind me, Satan! You are an obstacle to me. You are thinking not as God does, but as human beings do." Then Jesus said to his disciples, "Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. What profit would there be for one to gain the whole world and forfeit his life? Or what can one give in exchange for his life? For the Son of Man will come with his angels in his Father's glory, and then he will repay all according to his conduct."

Jesus’ stern rebuke of Peter in this Sunday’s gospel – “Get behind me, Satan! You are an obstacle to me” (Mt 16:23) – is quite remarkable, considering that he has just given Peter the keys to the kingdom of heaven and the power to bind and loose only a few verses earlier (cf. Mt 16:19).

What is the reason for Jesus’ strong words against Peter, whose comment many will consider perfectly innocent and harmless? After all, his beloved teacher and leader has just revealed that he is heading to Jerusalem to get killed!

Here’s the problem. Peter’s reaction to Jesus’ shocking revelation, while well-intended, reflects a fundamental flaw in human thinking that doesn’t jive well with the Father’s divine will and Jesus way of confronting tribulations. Aversion to suffering is in the human instinct. Peter, like everyone of us, sees it as an undesirable thing that must be avoided at all costs. It is unpleasant, painful, and, in Jesus’case, life-threatening. It even goes straight against our human pride, inflicting on us a sense of being overpowered and a feeling that we are losing control. Suffering, affliction, humiliation, death, and a whole host of other traumatic experiences are probably some of the things that race through Peter’s head to cause him to blurt out his unsolicited and unwelcomed advice to Jesus.

People also see suffering as an affront to a person’s or institution’s power and authority. Why should Jesus allow himself to be overpowered by the Sanhedrin and the Roman authority if he is truly divine and almighty? Similarly, how can the Church suffer from scandal after scandal if it truly has God’s special protection against evils (cf. Mt 16:18)?

That’s how Peter and many people in general see suffering. But God has a very different perspective. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways my ways, says the LORD. As high as the heavens are above the earth, so high are my ways above your ways and my thoughts above your thoughts” (Isaiah 55:8-9).

Like a good teacher, Jesus rebukes Peter, his student, and then explains his rebuttal with a clarity that leaves no room for bewilderment: “Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it” (Mt 16:24-25). Deny yourself; take up your cross and follow me; and your reward will be me – the way, the truth, and the life (John 14:6). Lose your life because of me, and you will save it.

The paradox presented by Jesus above is further explained by the Church this way: “Man cannot fully find himself except through a sincere gift of self” (Pastoral Constitution on the Church in the Modern World, n. 24). The more willing we are in giving ourselves away, the more successful we will be in affirming or establishing our true selves. For a person who gives is a person who loves. And the more we love, the better we resemble God, the perfect and infinite Lover (1 John 4:7-8).

In the second reading, St. Paul’s appeal for us “to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God” is seen by Pope Benedict XVI as “the existential aspect of the new concept of worship and sacrifice” (Rom 12:1; cf. Jesus of Nazareth II, p.236). St. Paul shows us how to give ourselves away, and what it means to take up our crosses and follow Jesus. We should offer our bodies –everything we have – “as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God”. In doing so – in excising our priestly duty in Christ to give away everything we have as a sacrifice to God, including our lives if necessary – we will end up gaining everything. For we will “have life and have it more abundantly” (John 10:10)!

A few decades after the above-mentioned gospel episode, Peter, who had once coached Jesus to avoid suffering, would find himself willingly embrace martyrdom in Rome during the reign of Emperor Nero. His death brought fulfillment to Jesus’ prediction about him in the gospel of John: “When you grow old, you will stretch out your hands, and someone else will dress you and lead you where you do not want to go” (John 21:18). Peter would literally “take up his cross” and follow Jesus, offering his body – upside down on the cross according to Christian tradition, because he felt unworthy of sharing the same posture as his Savior – “as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God”. In giving up his life, Peter found true life – everlasting and abundant. Through a sincere gift of self, he found his true self – vibrant, saintly and fully grown in Christ, “without spot or wrinkle or any such thing” (Eph 5:27).

Posted: August 30, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Solemnity of All Saints
Experiencing the Mystical Body of Christ
The doors of the Church that I knocked on 43 years ago are opening up to an abyss of mysteries far deeper than any human mind can fathom! Continue Reading >
Solemnity of All Saints
Religious Life and Social Life Become One in Love
Love is what brings our religious life (love of God) and social life (love of neighbor) into unity. Continue Reading >
Solemnity of All Saints
“Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21)
May our earthly commitments be guided by a beacon of light from the divine Continue Reading >

要尋獲自己,應先失去自己

常年期第二十二主日

耶肋米亞先知書 20:7-9

上主,你引誘了我;我讓自己受了你的引誘;你確實比我強,你勝利了。我終日成為笑柄,人人都嘲笑我。因為我每次發言,必得叫喊,必得高呼:「暴虐!破壞!」實在,上主的話,使我日日成為受侮辱和譏笑的原因。如果我說:我不再想念他,不再以他的名發言,我就覺得五內如焚,好像有一團烈火,蘊藏在我的骨髓裡;我竭力抑制,亦不可能。

羅馬書 12:1-2

弟兄姊妹們: 我以天主的仁慈,請求你們,獻上你們的身體,當作生活、聖潔和悅樂天主的祭品:這才是你們合理的敬禮。你們不可與此世同化,反而應以更新的心思,變化自己,為使你們能辨別:什麼是天主的旨意,什麼是善事,什麼是悅樂天主的事,什麼是成全的事。

瑪竇福音 16:21-27

那時候,耶穌開始向門徒說明:他必須上耶路撒冷去,要由長老、司祭長和經師手中,受許多痛苦,並將被殺,但第三天要復活。伯多祿便拉耶穌到一邊,諫責耶穌說:「主,千萬不可!這事絕不會臨到你身上!」耶穌轉身對伯多祿說:「撒旦,退到我後面去!你是我的絆腳石,因為你所體會的,不是天主的事,而是人的事。」於是,耶穌對門徒說:「誰若願意跟隨我,該棄絕自己,背著自己的十字架,來跟隨我,因為,誰若願意救自己的性命,必要喪失性命;但誰若為我的原故,喪失自己的性命,必要獲得性命。人縱然賺得全世界,卻賠上了自己的靈魂,為他有什麼益處?或者,人還能拿什麼,作為自己靈魂的代價?「將來,人子要在他父的光榮中,同他的天使降來,那時,他要按照每人的行為,予以賞報。」

耶穌在本主日福音中對伯多祿嚴厲的斥責頗不尋常 – 「撒殫,退到我後面去!你是我的絆腳石」(瑪 16:23),只不過在前幾節,祂才把天國的鑰匙、束縛和釋放的權柄交給伯多祿 (參照 瑪 16:19)。

在很多人看來,伯多祿的意見完全沒有惡意和沒有傷害性,究竟是甚麼促使耶穌以嚴詞訓斥他?畢竟,他至敬愛的老師和師傅剛剛表示了祂會去耶路撒冷去被殺害!

問題就在這裏。對耶穌驚人的表白,伯多祿的反應雖是一片好意,卻反映出人類思維的一個基本缺陷,而這缺陷導致人的想法不大符合天父的聖意和耶穌面對苦難的方法。人天生避忌痛苦。就如我們每個人一樣,伯多祿視痛苦為一件不好的事情,要不惜任何代價去避免。苦難是不愉快和痛苦的,為耶穌而言,更是生死攸關。它甚至直接打擊我們的自尊, 以被壓倒和失控的感覺逼迫着我們。也許痛苦、折磨、屈辱、死亡以及一大堆其他創傷的經歷在伯多祿的腦海湧現,使他對耶穌脫口而出,說了那些自發的及聽不入耳的勸諫。

人也把痛苦視為對個人或機構的能力及權力的一種侮辱。如果耶穌真是至聖全能的天主,為甚麽祂會讓自己被公議會及羅馬掌權當局壓倒?同樣,如果天主真的保護教會免陷於邪惡中,教會怎會不停地受到醜聞的困擾 (參照 瑪 16:18)?

伯多祿和許多人都是這樣看待痛苦的。但天主的看法卻截然不同,「因為我的思念不是你們的思念,你們的行徑也不是我的行徑:上主的斷語。就如天離地有多高,我的行徑離你們的行徑,我的思念離你們的思念也有多高」(依 55:8-9)。

就像一位好老師,耶穌先斥責了祂的學生伯多祿,然後再解釋祂的駁斥。祂的解釋清楚得使伯多祿沒有任何困惑的餘地:「誰若願意跟隨我,該棄絕自己,背著自己的十字架來跟隨我,因為誰若願意救自己的性命,必要喪失性命,但誰若為我的原故,喪失自己的性命,必要獲得性命」(瑪 16:24-25)。棄絕自己,背著自己的十字架來跟隨我;我就是你的賞報—道路、真理和生命 (若 14:6)。為了我的原故而喪失性命,你才能拯救你的生命。

對於以上耶穌的矛盾反論,教會有進一步的闡釋:「人類惟有衷誠地捨己為人,始能圓滿地得到自己」(《論教會在現代世界牧職憲章》24)。我們越願意捨己為人,我們便越能肯定或落實真我。因為一個肯付出的人是一個肯去愛的人。而我們越願意去愛人,我們便越肖似天主,那完美無限的愛者 (若一 4:7-8)。

在第二篇讀經,聖保祿呼籲我們「獻上你們的身體當作生活、聖潔和悅樂天主的祭品」,教宗本篤十六世視此為「新的欽崇與犧牲觀念中實在的一面」(羅 12:1; 參照 《納匝肋人耶穌》 第二集, 236頁)。聖保祿指示我們如何捨己為人和棄絕自己,以及背著自己的十字架去跟隨耶穌是甚麼意思。我們應獻上自己的身體—我們所有的一切—「當作生活、聖潔和悅樂天主的祭品」。這樣做—即是在基督內行使我們的司祭職務,捨棄自已的一切,甚至自己的性命,當作獻給天主的祭品—我們最終會獲得一切。因為我們會「獲得生命,且獲得更豐富的生命」(若 10:10)!

在上述福音事件之後的數十年,尼祿皇統治期間,曾經勸耶穌逃避痛苦的伯多祿會在羅馬甘心情願地殉道。他的死亡應驗了耶穌在《若望福音》的預言:「但到了老年,你要伸出手來,別人要給你束上腰,帶你往你不願意去的地方去」(若 21:18)。伯多祿真的「背起了他的十字架」跟隨耶穌,獻上他的身體—根據基督徒傳統,他被倒釘在十字架上,因他深感自己不堪當與他的救主姿勢相同—「當作生活、聖潔和悅樂天主的祭品」。在捨棄自己的性命時,伯多祿找到了真正的生命—永恆且豐富。藉著衷誠地捨己為人,他找到了真正的自我—充滿活力、神聖及在基督內成長圓滿,「沒有瑕疵,沒有皺紋,或其他類似的缺陷」(弗5:27)。

Posted: August 30, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿二主日:十字架的愛 吳智勳神父

上星期日的福音讀經講述伯多祿明認耶穌為基督、為天主子,揭開耶穌傳道生涯新的一頁。耶穌稱讚他有福,並稱他為磐石,著他帶領教會。

繼續閱讀 >
天主開闊我們的眼界的五種方式 Fr. Jusin Huang

教會中最嚴格的修道院是加爾都西會修道院Carthusians,他們都住在連接一個大主院的獨立小房裡的半隱修士。他們每天一起祈禱三次,但一周只交談一次,每個人都為自己做飯,砍柴取暖,並終身禁食肉類。

繼續閱讀 >