“Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21)

Twenty-ninth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 45:1,4-6

Thus says the LORD to his anointed, Cyrus, whose right hand I grasp, subduing nations before him, and making kings run in his service, opening doors before him and leaving the gates unbarred: For the sake of Jacob, my servant, of Israel, my chosen one, I have called you by your name, giving you a title, though you knew me not. I am the LORD and there is no other, there is no God besides me. It is I who arm you, though you know me not, so that toward the rising and the setting of the sun people may know that there is none besides me. I am the LORD, there is no other.

1 Thessalonians 1:1-5B

Paul, Silvanus, and Timothy to the church of the Thessalonians in God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ: grace to you and peace. We give thanks to God always for all of you, remembering you in our prayers, unceasingly calling to mind your work of faith and labor of love and endurance in hope of our Lord Jesus Christ, before our God and Father, knowing, brothers and sisters loved by God, how you were chosen. For our gospel did not come to you in word alone, but also in power and in the Holy Spirit and with much conviction.

Matthew 22:15-21

The Pharisees went off and plotted how they might entrap Jesus in speech. They sent their disciples to him, with the Herodians, saying, "Teacher, we know that you are a truthful man and that you teach the way of God in accordance with the truth. And you are not concerned with anyone's opinion, for you do not regard a person's status. Tell us, then, what is your opinion: Is it lawful to pay the census tax to Caesar or not?" Knowing their malice, Jesus said, "Why are you testing me, you hypocrites? Show me the coin that pays the census tax." Then they handed him the Roman coin. He said to them, "Whose image is this and whose inscription?" They replied, "Caesar's." At that he said to them, "Then repay to Caesar what belongs to Caesar and to God what belongs to God."

In this week’s Gospel reading, Jesus teaches us one of His famous teachings “Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21).

The episode happened in the last days of Jesus, one of the contentious situations that led to Jesus’ impending Passion. The Pharisees rallied the help of the Herodians to take action against Jesus. The Herodians were supporters of the Herodian dynasty (Ref: Ignatius Catholic Study Bible on Mk 12:13). They supported Herod Antipas, the “King” or “Herod” who beheaded John the Baptist (c.f. Mt 14). It was not the first time that the Pharisees were working with the Herodians against Jesus. In Mark 3:6, we hear that after Jesus performs a healing on the Sabbath, “the Pharisees went out and immediately took counsel with the Herodians against him to put him to death”.

The plot of the Pharisees is to entrap Jesus in a highly controversial political situation. They posed this question to Jesus, “Is it lawful to pay taxes to the emperor, or not?” (Mt 22:17). From Jesus’ answer, they intend to force Jesus into a no-win position. If Jesus answers yes, His stand will be unfaithful to Judaism and the Jews’ hopes of national independence. Strict Pharisees believe that the use of the tax coin bearing the image of Caesar might even be blasphemous. If Jesus answers no, He would be in direct conflict with the Roman authorities.

Jesus uses this malicious question to teach us an important lesson that is timeless. He asks them to “show me the coin used for the tax”, and “Whose head is this, and whose title?” (Mt 22:19, 20). This takes the discussion to a completely different dimension. Pope Francis in the Angelus held on St. Peter’s Square on October 22nd 2017 said that Jesus’ famous reply “Give to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s” suggests that paying tax is not “an act of idolatry, but a legal obligation to the earthly authority”(Mt 22:21). In the second part of Jesus’ response “(Give) to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21), the Holy Father said that Jesus is “recalling the primacy of God” and we must render to God “His due as the Lord of the life and history of mankind”. While Caesar’s image is inscribed on the tax coin, God’s image is imprinted in each one of us, we who are created in His image. Therefore, we belong to Him first and foremost. God has given us all that we are and all that we have. We must live our life in recognition of this belonging and in gratitude toward our heavenly Father.

In the present day and age, we are often torn between conflicting priorities –family, work, state and church – what we believe as Catholics, what we think and choose to support may cause tension with others even with those who are close to us. This Gospel episode is a timely reminder of our relation to God; it should be our guiding principle when we make our decisions in everyday life. As St. Paul said in the second reading, the “message of the Gospel came to [us] not in word only, but also in power and in the Holy Spirit and with full conviction” (1 Th 1:5).

Let us ponder on the papal advice at the end of the Angeles which is both encouraging and enlightening: “A believer looks to the future reality, that of God, so as to live earthly life to the fullest, and to meet its challenges with courage”. May our earthly commitments be guided by a beacon of light from the divine. Amen.

References:
1. Pope Frances’ Angelus, St. Peter’s Square, October 22nd, 2017
2. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible on Mk 12:13

Posted: October 18, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21)
May our earthly commitments be guided by a beacon of light from the divine Continue Reading >
The Bible is in a Nutshell Just God’s Wedding Invitation
The theme of marriage and family runs through the Bible like a thread, weaving its way intricately and skillfully from the first chapter to the last. Continue Reading >
What kind of tenants are we?
Christ is the true vine who gives life and the power to bear abundant fruit to the branches Continue Reading >

「凱撒的,就應歸還凱撒;天主的,就應歸還天主」 (瑪 22:21)

常年期第二十九主日

依撒意亞先知書 45:1,4-6

上主牽著他的受傅者居魯士的右手,使他征服他面前的列國,解除列王的腰帶,並在他面前開啟城門,使門戶不再關閉;上主對他這樣說:「為了我的僕人雅各伯,及我所揀選的以色列的原故,我指名召叫了你,給你起了這個稱號,縱然你還不認識我。「我是上主,再沒有另一位;除我以外,沒有別的神;雖然你還不認識我,我卻武裝了你,為叫從東到西的人,都知道:除我之外,再沒有另一位。我是上主,再沒有另一位。」

得撒洛尼前書 1:1-5

保祿和息耳瓦諾及弟茂德,致書給在天主父及主耶穌基督內的得撒洛尼人的教會。願恩寵與平安與你們同在!我們常為你們眾人感謝天主,在祈禱中時常記念你們;在天主和我們的父前,不斷記念你們因信德所做的工作、因愛德所受的勞苦、因盼望我們的主耶穌基督所有的堅忍。天主所愛的弟兄,我們知道你們是蒙召選的,因為我們把福音傳到你們那裡,不僅用言語,而且也藉德能和聖神,以及堅固的信心。

瑪竇福音 22:15-21

那時候,法利塞人商討,怎樣在言談上,叫耶穌落入圈套。於是,法利塞人派自己的門徒和黑落德黨人,到耶穌面前,說:「師父,我們知道你是真誠的,按真理教授天主的道路,不顧忌任何人,因為你不看人的情面。現在,請你告訴我們:你以為如何?納稅給凱撒,可以不可以?」耶穌看破他們的惡意,就說:「假善人,你們為什麼要試探我?拿一個稅幣,給我看看!」他們便遞給他一塊「德納」。耶穌對他們說:「這肖像和名號是誰的?」他們對耶穌說:「凱撒的。」耶穌對他們說:「那麼,凱撒的,就應歸還凱撒;天主的,就應歸還天主。」

在本週的福音讀經,耶穌給我們上了祂有名的一課:「凱撒的,就應歸還凱撒;天主的,就應歸還天主」 (瑪 22:21)。

這事情發生在耶穌在世最後的日子,一個極具爭議性的環境,導致祂即將面臨的苦難。法利塞人勾結黑落德黨人對付耶穌。黑落德黨人是擁護黑落德王朝的人 (參閲: Ignatius Catholic Bible 《馬爾谷福音》12:13)。他們支持分封侯黑落德,那把洗者若翰的頭斬下來的「王」或「黑落德」(參閱 : 瑪 14)。法利塞人與黑落德黨人聯手對付耶穌,已經不是第一次。在《馬爾谷福音》3:6,我們聽到耶穌在安息日治癒一個人之後,「法利塞人一出去,立刻便與黑落德黨人作陷害耶穌的商討,為除滅他」。

法利塞人的計謀是在一個高度爭議性的政治環境下陷害耶穌,讓他落入圈套。他們問耶穌這個問題:「給凱撒納稅,可以不可以?」 (瑪 22:17)。從耶穌的答案,他們意圖迫耶穌於兩難,走進一個沒有贏面的困局。如果耶穌回答「是」,祂的立場便不忠於猶太教和猶太人所希望的國家獨立。嚴守律法的法利塞人甚至認為用有凱撒肖像的稅幣是褻瀆的。如果耶穌回答「不是」,卻是與羅馬政權正面衝突了。

耶穌以這居心叵測的問題,教了我們重要且萬古長青的一課。祂叫他們「拿一個稅幣給我看看」,和問「這肖像和名號是誰的?」 (瑪 22:19, 20)。這樣就把到討論帶到一個完全不同的層次。教宗方濟各於2017 年 10 月 22日在聖伯多祿廣場《三鐘經》祈禱後的講道說,耶穌這著名的回答「凱撒的,就應歸還凱撒」(瑪 22:21) 是說繳交稅款「並不是崇拜偶像的行為,而是對世上政權該負的法律責任」(瑪 22:21)。耶穌回應的第二部份「天主的,就應歸還天主」 (瑪 22:21)教宗說,耶穌在「提醒我們天主是首要的」,而「天主作為人類生命和歷史的主宰所應得的」,我們當繳納來報答祂。凱撒的肖像刻在稅幣上,天主的肖像則刻在我們每個根據祂的肖像而受造的人身上。所以我們屬於祂是首要的。天主給了我們自身的一切和我們的所有。在生活上,我們一定要承認並活出自己對天上父親的所屬和感恩。

在現今世代,我們對家庭、工作、國家和教會的優先次序,難免經常會有衝突,我們作為天主教徒所相信的、我們的想法和所支持的,可能會為我們和別人,甚至是自己親近的人的關係,帶來一些緊張。這福音事件是一個合時的提示,提醒我們與天主的關係;而這與天主的關係,應是我們日常生活上作決定時的指引和原則。就如聖保祿在讀經二所言:「我們把福音傳到你們那裡,不僅在乎言語,而且也在乎德能和聖神,以及堅固的信心」(得前 1:5)。

讓我們細想教宗在《三鐘經》講道結尾時,非常勵志和發人深省的勸喻:「一個信徒的目光,信靠於未來的現實,就是天主,好在塵世上活得充實,並以勇氣來接受當中的挑戰」。願我們在世上的責任,為從天上而來的明燈所指引。亞孟。

參考:
1. 教宗方濟各《三鐘經》祈禱,聖伯多祿廣場2017 年 10 月 22 日
2. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible《馬爾谷福音》12:13注釋

Posted: October 18, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

諸聖節
在基督奧體內的奇妙經歷
教會的門,這門開啟後出現在眼前的,是個奧秘的深淵,其深度遠遠... 繼續閱讀 >
諸聖節
甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第三十一主日:耶穌論人
今日福音的背景,是耶穌和法利塞人、黑落德黨人、撒杜塞人、法學... 繼續閱讀 >
諸聖節
宗教生活和社會生活在愛內合而為一
是愛德把我們的宗教生活(愛天主)和社會生活(愛近人)連結起來 繼續閱讀 >