God’s Creation According to Genesis and John

The Nativity of the Lord (Christmas)

Isaiah 52:7-10

How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him who brings glad tidings, announcing peace, bearing good news, announcing salvation, and saying to Zion, “Your God is King!” Hark! Your sentinels raise a cry, together they shout for joy, for they see directly, before their eyes, the LORD restoring Zion. Break out together in song, O ruins of Jerusalem! For the LORD comforts his people, he redeems Jerusalem. The LORD has bared his holy arm in the sight of all the nations; all the ends of the earth will behold the salvation of our God.

Hebrews 1:1-6

Brothers and sisters: In times past, God spoke in partial and various ways to our ancestors through the prophets; in these last days, he has spoken to us through the Son, whom he made heir of all things and through whom he created the universe, who is the refulgence of his glory, the very imprint of his being, and who sustains all things by his mighty word. When he had accomplished purification from sins, he took his seat at the right hand of the Majesty on high, as far superior to the angels as the name he has inherited is more excellent than theirs. For to which of the angels did God ever say: You are my son; this day I have begotten you? Or again: I will be a father to him, and he shall be a son to me? And again, when he leads the firstborn into the world, he says: Let all the angels of God worship him.

John 1:1-18

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things came to be through him, and without him nothing came to be. What came to be through him was life, and this life was the light of the human race; the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. A man named John was sent from God. He came for testimony, to testify to the light, so that all might believe through him. He was not the light, but came to testify to the light. The true light, which enlightens everyone, was coming into the world. He was in the world, and the world came to be through him, but the world did not know him. He came to what was his own, but his own people did not accept him. But to those who did accept him he gave power to become children of God, to those who believe in his name, who were born not by natural generation nor by human choice nor by a man’s decision but of God. And the Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us, and we saw his glory, the glory as of the Father’s only Son, full of grace and truth. John testified to him and cried out, saying, “This was he of whom I said, ‘The one who is coming after me ranks ahead of me because he existed before me.’” From his fullness we have all received, grace in place of grace, because while the law was given through Moses, grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. No one has ever seen God. The only Son, God, who is at the Father’s side, has revealed him.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God” (John 1:1). The prologue of the gospel of John, which we hear in this Sunday’s gospel reading, sets itself apart from the other three gospels by adopting the opening expression of the first book of the Old Testament, “In the beginning,” or “be-resheeth” in Hebrew, from which the name of the book, “Genesis” which means “origin” in Latin, was derived.

By adopting the opening expression of Genesis, John wishes to communicate to us two “beginnings”. First, the beginning of Jesus in terms of his genealogy. Unlike the Matthean genealogy which goes forward in time from Abraham to Jesus, and the Lucan genealogy which goes backward in time from Jesus to Adam, the Johannine genealogy transcends time and goes “upward”. In fact, it is out of this world in that it traces Jesus’ origin directly to God: “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God” (John 1:1). Whereas Matthew’s and Luke’s genealogies are historical and human, John’s is transcendent and divine. For what is God’s origin but God Himself?

Second, in repeating Genesis’ well-known opening statement, John is harkening back to God’s be-all-and-end-all act of creation in Genesis. In so doing, John wishes to draw our attention to a very different kind of creation account that his gospel endeavors to offer: one whose primary concern is the New Creation that Christ ushered in through redemption, one in which darkness is no more and true life is what the human race will enjoy (cf. John 1:4-5, 10:10).

What causes the theologians to believe creation is the common thread connecting the opening chapters of Genesis and John is more than “imaginative theology”. The scriptural evidences that they came up with to support this position are eye-opening to say the least. Worth mentioning among others are:

  • Since everything is created through the Word (John 1:3, Col 1:16, Eph 2:10, Prov 8:22-30), His presence was prominent and indispensable in both creation accounts (in Genesis, God created by what He “said”, i.e. by His word; in John, all things came to be through the Word (John 1:3)).
  • Like Genesis, John’s creation account contains a day-by-day narration of events and activities, totaling 7 days (John 1:1, 29, 35, 43 being the first 4 days plus 3 days – “On the third days” – in 2:1).
  • Like Genesis whose creation culminates in the Sabbath on the 7th day, the day of holiness of which man must partake, John’s creation account also culminates on the 7th day in the wedding in Cana, a mirror image of the heavenly wedding of the Lamb (Rev 19:9), i.e. the eschatological union of God and man in the New Creation that Sabbath points us to.

Beautiful indeed “are the feet of him who brings glad tidings” (Is 52:7, the first reading), first the Lord Himself personally (Heb 1:2, 2nd reading), then the apostles, and now the Church which includes you and me. This Christmas let’s go caroling. Let’s get on top of the mountain and shout at the top of our lungs. Let’s do whatever it takes to bring glad tidings to the world. For Christ our Lord – the Messiah, the Holy Infant who was born through the Virgin Mary in the fullest of time (Gal 4:4) – is come! For us men and for our salvation He comes. To become a man He comes. For the Son of God must come down from heaven to become the Son of Man so that the sons of men could be transformed to become the sons of God – the New Creation! That is why John wrote his gospel. That in a nutshell is the real Christmas message that must be proclaimed!

Posted: December 25, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

“Come and see” (John 1:39)
“Here I am Lord; I come to do your will” (Psalm 40) Continue Reading >
The Baptism of the Lord
With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility
The Holy Spirit empowers us to let our inner “superhero” out and be the person whom God has called. Continue Reading >
The Baptism of the Lord
"Sunday Homily: Fr. Justin Huang" Begin Again With Equilibrium
Many of us struggle with highs and lows in our lives: When we’re high, we’re very high, but unfortunately unprepared for problems and sufferings that eventually come. If you’re the… Continue Reading >

創世紀和若望福音的創造

耶穌聖誕節(節日)

撒意亞先知書 52:7-10

那傳報喜訊者的腳步,是多麼美麗啊!他在山上宣布和平,傳報佳音,宣揚救恩,給熙雍說:「你的天主為王了!」請聽,你的守望者一起高聲歡呼,因為他們親眼看見上主返回了熙雍。耶路撒冷的廢墟啊!你們要興高采烈,一起歡呼,因為上主安慰了自己的百姓,救贖了耶路撒冷。上主在萬民眼前,顯露了自己神聖的手臂;大地四極看見了我們天主的救恩。

希伯來書 1:1-6

天主在古時,曾多次,並以多種方式,藉著先知,對我們的祖先說過話。但在這末期,他藉著自己的兒子,對我們說了話。天主立了他為萬有的承繼者,並藉著他,造成了宇宙。他是天主光榮的反映,是天主本體的真像;他以自己大能的話,支撐萬有。當他滌除了罪惡之後,便在高天之上,坐於「尊威者」的右邊。他所承受的名字,既然超越眾天使的名字,所以他遠超過眾天使之上。天主曾向那一位天使說過:「你是我的兒子,我今日生了你?」或說過:「我要作他的父親,他要作我的兒子?」然而,當天主引領「首生子」進入世界的時候,就說:「天主的眾天使都要崇拜他。」

若望福音 1:1-18

在起初已有聖言,聖言與天主同在,聖言就是天主。聖言在起初,就與天主同在。萬物是藉著他而造成的;凡受造的,沒有一樣不是由他而造成的。在他內有生命,這生命是人的光。光在黑暗中照耀,黑暗決勝不過他。曾有一人,是由天主派遣來的,名叫若翰。這人來,是為作證,為給光作證,為使眾人藉他而信。他不是那光,只是為給那光作證。那照亮每人的真光,正在進入這世界;他已在世界上,世界原是藉他造成的;但世界卻不認識他。他來到了自己的地方,自己的人卻沒有接受他。但是,凡接受他的,他給他們,即給那些信他名字的人權能,好成為天主的子女。他們不是由精血,也不是由肉慾,也不是由男慾,而是由天主生的。於是,聖言成了血肉,寄居在我們中間;我們見了他的光榮,正如父獨生者的光榮,滿溢恩寵和真理。若翰為他作證,呼喊說:「這就是我所說的:那在我以後來的,成了在我以前的,因他原先我而有。」從他的滿盈中,我們都領受了恩寵,而且恩寵上加恩寵。因為法律是藉梅瑟傳授的,恩寵和真理卻是由耶穌基督而來的。從來沒有人見過天主,只有那在父懷裡的獨生者,身為天主的,他給我們詳述了。

「在起初已有聖言,聖言與天主同在,聖言就是天主」(若望福音1:1)。今個主日的福音讀經, 我們聽到 <若望福音> 的序言。比起其他三本福音書, <若望福音>的特點之一是它的序言著意地採用舊約聖經第一本書 <創世紀> 的第一句話「在起初」(希伯來文 是“be-resheeth” ,拉丁文是“Genesis“,即「起源」的意思 ) 。<創世紀> 這書的名字亦是從這句話衍生。

透過採用 <創世紀> 的同一句話來開始這本福音,若望的用意是要和我們講論兩個「起初」。 第一是族譜上, 耶穌的開始。瑪竇福音記載的族譜在時間上從亞巴郎向前追溯到耶穌,而路加福音記載的, 在時間上則從耶穌向後追溯到原祖亞當。反觀 <若望福音>中耶穌的族譜,它超越時間,上達天主,出離此世。換言之,若望用神來之筆將耶穌的根源直接追溯到天主:「在起初已有聖言,聖言與天主同在,聖言就是天主。」(若 1:1) 瑪竇和路加列的族譜是歷史和人類的族譜,但若望所列的是屬神和從天主而來的族譜。天主的起源,除了天主自己外, 還能有誰?

第二,若望引用 <創世紀> 中耳熟能詳的第一句話,目的是要人聯想起 <創世紀> 所記述的創造 — 那一切從天主而來,也由天主而終的創造。若望這樣做,其作用是要使我們留意,他的福音所帶出的,是個不一樣的創造;是個因著基督救贖而帶來的,不再有黑暗和人類能享受真正生命的新創造 (參 若1:4-5,10:10)。

神學家將創造看成 <創世紀> 和 <若望福音> 開頭幾章的共通點, 這看法絕不是憑空想像的「幻想神學」。他們從聖經中找到很多令人眼界大開的證據來支持這觀點, 以下是其中一些特別值得提出的:

  • 既然萬物是藉著聖言而造成的(若1:3,哥1:16,弗2:10,箴8:22-30),在這兩個有關創造的記載中祂都在場,而且祂的臨在是明顯和不可或缺的。 (<創世紀> 記載,萬物是藉著天主「說」– 即天主聖言 — 而造成的;<若望福音> 記載,凡受造的,沒有一樣不是由聖言而造成的 (若1:3)。)
  • 像 <創世紀> 一樣,若望創造的敘述是一天天地帶出的,順序地講述每一天內所發生的事情和活動,總共述說了七天 (若1:1, 29, 35, 43是頭四天, 再加上 2:1「第三天」所代表的三天,共七天)。
  • 猶如 <創世紀> 的記載,創造天地萬物在第七天安息日完成,那一天是神聖的,每個人都應該參與這一天而成為聖的。同樣,若望所陳述的創造, 其高峯也發生在第七天的加納婚宴。這婚宴反映着天上「羔羊婚宴」的情景(默19:9),即安息日所期待和指向的,天主和成了新創造的人在末世時的全面結合。

「那傳播喜訊者的足跡是多麼美麗!」(依 52:7,讀經一) 首先是上主親自說話 (希1:2,讀經二),然後是宗徒,現在是教會,包括你和我。這個聖誕節, 讓我們去報佳音。 讓我們攀上崇山,任情呼喊。 讓我們盡己所能,給全世界傳喜訊。因為我們的主基督,即默西亞和時期一滿而生於童貞聖母瑪利亞的聖嬰(迦4:4) 已來臨了! 祂為了我們人類並為了我們的得救而來,也為了降生成人而來。因為天主子要從天降下成為人子,讓世上人子們能轉化而成為天主子,即變為祂的新創造! 這是若望寫福音的理由。這簡單的道理就是我們必須宣揚的真正聖誕訊息!

Posted: December 25, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

常年期第十八主日
怎樣將我們的微不足道變成偉大?
「你們如側耳,走近我前來聽,你們必將獲得生命」(依 55:3... 繼續閱讀 >
常年期第十八主日
甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十八主日: 做個自信、有人情味的基督徒
我們常聽人這樣說:「身為基督徒,我們應該多愛耶穌」。但愛必須... 繼續閱讀 >
常年期第十八主日
你會只拿出舊的還是新的?
耶穌對天國的教導是甚麽?拒絕左翼與右翼的思想,拒絕盲目崇拜新... 繼續閱讀 >