How do we prepare for Advent in this unprecedented time?

First Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 63:16B-17, 19B; 642-7

You, LORD, are our father, our redeemer you are named forever. Why do you let us wander, O LORD, from your ways, and harden our hearts so that we fear you not? Return for the sake of your servants, the tribes of your heritage. Oh, that you would rend the heavens and come down, with the mountains quaking before you, while you wrought awesome deeds we could not hope for, such as they had not heard of from of old. No ear has ever heard, no eye ever seen, any God but you doing such deeds for those who wait for him. Would that you might meet us doing right, that we were mindful of you in our ways! Behold, you are angry, and we are sinful; all of us have become like unclean people, all our good deeds are like polluted rags; we have all withered like leaves, and our guilt carries us away like the wind. There is none who calls upon your name, who rouses himself to cling to you; for you have hidden your face from us and have delivered us up to our guilt. Yet, O LORD, you are our father; we are the clay and you the potter: we are all the work of your hands.

1 Corinthians 1:3-9

Brothers and sisters: Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. I give thanks to my God always on your account for the grace of God bestowed on you in Christ Jesus, that in him you were enriched in every way, with all discourse and all knowledge, as the testimony to Christ was confirmed among you, so that you are not lacking in any spiritual gift as you wait for the revelation of our Lord Jesus Christ. He will keep you firm to the end, irreproachable on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is faithful, and by him you were called to fellowship with his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.

Mark 13:33-37

Jesus said to his disciples: "Be watchful! Be alert! You do not know when the time will come. It is like a man traveling abroad. He leaves home and places his servants in charge, each with his own work, and orders the gatekeeper to be on the watch. Watch, therefore; you do not know when the Lord of the house is coming, whether in the evening, or at midnight, or at cockcrow, or in the morning. May he not come suddenly and find you sleeping. What I say to you, I say to all: 'Watch!'"

We now come to the season of Advent, the season of vigilance, expectation, and waiting. The first reading is taken from the book of the prophet Isaiah. It describes the passionate expectation of Israel, during their time of exile in Babylon, which was the ultimate calamity for Biblical Jews. The nation was destroyed, the temple was burnt down, and the people were carried away to distant land. We may ask how could God allow this to happen? For 70 years, the Israelis were waiting in exile. They felt anguished; looked upon the Lord and wondered, “Oh, that you would rend the heavens and come down, with the mountains quaking before you” (Isa 63:19). It is not a language of praise, but rather anger and deep disappointment. Can we identify with the same Babylonian exile today? We are captive, exiled from where we want to be, and we feel the same anguish of the exiled Israelis. Maybe we are so fearful about the coronavirus situation, the devastating disease, or in a time of great financial, emotional, and psychological distress, or an unknown future. We may ask how long, Oh Lord, would we wander in this place of depression and anxiety? “For you have hidden your face from us and have delivered us up to our guilt” (Isa 64:6). It appears as though God has hidden himself, and so we cry out with anguish to our Lord.

How do we make sense of all these? The Bible continues, “Yet, LORD, you are our father; we are the clay and you our potter: we are all the work of your hand” (Isa 64:7). May I invite you to let that image sink into your heart. This is exactly the way the Biblical author has offered to us. We are all the work of God’s hand! Let us unpack this image. A lot of people in our culture are haunted by a deist conception of God, a God as a distant being or cosmic force. But the God of the Bible is the exact opposite. He is intimately involved in the work of creation and redemption, and in the world at all times. Saint Irenaeus of Lyon, the great church father said, “God is unmade as He is the Creator, but we and all of creation are continually being made” (Adversus Haereses, Bk.2, Chap.10, 4). God is sovereign and He is the maker, and we are like clay, simple, humble, and apt to be shaped. Here is another image from St. Irenaeus, and he said that as long as the clay remains moist and supple, responsive to moves of the maker, the shaping process is relatively painless. In contrast, if the clay becomes brittle and hardened, it can break under the influence of the potter. This great image represents our spiritual life. It is exactly what happened in the disobedience of Adam, the supple clay becomes brittle. It is when our own selfish will and pride come in full, the shaping that God wants to effect in us becomes painful, difficult, and at its limit, impossible. We can be so resistant to God that He cannot mold us.

Therefore, the key question is what kind of clay are we? Here does the idea of waiting and watching come into play. The steps involved in making a piece of pottery are time consuming –
finding the right clay, putting it on the wheel, turning it, molding it with thumbs and fingers, shaping the desired piece, and then carefully placing it in the oven to fire it. At all times, the clay is passive, and it allows itself to be molded. Likewise, God shapes us precisely through our minds, will, and freedom, and our basic attitude is one of waiting, hoping, and watching. What do we watch for? Perhaps we are in the process of God pressing His thumbs and fingers into us, in precisely where we have protruded, forcing out where we prefer to stay in. Perhaps God is starting over again after our resistance may have spoiled His first attempt. Maybe God is shaping us in a certain way, but we may become so brittle, so reactive that we break, and God carefully tries again. Are we being placed in the oven so that we may conform to the shape that God has intended, those hard and painful times in our life, times that are like fire? What we should do all these times is exalting in what God is doing and working in us. Are we looking with expectation toward the people that God wants us to be, no matter what the cost is?

Like ancient Israel in exile, we are all to some degree in the land of exile. We wait, watch, and cry out to the Lord. While we are doing so, we keep this master image in mind, we are clay, and we are passive in God’s hand, but here is this great heavenly master, not in a distant figure from us, carefully molding us into the people He wants us to be. Wait for it, and watch for it. That is a very good Advent attitude.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including
“We Need A Savior”, “Watching For Grace”, “A People Who Wait”and “The Potter And The Clay”. For more information, please visit WordOnFire.org.

Posted: November 29, 2020

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

A New Fixed Star Is coming – An Apocalypse message from Jesus
Happy New Year! Today, the first Sunday of Advent, is the beginning of a new liturgical year. What an extraordinary commencement we have with the readings for today. We are… Continue Reading >
Celebrating the Greatest Decision
Today’s homily is about three great reversals, where Jesus flips our expectations. Let’s start with a video of today’s Gospel, and see if you can spot these reversals. Continue Reading >
Jesus — “The King of Kings and Lord of Lords” (Revelation 19:16)
This year, the celebration of the solemnity of our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe is highlighted by a reading from Daniel 7, a chapter that contains arguably some… Continue Reading >

在這史無前例的時代,我們該如何為將臨期作準備?

將臨期第一主日

依撒意亞先知書 63:16-17,19; 64:2-7

你、上主是我們的父親;「我們自古以來的救主」,就是你的名。上主!你為什麼讓我們離開你的道路?使我們的心變硬,而不敬畏你?求你為了你的僕人,為了作你產業的各支派,回心轉意吧!啊!望你衝破諸天降下;諸山在你面前震盪。因為你行了誰也想不到的驚人事蹟;是人從未聽過的,耳朵從未聽過的,眼睛從未見過的:除你以外,沒有一個神,對依靠自己的人,是如此行事的。你歡迎那些履行正義和緊記你道路的人。但是,看,你發了怒,我們仍犯罪如初,仍照舊違背你。我們都好像成了不潔的人,所行的正義,好似染了經血的內衣;又似乾枯的葉子,我們的罪惡好似狂風,將我們捲去。沒有一個人呼求你的名,或起來投奔你,因為你掩面不顧我們,將我們遺棄於我們罪惡的權下。如今,上主啊!你是我們的父親;我們只是泥土,你是我們的陶工,我們都是你手中的作品。

格林多前書 1:3-9

願恩寵與平安,由我們的天主父和主耶穌基督,賜給你們。我時時為你們,對天主在基督耶穌內,所賜與你們的恩寵,而感謝我的天主,因為藉著他,你們在一切事上,在一切言論和知識上,都成了富有的;並且我為基督所作的證言,在你們中,是這樣的堅定,以致你們已不缺少任何恩寵,只待我們的主耶穌基督的出現。天主必要堅固你們到底,使你們在我們的主耶穌基督的日子上,無瑕可指。天主是忠信的,因為你們原是由他所寵召,為同他的聖子,我們的主耶穌基督,合而為一。

馬爾谷福音 13:33-37

那時候,耶穌說:「你們要當心,要醒寤,因為你們不知道,那日期什麼時候來到。正如一個遠行的人,離開自己的家時,把權柄交給了自己的僕人,每人有每人的工作;又囑咐看門的,須要醒寤。「所以,你們要醒寤,因為你們不知道,家主什麼時候回來:或許傍晚,或許夜半,或許雞叫,或許清晨;免得他忽然來到,遇見你們正在睡覺。「我對你們說的,我也對眾人說:你們要醒寤!」

我們來到將臨期,一個警惕、盼望和等待的季節。第一篇讀經來自《依撒意亞先知書》。經文描述聖經上的猶太人在經歷大災難時 — 流放巴比倫期間 — 對以色列熱切的盼望。國家被毀滅、聖殿被燒毀、人民被帶到遙遠的地方。我們可能會問,天主為何允許這情況發生?以色列人在流亡中等待了七十年。他們飽受煎熬,極端痛苦;仰望天主說:「啊! 望你衝破諸天降下,諸山在你面前震盪」 (依 63:19)。這決不是讚美的語言,而是憤怒和極度失望。試想今天的我們,有流亡巴比倫的感覺嗎?我們被俘虜、被流放,不能去想去的地方,我們感受的煩惱憂傷與被放逐的以色列人一樣。也許我們非常害怕冠狀病毒的疫情,這毁滅性的疾病;我們或許有很大的財務、情緒和心理的困苦,或前路不明。我們可能會問:主啊!我們要在這使人抑鬱和焦慮的地方徘徊多久?「因為你掩面不顧我們,將我們委棄於我們罪惡的權下」(依 64:6)。天主似乎隱藏了自己,我們因而苦惱地向主吶喊。

我們如何理解這些問題呢?聖經經文繼續說:「如今,上主啊! 你是我們的父親;我們只是泥土,你是的我們的陶工,我們都是你手中的作品」(依 64:7)。請讓這影像進入你的心中。這正是聖經作者給我們傳達的意思 — 我們都是天主手中的作品!我們再仔細看看。我們當中許多人都對於天主的存在這概念感到害怕,覺得天主存在於遠方或是一股宇宙力量。但聖經中的天主卻完全相反。祂緊密地參與自創世和救世的工程,並一直存在於我們的世界。聖依勒內 — 教會的偉大教父說:「天主不是受造的,因為祂是創造者,但我們和天地萬物都不斷地在被創造中」(Adversus Haereses, Bk.2, Chap.10, 4)」。天主是君王,祂是創造者,而我們就像黏土,樸實、卑微、宜被塑造。聖依勒內又提出另外一個影像,他說,只要黏土保持濕潤柔軟,便能配合製造者的動作,而塑造過程就比較沒有痛苦。相反,如果黏土變得脆和硬,則可能被陶工捏破。這影像恰當地代表了我們的靈修生活。亞當不服從天主,就是這樣發生的 — 柔軟的黏土變脆了。同樣地,當我們的想法極度自私、驕傲、自大時,天主的塑造便會使我們痛苦、難受,在極端時,甚至是不可能的。我們可以如此頑強地抵抗天主,以致祂無法改造我們。

因此,關鍵便在於我們是那種黏土?這就是等待和觀察的用意。製作陶器所涉及的步驟很花時間 — 例如要尋找適當的黏土,放在輪上,在輪轉動時,用十指將其塑造、成型,然後小心放入窯中燒成。在這過程中,黏土一直是被動的,讓自己被塑造。同樣地,天主通過我們的思想、意志和自由,準確地塑造我們,而我們的基本態度是等待、希望和觀察。觀察什麼?也許天主的手指正按在我們這陶土上凸出的地方,迫使我們從喜歡留連的地方走出來;也許天主得重新開始塑造,因為我們的抗拒可能破壞了祂上次的嘗試;也許天主正在以某種方式塑造我們,不過我們可能已變得如此脆硬、反應過度以致破裂了,但天主會小心再試。生命中那火一樣的痛苦折磨,是否像放置我們在窯中,按照天主的意思,塑造成為祂心目中的形狀?在這些時刻,我們應該讚美天主為我們、在我們身上所做的一切。無論代價是什麼,我們是否期待成為天主希望我們成為的人呢?

像流放時期的古以色列人一樣,我們在某程度上是處於流亡之地。我們等待、觀察並呼求上主。當我們這樣做的時候,我們要牢記這主要影像:我們是黏土,在天主手中,我們是被動的,而這位偉大的天上陶藝大師,卻不是遙不可及,祂正在小心塑造我們,成為祂願意我們成為的人。等待吧、觀察吧!這便是在將臨期很好的態度。

嗚謝
摘錄自羅伯特•巴倫主教的講道, 包括
“We Need A Savior”, “Watching For Grace”, “A People Who Wait”and “The Potter And The Clay”. 詳情請瀏覽 WordOnFire.org.

Posted: November 29, 2020

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

乙年將臨期第一主日 – 耶穌神秘的來臨 吳智勳神父

  乙年禮儀年以馬爾谷福音為主。四部福音中以馬爾谷福音為最早,也最簡短;大家相信瑪竇及路加在若干程度上是引用馬爾谷的,而人們對四部福音的印象是:若望寫得最深奧,最有神學味道;瑪竇有較完整的教理;路加神修性最佳;馬爾谷卻似乎一無是處,敬陪末座,不大為基督徒重視。

繼續閱讀 >