Four Odd Scenes from Mark’s Passion Narratives

Palm Sunday of the Lord’s Passion

Isaiah 50:4-7

The Lord GOD has given me a well-trained tongue, that I might know how to speak to the weary a word that will rouse them. Morning after morning he opens my ear that I may hear; and I have not rebelled, have not turned back. I gave my back to those who beat me, my cheeks to those who plucked my beard; my face I did not shield from buffets and spitting. The Lord GOD is my help, therefore I am not disgraced; I have set my face like flint, knowing that I shall not be put to shame.

Philippians 2:6-11

Christ Jesus, though he was in the form of God, did not regard equality with God something to be grasped. Rather, he emptied himself, taking the form of a slave, coming in human likeness; and found human in appearance, he humbled himself, becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Because of this, God greatly exalted him and bestowed on him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bend, of those in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

We are coming to the climax of the Lenten season, the beginning of Holy Week, and it is a great privilege to read in one of the passion narratives. Martin Taylor, a German theologian, once said, “The Gospels are passion narratives with long introductions.” Nevertheless, to many people, the problem is that the very familiarity of the story can undermine our understanding of it, and we hear the story so many times that we barely attend to it. Therefore, in this reflection, let us draw our attention to four odd details of the Passion of Jesus in Mark’s Gospel, to allow us to defamiliarize the story, and to bring out some features that we would normally overlook.

Here is how the passion narrative begins: “Jesus is at the home of Simon the leper, a woman came with an alabaster jar of perfumed oil, costly genuine spikenard. She broke the alabaster jar and poured it on his head.” (Mk 14:3). In the ancient world, this is an extravagant act to waste something as expensive as an entire jar of perfume. They say, “Why has there been this waste of perfumed oil?” (Mk 14:4). But Jesus praises the woman for her generosity, and promises that this act would be forever remembered. Why would Mark use this tale as a preface to the whole passion narrative? It is because by this very act the woman shows the meaning of the passion, a total gift of self. The woman gives everything away, to “break open the jar”, her own hearted love! In the same way, we are called to this excessive offer , self, a
similar extravagance in love.

Another detail that readers may have overlooked is the one at the end of the Last Supper, after singing songs of praise, they walked out to the Mount of Olives, where Gethsemane is (Mk 14:9). So Jesus is entering into the horrible suffering of His life, leading to His crucifixion. What is Jesus doing with His disciples just before this terrible and final night? He is singing. This scene creates a very odd and macabre moment. The point is Jesus knows that this singing is in fact appropriate. It is not to deny the terror of the night, nor the seriousness of what would follow, but to acknowledge that an act of total love is the passage to the fullness of life, and that is why He sings. Likewise, how fascinating we sing at Mass! Every Eucharistic liturgy is a re-presentation and remembrance of that terrible night, and an even more terrible day following it. Right after the consecration, we sing our way all through the Mass. It is strange and odd, but wonderful, as it is the teaching of this deep spiritual truth, that through this awful path we come to life!

Here is the third odd scene peculiar to Mark. There is “a young man followed Him wearing nothing but a linen cloth about his body. They seize him, but he leaves the cloth behind and runs off naked” (Mk 14:51-52). This young man is described as a follower of Jesus, and he is wearing a flimsy garment called “sindonae”, a Greek word used for the garment worn by the newly baptized. When they come to get Jesus, this young baptized follower of Jesus runs away, and leaves behind his baptismal garment. Here is the point: To be a follower of Jesus is to walk a dangerous path, a path led to the cross. Those who follow him “take up your cross every day and come after me” (Lk 9:23), and we are meant to accept the Truth with courage! The shame of this young man is that at the moment of truth he flees, leaving behind his baptismal identity, precisely in the hands of Jesus’ enemies. The same question is raised to us, we who wear the same baptismal garment, what do we do at the same moment of the Truth?

Here is a final episode which we would like to focus on. After the death of Jesus, and at that moment, “the curtain of the sanctuary was torn in two from top to bottom” (Mk 15:38). In the Old Testament, the curtain was also the one which shielded the Holy of holies, the inner sanctum of the Temple where only the high priest could venture once a year. It was where the holiest exchange between divinity and humanity happened. At the moment of Jesus’ death, the curtain is torn in two, so now that everyone has access to the Holy of holies! In Jesus’ great act of love and sacrifice, the communion between divinity and humanity has been utterly and fully realized. It is in the torn Body of the Son of God, given away freely in love, that we see right into the Holy of holies!

Friends, please let these four scenes from Mark’s passion narrative wash over our own mind and heart in this Holy Week, and God bless you.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including “The Passion Narrative Of Mark’s Gospel”.
For more information, please visit WordOnFire.org.

Posted: March 28, 2021

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >
Our Bodies Are Good
A few weeks ago, some students in our school asked me if Catholics should support the LGBTQ movement—it’s wonderful that they spoke about what was really on their minds. I… Continue Reading >

馬爾谷記載耶穌受難始末的四幕不尋常的場景

基督苦難主日(聖枝主日)

依撒意亞先知書 50:4-7

我主上主賜給了我受教的口舌,叫我會用言語,來援助疲倦的人。他每天清晨喚醒我,喚醒我的耳朵,叫我如同學生一樣靜聽。我主上主開啟了我的耳朵。我並沒有違抗,也沒有退避。我將我背,轉給打擊我的人;把我的腮,轉給扯我鬍鬚的人;對於侮辱和唾污,我沒有遮掩我的面。因為,我主上主協助我,因此,我不怕蒙羞;所以,我板著臉,像一塊燧石,因為我知道:我決不會受辱。——上主的話。

斐理伯書 2:6-11

弟兄姊妹們:耶穌雖具有天主的形體,並沒有以自己與天主同等,為應當把持不捨的,卻使自己空虛,取了奴僕的形體,與人相似,形狀也一見如人;他貶抑自己,聽命至死,且死在十字架上。為此,天主極其舉揚他,賜給了他一個名字,超越其他所有名字,致使上天、地上和地下的一切,一聽到耶穌的名字,無不屈膝叩拜;一切唇舌,無不明認耶穌基督是主,以光榮天主聖父。——上主的話。

馬爾谷所載主耶穌基督的受難始末 14:1-15:47

來到四旬期的高潮 — 聖週的開始 — 我們有幸閱讀到其中一個耶穌受難始末的敘述。德國神學家 Martin Taylor 曾說:「福音是設有長篇引言的受難記敘」。然而,對大部分人來說,問題在於我們因太熟悉這故事,而削弱了我們的理解,亦因為聽過這故事無數次,我們更不留心 。所以,在本週的反思,我們集中於《馬爾谷福音》中,耶穌受難的四個特別的細節,好讓我們重新認識這故事,帶出其中一些通常我們會忽略的特點。

耶穌受難始末的敘述是這樣開始的:「當耶穌在伯達尼癩病人西滿家裡,正坐席的時候,來了一個女人,拿著一玉瓶珍貴的純『拿爾多』香液。她打破玉瓶,就倒在耶穌頭上」(谷 14:3)。在古代,這是很奢侈的行為,浪費了整瓶昂貴的香液。他們說:「為什麼要這樣浪費香液?」(谷 14:4)。然而,耶穌卻稱讚這女人的慷慨,並承諾她這行為,會永存於世。馬爾谷為什麼要用這故事來開始受難始末的敘述?這是因為這女人的行動表達了受難的意義 — 完全奉獻自己。這女人獻出一切,「打破玉瓶」,她心中的至愛!同樣地,我們被喚召毫無保留地奉獻自己,付出的同樣豐裕的愛情。

另一個讀者可能忽略的細節,是在最後晚餐後,唱完讚美聖詠,他們便前往在橄欖山的伯達尼去了。(谷 14:9)。耶穌正進入祂一生中最可怕的苦難,會被釘在十字架上。 然而,在這恐怖的最後一夜之前,祂和門徒們在做什麼?祂在唱詠。這一幕營造了非常詭秘,陰森恐怖的一刻。重點是,耶穌知道歌詠是合當的。這不是要否定當晚是可怕的一晚,也不否定隨之而來會發生的事情的嚴重性,而是承認這完全的愛,會通往生命的滿全,這就是耶穌唱歌的原因。同樣地,我們在彌撒上都歌唱,何等引人入勝!每一次的聖祭禮儀,都是重演及紀念那可怖的一晚,以及接着下來更恐怖的翌日。在彌撒中,在成聖體聖血後,我們一直在彌撒中歌唱。這雖不尋常,卻十分奇妙,教導我們這深奧的屬靈真理,藉着這痛苦的道路,我們獲得生命!

接下來是《馬爾谷福音》記載的第三個奇怪情景。「有一個少年人,赤身披著一塊麻布,跟隨耶穌,人們抓住了他;但他撇下麻布,赤著身子逃走了」(谷 14:51-52)。這年輕人被描述為耶穌的追隨者,他身穿單薄的衣服 “sindonae”是希臘語,意思是新領聖洗者所穿的衣服。當他們來找耶穌時,這年輕的、已受洗的耶穌追隨者卻逃跑了,丟下他的洗禮服。這就是重點:耶穌的跟隨者走的是一條危險的道路,往十字架的道路。跟隨祂的人該「天天背著自己的十字架跟隨我(路 9:23)」,我們本應勇於接受真理!這年輕人的恥辱,就是在關鍵的時刻逃跑了,丟棄了他受洗者的身份,精準地讓這身份落在耶穌的敵人手上。我們被問同樣的問題,我們成為信徒穿著同樣洗禮服的人,在關鍵時刻會怎樣做?

我們再來研究最後一個情景。在耶穌斷氣的一刻,「聖所裡的帳幔,從上到下,分裂為二」(谷 15:38)。在舊約中,帷幔遮蔽聖殿的內部 — 至聖所 — 大司祭每年也只能進入一次。至聖所是神與人作最神聖交流的地方。在耶穌死的那一刻,帷幔分裂成半,代表著現在全人類都可以進入至聖所!在耶穌偉大的愛情與犧牲內,神與人的交流完全共融。從聖子殘破的軀體 —祂因愛情而作出的無條件奉獻 — 我們直接可以見到至聖!

朋友們,請讓馬爾谷記載的這四個情景,在這聖週洗滌我們的思維和心靈,願主保佑你們。

鳴謝
摘錄自羅伯特•巴倫主教的講道,包括 “The Passion Narrative Of Mark’s Gospel”
詳情請瀏覽 WordOnFire.org 網頁。

Posted: March 28, 2021

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

在公共場合成為基督徒 Fr. Justin Huang

我們在四旬期(封齋期)的曠野體驗中的最終挑戰是勇氣的召喚。大多數天主教徒沒有勇氣公開承認稱他們對耶穌的信仰。我們已經談過很多次,我們害怕在公共場合劃十字架聖號,或和朋友分享我們的基督宗教觀點,因為我們討論任何宗教問題的立場不受歡迎。我們想要融入一切,所以我們表現得好像我們不是基督徒。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 聖枝主日(基督苦難主日):背十字架的門徒 吳智勳神父

每一位福音作者寫耶穌受難史都有其特色,馬爾谷的特色就是,他把耶穌描述得非常悲哀、悽慘、孤獨。他的訊息是:基督必須經過十字架的痛苦才帶來救贖,而基督徒也必須像他們的師父(基督)一樣背十字架,才會帶來救恩。

繼續閱讀 >