What is your call to Nineveh?

Third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Jonah 3:1-5, 10

The word of the LORD came to Jonah, saying: "Set out for the great city of Nineveh, and announce to it the message that I will tell you." So Jonah made ready and went to Nineveh, according to the LORD'S bidding. Now Nineveh was an enormously large city; it took three days to go through it. Jonah began his journey through the city, and had gone but a single day's walk announcing, "Forty days more and Nineveh shall be destroyed, " when the people of Nineveh believed God; they proclaimed a fast and all of them, great and small, put on sackcloth. When God saw by their actions how they turned from their evil way, he repented of the evil that he had threatened to do to them; he did not carry it out.

1 Corinthians 7:29-31

I tell you, brothers and sisters, the time is running out. From now on, let those having wives act as not having them, those weeping as not weeping, those rejoicing as not rejoicing, those buying as not owning, those using the world as not using it fully. For the world in its present form is passing away.

Mark 1:14-20

After John had been arrested, Jesus came to Galilee proclaiming the gospel of God: "This is the time of fulfillment. The kingdom of God is at hand. Repent, and believe in the gospel." As he passed by the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother Andrew casting their nets into the sea; they were fishermen. Jesus said to them, "Come after me, and I will make you fishers of men." Then they abandoned their nets and followed him. He walked along a little farther and saw James, the son of Zebedee, and his brother John. They too were in a boat mending their nets. Then he called them. So they left their father Zebedee in the boat along with the hired men and followed him.

Today our first reading for mass is taken from the book of the prophet Jonah, which summarizes beautifully the essential dynamics of our spiritual life. Let us unpack these spiritual principles which also apply to us. It begins with the Word of the Lord coming to Jonah saying, “Set out for the great city of Nineveh, and preach against it; for their wickedness has come before me” (Jon 1:2). In Biblical religion, our life begins with a call: Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Moses, Peter, Paul, and all the great figures are called by God. They did not set the tone for their lives themselves, rather they are summoned by God. In the same way, our lives are not about us, they are about God, and what God demands of us.

So Jonah hears a call to go to the city of Nineveh, and to announce repentance. It is described that Nineveh is a great city, so Jonah’s job is difficult, and he is reluctant. It is another spiritual lesson: God’s calls are oftentimes demanding, and all of us are summoned by God with some great but difficult tasks. For example, if you are a lawyer or a judge, what is your call to Nineveh? May I suggest the call might be to live in accordance with justice and for the sake of justice, not for your self-aggrandizement, money, and power, but to be a servant of justice. If you are a business person, your call to Nineveh might be to live in such a way that you are concerned for others, and serve others using your business skills to benefit them, not yourself. It is the truth, goodness, beauty, justice which are our calls to Nineveh; our prophetic call is to live according to God’s purposes.

What does Jonah do when he hears this call? Like most people who are summoned by God, he resists. He flees all the way to “Tarshish”, to the southern point of Spain. It is a Biblical metaphor of saying he runs away as far as he can, in the opposite direction of where God wants him to go. Many of us who hear the summon of God but do not respond, and go in precisely the opposite direction. We are being summoned to a life in love with justice and truth, love for others, and holiness, but instead, we live our whole life running to Tarshish, in precisely the opposite direction. Jonah gets on a ship in Tarshish, convinced that he is avoiding the press of God, thinking that if he gets as far away as he can, he will not feel the presence of God. Does this often resonate in our heart?

Jonah is on a boat with several others, and a terrible storm picks up and threatens them, their ship is being pounded by the waves. What is the spiritual lesson? When we disobey the call of God, our life becomes chaotic and tumultuous. Moreover, our disobedience affects not only ourselves, but all of those around us. Therefore, going with the grain of God’s call is the key. In the midst of the storm, they find that Jonah is the one who is responsible, and they throw him overboard, and immediately the storm subsides. Jonah is then swallowed by a great fish, and for three days he lives in the belly of that fish. Another lesson: Resistance to God’s call causes a storm, and when we finally surrender to God, what we need is a moment of purification. Jonah, with his egotism and fear, runs away, but when he finally surrenders to God, he is being swallowed up, and is constrained in the belly of the fish, unable to move. It feels like imprisonment, but the truth is that our errand will is being drawn into the power of a greater will! The fish is swimming with him all the way back from where he came. God is grasping Jonah, limiting his own freedom, restricting him, and bringing him back where God wants him to be. Let us think of Moses spending years in the desert before his mission, and Paul after encountering the light of Christ, he was sent three years in the desert, preparing for the mission. In the same principle, when we suffer, go into a time of depression, dryness, or failure, and our life seems to be shutting down or being restricted, we should read it as a time of Jonah, a time in the belly of the fish. It is not an arbitrary punishment, but rather it is disciplining our wills, in preparation for the mission. The fish swims with Jonah all the way back, and it vomits him out on the seashore just where he started. This time Jonah follows the will of God, and he goes to the great city of Nineveh, and proclaims repentance. The people in the whole city all repent, from the King, to the common people, and even the “cattle put on sackcloth” (Jon 3:8). Jonah becomes one of the most powerful preachers in history.

So what is God calling you to do right now? Once you find out, do not run, and let ourselves be disciplined, and respond to the call. When we surrender and do the will of God, our life becomes rich, and we will be a conduit of grace.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including “The Spiritual Drama of Jonah” , and “The Reluctant Prophet” .
For more information, please visit WordOnFire.org.

Posted: January 24, 2021

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

To go through life's nadir at the foot of the mountain
Glimpses and tastes of glory that once exhilarated the disciples can also exhilarate us. Continue Reading >
Seeing Into the Future
Over the years, I’ve reminded you how God takes care of us in suffering, but today I’m challenging you to make it your own by doing a spiritual exercise. Continue Reading >
Lent is a Time of Grace
At the heart of Lent is an invitation to dig deeper: to reflect, review, and renew; it is, indeed, a springboard for radical transformation of our heart and mind. Continue Reading >

你的尼尼微召叫是什麼?

常年期第三主日

約納先知書 3:1-5,10

上主的話再次傳給約納說:「你起身往尼尼微大城去,向他們宣告我曉諭你的事。」約納便依從上主的話,起身去了尼尼微。尼尼微在天主前是一座大城,需要三天的行程。約納開始進城,行了一天的路程,宣布說:「還有四十天,尼尼微就要毀滅了。」尼尼微人便信仰了天主,立即宣布禁食,從大到小,都身披苦衣。天主看到尼尼微人所行的事,看到他們離開了自己的邪路,於是憐憫他們,不將已宣布的災禍,降在他們身上。

格林多前書 7:29-31

弟兄姊妹們:我對你們說:時間是短促的。今後有妻子的,要像沒有一樣;哭泣的,要像不哭泣的;歡樂的,要像不歡樂的;購買的,要像一無所得的;享用這世界的,要像不享用的。因為這世界的局面,正在逝去。

馬爾谷福音 1:14-20

若翰被監禁後,耶穌來到加里肋亞,宣講天主的福音,說:「時期已滿,天主的國臨近了,你們悔改,信從福音吧!」當耶穌沿著加里肋亞海行走時,看見西滿和西滿的兄弟安德肋,在海裡撒網;他們原是漁夫。耶穌向他們說:「來跟隨我!我要使你們成為漁人的漁夫。」他們便立刻丟下網,跟隨了耶穌。耶穌向前行了不遠,看見載伯德的兒子雅各伯和他的弟弟若望,正在船上修網。耶穌於是立即召叫他們;他們就把自己的父親載伯德和傭工們,撇在船上,跟隨了耶穌。

今天彌撒的讀經一來自《約納先知書》,該書美好地總結了我們靈性生活上的主要推動力。現在就讓我們揭開這些也適用於我們身上的靈性原則。《約納先知書》一開始便是上主對約納說的話:「你起身往尼尼微大城去,向他們宣佈:他們的邪惡已達到我前」(約1:2)。在基督宗教中,我們的生命從一個召叫開始:亞巴郎、依撒格、雅各伯、梅瑟、伯多祿、保祿和所有偉大的人物都是被天主召叫的。他們沒有為自己的生命預設了基調,而每一個都是被天主召喚的。同樣,我們的人生也不只是與自己有關,而是與天主,和祂對我們的要求有關。

約納聽見這召叫,要去尼尼微城,向那裡的人宣講悔改。尼尼微城被形容為一個大城市,所以約納的工作將會很艱辛,他不願意去。這是另外一個屬靈的教訓:天主的召叫通常都是艱鉅的,我們都被天主召叫去完成一些偉大但困難重重的任務。例如:假如你是律師或法官,你的尼尼微召叫是什麼?我認為這召叫可能為維護正義,在生活上活出正義,而不是為提升自己,為金錢和權力,而是成為正義的僕人。如果你是個商人,你的尼尼微召叫可能是在生活上,關心鄰人,並利用你的商業技能服侍他人,使他們獲益,而不只是讓自己得益。我們的尼尼微召叫該是真、善、美和正義;我們的召叫就是按天主的旨意生活。

當約納聽到這召叫時,他做了什麼?像大多數被天主召喚的人一樣,他抗拒。他逃去西班牙南部的「塔爾史士」。用聖經中的比喻說,他盡量遠走,與天主要他去的地方背道而馳。我們許多人聽到天主的召喚,不但沒有回應,反而是朝著相反的方向走。我們被召,一生在正義和真理、仁愛和聖潔的生活中度過,但相反,我們的一生都朝著相反的方向,奔向塔爾史士。約納在塔爾史士上船,堅信自己可以逃離天主的掌控,認為祇要能逃到遠方,他便不會感覺到天主的臨在。這令我們心中時常有共鳴嗎?

約納和其他同伴在船上,一場可怕的風暴形成了,威脅着他們,他們的船被海浪冲擊。這屬靈的教訓是什麼?當我們不服從天主的召叫時,我們的生活就會變得混亂和動盪不安。而且,我們的抗命不僅影響自己,還影響着身邊周圍的人。因此,順其自然,回應天主的呼喚才是重點。在風暴中,他的同伴發現風暴是因約納而起,於是將他拋進海,暴風雨便立即平息。在海中,約納被一條大魚吞下,在魚腹中呆了三天。這是另一個教訓:抗拒天主的召叫會引發風暴,當我們最終向天主順服時,我們需要一個淨化自己的時間。約納帶著他的自我和恐懼,逃跑了,但當他最終向天主降服時,他被魚吞噬,在魚腹中被禁錮起來,動彈不得。感覺就像被囚禁一樣,但其實,我們那被受差遣的意志,被引進一個更偉大的意志力裏面!那魚帶着他,游回他原來出發的地方。天主抓着約納,限制他的自由,約束他,將他帶到天主想他去的地方。讓我們想想,梅瑟在展開他的任務前,在荒野渡過多年,而保祿在與基督的榮光相遇後,在沙漠中渡過了三年,為自己的任務作準備。按照同樣的道理,當我們受苦,情緒低落沮喪,感到乾涸或失敗,而生活陷入困境或受到限制時,我們應該將其解讀為一個約納時期,在魚腹的期間。這不是天主對我們的任意懲罰,而是磨練我們的意志,為將來的使命作準備。那條魚帶着約納一直游,回到他出發的海邊上,把他吐出來。這次,約納順從了天主的旨意,去了尼尼微這大城市,宣揚悔改的訊息。結果,整個城市的人民都悔改了,從國王到平民,甚至是「人和牲畜,都身披苦衣」(約納 3:8)。約納就成為了歷史上最具影響力的傳道者之一。

那麼天主現在召叫你做什麼?當你找到答案時,請不要逃避,讓我們順從地回應召叫。 當我們降服並遵行天主的旨意時,我們的生活會變得豐盛,我們會成為輸送恩寵的工具。

鳴謝
摘錄自羅伯特•巴倫主教的講道,包括 “The Spiritual Drama of Jonah” , 及 “The Reluctant Prophet” () 。詳情請瀏覽 WordOnFire.org

Posted: January 24, 2021

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第三主日:把握天主眷顧的時刻 吳智勳神父

馬爾谷福音特別重視做耶穌門徒的條件,今日的福音提供了不少做門徒的啟示。第一個做耶穌門徒的條件是把握時機。馬爾谷福音記載耶穌的第一句話是:「時候到了」。整部聖經不斷提醒人把握時機;第一篇讀經記載,尼尼微人把握僅有的時間去悔改,結果免去災禍;

繼續閱讀 >
天主的呼喚是明確的 Fr. Justin Huang

在我24歲的時候,有一次,我去看我的家庭醫生。在候診室裡,我注意到一些海報宣傳墮胎是一些孕婦的一種選擇。當我見到我的醫生時,我問她是否建議墮胎。她說,她個人不希望女性這樣做,但會允許她們自己做出這樣的選擇。我們談了一會兒,僅此而已。

繼續閱讀 >