“If you choose, you can make me clean” (Mk 1: 40)

Sixth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Leviticus 13:1-2, 44-46

The Lord said to Moses and Aaron, "If someone has on his skin a scab or pustule or blotch which appears to be the sore of leprosy, he shall be brought to Aaron, the priest, or to one of the priests among his descendants. If the man is leprous and unclean, the priest shall declare him unclean by reason of the sore on his head. "The one who bears the sore of leprosy shall keep his garments rent and his head bare, and shall muffle his beard; he shall cry out, 'Unclean, unclean!' As long as the sore is on him he shall declare himself unclean, since he is in fact unclean. He shall dwell apart, making his abode outside the camp."

1 Corinthians 10:31-11:1

Brothers and sisters, Whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do everything for the glory of God. Avoid giving offense, whether to the Jews or Greeks or the church of God, just as I try to please everyone in every way, not seeking my own benefit but that of the many, that they may be saved. Be imitators of me, as I am of Christ.

Mark 1:40-45

A leper came to Jesus and kneeling down begged him and said, "If you wish, you can make me clean." Moved with pity, he stretched out his hand, touched him, and said to him, "I do will it. Be made clean." The leprosy left him immediately, and he was made clean. Then, warning him sternly, he dismissed him at once. He said to him, "See that you tell no one anything, but go, show yourself to the priest and offer for your cleansing what Moses prescribed; that will be proof for them." The man went away and began to publicize the whole matter. He spread the report abroad so that it was impossible for Jesus to enter a town openly. He remained outside in deserted places, and people kept coming to him from everywhere.

This week’s gospel reading is about Jesus’ cleansing of a leper. Out of love, He heals him, “Moved with pity, Jesus stretched out his hand and touched him”, “and he was made clean” (Mk 1: 41-42). During the Old Testament time, leprosy was a skin disease that deemed victims unclean and unfit to participate in the liturgical life of Israel; such uncleanness was considered contagious (Ignatius Bible Study P67). The First Reading is an account of our Lord speaking to Moses and Aaron that lepers should “live alone with their dwelling outside the camp” (Lev 13:46). In this episode, Jesus reaches across this divide between Himself and the leper when He touches the leper and cleanses him. While others would be defiled by such contact, Jesus conquers the uncleanness by the greater power of His holiness (IBS P67).

After the leper is made clean, Jesus sternly warns him to say nothing to anyone “but the man went out and proclaim it freely” (Mk 1:44). We may wonder why Jesus keeps his miraculous healings a secret. This is because Jesus’ ministry on earth is to preach the Kingdom of God, “For that is why I came”, to liberate people from the burdens of Satin, sickness and sin (Mk 1:38, IBS P 67). He exhorts the healed to remain silent in order to conceal His identity as the Messiah; He does not want His miracles to disconnect from His saving message. In Jesus’ time, people’s expectation of the Messiah was an outstanding royal and military figure who would liberate Israel from the oppressive rule of the Romans, subdue their enemies and re-establish the worldly kingdom of David in Jerusalem (ISB P 62, 67). Jesus wishes to downplay this expectation.

There are instances that Jesus does heal all those who are brought to him, “Jesus went about all Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, and preaching the gospel of the kingdom: and healing all manner of sickness and every infirmity, among the people” (Mt 4:23). Yet He does not heal all the sick in His time nor in the present day. Why is that? The Church recognizes that illness and suffering are among the gravest problems in human life; we would experience utter powerlessness and even a glimpse of death. Illness may lead to despair and even revolt against God or it can make us discern what is essential in life and follow accordingly. Very often, it provokes a search for God and return to Him (Ref CCC 1500-1). “[Jesus’] healings were signs of the coming of the Kingdom of God. They announced a more radical healing: the victory over sin and death through his Passover. On the cross Christ took upon himself the whole weight of evil and took away the ‘sin of the world,’ of which illness is only a consequence. By his passion and death on the cross Christ has given a new meaning to suffering: it can henceforth configure us to him and unite us with his redemptive Passion” (CCC 1505). Jesus invites his disciples to follow him by taking up their cross. By following him, we acquire a new look on illness and the sick (CCC 1506).

“I was sick and you visited me” Jesus said (Mt 25: 36). Next time, when we visit the sick, let us be reminded by St. Paul’s teaching in the second reading to imitate Christ, “Be imitators of me, as I am of Christ” (1 Corinthians 11:1). We must imitate Christ’s compassion and love towards the sick, be generous with our time and kindness, maybe we can even help the person find or rekindle the flame of faith. On the other hand, we could be inspired and our faith could be strengthened by witnessing the sick person’s courage and complete reliance on the Lord our God.

Posted: February 14, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >

「你若願意,就能潔淨我」(谷 1: 40)

常年期第六主日

肋未紀 13:1-2,45-46

上主訓示梅瑟和亞郎說:「如果人在皮肉上生了腫瘤,或瘡癤,或斑痕,他皮肉上有了這種痲瘋病的症狀,就應把他帶到亞郎司祭,或他作司祭的一個兒子前。「凡身患痲瘋病的人,應穿撕裂的衣服,披頭散髮,將口唇遮住,且喊說:「不潔!不潔!」在他患痲瘋病的日子內,常是不潔的。他既是不潔的,就應獨居,住在營外。」

格林多前書 10:31-11:1

弟兄姊妹們:你們或吃或喝,或無論做什麼,一切都要為光榮天主而做。你們不可成為使猶太人,或希臘人,或天主的教會,跌倒的原因,但要如同我一樣,在一切事上,使眾人喜歡;不求自己的利益,只求大眾的利益,為使他們得救。你們該效法我,如同我效法基督一樣。

馬爾谷福音 1:40-45

那時候,有一個痳瘋病人,來到耶穌面前,跪下求耶穌,說:「你若願意,就能潔淨我。」耶穌動了憐憫的心,就伸手撫摸他,向他說:「我願意,你潔淨了吧!」痳瘋病立刻消失,他就潔淨了。然後,耶穌嚴厲警告他,立即催他走,並向他說:「當心!什麼也不可告訴人,但去叫司祭檢驗你,並奉獻梅瑟所規定的獻禮,向人證明你潔淨了。」但那人一離去,便開始極力宣揚,把這事傳揚開了,以致耶穌不能再公開進城,只好留在外邊荒野;但眾人卻從各處來到他那裡。

本週的福音讀經是說耶穌潔淨了一個痲瘋病人。「耶穌動了憐憫的心,就伸手撫摸他」而 「他就潔淨了」(谷 1:40-42)。在舊約時期,痲瘋是一種皮膚病,患者被視為「不潔」,不宜參與以色列人生活上的朝拜禮儀;這種不潔被認為是會傳染他人的 (Ignatius Bible Study 67頁)。《讀經一》叙述上主囑咐梅瑟和亞郎,痲瘋患者應該 「獨居,他的住處應在營外」(肋 13:46)。在這個環節,耶穌跨越了祂和痲瘋患者之間的界限,祂伸出手,觸摸患者,潔淨了他。別人會因為接觸病人而被沾污,耶穌卻以祂神聖的大能戰勝了不潔 (IBS 67頁)。

耶穌治好痲瘋病人之後,嚴重警告他要守口如瓶,不可告訴人,「但那人出去,便開始極力宣揚,把這事傳開了」(谷 1:44)。我們或不能明白,為何耶穌要把祂所行的治病奇蹟保密。這是因為耶穌在世的任務是宣揚天國福音,「我是為這事出來的」,為把人從撒殫的枷鎖,病痛和罪惡中解放出來(谷 1:38, IBS 67頁)。祂囑咐得到治癒的人保持緘默,是為隱藏自己的默西亞身份;祂不希望祂行的神蹟與祂宣講的救贖信息被分開。在耶穌的年代,衆人期望的默西亞是一個傑出的皇族及軍事人物,把以色列從羅馬人的暴政中拯救出来,打敗敵人,並在耶路撒冷重建世上的達味王國 (ISB 62, 67頁)。耶穌希望淡化這期望。

有某些情況,耶穌治癒了所有被帶到祂跟前的人,「耶穌走遍了全加里肋亞,在他們的會堂內施教,宣講天國的福音,治好民間各種疾病,各種災殃」(瑪 4:23)。但無論在耶穌時代或現在,祂卻沒有治好所有的病人。為什麼呢?
教會承認疾病和痛苦往往是人類生命中最嚴重的問題;我們會體驗到自己完全無助、甚至隱約看到死亡。疾病可能導致失望,甚至對天主懷有怨忿之心,但疾病也能讓我們辨別並追求生命中最重要的事物。疾病時常激發人找尋天主並歸向祂 (天主教教理 1500-01)。「【基督】治癒病人是天國來臨的標記。這些治病事件宣告一種最徹底的治癒: 即藉著基督的逾越,戰勝罪惡和死亡。基督在十字架上,背負了所有罪過的重擔,並除去了『世罪』(若 1:29),而疾病只是世罪的後果之一。基督藉著十字架上的苦難和死亡,賦予痛苦新的意義: 從此,痛苦可使我們肖似祂並結合於祂為救贖世人所受的苦難」 (天主教教理 1505)。耶穌邀請門徒背負自己的十字架來跟隨祂。藉着跟隨基督,我們對疾病和病人便有了嶄新的看法(天主教教理 1506)。

耶穌說「我患病,你們看顧了我」(瑪 25: 36)。下次,當我們探訪或看顧病者的時候,我們要記得聖保祿在《讀經二》的教導,要效法基督,「你們該效法我,如我效法了基督一樣」(格前 11:1)。我們效法基督對病人的仁愛和憐憫,慷慨地付出自己的時間和慈愛的心,或許我們可以幫助他們找到或重燃信德的心火。另一方面,在我們見證病者的勇氣和完全信靠上主我們的天主時,我們也會得到啟迪,讓自己的信德更為堅定。

Posted: February 14, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第六主日:憐憫人的耶穌 吳智勳神父

本星期的福音讀經仍接續上星期的主題。馬爾谷以驅魔治病去突顯耶穌的權威,指出祂是天主子、救主的身份。今日,馬爾谷用另一方式,突出祂說話的權威及祂是一個怎樣的人。

繼續閱讀 >
向被邊緣化的伸出援手 Fr. Justin Huang

2013年,維尼西奧•里瓦(Vinicio Riva)前往羅馬,在教宗的一大群聽眾中,他上前親吻教宗方濟各(PopeFrancis)的戒指,教宗擁抱了他。全世界都注意到了,因為維尼西奧因神經纖維瘤病而嚴重毀容。

繼續閱讀 >