Into the Wild

Eighteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

EXODUS 24:3-8

The whole Israelite community grumbled against Moses and Aaron. The Israelites said to them, “Would that we had died at the LORD’s hand in the land of Egypt, as we sat by our fleshpots and ate our fill of bread! But you had to lead us into this desert to make the whole community die of famine!” Then the LORD said to Moses, “I will now rain down bread from heaven for you. Each day the people are to go out and gather their daily portion; thus will I test them, to see whether they follow my instructions or not. “I have heard the grumbling of the Israelites. Tell them: In the evening twilight you shall eat flesh, and in the morning you shall have your fill of bread, so that you may know that I, the LORD, am your God.” In the evening quail came up and covered the camp. In the morning a dew lay all about the camp, and when the dew evaporated, there on the surface of the desert were fine flakes like hoarfrost on the ground. On seeing it, the Israelites asked one another, “What is this?” for they did not know what it was. But Moses told them, “This is the bread that the LORD has given you to eat.”

Ephesians 4:17, 20-24

Brothers and sisters: I declare and testify in the Lord that you must no longer live as the Gentiles do, in the futility of their minds; that is not how you learned Christ, assuming that you have heard of him and were taught in him, as truth is in Jesus, that you should put away the old self of your former way of life, corrupted through deceitful desires, and be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and put on the new self, created in God’s way in righteousness and holiness of truth.

John 6:24-35

When the crowd saw that neither Jesus nor his disciples were there, they themselves got into boats and came to Capernaum looking for Jesus. And when they found him across the sea they said to him, “Rabbi, when did you get here?” Jesus answered them and said, “Amen, amen, I say to you, you are looking for me not because you saw signs but because you ate the loaves and were filled. Do not work for food that perishes but for the food that endures for eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you. For on him the Father, God, has set his seal.” So they said to him, “What can we do to accomplish the works of God?” Jesus answered and said to them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in the one he sent.” So they said to him, “What sign can you do, that we may see and believe in you? What can you do? Our ancestors ate manna in the desert, as it is written: He gave them bread from heaven to eat.” So Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, it was not Moses who gave the bread from heaven; my Father gives you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is that which comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.” So they said to him, “Sir, give us this bread always.” Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst.”

Have you ever attempted a “trust fall”? It is a team-building exercise in which one blindly falls back trusting that their partner or teammates will be there to catch them. Sounds easy enough? Not! At the crucial moment when we are supposed to let go, something in our brain tries to stop the body from falling. In truth, it takes a deliberate effort to break through this barrier; a wall that separates what we can see (and feel) from the temporarily invisible beautiful reality that awaits us on the other side. This week’s readings invite us to take a journey to a special place, a wilderness of sorts, beckoning us to fall back into the arms of our Loving God without reservation.

In Exodus, the question of faith and trust underscores the Israelites’ epic journey in the wilderness. After their harrowing escape from Egypt, the Israelites have, once again, become discontent. Like children, they grumbled against Moses, “Would that we had died at the LORD’s hand in the land of Egypt, as we sat by our fleshpots and ate our fill of bread! But you had to lead us into this desert to make the whole community die of famine” (Ex 16:3)! Their response to their newfound freedom seems juvenile, considering what great miracle God has just accomplished for them! When they encounter hardships in the wilderness – thirst, hunger, fear, uncertainties, and all the discomfort and inconveniences of being migrants – they immediately fall back onto what they know, pining for their old way of life, albeit the life of slavery. However, God is a very patient parent who, over and over again, proves His faithfulness and unconditional love to His people. Thus, He provides bread in the morning and meat in the evening so that all “will know that I, the LORD, am your God” (Ex 16:12). The bread from heaven is revealed after the dissipation of the morning dew: “On seeing it, the Israelites asked one another, ‘What is this?’ for they did not know what it was” (Ex 16:15). Are they in awe? Excited? Surprised? Afraid? Apprehensive? Disappointed? What would be our reaction to this mysterious occurrence? It turns out that many of us are as stiff-necked as the Israelites. We question what we cannot see and are easily discouraged by new challenges; however, faith tells us to bear our complete vulnerability before God and only then can we fully receive what God has in store for us. As the Israelites learn to trust God throughout their journey in the wilderness, we, too, must journey through the wilderness of our heart to the doorstep of our loving God, to receive the only food that we need, “ the bread which the LORD has given [us] to eat” (Ex 16:15).

This story of faith and trust continues to unfold in the Gospel of John. After witnessing the many miracles performed by Jesus, particularly the miracle of the loaves and fish, the crowd keeps pressing Jesus for a sign: “What sign can you do, that we may see and believe in you? What can you do? Our ancestors ate manna in the desert, as it is written: He gave them bread from heaven to eat.” (Jn 6:30-31). The great miracle of manna has been firmly imprinted onto the collective memory and wisdom of the Israelites, and for them, that is one of the greatest signs of God’s presence. They can “see” God through the nourishment that physically sustains their ancestors in the desert; but they don’t know Jesus, whom after all, is only a carpenter’s son from Bethlehem, “although you have seen [me], you do not believe” (Jn 6:36). Jesus understands their blind spot, therefore, he tells them not to worry about food that perishes but “the food that endures for eternal life, which the Son of Man will give” (Jn 6:27). Jesus is revealing a great mystery about himself and his mission in this world: “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst” (Jn 6:36). Jesus is the bread from heaven that can sustain us; mind, body, and soul. Jesus walks among us, works among us, and most of all, gives himself up so that we may have life. Those who hunger will always treasure the taste of bread, but those who hunger for God will be completely satisfied and content with the true “bread of life”, that is, Jesus the Son of God (Jn 6:35).

At every mass, we have the privilege of partaking in the body of Christ. The Eucharist not only nurtures and sustains us, but also unites us with God and each other. The Eucharist is “the source and summit of the Christian life … [and] by the Eucharistic celebration we already unite ourselves with the heavenly liturgy and anticipate eternal life, when God will be all in all. ” (CCC 1324, 1326).

The Israelites’ wilderness experience is definitely a difficult one but without which they may never grow to know and trust God! Their faith has been refined in fire. It is also imperative that we go into the wilderness to encounter God in all our brokenness and limitations. On our wilderness journey, let us not fall back onto our old self, our “former way of life” – a life of slavery and self-centeredness – but come before God with all our vulnerabilities, trust that God will hear us, just as He has heard the Israelites’ grumbling (Eph 4:22, ref. Ex 16:12). Though our eyes cannot see, God’s powerful arms are there to catch us when we fall back.

Posted: August 1, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

“They had argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).
Jesus said to the twelve, “Whoever wants to be the first must be last of all and servant of all” (9:35). Continue Reading >
Perfect Freedom is Found in Christ
In June of this year, I read an article by Sohrab Ahmari, an Iranian who converted to Catholicism in 2016, and about his anxiety as a new father. The anxiety… Continue Reading >
The Mystery of Suffering
The next time we are confounded by the human fear of suffering, will we choose to follow James’ advice to persevere for spiritual maturity? Or, will we adopt the pre-Pentecost… Continue Reading >

走進荒野

常年期第十八主日

出谷紀 16:2-4, 12-15

那時候,以色列子民全會眾,在曠野抱怨梅瑟和亞郎,說:「巴不得我們在埃及國,坐在肉鍋旁,吃飽時,死在上主手中!你們領我們到曠野來,是想叫我們全會眾都餓死嗎?」上主對梅瑟說:「看,我要從天上,給你們降下食物;百姓要每天出去,拾取當日所需要的,為試探他們,是否遵行我的法律。「我聽見了以色列子民的怨言。你給他們說:黃昏的時候,你們要有肉吃;早晨要有食物吃飽。這樣,你們就知道,我是上主,你們的天主。」到了晚上,有鵪鶉飛來,遮蓋了營幕;到了早晨,營幕四周落了一層露水。露水蒸發之後,在曠野的地面上,留下稀薄的碎屑,稀薄得好像地上的霜。以色列子民一見,就彼此問說:「這是什麼?」原來他們不知道這是什麼。梅瑟告訴他們說:「這是上主賜給你們吃的食物。」

厄弗所書 4:17, 20-24

弟兄姊妹們:我在主內苦勸你們,不要像外邦人一樣,順從自己的虛妄思念而生活。你們從基督所學的,並不是這樣。如果你們真的聽過耶穌,又按照在他內的真理,受過教導,就該改變你們從前的生活,脫去你們的舊人,即因順從享樂的慾念,而敗壞的舊人;應更新你們的心思念慮,穿上新人,即按照天主的肖像所造,具有真實的正義和聖善的新人。

若望福音 6:24-35

那時候,群眾發覺耶穌和他的門徒都不在海邊,便上了那些小船,往葛法翁,去找耶穌。當群眾在海的對岸,找到耶穌時,就對耶穌說:「辣彼,你什麼時候到了這裡?」耶穌回答說:「我實實在在告訴你們:你們尋找我,並不是因為看到了神蹟,而是因為吃餅吃飽了。你們不要為那可損壞的食糧勞碌,而要為那存留到永生的食糧勞碌,即人子所要賜給你們的,因為他是天主聖父所印證的。」群眾問耶穌說:「我們該做什麼,才算做天主的事業呢?」耶穌回答說:「天主要你們做的事業,就是要你們信從他所派遣來的那一位。」群眾又說:「那麼,你能行什麼神蹟,給我們看,好叫我們信服你呢?你能做什麼呢?我們的祖先在曠野裡,吃過『瑪納』,正如經上記載的:『他從天上賜給了他們食物。』」於是,耶穌向群眾說:「我實實在在告訴你們:並不是梅瑟,賜給了你們從天上來的食糧,而是我父現在賜給你們,從天上來的真正食糧,因為天主的食糧,是由天降下,並賜給世界生命的。」群眾便說:「主!你就把這樣的食糧,常常賜給我們吧!」耶穌回答說:「我就是生命的食糧;到我這裡來的,永不會飢餓;信從我的,總不會渴。」

你有沒有試過「在信任中向後跌」?這是一個建立團隊精神的訓練,參加者在向後倒下時,要相信他的夥伴或隊友會在他倒下的那一刻,接着他。聽起來好像很容易吧?絕對不是!在那關鍵的一刻,當我們應該豁出去向後跌的時候,我們的腦袋會阻止自己的身體倒下的。其實,打破這障礙,需要運用個人意志;有一道牆壁隔開着我們見到(和感覺到)的,和在另外一邊等待着自己的,暫時看不到的美麗現實。本週讀經邀請我們踏上一個旅程,到一個特別的,似乎是野外的地方,這地方向我們招手,叫我們毫無保留地,掉進愛我們的天主的雙臂中。
《出谷記》歷史上以色列人的曠野之旅,其重點是信德和信靠。慘痛地逃出埃及之後,以色列人又再表示不滿了。像孩子一樣,他們對梅瑟抱怨,「巴不得我們在埃及國,坐在肉鍋旁,吃飽時,死在上主手中! 你們領我們到這曠野裏來,是想叫我們全會眾餓死嗎?」(出 16:3)。對於剛獲得的自由,他們的反應像少年人,想一想,天主剛為他們行了多大的奇蹟!在曠野裏遇到困難 — 飢渴、害怕、不明朗、和所有作為移民的不方便和不舒適的時候 — 他們立刻掉頭,回望過去自己認識和依賴的生活方式,儘管那是奴隸的人生。但天主卻是個非常有耐性的父親,祂一次又一次地證明自己的信實,和對子民無條件的愛。所以,早上,祂給他們麵包吃,黃昏的時候,你們有肉吃,好讓大家都「知道,我是上主,你們的天主。」(出 16:12)。天上的食糧在早晨的霧水蒸發之後,顯露出來了,「以色列子民一見,就彼此問說:『這是什麼﹖』原來他們不知道這是什麼」(出 16:15)。他們是敬畏?緊張?驚奇?害怕?憂慮?失望?對於這些奧秘的事情,我們會怎樣反應?原來,我們很多人是頑固的,像以色列人一樣。我們會質疑自己看不見的,亦容易因為新的挑戰而心灰氣餒;但,信德告訴我們,在天主面前,要帶着自己的所有弱點,只有這樣,我們才能完全接受天主為我們預備好的。當以色列人在曠野之旅學會了信靠天主,我們一樣,也要在自己心靈的曠野之旅中,走到至愛我們的天主的門前,接受自己需要的唯一食物「上主賜給【我們】吃的食物」 (出 16:15)。
在《若望福音》,這信德和信靠的故事繼續發展。見證了耶穌行的多個奇蹟,尤其是五餅二魚的奇蹟之後,群眾不斷要求耶穌給他們一個神跡「你能行什麼神跡,給我們看,好叫我們信服你呢?你能做什麼呢?我們的祖先在曠野裏,吃過『瑪納』,正如經上記載的:『祂從天上賜給了他們食物。』」(若 6:30-31)。天降瑪納這偉大奇蹟已經深深地印在以色列人的集體記憶和智慧𥚃,對他們來說,這是天主臨在的其中一個最大的神跡。藉着在沙漠裏,養活他們祖先的食糧,他們「看見」了天主;但他們不認識耶穌 — 祂只不過是白冷郡一個本匠的兒子,「你們看見了【我】,仍然不信」 (若 6:36)。耶穌明白他們的盲點,所以教導他們,不要為可損壞的食糧勞碌,而「要為那存留到永生的食糧勞碌,即人子所要賜給你們的」(若 6:27)。耶穌展示了一個關於祂自己的極大奧秘,和祂在世的使命:「我就是生命的食糧,到我這裏來的,永不會饑餓;信從我的,總不會渴」(若 6:35)。耶穌是天國的食糧,可以滋養我們身、心和靈的。耶穌與我們同行,在我們之間忙着,而最重要的是,祂放棄自己,好讓我們得到生命。飢餓的人會珍惜麵包的味道,但渴求天主的人,會完全滿意和滿足於真的「生命的食糧」— 耶穌聖子 (若 6:35)。
在每台彌撒聖祭,我們有幸可以領受基督聖體。聖體聖事不但培育和滋養我們,也將我們結合於與天主及互相的共融中。聖體聖事是「整個基督徒生活的泉源與高峰 ⋯ 最後,藉著感恩慶典(彌撒),我們已與天上的禮儀相融合,且預嘗永生,在那時,天主將是萬物之中的萬有」 (天主教教理 1324, 1326)。
以色列人在曠野的經驗肯定是困難重重,但沒有這經驗,他們可能永遠都不會認識天主和信賴祂!他們的信德已被火煉淨。在我們進入曠野,與主相遇時,帶着自己的支離破碎和有限的能力,是至關重要的。在曠野之旅,我們不要掉頭變回從前的自己,「以前生活」中 — 奴隸性和自我中心的人生 — 而是帶着自己所有的弱點,來到天主面前,相信祂必定會聆聽我們,就像祂聽取以色列人的抱怨一樣 (弗 4:22, 參 出 16:12)。我們的眼雖然看不見,但當我們向後倒下的時候,天主強而有力的雙臂是會把我們接住抱緊的。

Posted: August 1, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十八主日:屬靈生活的保障 吳智勳神父

巴勒斯坦並非肥美地方,舊約有不少旱災、飢荒的記載,以色列人常擔心食的問題。他們看到增餅奇蹟後,懶得追問增餅的意義,只著眼在耶穌解決了他們食的問題,這是他們追尋耶穌的原因。 在歎息猶太群眾錯過珍寶之餘,我們不妨反省自己何嘗不在追求生活保障?我們有各式各樣的保險,又有強積金、退休金、生果金等保障未來的生活。這些保障都是合理的要求,但在追求物質生活的保障同時,我們能否同樣積極地尋找屬靈生活的保障?

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:感恩祭的慶典
繼續閱讀 >