Is the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer?

Thirty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Proverbs 31:10-13, 19-20, 30-31

When one finds a worthy wife, her value is far beyond pearls. Her husband, entrusting his heart to her, has an unfailing prize. She brings him good, and not evil, all the days of her life. She obtains wool and flax and works with loving hands. She puts her hands to the distaff, and her fingers ply the spindle. She reaches out her hands to the poor, and extends her arms to the needy. Charm is deceptive and beauty fleeting; the woman who fears the LORD is to be praised. Give her a reward for her labors, and let her works praise her at the city gates.

1 Thessalonians 5:1-6

Concerning times and seasons, brothers and sisters, you have no need for anything to be written to you. For you yourselves know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief at night. When people are saying, "Peace and security, " then sudden disaster comes upon them, like labor pains upon a pregnant woman, and they will not escape. But you, brothers and sisters, are not in darkness, for that day to overtake you like a thief. For all of you are children of the light and children of the day. We are not of the night or of darkness. Therefore, let us not sleep as the rest do, but let us stay alert and sober.

Matthew 25:14-30

Jesus told his disciples this parable: "A man going on a journey called in his servants and entrusted his possessions to them. To one he gave five talents; to another, two; to a third, one-- to each according to his ability. Then he went away. Immediately the one who received five talents went and traded with them, and made another five. Likewise, the one who received two made another two. But the man who received one went off and dug a hole in the ground and buried his master's money. After a long time the master of those servants came back and settled accounts with them. The one who had received five talents came forward bringing the additional five. He said, 'Master, you gave me five talents. See, I have made five more.' His master said to him, 'Well done, my good and faithful servant. Since you were faithful in small matters, I will give you great responsibilities. Come, share your master's joy.' Then the one who had received two talents also came forward and said, 'Master, you gave me two talents. See, I have made two more.' His master said to him, 'Well done, my good and faithful servant. Since you were faithful in small matters, I will give you great responsibilities. Come, share your master's joy.' Then the one who had received the one talent came forward and said, 'Master, I knew you were a demanding person, harvesting where you did not plant and gathering where you did not scatter; so out of fear I went off and buried your talent in the ground. Here it is back.' His master said to him in reply, 'You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I did not plant and gather where I did not scatter? Should you not then have put my money in the bank so that I could have got it back with interest on my return? Now then! Take the talent from him and give it to the one with ten. For to everyone who has, more will be given and he will grow rich; but from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away. And throw this useless servant into the darkness outside, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth.'"

In this world, as often as it appears, the rich is getting richer and the poor is getting poorer. At first glance, it seems that such a non-egalitarian principle also prevails in this Sunday’s Gospel reading — the parable of the talents. The parable starts off with the master going away and putting his possessions in the hands of his servants. When the moment of reckoning comes, the master calls his servants for an account. The first two servants who have been given more, are joyfully initiated into the sharing of their master’s prosperity (the first servant is even given additional talents later rf Mt 25:28); but the third servant who has been given the least, is “thrown into the darkness outside, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth” (Mt 25:30).

The apparent reason for such a harsh treatment to the third servant is because he has done poorly when compared to the other two servants. And though the master has not lost the one talent given to the servant, it is his total failure to make use of what he has been given — his “laziness” that smothers the due growth of his master’s equity. The servant’s behavior reveals the underlying relationship of him with his master. His fear of losing the talent belies his fear of his master. He sees his master as a greedy and usurious miser (rf Mt 25:24-25). Driven by fear of loss, he has no incentive to serve in his master’s interest or to impress him like the other two servants.

We all have our own image of God, but if that image is distorted, our false perception will paralyze our relationship with Him. True that the fear of God is necessary for it is the beginning of wisdom (cf Prv 9:10); but when we progress spiritually, this servile fear should give way to filial fear which does not focus on punishment anymore but on reverence and love. If we allow this inhibiting fear to govern us, we risk developing anxiety and bitterness like that of the third servant, eventually dwindling our relationship with God as the servant does with his master.

As we can see, the master is in fact a munificent man. He gives his servants a huge lump sum (a talent represents a laborer’s wages for fifteen years) and goes away without any instructions. Whether the amount handed over is five or two or one talent, the master is super generous. Not only is he generous in giving “money”, he is also generous in giving “freedom” to his servants. One word of instruction at his departure would have sufficed but he leaves things in the hands of his servants because he trusts them. His fury is justifiable for the lazy servant has betrayed his trust. Not only does this servant fail to actively increase what he is entrusted, he does not even put the talent into the bank for its due growth which requires no effort from him at all. Yet despite his failure, he still presents his indolent inaction as an act of faithful service to his master – “Here you have what is yours”, no more, no less! (Mt 25:25)

Freedom is a precious gift but only if we use it properly. Like the lazy servant, we, too, can sometimes beguile our inaction as being prudent or discerning. In the dispensation of divine giving, God’s favor will grow more and more to those who work for it. Like the first two servants who “have been trustworthy in a few things, [are] put in charge of many things” (Mt 25:21, 23). The rewards given to them are the same regardless of the amount earned. They both are praised as good and faithful servants. Before God our master, what is important is not quantitative results but our faithfulness in using the varied talents given to us. The stripping of the third servant’s talent is not an act of injustice. It is simply a consequence of the rule in the realm of God’s grace. “For to everyone who has, more will be given, and he will have abundance; but from him who has not, even what he has will be taken away” (Mt 25: 29). Like the landlord who doles out equal wages to all the workers in the vineyard, God’s desire is to lavish upon us His riches as much as we can handle and enjoy (rf Mt 20:1-16). In God’s kingdom of eternal joy, there is no shortage of resources nor discrimination of treatment.

Is the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer? Yes, in our world because of social injustice and economic exploitation but in God’s world, it is because of His generosity and liberality.

Posted: November 15, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

What our eyes cannot see, our heart perceives and understands
The Spirit in us; the same Spirit promised by Jesus and given to us through the sacrament of confirmation, sharpens all our senses, and most importantly our heart, to “taste… Continue Reading >
Fullness of Life in Community
I wish all of you had a group of Christian friends who could encourage, challenge and pray with you, meeting weekly online or in a park. I wish that everyone… Continue Reading >
Jesus said, “You are witnesses of these things.” (Lk 24:48)
“That the Christ is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day.” (Lk 24:46) Continue Reading >

是富者越富, 貧者越貧嗎?

常年期第三十三主日

箴言 31:10-13,19-20,30-31

賢淑的婦女,有誰能找到?她本身價值,遠勝過珠寶。她的丈夫,對她衷心信賴,一切所需,從來不會缺少。她一生歲月,只叫丈夫幸福,不給丈夫煩惱。她弄來羊毛細麻,愉快地親手勞作。 她手執紡錘,手指旋轉紗錠。對貧苦的人,她隨手賙濟;對無靠的人,她伸手扶助。 姿色是虛幻,美麗是泡影;敬畏上主的女人,才堪當受人讚美。願她享受她雙手操勞的成果!願她的事業,使她在城門口受讚揚!

得撒洛尼前書 5:1-6

關於那時候與日期,不需要給你們寫什麼。你們原來確實知道:主的日子,要像夜間的盜賊一樣來到。 幾時人正在說:「平安無事」,那時,滅亡會猝然來到他們身上,就像痛苦,來到懷孕者身上一樣,決逃脫不了。 但是,你們,弟兄們,你們不是在黑暗中,以致那日子,像盜賊一樣襲擊你們;你們眾人都是光明之子,和白日之子;我們不屬於黑夜,也不屬於黑暗。 所以,我們不應像其他人一樣貪睡,卻當清醒謹慎。

瑪竇福音 25:14-30

那時候,耶穌給門徒講了這個比喻,說:「天國好像一個要遠行的人,將自己的僕人叫來,把財產託付給他們:按照他們的才能,一個給了五個『塔冷通』,一個給了兩個,一個給了一個;然後動身走了。 「那領了五個『塔冷通』的,立刻去用來營業,另外賺了五個。同樣,那領了兩個的,也賺了另外兩個。但是,那領了一個的,卻去把地掘開,把主人的銀子,埋藏起來。 「過了很久,僕人的主人回來了,便與僕人算賬。那領了五個『塔冷通』的,上前,呈上另外五個『塔冷通』,說:主啊!你曾交給我五個『塔冷通』,看,我賺了另外五個『塔冷通』。主人對他說:好!善良忠信的僕人,你既在少許事上忠信,我必委派你管理許多大事:進入你主人的福樂吧! 「那領了兩個『塔冷通』的,也前來,說:主啊!你曾交給我兩個『塔冷通』,看,我賺了另外兩個『塔冷通』。主人對他說:好!善良忠信的僕人!你既在少許事上忠信,我必委派你管理許多大事:進入你主人的福樂吧! 「隨後,那領了一個『塔冷通』的,也前來,說:主啊!我原知道你是個刻薄的人,在你沒有下種的地方收割,在你沒有散布的地方聚斂。因為我害怕,所以我去把你的『塔冷通』,藏在地下;看,你的,仍還給你。 「主人回答說:可惡懶惰的僕人!你既知道:我在沒有下種的地方收割,在沒有散布的地方聚斂;那麼,你該把我的銀子,交給錢莊裡的人,待我回來時,連本帶利,收回給我。所以,你們從他手中,把這個『塔冷通』奪過來,給那有了十個『塔冷通』的。因為凡是有的,還要給他,叫他富裕;那沒有的,連他所有的,也要由他手中奪去。至於這個無用的僕人,你們把他丟在外面的黑暗中;在那裡必有哀號和切齒。」

在這世界, 富者越富, 貧者越貧是件常事。驟眼看來,這非平等原則也在本主日的福音讀經 — 《塔冷通的比喻》出現。 比喻以一個要遠行的主人, 把財產托付給他的僕人開始。結算的時間到了,主人便與僕人算帳。首兩個托付多些財產的僕人,歡天喜地進入他主人的福樂(第一個僕人甚至得到額外的「塔冷通」參閱 瑪 25:28); 那托付最少財產的第三個僕人,卻被「丟在外面的黑暗中,在那裡必有哀號和切齒」(瑪 25:30)。

第三個僕人得到這苛刻的對待,明顯地是因為比起其他兩個僕人,他的成績最為差勁。雖然主人並沒有失掉他給這個僕人的一個「塔冷通」,但僕人的徹底失敗卻是因為他沒有利用他所托付的 — 他的「懶惰」阻礙了主人財物所得到應有的增長。 僕人的行為表現出他和主人的底層關係。他害怕失了「塔冷通」,表示他害怕主人。他視主人為一個貪心、放高利貸的守財奴 (參 瑪 25:24-25)。由於害怕失去,他沒有動機為主人的利益而服務,又或像其他兩個僕人那樣,要給主人留下良好的印象。

我們每人都有自己對天主的看法,但若那看法是扭曲的話,我們錯誤的理解會癱瘓我們和祂的關係。 的確,敬畏上主是智慧的肇基 (參 箴 9:10);但當我們在靈修上有進步的時候,奴隸式的恐懼應為孝道的敬畏所代替,這敬畏不再專注於懲罰,而是恭敬和愛慕。若我們容許壓抑性的恐懼主宰著自己,便會滋長焦慮和苦澀,最終使我們與天主的關係萎縮,就如第三個僕人與主人的關係那樣。

我們可以看到,主人其實是一個雍容大度、待人優厚的人。他一次過給他的僕人一大筆「金錢」(一個「塔冷通」是一個勞動工人十五年的工資)。然後,走的時候也沒有任何指示。無論給的是五個、兩個或一個「塔冷通」, 主人都是非常慷慨的。不但大方地給予「金錢」,他亦大方地讓他的僕人享有「自由」。只要在離開時吩咐一聲,已經足夠,了。但他完全由僕人作決定,因為他信任他們。祂對那懶惰僕人的憤怒,是有理由的,因為他出賣了主人的信任。這僕人不但沒有積極地使他被付托的得到增長,他甚至沒有將那一個「塔冷通」放入銀行,使之增值,一件不需要他付出任何努力的事。然而他對自己的失職和怠慢的不作為,表達成對主人的忠誠服務 : 「看,你的仍還給你」,不多,也不少!(瑪25:25)。

自由是一份寶貴的禮物, 但我們得要正確地使用它。有時, 像那懶惰的僕人,我們也會把不作為,說成是自己的審慎或仍在明辨中。有關恩寵的賜予,主寵日隆是為努力的人而設的。像首兩個僕人,他們「在少許事上忠信,【獲】委派管理許多大事」(瑪 25:21, 23)。無論他們賺到多少,他們所得的報酬是一樣的 。他們都被讚許為善良忠信的僕人。在天主,我們的主人面前,重要的不是數量上的成績,而是我們信實地運用祂所賜的各種恩典 。奪去第三個僕人的「塔冷通」,並不是不公義的行為。這只是在天主國度裏施予恩寵規矩的結果。「因為凡是有的,還要給他,叫他富裕;那沒有的,連他所有的,也要由他手中奪去」(瑪 25: 29)。就像那給所有在葡萄園工作的工人同等工資的園主,天主的意願是將祂的隆恩,大方厚賜給我們,好叫我們盡量取用 (參 瑪 20:1-16)。在天主永福的國度裏, 不會有資源的短缺,亦不會有不公平的對待。

是富者越富, 貧者越貧嗎?是的,在這世界, 是因為社會的不公和經濟的剝削,但在天主的世界,卻是因為祂的慷慨大方和祂施予的自由。

Posted: November 15, 2020

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第三十三主日:善用恩賜 吳智勳神父

今天讀的福音是瑪竇福音中有關天國比喻的最後一個,我們要知道不同的比喻是從不同角度講論天國,而比喻之間是互相補充的。耶穌曾講過天國好比人撒種,種子如何發芽生長,他卻不知道,這強調天主救恩的能力,但不要結論;人對此恩賜,甚麼也不需要做。今日的比喻便明言:天國雖是天主的恩賜,但要人努力去回應;金幣的比喻強調天國的恩賜並非不勞而獲,它要求人積極地參與建設天國。

繼續閱讀 >