Jesus’ mission in one word

by May Tam
2021-09-05
Twenty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 35:4 - 7A


James 2:1 - 5


Mark 7:31 - 37


We live in a very noisy world. Our lives are filled with many words; many of which are empty and useless. Obviously our world is much different to that of the deaf man in today's Gospel reading. However, in the midst of all these noises and words, our situation is in fact very similar to him, that is, we, too, are often alienated from one another and even more so, from God. Could it be that the noise and din of so many words have caused us to turn a deaf ear to the word of God just as Jesus says, “Do you have eyes, and fail to see? Do you have ears, and fail to hear?” (Mk 8:18). Pope Benedict XVI, in his Angelus (September 9, 2012), summarizes Jesus' ministry in one word – “Ephphatha”. It is not a magic word but simply means, “be opened” in Aramaic. Though simple, this little word from Jesus carries with it a much deeper meaning.

Truly that the deaf and mute man has been closed and isolated from others but by Jesus' intervention, he is able to open himself to the world and the world to him, “an openness that, starting from the organs of hearing and speech, involved all his person and his life” (Ibid). However, a person's closure is not only limited to his/her disabled physical senses. Spiritual deafness is also a disability. When we do not hear or refuse to hear God's words, we are in a communication closure, too. And if we are spiritually deaf, we are spiritually mute as well since the ability of hearing and speaking goes together. When one shuts oneself from hearing God's words, one has difficulty to speak spiritual truths. In the Angelus, Pope Benedict XVI refers these spiritual defects as “an inner closure that affects the person’s inmost self, which the Bible calls 'the heart' ”.

Throughout Scriptures, we come across these spiritual defects of the heart and ear in different names: stiffnecked, uncircumsized, hardened, stubborn, stony or dull (rf Ex 32:9, Acts 7:51, Ps 95:8-9, 81:11-13, Zech 7:11-12, Is 6:10, Jer 11:8, Eze 36:26, Mt 13:15). Thus Pope Benedict XVI says, “that is why I said that this little word, 'Ephphatha' – 'Be opened,' sums up Christ’s entire mission. He became man so that man, made inwardly deaf and dumb by sin, would become able to hear the voice of God, the voice of love speaking to his heart, and learn to speak in the language of love, to communicate with God and with others” (Ibid).

This miracle of the healing of the deaf-mute, recounted only in Mark's Gospel, is tactfully written with reference to Isaiah 35 as backdrop. Isaiah 35 is a glorious promise of what will take place when the Messiah comes, “the eyes of the blind shall be opened, and the ears of the deaf shall be cleared. Then the lame shall leap like a deer, and the tongue of the dumb will sing” (Is 35:5-6). Undeniably, this miracle is the fulfillment of part of that promise, for two of the elements in Isaiah’s vision are now being realized – “He has done everything well! He makes the deaf hear and the mute speak!” (Mk 7:37). Jesus is the promised Messiah who, not only 'opens up' the handicapped man, but also opens up heaven, bringing healing and salvation to all people. “It is this that Jesus came to 'open,' to liberate, so as to enable us to live to the full our relationship with God and with others” (Ibid).

Yes, we live in a very noisy world. Our ears could be habitually blocked from hearing God's words and our tongues customarily stiffened to speak God's truths. Let us pray then that Jesus' word (Ephphatha) not only heals the deaf-mute but also to each one of us. Let us ask for the grace for an open ear, as the psalmist says, “Today, if you hear [God's] voice, hardened not your hearts” (Ps 95:8). Let us also pray that when we have been 'opened' by Jesus, we will do the same as the man's friends did, that is, help to bring those who are spiritually defective to Jesus.

MORE ARTICLES

RELATED

「今天該聽從【上主的】聲音, 不要心頑」

常年期第二十三主日

依撒意亞先知書 35:4-7

你們要告訴心怯的人說:「鼓起勇氣來,不要畏懼!看,你們的天主!報復已到!天主的報酬已到!他要親自來拯救你們!」那時,盲人將會看見,聾人將要聽到;那時,瘸子必要跳躍如鹿,啞吧的舌頭,必要歡呼。因為,曠野裡,將流出大水;沙漠中,將湧出江河;火熱的沙地,將變為池沼;乾旱的地帶,將變為水源。

雅各伯書 2:1-5

弟兄姊妹們:你們既信仰我們已受光榮的主耶穌基督,就不該以貌取人。如果有一個人,戴著金戒指,穿著華麗的衣服,進入你們的會堂,同時,一個衣服骯髒的窮人,也進來,你們就專注那穿華麗衣服的人,且對他說:「請坐在這邊最好的位置!」而對那窮人說:「你站在那邊!」或說:「你坐在我的腳凳下邊!」這樣,你們豈不是以偏私的標準,來歧視人嗎?我親愛的弟兄姊妹們,請聽!天主不是選了世俗視為貧窮的人,使他們富於信德,並繼承天主向愛他的人,所預許的國嗎?

馬爾谷福音 7:31-37

那時候,耶穌從提洛地區出來,經過漆冬,走向加里肋亞海,到了十城區的中心地帶。有人帶來一個又聾又啞的人,求耶穌給他覆手。耶穌便帶這人離開群眾,來到一邊,把手指放進他的耳朵,並用唾沫,抹他的舌頭,然後望天歎息,向他說:「厄法達」就是說:「開了吧!」這人的耳朵就立刻開了,舌結也解了,說話也清楚了。耶穌於是囑咐群眾,不要告訴任何人;但他越囑咐他們,他們便越發宣傳。眾人都不勝驚奇,說:「他所做的一切都好:使聾人聽見,叫啞吧說話。」

我們生活在一個非常嘈吵的世界。充斥着我們生活的,是很多說話;而這些說話,很多是空談、無用的。明顯地,我們的世界和今天福音讀經裏那聾人的世界很不同。但在這吵鬧和說話之中,我們的境況和他實在非常相似,就是說,我們經常是與人彼此疏離,更甚的是疏離天主。是否太多說話的噪音和喧囂令我們聽不到天主的聖言,就像耶穌所說:「你們有眼看不見,有耳聽不見嗎?」 (谷 8:18)。教宗本篤十六世在《三鐘經》祈禱時(2012 年 9 月 9 日),以一個字 — 「厄法達」— 來形容耶穌的事工。這不是一個甚麼神奇的字, 在阿拉美語這字的意思是「開了吧」。雖簡單,但耶穌說的這個字, 卻有更深刻的含義。
確實,這聾啞的人與別人隔離, 是封閉的; 但因耶穌的介入,讓他可以與世界互相開放,「這開放,由始於聽覺和言語的感官,而涉及他整個人和他的生命」 (同上)。然而,一個人的封閉不只局限於五官感應的失能 。靈性上的失聰也是一種殘障。當我們聽不到或不肯聽天主的話語時,溝通也就關閉了。如果我們靈性上是聾的,靈性上我們也會是啞的,因為聽和講的能力是相輔相成的。當人關閉自己,不聆聽天主的話語,他便會很難去講屬靈的真理。在《三鐘經》祈禱中,教宗本篤十六世稱這些靈性上的障礙為「一種內在的關閉,影響着人的五內,聖經上稱之為『人心』」。
在聖經中,我們遇到不同的字來形容心和耳在屬靈上的缺陷 — 硬着頸項、心耳未受割損、執坳、心頑、心硬如金剛石或遲鈍 (參考 出 32:9, 宗 7:51, 詠 95:8-9, 81:11-13, 匝 7:11-12, 依 6:10, 耶 11:8, 則 36:26, 瑪 13:15)。教宗本篤十六世說:「所以,我認為,這小小的一個字,『厄法達』—『開了吧』總結了基督的整個使命。人因罪惡而成為內在的聾啞,基督成為人,為使人可以聽到天主愛的聲音,對人的心說話,使人可以學到用愛的言語來與天主和別人溝通」 (同上)。
耶穌治好聾啞人的這個奇蹟只在《馬爾谷福音》有記載,並巧妙地以《依撒意亞先知書》第 35 章為背景。《依撒意亞先知書》第 35 章是一個美好的應許,描繪默西亞來的時候會是什麼光景:「那時瞎子的眼睛要明朗,聾子的耳朵要開啟; 那時瘸子必要跳躍如鹿,啞吧的舌頭必要歡呼」 (依 35:5-6)。無可否認,這奇蹟已經應驗了這應許的一部份,依撒意亞所預視的兩個元素已經實現了,「祂所做的一切都好:使聾子聽見,叫啞吧說話」(谷 7:37)。耶穌是應許的默西亞,不但『打開』了那位殘障人士,也打開了天堂,把治癒和救恩帶给世人。「正是為此,耶穌來『打開』,來釋放, 好讓我們可以完全活出與天主及與人的關係」(同上)。
是的, 我們生活在一個很嘈雜的世界裡。我們的耳朵可能已習慣性地關上了,聽不到天主的話語; 我們的舌頭也慣性地僵硬了,不能說天主的真理。讓我們祈求耶穌的「厄法達」這一個字不但治好那聾啞人,也治好我們每一位。讓我們祈求恩典,讓耳朵打開,正如聖詠作者所說:「今天該聽從【上主的】聲音:不要心頑」(詠 95:8)。讓我們也祈求,當被耶穌「打開」之後,自己也會做那聾啞人的朋友所做的事,就是把靈性上有缺陷的人帶到耶穌跟前。

Posted: September 5, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第廿三主日:耶穌開啟交談的管道 吳智勳神父

閱讀聖經,能有不同的方法;活生生的聖言,能因應需要產生不同的生活應用。讓我們以今日的福音為例,感受一下天主聖言的靈活與啟發性,好能更喜歡閱讀它。  我們可細味福音故事的每一小節,並引伸出一些熱心靈修之意義,從中汲取教訓,例如:

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:天主教會的社會訓導
繼續閱讀 >