“My sheep hear my voice. I know them, and they follow me” (John 10:27)

Fourth Sunday of Easter

Acts 13:14, 43-52

Paul and Barnabas continued on from Perga and reached Antioch in Pisidia. On the sabbath they entered the synagogue and took their seats. Many Jews and worshipers who were converts to Judaism followed Paul and Barnabas, who spoke to them and urged them to remain faithful to the grace of God. On the following sabbath almost the whole city gathered to hear the word of the Lord. When the Jews saw the crowds, they were filled with jealousy and with violent abuse contradicted what Paul said. Both Paul and Barnabas spoke out boldly and said, “It was necessary that the word of God be spoken to you first, but since you reject it and condemn yourselves as unworthy of eternal life, we now turn to the Gentiles. For so the Lord has commanded us, I have made you a light to the Gentiles, that you may be an instrument of salvation to the ends of the earth.” The Gentiles were delighted when they heard this and glorified the word of the Lord. All who were destined for eternal life came to believe, and the word of the Lord continued to spread through the whole region. The Jews, however, incited the women of prominence who were worshipers and the leading men of the city, stirred up a persecution against Paul and Barnabas, and expelled them from their territory. So they shook the dust from their feet in protest against them, and went to Iconium. The disciples were filled with joy and the Holy Spirit.

Revelation 7:9, 14B-17

I, John, had a vision of a great multitude, which no one could count, from every nation, race, people, and tongue. They stood before the throne and before the Lamb, wearing white robes and holding palm branches in their hands. Then one of the elders said to me, “These are the ones who have survived the time of great distress; they have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb. “For this reason they stand before God’s throne and worship him day and night in his temple. The one who sits on the throne will shelter them. They will not hunger or thirst anymore, nor will the sun or any heat strike them. For the Lamb who is in the center of the throne will shepherd them and lead them to springs of life-giving water, and God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”

John 10:27-30

Jesus said: “My sheep hear my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish. No one can take them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one can take them out of the Father’s hand. The Father and I are one.”

This Sunday is World Day of Prayer for Vocations.

Pope Francis released on April 2, 2019 an apostolic exhortation Christus Vivit (“Christ Lives”) reflecting on the Synod of Bishops on young people, the faith and vocational discernment. In Chapter 8, the last part of the document, he gives excellent guidance to young people about vocation. While his advice is primarily for young people, I think it is equally valuable and inspiring to people in all stages of life. Let us hear from him.

The Holy Father said that the word “vocation” can be understood in a broad sense as a calling from God, including the call to life, the call to friendship with him, the call to holiness, and so forth. This calling from God situates our whole life in relation to the God who loves us. It makes us realize that nothing is the result of pure chance but that everything in our lives can become a way of responding to the Lord, who has a wonderful plan for us.

Our own personal vocation is something more than the work we do: it is a path guiding our many efforts and actions towards service to others. This gives greater value to everything we do. Our work is no longer just about making money, keeping busy or pleasing others. It becomes our vocation because we are called to it; it is something more than merely a pragmatic decision. In the end, it is a recognition of why I was made, why I am here on earth, and what the Lord’s plan is for my life. He will not show me every place, time and detail, since I will have to make my own prudent decisions. But he will show me a direction in life, for he is my Creator and I need to listen to his voice, so that, like clay in the hands of a potter, I can let myself be shaped and guided by him. I will become what I was meant to be, faithful to my own reality. I am inspired to bring out the best in myself for the glory of God and the good of others. It is not simply a matter of doing things, but of doing them with meaning and direction.

In ending Chapter 8 Vocation, the Pope writes “Jesus is walking in our midst, as he did in Galilee. He walks through our streets, and he quietly stops and looks into our eyes”, “Yet today the stress and quick pace of a world constantly bombarding us with stimuli can leave no room for the interior silence in which we can perceive Jesus’ gaze and hear his call” (277, Chapter 8).

How many times and how often have I missed encountering Jesus because I have focused too much on the things of the world? Many times and very often.

In this Sunday’s Gospel reading, Jesus said: “My sheep hear my voice. I know them, and they follow me” (Jn 10:27). As we go about our busy life in this noisy world, may we be inspired by the Pope’s advice, ponder on our busyness and seek out the calm and quiet in our hearts. It is only in this interior silence that we can hear and follow Jesus our Good Shepherd.

Posted: May 12, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

New Jerusalem - the Final Apocalypse
As we come close to the end of the Easter season, we have a great privilege to read the final chapters of the Book of Revelation, and the great story… Continue Reading >
Why does Jesus call the love commandment new?
Divine love does not come naturally to us, it needs practice Continue Reading >
“My sheep hear my voice. I know them, and they follow me” (John 10:27)
It is in our interior silence that we can perceive Jesus’ gaze and hear his call Continue Reading >

「我的羊聽我的聲音,我也認識他們,他們也跟隨我」(若10:27)

復活期第四主日

宗徒大事錄 13:14,43-52

那時候,保祿和巴爾納伯,由培爾革經過各處,到了丕息狄雅的安提約基雅。安息日,他們進了會堂,坐下。有許多猶太人和皈依猶太教的虔誠人,隨從了保祿和巴爾納伯。兩人同他們談話,勸他們務要堅持天主的恩寵。下一個安息日,全城的人幾乎都聚集起來,要聽天主的聖道。猶太人一看見這麼多人,就滿懷嫉妒,反對保祿所講的,且加以辱罵。保祿和巴爾納伯卻放膽地說:「天主的聖道,本來應該先講給你們聽,但因你們拒絕接受,並斷定自己不配得永生。看!我們就要轉向外邦人,因為主如此命令我們,說:『我已立你作為外邦人的光明,把救恩帶到地極。』」外邦人聽了,都很喜歡,讚美主的聖道。那些被預定獲得永生的人,就都信了。主的聖道於是傳遍了那地方。猶太人卻挑唆敬畏天主的尊貴婦人,及城中要人,發動迫害保祿和巴爾納伯,把他們驅逐出境。兩人就當著他們,拂去腳上的塵土,往依科尼雍去了。門徒都充滿喜樂和聖神。

默示錄 7:9,14-17

我、若望,看見有一大夥群眾,沒有人能夠數清,是來自各邦國、各支派、各民族、各異語的;他們都站在寶座和羔羊面前,身穿白衣,手持棕櫚枝。長老之中,有一位告訴我,說:「這些人是由大災難中來的,他們曾在羔羊的血中,洗淨了自己的衣裳,使衣裳雪白。因此,他們得以站在天主的寶座前,且在他的殿內,日夜事奉他。那坐在寶座上的,也必要住在他們中間。他們再也不餓,再也不渴;烈日和任何炎熱,再也不會損傷他們,因為,那在寶座中間的羔羊,要牧放他們,要領他們到生命的水泉;天主也要拭去他們眼上的一切淚痕。」

若望福音 10:27-30

那時候,耶穌說:「我的羊聽我的聲音,我也認識他們,他們也跟隨我;我把永生賜給他們,他們永遠不會喪亡;誰也不能從我手中,把他們奪去。「我父把羊群賜給我;我父超越一切,為此,誰也不能從我父手裡,將他們奪去。我與父原是一體。」

本主日是世界聖召祈禱日。

教宗方濟各在二零一九年四月二日發表的《宗座勸諭 Christ Lives 》表達了他對【世界主教會議 :論青年、信仰和明辦聖召】的反思。在文件之最後一部份,第八章,他給了青年人在聖召方面極為卓越的指引。他的忠告主要是為青年人,但對於在人生任何階段的人,我覺得教宗的勸喻都是同樣珍貴和具啟發性。讓我們聽聽他的話。

教宗認為「聖召」廣義上可以說是天主的召叫:包括生命的召喚、與主建立友誼的召喚、成聖的召喚等等。天主的召叫把我們的整個人生定位於愛我們的天主。這樣,我們便領略到,沒有事情是純粹因機緣巧合而發生的。上主精心設計我們的人生,我們生命中的一切,都可以成為回應祂的一個方法。

天主對我們的個人召叫,不只是我們的工作,而是更廣泛的:它是一條道路,帶領我們以自己的努力和行動,服務他人,令我們所做的一切更有價值。我們工作不再是光為掙錢,或為保持忙碌,或為取悅他人。因為有天主的召喚,我們所做的事情不再只是現實的決定。總的說來,是承認天主造我為人在世的原因以及上主對我此生的計劃。祂不會把每一個地方、時間和細節展示給我,因為這些都是我自己要做的決定。但祂會給我一個生命的方向,因為祂是我的造物主,我必要聽從祂的聲音,讓自己被祂塑造和指引,像製陶者手中的粘土一樣。我將會成為上主計劃中,真正的我。我會得到激勵,為天主的光榮和他人的益處,做到最好。這樣,所做的事才有意義,有方向而不只是為完成一件事。

在第八章《聖召》,教宗寫道「耶穌走在我們中間,就像祂在加里肋亞時一樣。祂在我們的街上行走,會靜靜地停下來,注視我們」,「但現今世界,快速步伐,壓力和緊張的刺激不斷地衝擊着我們,以致心內沒有寧靜,好能感受到耶穌的注視,聽到他的召喚」(277,第八章)。

我有多少次,和我是否常常因為太專注世間事物而錯過了與耶穌相遇的機會?有很多次而且經常如此。

在主日的福音讀經,耶穌說:「我的羊聽我的聲音,我也認識他們,他們也跟隨我」(若 10:27)。當我們在這煩囂的世界,過着忙碌生活的時候,願我們被教宗的忠告所鼓舞,仔細思量自己在忙什麼,並在自己的心中尋找安靜。只有在這寧靜的內心,我們才能聽到耶穌和跟隨祂—我們的善牧。

Posted: May 12, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

丙年復活期第四主日:我認識我的羊,我的羊也認識我 吳智勳神父

今日是聖召主日,傳統稱這一天為善牧主日。善牧主日能給人一個印象以為單指神父作為牧者的聖召,改稱為聖召主日,可以包括修士和修女的聖召,目的是希望整個教會能為各種聖召祈禱。

繼續閱讀 >