Repentance

Thirty-first Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 11:22-12:2

Before the LORD the whole universe is as a grain from a balance or a drop of morning dew come down upon the earth. But you have mercy on all, because you can do all things; and you overlook people's sins that they may repent. For you love all things that are and loathe nothing that you have made; for what you hated, you would not have fashioned. And how could a thing remain, unless you willed it; or be preserved, had it not been called forth by you? But you spare all things, because they are yours, O LORD and lover of souls, for your imperishable spirit is in all things! Therefore you rebuke offenders little by little, warn them and remind them of the sins they are committing, that they may abandon their wickedness and believe in you, O LORD!

2 Thessalonians 1:11-2:2

Brothers and sisters: We always pray for you, that our God may make you worthy of his calling and powerfully bring to fulfillment every good purpose and every effort of faith, that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you, and you in him, in accord with the grace of our God and Lord Jesus Christ. We ask you, brothers and sisters, with regard to the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ and our assembling with him, not to be shaken out of your minds suddenly, or to be alarmed either by a “spirit,” or by an oral statement, or by a letter allegedly from us to the effect that the day of the Lord is at hand.

Luke 19:1-10

At that time, Jesus came to Jericho and intended to pass through the town. Now a man there named Zacchaeus, who was a chief tax collector and also a wealthy man, was seeking to see who Jesus was; but he could not see him because of the crowd, for he was short in stature. So he ran ahead and climbed a sycamore tree in order to see Jesus, who was about to pass that way. When he reached the place, Jesus looked up and said, “Zacchaeus, come down quickly, for today I must stay at your house.” And he came down quickly and received him with joy. When they all saw this, they began to grumble, saying, “He has gone to stay at the house of a sinner.” But Zacchaeus stood there and said to the Lord, “Behold, half of my possessions, Lord, I shall give to the poor, and if I have extorted anything from anyone I shall repay it four times over.” And Jesus said to him, “Today salvation has come to this house because this man too is a descendant of Abraham. For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save what was lost.”

“Today salvation has come to this house because this man too is a descendant of Abraham. For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save what was lost” (Luke 19:9-10). True to his words, which we heard in this Sunday’s gospel, Jesus sought out Zacchaeus, a chief tax collector and a wealthy man, and granted him and his household the gift of salvation.

Zaachaeus went looking for Jesus only to discover that Jesus was actually looking for him!

God is actively and constantly on the lookout for the sinners. This we learn as soon as we turn the first few pages of the Bible. Immediately after man’s fall into sin, God went looking for him. “Where are you?” was the first question that God asked man (cf. Genesis 3:9). After finding Adam and Eve, who had disobeyed His commandment not to eat the fruit of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, God immediately promised them salvation by revealing his saving plan for mankind in the Protoevangelium, i.e. the “first gospel” in Genesis 3:14-19.

God is indeed loving and merciful, always on the lookout for sinners and ready to forgive them. Today’s first reading echoes the same message: “But you have mercy on all, because you can do all things; and you overlook people’s sins that they may repent” (Wis 11:23).

In the Bible, God’s eagerness to save us sometimes almost appears overdone. In Isaiah, He is portrayed as a man who can’t wait to give away all kinds of freebies: “All you who are thirsty, come to the water! You who have no money, come, receive grain and eat; come, without paying and without cost, drink wine and milk!” (Is 55:1). Again in the Proverbs, He invites everyone to enjoy free food and drinks: “Come, eat of my food, and drink of the wine I have mixed!” (Proverbs 9:5).

If God wants to save us so bad, and His salvation is free and always there, waiting for us to receive whenever we want, then why are we worried about condemnation to hell? Everyone surely will be saved. Right? It seems so easy. But wait. Look what Zaachaeus had to do to receive Jesus’ free saving grace. He repented with sincerity and action. He did everything he could to make amends for his sins. Yes, God’s saving grace is free. But the recipient must have the urge to want to receive it. That urge, my friend, must come from a heart filled with repentance, which is what Jesus asked of us on embarking his public ministry of proclaiming the gospel of God: “The kingdom of God is at hand. Repent, and believe in the gospel” (Mk 1:15).

Is repentance, true and sincere, in your heart? If yes, congratulations! Today salvation has come to your house.

Posted: October 30, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

A Shoot from the Stump of Jesse and a Voice in the Desert
Two takeaways from this Sunday’s readings. Both are powerful prophecies of Isaiah. Continue Reading >
Stay awake, be prepared! Watch and be ready!
Eagerness and patience are the paradoxical qualities of this waiting. Continue Reading >
The Gift of the Wake-up Call
God allows us to grow old to wake us up and get us ready for death. We’re called to eternal life, but get distracted by the good life we have… Continue Reading >

悔改

常年期第三十一主日 諸聖節

智慧篇 11:22-12:2

上主,整個世界,在你跟前,有如天秤上的一粒沙塵,落在地面上的一滴朝露。但是,你憐憫眾生,因為你是無所不能的。你假裝看不見人的罪,是為叫罪人悔改。的確,你愛惜一切所有,不惱恨你所造的;如果你憎恨什麼,你必不會造它。如果你不願意,什麼東西能夠存在?如果你不吩咐,什麼東西能夠保全?愛護眾生的主宰!只有你愛惜萬物,因為萬物都是你的。你那不死不滅的氣息,在萬物之內;因此,你逐步懲罰墮落的人,要他們想起所犯的罪惡,藉以警告他們,離棄惡事,而相信你——上主。

得撒洛尼後書 1:11-2:2

弟兄姊妹們:我們常為你們祈禱,求我們的天主,使你們相稱於他的召叫;求他以德能,成全你們各種樂意向善的心,及信德的行為,好使我們的主耶穌基督的名字,在你們內受光榮,你們也在他內,賴我們的天主和主耶穌基督的恩寵,受光榮。弟兄們,關於我們的主耶穌基督的來臨,和我們聚集到他面前的事,我們請求你們,不要因著什麼神恩,或什麼言論,或什麼似乎出於我們的書信,好像說主的日子迫近了,就迅速失去理智,驚慌失措。

路加福音 19:1-10

那時候,耶穌進入耶里哥,正經過的時候,有一個人,名叫匝凱,他原是稅吏,是個富有的人。他想要看看耶穌是什麼人;但由於人多,不能看見,因為他身材短小。於是他往前奔跑,攀上了一棵野桑樹,要看看耶穌,因為耶穌就要從那裡經過。耶穌來到那地方,抬頭一看,對他說:「匝凱,你快下來!因為我今天必須住在你家中。」匝凱便趕快下來,喜悅地接待耶穌。眾人見了,都竊竊私議說:「耶穌竟然到有罪的人那裡投宿。」匝凱站起來對主說:「主,你看,我把我財物的一半施捨給窮人;我如果欺騙過誰,我就以四倍賠償。」耶穌對他說:「今天救恩臨到了這一家,因為他也是亞巴郎之子。因為人子來,是為尋找及拯救迷失了的人。」

「今天救恩到了這一家,因為他也是亞巴郎的子孫,因為人子來,是要尋找並拯救迷失了的人。」(路 19:9-10)耶穌言出必行,在這主日的福音讀經,我們聽到祂如何找尋一個總稅吏和富人匝凱,並賜給他一家救贖的恩典。

匝凱尋找耶穌但發現其實是耶穌在找尋他。

只要打開聖經的頭幾頁,我們便知道天主不斷積極地尋找罪人。人犯罪後,天主立刻找尋他。天主問人的第一個問題是:「你在那裡?」(創 3:9)當天主找到不服從祂的誡命,吃了知善惡樹果子的亞當和厄娃,天主立刻應許他們救恩,並在創世紀3:14-19 <原始福音> 裡展示祂救贖人類的計劃。

的確, 天主是愛, 慈悲為懷,無時無刻不在尋找罪人和準備隨時寬恕他們。今天的讀經一帶出同樣的訊息:「你憐憫眾生,因為你是無所不能的,假裝看不見人的罪惡,是要使罪人悔改。」(智慧篇11:23).

在聖經裡,天主如此渴望拯救我們,有時祂甚至好像做得太多了。依撒意亞書描述天主是一個白白給人各種好處的人: 「 啊!凡口渴的,請到水泉來!那沒有錢的,也請來罷!請來買不花錢,不索值酒和奶吃!」(依 55:1) 。而 <箴言> 亦記載了天主邀請每一個人享用免費飲食:「你們來,吃我的食糧,飲我配製的酒! (箴言 9:5)

如果天主如此着緊我們的得救,而祂的救恩常在,隨時等着我們,任何時候都可以白白得到,不費我們一分一毫,那為什麼我們會為下地獄而擔心?不是每一個人都會得救嗎?得救看起來很容易。不過,且慢。看看匝凱做了甚麼才得到耶穌白白賜與的救恩。匝凱用行動誠心悔改。他盡最大的努力,賠補自己的罪過。對,天主的救恩白白賜人。但接受救恩者一定要有接受的意欲。而這意欲,源於一顆痛悔的心,這也是耶穌在開始公開傳教,宣講福音時要求我們的「時期已滿,天主的國臨近了,你們悔改,信從福音罷!」(谷 1:15).

你真心誠意悔改嗎?你若真心誠意,恭喜你!今天救恩已到你家。

Posted: October 30, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

丙常年期第三十一主日:回應天主的慈悲 吳智勳神父

本星期福音讀經敘述了耶穌入耶路撒冷受難前的一段小插曲;事件發生於耶里哥城,是入耶京前最後一站。事件令我們看到耶穌面對苦難,仍將沉重的思緒擱下,與群眾接觸,並恩待了一位迷失了方向的人。

繼續閱讀 >