The Holy Spirit’s Knock-Out Punch!

Third Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 61:1-2A, 10-11

The spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me; he has sent me to bring glad tidings to the poor, to heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives and release to the prisoners, to announce a year of favor from the LORD and a day of vindication by our God. I rejoice heartily in the LORD, in my God is the joy of my soul; for he has clothed me with a robe of salvation and wrapped me in a mantle of justice, like a bridegroom adorned with a diadem, like a bride bedecked with her jewels. As the earth brings forth its plants, and a garden makes its growth spring up, so will the Lord GOD make justice and praise spring up before all the nations.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-24

Brothers and sisters: Rejoice always. Pray without ceasing. In all circumstances give thanks, for this is the will of God for you in Christ Jesus. Do not quench the Spirit. Do not despise prophetic utterances. Test everything; retain what is good. Refrain from every kind of evil. May the God of peace make you perfectly holy and may you entirely, spirit, soul, and body, be preserved blameless for the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. The one who calls you is faithful, and he will also accomplish it.

John 1:6-8, 19-28

A man named John was sent from God. He came for testimony, to testify to the light, so that all might believe through him. He was not the light, but came to testify to the light. And this is the testimony of John. When the Jews from Jerusalem sent priests and Levites to him to ask him, "Who are you?" He admitted and did not deny it, but admitted, "I am not the Christ." So they asked him, "What are you then? Are you Elijah?" And he said, "I am not." "Are you the Prophet?" He answered, "No." So they said to him, "Who are you, so we can give an answer to those who sent us? What do you have to say for yourself?" He said: "I am the voice of one crying out in the desert, 'make straight the way of the Lord,'" as Isaiah the prophet said." Some Pharisees were also sent. They asked him, "Why then do you baptize if you are not the Christ or Elijah or the Prophet?" John answered them, "I baptize with water; but there is one among you whom you do not recognize, the one who is coming after me, whose sandal strap I am not worthy to untie." This happened in Bethany across the Jordan, where John was baptizing.

Hidden in the corners of my mind are traces of memories left behind by a long spiritual journey that eventually led me to the totality of embracing the Cross of Christ. Like distinctive visions from an old-time movie, they would play out before my eyes in my prayers and meditations – a little scratched and blurry here and there, but the experiences are as vivid as yesterday. The carolers who sang joyfully as they walked past my parents’ eatery on Christmas day when I was a small child; my grade 10 classmate who bravely spoke up against our teacher’s disparagement of her Christian faith, and then broke down and cried; strumming my guitar casually as I sang Amazing Grace for the first time together with several camping friends under a starry sky – experiences such as these and many others that had brought me closer to Christ continue to support and re-energize me as I inch forward in a faith expedition that never ends.

As unforgettable and powerful as these experiences were, none of them could really deliver the “knock-out punch” that I really needed in order to humble my puffed-up ego and enable me to truly surrender to Christ. But when it finally came (thank God it did!) it was in the least expected manner – in the form of a prolonged period of scriptural enlightenment. Through magisterial teachings and theological studies, the Holy Spirit was able to demonstrate beyond a shadow of a doubt that all of the Scripture was about Christ and formed a coherent whole only when it was read through the lens of Christ. That was no ordinary proposition. It’s tantamount to claiming that Jesus is everywhere in the Scripture, from Genesis to Revelation, from the Old Testament to the New Testament! The notion totally knocked me off my feet because I had always thought that Jesus, being a first century historical figure, was nowhere to be found in the Old Testament.

This Sunday’s first reading from Isaiah 61 is a case in point. It provides a good illustration of the power of the pneumatic punch that eventually knocked me right out.

“The spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me” (Is 61:1) – Written more than 500 years before Jesus’ birth, this prophetic passage is already giving us many fine details about him (note 1). He is the Messiah – the Anointed One. He is to be anointed with the spirit of God and sent forth by the Father.

What’s the purpose of the sending forth? “Bring glad tidings to the poor”, “heal the brokenhearted”, set free the captives and prisoners, announce God’s favor and vindication (cf. ,61:1b-2a). In other words, Jesus is sent forth for all of us. In many ways, especially spiritually, every one of us is in extreme poverty. Like the “unclean” lepers in the Gospels, we are in dire need of healing and cleansing. Like Israel’s enslavement in Egypt, we are prisoners longing to be liberated. Beginning from Adam, the whole humanity has been fatally injured and unjustly persecuted by the power of Satan (cf. Lk 10:25-37; Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth I, pp. 199-200). But Jesus, the new Adam, has done us a huge favor. By the power of the Cross and his resurrection, we – humanity under persecution by Satan – have been vindicated. His saving grace is accessible to all of us. Anyone who is willing to embrace Christ and live in truth and righteousness is already victorious!

The Divine Author skillfully uses various images to present our Savior to us: He is clothed “with a robe of salvation”, “wrapped…in a mantle of justice”, “a bridegroom adorned with a diadem”, “a bride bedecked with her jewels” (Is 61:10). Small wonder that marriage is the main theme running through the pages of the Scripture. Our Savior comes to us as the Lover; he lovingly embraces us, the Beloved – the Church. He is a bridegroom adorned with a diadem. Compared this image to the fake bridegroom in Revelation who had “seven heads and ten horns, and on its heads were seven diadems” (Rev 12:3). More is not necessarily better (Rev 12:3)! If the last image of “a bride bedecked with her jewels” is a little baffling to some readers, just keep in mind that it’s referring to the Church – Jesus’ ”bride”. As the Body of Christ, the Church and Jesus are one.

Don’t know about you, but when I first understood – truly understood – the profound meanings of Old Testament passages such as what we’ve just read in this Sunday’s first reading, I was spiritually knocked unconscious, lying flat out and motionless on the canvas of the boxing ring! Like Jacob’s mysterious and bruising wrestle with God, I had battled Him for decades and He won with that knock-out punch (cf. Gen 32:25-30)! But that was not it. I had to take the same pneumatic punch over and over again in that prolonged process of scriptural enlightenment! “Love does no harm to the neighbor” (Rom 13:10). Surely, I wish to do my readers no harm. But for those of you who are studying the Scripture seriously, I hope the Holy Spirit would also punch your lights out the way He did it to me!

Note 1: It is generally believed that Isaiah 24-27, 56-66 were written by Trito-Isaiah in about 515 BC. Trito-Isaiah could be a disciple or several disciples of the author of Isaiah 40-55. The Prophet Isaiah himself wrote Isaiah 1-23, 28-39 sometime in the 8th C.

Posted: December 13, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Advent is not only a time of promises and anticipation, but also a homecoming.
Make straight our crooked ways; recognize the blindspots of our lives and fill our spiritual valley with compassion and kindness; level our mountain of pride and self-centeredness; and in the… Continue Reading >
Recognizing and Deflecting Desolation
Mark wrote in his journal that things are a mess. This past month for him has been dark, and he’s keeping his wife at a distance. He’s not praying as… Continue Reading >
A New Fixed Star Is coming – An Apocalypse message from Jesus
Happy New Year! Today, the first Sunday of Advent, is the beginning of a new liturgical year. What an extraordinary commencement we have with the readings for today. We are… Continue Reading >

聖神重拳出擊!

將臨期第三主日

依撒意亞先知書 61:1-2,10-11

吾主上主的神臨於我身上,因為上主給我傅了油,派遣我向貧苦的人傳報喜訊,治療破碎了的心靈,向俘虜宣告自由,釋放獄中的囚徒,宣布上主恩慈的喜年。我要萬分喜樂於上主,我的心靈要歡躍於我的天主,因為他給我穿上救恩的衣服,給我披上義德的外衣,使我有如頭戴花冠的新郎,有如佩帶珍珠的新娘。正如大地怎樣產生苗芽,田園怎樣使種子發芽,吾主上主也要怎樣在萬民前,產生正義和讚揚。

得撒洛尼前書 5:16-24

弟兄姊妹們:你們應常歡樂,不斷祈禱,事事感謝:這就是天主在基督耶穌內,對你們所有的旨意。不要消滅神恩,不要輕視先知之恩;但應當考驗一切:好的,應保持;各種壞的,要遠避。願賜平安的天主,親自完全聖化你們,使你們整個的神魂、靈魂和肉身,在我們的主耶穌基督來臨時,保持無瑕可指。那召叫你們的,是忠信的,他必實行。

若望福音 1:6-8,19-28

曾有一人,是由天主派遣來的,名叫若翰。這人來,是為作證,為給光作證,為使眾人藉他而信。他不是那光,只是為給那光作證。這是若翰所作的見證:當時,猶太人從耶路撒冷派遣了司祭和肋未人,到他那裡問他說:「你是誰?」,他明明承認,並沒有否認;他明認說:「我不是默西亞。」他們又問若翰說:「那麼你是誰?你是厄里亞嗎?」他說:「我不是。」他們又問:「你是那位先知嗎?」他回答說:「不是。」於是,他們問他說:「你究竟是誰?好叫我們答覆那派遣我們來的人。你自己說你是誰?」若翰說:「我是在曠野裡呼喊者的聲音:修直上主的道路!正如依撒意亞先知所說的。」被派遣來的有些是法利塞人;他們又問若翰說:「你既不是默西亞,又不是厄里亞,也不是那位先知,那麼,你為什麼施洗呢?」若翰答覆他們說:「我以水施洗,但有一位站在你們中間,是你們所不認識的;他在我以後來,我卻當不起解他的鞋帶。」這些事發生於約但河對岸的伯達尼,若翰施洗的地方。

在我心靈的角落裡,埋藏着一個漫長的靈修旅程所留下的絲絲記憶,這旅程終於把我帶到一個完全擁抱基督十字架的心境。有如一部舊電影裡的一些獨特情景,在我祈禱或默想時,這些畫面會重現眼前 — 可能畫面一些地方花了,也有些地方模糊不清,但這些經驗卻歷歷在目,就如發生在昨天。兒時,聖誕節那天,報佳音的人路過我父母的餐館,歡欣地歌唱; 十年級的女同學,勇敢地回應那位藐視她的基督信仰的老師,然後她忍不住,哭了起來;在一個星光閃爍的晚上,與幾位露營的朋友在一起,我隨意彈起結他,第一次唱《奇妙救恩》— 這些經驗,讓我與基督更親近,而祂亦繼續支持我,給我力量,在悠長的信仰旅途上,慢慢地向前邁進。

這些經驗,儘管難忘和強而有力,卻沒有給我一個我需要的「重拳出擊」好讓我謙卑,收起自我膨脹,完全降服於基督。但當這拳終於出擊時,(感謝天主,真的發生了!)卻是以一個最意想不到的方式 — 一段長時間的聖經啟迪。透過權威的教會訓導和神學課程,天主聖神毫無疑問地給我顯示了,其實整部聖經都是關於基督的,要以基督的眼光來閱讀聖經,才能領悟到聖經的連貫性和整體性。這說法可真不簡單。這相等於承認耶穌存在於聖經的每一個地方,從《創世紀》到《默示錄》,從舊約到新約!這觀念讓我一刻間有點站立不穩的感覺,它打破了我以往的想法,我一直以為在舊約中,耶穌這第一世紀的歷史人物是不存在的。

本主日取自《依撒意亞先知書》六十一章的讀經一,就證明了這一點。這篇讀經說明了這聖神重拳的力量,一擊把我打倒。

「吾主上主的神臨到我身上,因為上主給我傅了油」(依 61:1)— 這篇寫在耶穌出世之前五百年的先知預言,給了我們很多關於祂的細節 (註 一)祂是默西亞 — 被傅油的那一位。祂要被天主的神所傅,和受聖父派遣。

派遣的目的是什麼?「向貧苦的人傳報喜訊」,「治療破碎了的心靈」,釋放俘虜和獄中的囚徒,宣佈上主的恩慈和維護正義(參 61:1b-2a)。換句話說,耶穌被派遣是為我們所有人。在多方面,尤其在靈性上,我們每一個人都極度貧乏。像福音裏「不潔的」麻瘋病者,我們迫切地需要治療和潔淨。像以色列人在埃及為奴,我們是被囚禁的人,渴望得到釋放。從亞當開始,全人類都因為撒殫的魔力,遭受致命的傷害和不公平的逼迫 (見路10:25-37; 本篤十六, 納匝肋耶穌I, 199-200)。但耶穌— 新亞當 — 為我們帶來極大的恩典。藉着十字架和祂的復活,我們 — 那被魔鬼迫害的人類 — 獲得救贖。祂的救恩,所有人都可以得到。任何一個願意擁抱基督,並活出真理和正義的人已得勝!

神聖的作者巧妙地用不同的形象把救主介紹給我們:祂身穿「救恩的衣服」,「披上義德的外衣」,「頭戴花冠的新郎」,「佩帶珍珠的新娘」(依 一61:10)。難怪婚姻這主題環繞着整本聖經。我們的救主以愛人的身份來到我們跟前;祂充滿愛意地擁抱我們,祂的至愛 — 教會。祂是頭戴花冠的新郎。試將祂和《默示錄》裏面「有七個頭,十隻角,頭上戴著七個王冠」的假新郎相比,多並不一定好(默 12:3)!如果最後一個形象,「佩帶珍珠的新娘」令讀者困惑的話,只要記住,這是指聖教會 — 耶穌的「新娘」。作為基督的妙身,教會和耶穌是合而為一的。

不知道你的感受如何,但當我第一次明白 — 真正明白 — 舊約聖經,像我們剛剛讀到的本主日讀經一的深奧意義時,我在靈性上被擊倒了,不省人事,動也不動,躺在拳擊擂台的帆布上。就像雅各伯與天主那導致他傷痕纍纍的神秘角力,我和天主搏鬥了幾十年,祂就這樣重拳一擊,戰勝了我 (參 創 32:25-30)!但,事情並不這麽簡單。在我被聖經啟迪的漫長過程中,我還要不斷領受聖神一次又一次的重拳!「愛不加害於人」(羅 13:10)。當然,我並不想加害我的讀者。但若你是認真研讀聖經的話,我希望天主聖神也會重拳將你打得眼前一黑,就像打我一樣!

註 一:《依撒意亞先知書》 24-27, 56-66,相信大約在公元前 515 年 由 第三依撒意亞所寫。第三依撒意亞可能是《依撒意亞先知書》40-55 作者的其中一個或幾個門徒。依撒意亞先知本人大約在公元前八世紀寫成了《依撒意亞先知書》 1-23, 28-39。

Posted: December 13, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

乙年將臨期第三主日: 虛無的證人 吳智勳神父

今天的若望福音整篇都集中講述若翰洗者這個人物,但最奇妙的是,作者所說的一切,都指向一個還沒出現的人物 —─ 耶穌。這段聖經四次提到若翰的名字,四次提到他是為「作證」而來。

繼續閱讀 >
重新開始,走出自我 Fr. Justin Huang

1965年,辛大主教Archbishop Sheen引用著名精神病學者 Carl Jung 榮格的話說,看過他的人中,約有三分之一沒有「臨床上可定義的神經症clinically definable neurosis」,而是在他們的生活中遭受著「毫無意義和漫無目的的折磨!這是一場生存危機,是一種缺乏意義和人生目標的危機,是一種焦慮,是一種生存問題。這讓我想起了我們的文化,它在精神上是空虛的:我們不認真思考我們為什麼存在,生命的意義,以及死後會怎樣。現在我們的空虛加深了,因為我們更擔心自己的身體健康,也更孤立無援。

繼續閱讀 >
【神修話語】將臨期的第三主日 – 何庭耀神父

這個周末,教會慶祝將臨期的第三主日,有的教堂用玫瑰色的祭衣,以代表聖誕之喜悅,因為已經過了將臨期的前半。今天福 […]

在線聆聽 >