Begin Again: Go Out of Yourself

Third Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 61:1-2A, 10-11

The spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me; he has sent me to bring glad tidings to the poor, to heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives and release to the prisoners, to announce a year of favor from the LORD and a day of vindication by our God. I rejoice heartily in the LORD, in my God is the joy of my soul; for he has clothed me with a robe of salvation and wrapped me in a mantle of justice, like a bridegroom adorned with a diadem, like a bride bedecked with her jewels. As the earth brings forth its plants, and a garden makes its growth spring up, so will the Lord GOD make justice and praise spring up before all the nations.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-24

Brothers and sisters: Rejoice always. Pray without ceasing. In all circumstances give thanks, for this is the will of God for you in Christ Jesus. Do not quench the Spirit. Do not despise prophetic utterances. Test everything; retain what is good. Refrain from every kind of evil. May the God of peace make you perfectly holy and may you entirely, spirit, soul, and body, be preserved blameless for the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. The one who calls you is faithful, and he will also accomplish it.

John 1:6-8, 19-28

A man named John was sent from God. He came for testimony, to testify to the light, so that all might believe through him. He was not the light, but came to testify to the light. And this is the testimony of John. When the Jews from Jerusalem sent priests and Levites to him to ask him, "Who are you?" He admitted and did not deny it, but admitted, "I am not the Christ." So they asked him, "What are you then? Are you Elijah?" And he said, "I am not." "Are you the Prophet?" He answered, "No." So they said to him, "Who are you, so we can give an answer to those who sent us? What do you have to say for yourself?" He said: "I am the voice of one crying out in the desert, 'make straight the way of the Lord,'" as Isaiah the prophet said." Some Pharisees were also sent. They asked him, "Why then do you baptize if you are not the Christ or Elijah or the Prophet?" John answered them, "I baptize with water; but there is one among you whom you do not recognize, the one who is coming after me, whose sandal strap I am not worthy to untie." This happened in Bethany across the Jordan, where John was baptizing.

In 1965 Archbishop Sheen quoted Carl Jung, the famous psychiatrist, that about a third of people who saw him didn’t have a “clinically definable neurosis,” but were suffering from “senselessness and aimlessness” in their lives (https://jungiancenter.org/jung-neurosis-part-definitions-causes/)! It’s an existential crisis, a lack of meaning and purpose, an anxiety, and a problem of living. This reminds me of our culture, which is spiritually empty: We don’t seriously reflect on why we exist, the meaning of life, and what comes after death. Our emptiness has deepened now that we’re more anxious about our physical health and are more isolated.

【Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here】 https://youtu.be/Bm3Qh3hyGNI

Do you know what Sheen’s first solution to this is? It’s not prayer. He suggests that later on. First, people have to get out of themselves and help their neighbour (Archbishop Fulton Sheen, Your Life is Worth Living, 5-6).

Since I’ve been back, my initial thought was to build you all up spiritually before reminding you of our mission to go out and evangelize, but then praying over the Gospel, I realized that God wants us to go out now, and that that will be part of our beginning again. There’s healing when we think about the good of others and share Jesus with them. While we need to take care of ourselves, sometimes we become too focused on ourselves. Dr. Aaron Kheriaty, a psychiatry professor, mentions that “helping others in their needs… can help with a depressed mood” (Aaron Kheriaty, The Catholic Guide to Depression, 198). The gift God is offering us today is very simple: Let’s begin again by shifting the focus somewhat from ourselves to others. How do we make that switch? By realizing that Jesus wants to bless us and others in a special way this Advent and Christmas season, and we need to be more open.

Listen to the Gospel: “There was a man sent from God, whose name was John. He came as a witness to testify to the light, so that all might believe through him. He himself was not the light, but he came to testify to the light. The true light, which enlightens everyone, was coming into the world” (Jn 1:6-9). There are two ideas on which we want to focus in this passage:

1) We’re like St. John the Baptist: We’re actually ‘sent from God’ into other people’s lives. Think about it this way: Tomorrow, God is sending you and me to encounter the exact people He wants us to meet at a specific time, and our mission is to give them the person of Jesus and love them in the best way possible. The Gospel uses the words ‘witness’ and ‘testify,’ which are legal terms. We’re on trial, so to speak, in terms of our response to Jesus and in how we respond to other people: Do we love them, bring them Jesus (Daniel Mueggenborg, Come Follow Me, Year B, 11)?

2) ‘The true light, which enlightens everyone, was coming into the world.’ The light is Jesus. He reveals our true purpose of our lives. We get to point them to that light!

Here’s an example of how we do this. Last week, I introduced you to Venerable Bruno Lanteri and his teaching of Begin Again. In 1818, in one letter to a woman named Gabriella, a mother of six, who had already lost two of her sons, but now lost another, he wrote,

“When I learned from your mother-in-law that you had lost your little Enrico, I felt great sorrow for what you must be undergoing, because no sacrifice could be more painful for you… And so, because of this, you have every reason to feel his loss and weep for him.”

What does he do here? He’s being compassionate, sharing her suffering, validating her human sorrow. That’s what all people need: We need others to share our pain, and that’s what Jesus does with us! But later in the letter, Ven. Bruno takes her to a higher level, which she also needs:

“Because you love him so deeply… do not imagine that you have lost him… You have lost him only from sight, and not in reality. Consider that he is at your side like another angel, that he encourages you to dedicate yourself to the things of heaven… Remain in continual and loving conversation with Enrico. Speak to him about all that you experience in your own heart, all that happens in your family, and anything of importance for you… Be on guard against thinking that he
does not care about you” (https://www.omvusa.org/bruno-lanteri/writings/letter-grieving-mother/).

Ven. Bruno takes her to the spiritual level, which her soul needs, and shows her that Enrico is still alive and can pray for her, and that her relationship with him still exists. This letter must have meant so much to Gabriella that she kept it her whole life (Fr. Timothy Gallagher, Overcoming Spiritual Discouragement, 77-81).

When I was in Whistler for my 14-day quarantine after returning from South Dakota, a young man rang my doorbell and kindly asked me to consider donating to B.C. Children’s Hospital. Standing more than two meters apart, I declined because I told him that I like to give money to organizations that don’t get any government funding because they rely only on donations. The conversation kept on going and it turned out he was from Vancouver College, our local Catholic high school! I praised him for what he was doing, because taking a year off to volunteer is a noble endeavour. But I asked him to consider: hospitals truly do great work, but they can’t do the greatest good because they can’t take care of a person’s soul, which is a matter of eternity. And then I asked him about his faith, and it turned out that he had several theological ideas that weren’t quite right, such as everyone is going to heaven, that the essential point of Christianity is to be a nice person. Here’s my point: I acknowledged that what he was doing was good, because it was, but then I tried to take him to a higher level, which is what was ultimately good for him and was the best way I could love him. He actually thanked me because no one had made him think about these questions.

The first step in loving people is always praying for them: We bring them by name to God the Father and ask Him to bless them. God the Father expects us to ask for blessings because open hearts receive more gifts. But also, when we pray for people, our own hearts grow in love, right? Because we’re expressing concern for them, and that’s part of our own healing and beginning again. And then, when we meet them, our hearts are already expanded.

As we’ve done for the past two years, we’re going to write down the names of people we love and pray for their salvation, which is, in its most basic concept, coming back to God the Father, turning away from sin and following our older brother, Jesus.

I’d ask you to write down on your phones the names of people you know who are far from Jesus and need God’s help, and then, every day at 11:02 a.m. or p.m. pray for them (Remember, it’s 11:02 because Lk 11:2 is about learning to pray the Our Father). And then love them whenever you encounter them. And, if there’s an opportunity, invite them to Alpha on January 7, which is completely virtual, and in English and Chinese. Alpha is the best opportunity to begin again spiritually.

Think about five to ten people; they could be family, friends, neighbours, co-workers, or even people with whom we’ve lost touch. Ask the Holy Spirit to bring these people to mind, and think boldly about whom they may be.

Also, if you have one minute, please fill out our Google Form on our website, with the names of those you love, and then we’ll print them out here, place them under the altar, and we’ll remember these people daily at Mass and at adoration.

Can we see tomorrow as a new beginning, a chance to get outside ourselves? Jesus, the Light, is coming! And so we have our mission. Every day, at 11:02 a.m. or p.m. we pray for others, their eternal good, and love them.

Archbishop Sheen talked about a young man who had given up his faith in Jesus and was bitter with himself and everyone else, but a few years later, he regained his faith and morals. How? He went to a school in Mexico, away from home, and met some other young men who built a school for the poor and started taking care of them physically and spiritually. The young man did this for over a year and it healed him. So, Sheen says, “The first way to escape the anxiety of life is to find your neighbor” (Your Life Is Worth Living, 8). Let’s begin again by going out of ourselves.

Source: The JustMeasure : Begin Again: Go Out of Yourself (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/12/13/begin-again-go-out-of-yourself/)

Posted: December 13, 2020

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

To go through life's nadir at the foot of the mountain
Glimpses and tastes of glory that once exhilarated the disciples can also exhilarate us. Continue Reading >
Seeing Into the Future
Over the years, I’ve reminded you how God takes care of us in suffering, but today I’m challenging you to make it your own by doing a spiritual exercise. Continue Reading >
Lent is a Time of Grace
At the heart of Lent is an invitation to dig deeper: to reflect, review, and renew; it is, indeed, a springboard for radical transformation of our heart and mind. Continue Reading >

重新開始,走出自我

將臨期第三主日

依撒意亞先知書 61:1-2,10-11

吾主上主的神臨於我身上,因為上主給我傅了油,派遣我向貧苦的人傳報喜訊,治療破碎了的心靈,向俘虜宣告自由,釋放獄中的囚徒,宣布上主恩慈的喜年。我要萬分喜樂於上主,我的心靈要歡躍於我的天主,因為他給我穿上救恩的衣服,給我披上義德的外衣,使我有如頭戴花冠的新郎,有如佩帶珍珠的新娘。正如大地怎樣產生苗芽,田園怎樣使種子發芽,吾主上主也要怎樣在萬民前,產生正義和讚揚。

得撒洛尼前書 5:16-24

弟兄姊妹們:你們應常歡樂,不斷祈禱,事事感謝:這就是天主在基督耶穌內,對你們所有的旨意。不要消滅神恩,不要輕視先知之恩;但應當考驗一切:好的,應保持;各種壞的,要遠避。願賜平安的天主,親自完全聖化你們,使你們整個的神魂、靈魂和肉身,在我們的主耶穌基督來臨時,保持無瑕可指。那召叫你們的,是忠信的,他必實行。

若望福音 1:6-8,19-28

曾有一人,是由天主派遣來的,名叫若翰。這人來,是為作證,為給光作證,為使眾人藉他而信。他不是那光,只是為給那光作證。這是若翰所作的見證:當時,猶太人從耶路撒冷派遣了司祭和肋未人,到他那裡問他說:「你是誰?」,他明明承認,並沒有否認;他明認說:「我不是默西亞。」他們又問若翰說:「那麼你是誰?你是厄里亞嗎?」他說:「我不是。」他們又問:「你是那位先知嗎?」他回答說:「不是。」於是,他們問他說:「你究竟是誰?好叫我們答覆那派遣我們來的人。你自己說你是誰?」若翰說:「我是在曠野裡呼喊者的聲音:修直上主的道路!正如依撒意亞先知所說的。」被派遣來的有些是法利塞人;他們又問若翰說:「你既不是默西亞,又不是厄里亞,也不是那位先知,那麼,你為什麼施洗呢?」若翰答覆他們說:「我以水施洗,但有一位站在你們中間,是你們所不認識的;他在我以後來,我卻當不起解他的鞋帶。」這些事發生於約但河對岸的伯達尼,若翰施洗的地方。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿 (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/12/13/begin-again-go-out-of-yourself/) 為準。)

1965年,辛大主教Archbishop Sheen引用著名精神病學者 Carl Jung 榮格的話說,看過他的人中,約有三分之一沒有「臨床上可定義的神經症clinically definable neurosis」,而是在他們的生活中遭受著「毫無意義和漫無目的的折磨(https://jungiancenter.org/jung-neurosis-part-definitions-causes/)!這是一場生存危機,是一種缺乏意義和人生目標的危機,是一種焦慮,是一種生存問題。這讓我想起了我們的文化,它在精神上是空虛的:我們不認真思考我們為什麼存在,生命的意義,以及死後會怎樣。現在我們的空虛加深了,因為我們更擔心自己的身體健康,也更孤立無援。

【黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)】 https://youtu.be/Bm3Qh3hyGNI

你知道辛大主教的第一個解決方案是什麼嗎?不是祈禱。他建議以後再考慮。首先,人必須走出自我,幫助他人。 (Archbishop Fulton Sheen, Your Life is Worth Living, 5-6)

自從我避靜回來後,我最初的想法是再提醒你們我們的使命並在走出去傳福音之前,先在靈性上準備好,但後來從福音及祈禱中,我意識到天主想讓我們現在就出去福傳。這將是我們重新開始的一部分。當我們為他人著想,與他們分享耶穌時,就得到治療。雖然我們需要照顧好自己,但有時會過於專注自我。精神病學教授亞倫•凱里亞蒂博士Dr. Aaron Kheriaty提到,「在他人需要的時候幫助他們」(Help Other in the Need…)。可以幫助緩解抑鬱情緒(Aaron Kheriaty, The Catholic Guide to Depression, 198).

天主今天給我們的禮物很簡單:讓我們重新開始,把焦點從自身轉移到別人身上。我們怎樣才能實現這個轉變呢?認識到耶穌希望在這個基督降臨節和聖誕節以一種特殊的方式祝福我們和其他人,我們需要更加開放。

請聽福音:「曾有一人,是由天主派遣來的,名叫若翰。這人來,是為作證,為給光作證,為使眾人藉他而信。他不是那光,袛是為給那光作證。那普照每人的真光,正在進入這世界;」(若1:6-9)。在這個福音中,有兩個觀點是我們想要重點關注的:

1) 我們就像洗者約翰:我們實際上是「天主派遣來的,進入別人的生活。想一想:明天,天主派你和我去見祂想讓我們在特定時間遇見的人,我們的使命是給他們介紹耶穌的,並以最好的方式去愛他們。福音使用了「見證人」和“作證”這兩個法律術語。可以說,我們正在經受考驗,無論是我們對耶穌的反應,還是我們對其他人的反應:我們愛他們嗎,把耶穌帶給他們? (Daniel Mueggenborg, Come Follow Me, Year B, 11)

2)“真正的光明,照亮了每個人,即將來到這個世界。”這光就是耶穌。他揭示了我們生活的真正目的,把它們引向那盞光明。

我們如何能做到這一點呢? 下面是一個例子。上週,我向你們介紹了可敬的布魯諾•蘭特里(Bruno Lanteri) 和他關於重新開始的教義。 1818年,他寫信給一位名叫加布里埃拉(Gabriella)的婦女, 她是一位六個孩子的母親,她已經失去了兩個兒子,但現在又失去了另一個兒子。信中寫道;

「當我從你婆婆那裡得知你失去了你的小恩里科Enrico時,我對你所經歷的一切感到非常難過,因為對你來說,沒有什麼犧牲比這更痛苦了,…,正因為如此,你完全有理由感受到他的損失,為他哭泣。」

可敬的布魯諾•蘭特里在做什麼?他很有同情心,分擔了她的痛苦,肯定了她人性的悲痛。這是所有人都需要的:我們需要別人來分擔我們的痛苦,這也是耶穌對我們所做的!但在信的後面,布魯諾Bruno把她帶到了一個更高的境界,這也是她需要的:「因為你太愛他了,…。不要覺得你已經失去了他,…。你只是在肉眼上看不見他,而不正真失去了他。考慮到他就像另一位天使一樣在你身邊,他鼓勵你把自己奉獻給天上的事…。與恩里科持續保持充滿愛意的交談,和他談談你內心的經歷,在家裡發生的一切,以及任何對你來說重要的事情,…。當心不要以為他不關心你」(https://www.omvusa.org/bruno-lanteri/writings/ letter-grieving-mother/).。

可敬的布魯諾將她帶到了靈性的層面,並向她展示了恩里科還活著,可以為她祈禱,她和恩里克的關係仍然存在。這封信對加布里埃拉來說一定意義重大,以至她一生都保存著它(Fr。蒂莫西•加拉格爾(Timothy Gallagher),克服精神上的沮喪,77-81)。

從南達科他州South Dakota回來後,當我在威士拿進行14天的隔離期間,有一個年輕人按了我的門鈴,希望我考慮給BC省兒童醫院(B.C.Children‘s Hospital) 捐獻。站在相隔兩米多的地方,我謝絕了,因為我告訴他,我喜歡給那些沒有得到任何政府資助的組織捐款,因為它們只能依賴捐款。談話中,得知原來他來自溫哥華學院,一所我們當地的天主教高中!我讚揚了他,因為了這項崇高的工作請了一年假,做志願者。但我請他想一想:醫院確實能做偉大的工作,但它們還是不能做到最大的好事,因為它們不能照顧一個人的靈魂,這是一個永恆的問題。然後我問他關於他的信仰的問題,結果發現他有幾個神學觀點是不太正確的,比如:每個人都會上天堂,基督教的本質就是做一個好人。我想說的是:我同意他所做的工作是好的,因為它確實是好的,但後來我試圖把他帶到一個更高的層面,這最終對他是好的,也是我愛他的最好方式。他真的很感謝我,因為沒有人讓他思考過這些問題。

愛人的第一步總是為他們祈禱:我們把他們的名字帶到聖父面前,祈求祂賜福給他們。聖父期待我們祈求祝福,因為敞開心扉會得到更多的恩賜。但同時,當我們為人祈禱時,我們自己的心也會在愛中成長,對嗎?因為我們表達了對他們的擔憂,這是我們自己療傷的一部分,也是我們重新開始的一部分。然後,當我們遇到他們時,我們的心又開闊了。

就像我們過去兩年所做的那樣,我們將寫下我們愛的人的名字,為他們的得救祈禱,從最基本的概念來看,就是回到聖父那裡,遠離罪惡,跟隨我們的兄長耶穌。

我邀請你們在手機上寫下你們認識的人的名字,這些人離耶穌很遠,需要上天主的幫助,然後,每天上午或晚上11點02分。為他們禱告(記住11:02,因為路加福音11章:2講的是,學習「天主經」)。然後在你遇到他們的時候去愛他們。如果有機會,邀請他們在1月7日參加Alpha,這完全是線上的,用英文和中文進行的。啟發課程Alpha是從靈性上重新開始的最好機會。

寫下5到10個人,他們可能是家人、朋友、鄰居、同事,甚至是我們久違的人。求聖神將把他們放在心上,大膽想一想他們可能是誰。

另外,如果你有一分鐘的時間,請在我們的網站上填寫我們的谷歌表格,上面寫著你所愛的人的名字,然後我們會把它們打印出來,放在祭台下,我們會每天在彌撒和朝拜聖體時想起他們。

我們能把明天看作一個新的開始,一個走出自我的機會嗎?耶穌,光明,要來了!所以我們有我們的使命。每天上午或晚上11點02分。我們為他人祈禱,為他們永生祈禱,愛他們。

辛大主教談到一個年輕人放棄了對耶穌的信仰,對自己和他人都心懷怨恨,但幾年後,他又找回了自己的信仰和道德觀。是怎麼樣的?。他去了墨西哥的一所學校,遠離家鄉,遇到了其他一些年輕人,他們為窮人建造了一所學校,並開始在身體和靈性上照顧他們。就這樣做了一年多,這個年輕人的病痊癒了。因此,辛大主教說,「逃離生活焦慮的第一個方法就是找到你的鄰人」(Your Life is Worth Living,8)。讓我們重新開始,走出自我吧。

Posted: December 13, 2020

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

聖神重拳出擊! Edmond Lo

為認真研究聖經的人們,我希望聖神亦會重拳出擊,使你眼前一黑,像祂擊倒我一樣!

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 將臨期第三主日: 虛無的證人 吳智勳神父

今天的若望福音整篇都集中講述若翰洗者這個人物,但最奇妙的是,作者所說的一切,都指向一個還沒出現的人物 —─ 耶穌。這段聖經四次提到若翰的名字,四次提到他是為「作證」而來。

繼續閱讀 >
【神修話語】將臨期的第三主日 – 何庭耀神父

這個周末,教會慶祝將臨期的第三主日,有的教堂用玫瑰色的祭衣,以代表聖誕之喜悅,因為已經過了將臨期的前半。今天福 […]

在線聆聽 >