The Shepherd and the King

The Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe

Ezekiel 34:11-12, 15-17

Thus says the Lord GOD: I myself will look after and tend my sheep. As a shepherd tends his flock when he finds himself among his scattered sheep, so will I tend my sheep. I will rescue them from every place where they were scattered when it was cloudy and dark. I myself will pasture my sheep; I myself will give them rest, says the Lord GOD. The lost I will seek out, the strayed I will bring back, the injured I will bind up, the sick I will heal, but the sleek and the strong I will destroy, shepherding them rightly. As for you, my sheep, says the Lord GOD, I will judge between one sheep and another, between rams and goats.

1 Corinthians 15:20-26, 28

Brothers and sisters: Christ has been raised from the dead, the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep. For since death came through man, the resurrection of the dead came also through man. For just as in Adam all die, so too in Christ shall all be brought to life, but each one in proper order: Christ the firstfruits; then, at his coming, those who belong to Christ; then comes the end, when he hands over the kingdom to his God and Father, when he has destroyed every sovereignty and every authority and power. For he must reign until he has put all his enemies under his feet. The last enemy to be destroyed is death. When everything is subjected to him, then the Son himself will also be subjected to the one who subjected everything to him, so that God may be all in all.

Matthew 25:31-46

Jesus said to his disciples: "When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit upon his glorious throne, and all the nations will be assembled before him. And he will separate them one from another, as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will place the sheep on his right and the goats on his left. Then the king will say to those on his right, 'Come, you who are blessed by my Father. Inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, a stranger and you welcomed me, naked and you clothed me, ill and you cared for me, in prison and you visited me.' Then the righteous will answer him and say, 'Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? When did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? When did we see you ill or in prison, and visit you?' And the king will say to them in reply, 'Amen, I say to you, whatever you did for one of the least brothers of mine, you did for me.' Then he will say to those on his left, 'Depart from me, you accursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, a stranger and you gave me no welcome, naked and you gave me no clothing, ill and in prison, and you did not care for me.' Then they will answer and say, 'Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or ill or in prison, and not minister to your needs?' He will answer them, 'Amen, I say to you, what you did not do for one of these least ones, you did not do for me.' And these will go off to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life."

The theme of shepherd permeates the whole Bible. It also appears in this Sunday’s readings as the Church celebrates the feast of Christ the King to bring this liturgical year to a close. Why is the shepherd theme important? What are the underlying messages? Why uses it to celebrate Christ the King?

Shepherd is a popular biblical theme partly because the ancient Hebrews were a pastoral, seminomadic people. In Genesis, Abraham and Lot, his kinsman, had many flocks and herds. Eventually they had to go their separate ways in order to avoid internal conflicts (cf. Gen 13:5-9). Jacob spent many years tending his father-in-law’s flock in exchange for his consent to marry Rachel (Gen 29:15ff). Moses also was a shepherd in Midian before leading Israel out of Egypt (Ex 3:1).

More significantly, the Bible uses the shepherd theme to reveal a very important message in God’s divine plan: The false shepherds of this world have led His people astray; God, the Good Shepherd who cares deeply about His sheep, will come among us to shepherd His people personally. This loving and trusting relationship between God and His people is beautifully portrayed in this Sunday’s psalm reading, which is traditionally attributed to David who was incidentally both a shepherd and a king:

The LORD is my shepherd; there is nothing I lack. In green pastures you let me graze; to safe waters you lead me; you restore my strength. You guide me along the right path for the sake of your name (Psalm 23:1-3).

In Old Testament time, God entrusted His people, Israel, to the care of the shepherds He appointed, i.e. the leaders of Israel, particularly the political and religious leaders in Jerusalem. Unfortunately, they failed terribly in discharging their sacred duties. Thus, God chastised them through prophet Ezekiel: “Woe to the shepherds of Israel who have been pasturing themselves!… You have fed off their milk, worn their wool, and slaughtered the fatlings, but the sheep you have not pastured” (Ez 34:2-3). He promises in the 1st reading, “I myself will look after and tend my sheep” (Ez 34:11).

Ever faithful and true to His word, God does return in the person of the incarnate Christ. In Jesus, God is indeed pasturing His sheep Himself. In New Testament time, “God’s sheep” can be understood as a reference to the New Israel – the Church instituted by Christ. He continues to shepherd us through the Church clergy.

On this Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe, it’s fitting that we use the theme of the Good Shepherd to celebrate Jesus’ kingship. Like a good shepherd, the King knows his people and cares for them (cf. John 10:13-14). However, he is no ordinary king. Like David, his Old Testament type (i.e. a biblical character that mysteriously prefigures and anticipates Christ), he is a Shepherd-King. He “lays down his life for the sheep” (John 10:11).

As the Good Shepherd, Jesus epitomizes every attribute of a good king, not only does Christ the King protect his sheep, to the point of shedding his blood for them, he also shepherds them “with an iron rod” (Ps 2:9, Rev 12:5). In other words, he disciplines his sheep and holds them accountable for what they do. “The lost I will seek out, the strayed I will bring back, the injured I will bind up, the sick I will heal (but the sleek and the strong I will destroy), shepherding them rightly” (Ez 34:16). The Shepherd-King’s work is not finished just because of his Ascension to the Father. His shepherding work will conclude with the Last Judgement, in which “he will separate [his flock] one from another, as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats” (Mt 25:32). When was the last time you fed the hungry, gave drink to the thirsty, welcomed a stranger, clothed the naked, cared for the ill, and visited those in prison (cf. Mt. 25: 35-36)? Let’s prepare ourselves well to meet the Shepherd-King while we can!

Posted: November 22, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

How do we prepare for Advent in this unprecedented time?
In the beginning of the Advent season, we are waiting, watching, expecting, and preparing ourselves for the coming of a Savior. With the entire globe weathering COVID-19, the highly infectious… Continue Reading >
The Shepherd and the King
Jesus is no ordinary king. Like David, his Old Testament type, he is a Shepherd-King. Continue Reading >
Is the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer?
In God's kingdom of eternal joy, there is no shortage of resources nor discrimination of treatment. Continue Reading >

牧羊人與君王

我們的主、耶穌基督、普世君王(節日)

厄則克耳先知書 34:11-12,15-17

吾主上主這樣說:看,我要親自去尋找我的羊,我要親自照顧我的羊。如同牧人在羊群失散的那日,怎樣尋找他的羊,我也怎樣尋找我的羊;我要把那些曾在陰雲和黑暗之日,四散在各地的羊,從那些地方救回來。 我要親自牧放我的羊,親自使他們臥下——吾主上主的斷語——失落的,我要尋找;迷路的,我要領回;受傷的,我要包紮;病弱的,我要療養;肥胖和強壯的,我要看守;我要按正義牧放他們。 我的羊群啊!關於你們,吾主上主這樣說:看,我要在羊與羊,綿羊與山羊之間,施行審判。

格林多前書 15:20-26,28

基督確實從死者中復活了,做了死者的初果。因為,死亡既因一人而來,死者的復活,也因一人而來;就如在亞當內,眾人都死了,照樣,在基督內,眾人都要復活;不過,各人要依照自己的次第:首先是作為初果的基督,然後,是在基督再來時,屬於基督的人,再後,才是結局;那時,基督將消滅一切率領者、一切掌權者和大能者,把自己的王權,交於天主父。 因為,基督必須為王,直到把一切仇敵,屈伏於他的腳下。最後被毀滅的仇敵,便是死亡。萬物都屈伏於子以後,子自己也要屈伏於那使萬物屈服於自己的父,好叫天主成為萬物之中的萬有。

瑪竇福音 25:31-46

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「當人子在自己的光榮中,與眾天使一同降來時,那時,他要坐在光榮的寶座上;一切民族,都要聚在他面前。他要把他們彼此分開,如同牧人分開綿羊和山羊一樣:把綿羊放在自己的右邊,山羊在左邊。 「那時,君王要對那些在他右邊的說:我父所祝福的,你們來吧!承受自創世以來,給你們預備了的國度吧!因為我餓了,你們給了我吃的;我渴了,你們給了我喝的;我作客,你們收留了我;我赤身露體,你們給了我穿的;我患病,你們看顧了我;我在監裡,你們來探望過我。 「那時,義人回答君王說:主啊!我們什麼時候見過你飢餓,而供養了你,或口渴,而給了你喝的?我們什麼時候見了你作客,而收留了你,或赤身露體,而給了你穿的?我們什麼時候見你患病,或在監裡,而來探望過你? 「君王便回答他們說:我實在告訴你們:凡你們對我這些最小兄弟中的一個所做的,就是對我做的。 「然後,君王又對那些在左邊的說:可咒罵的,離開我,到那給魔鬼和他的使者預備的永火裡去吧!因為我餓了,你們沒有給我吃的;我渴了,你們沒有給我喝的;我作客,你們沒有收留我;我赤身露體,你們沒有給我穿的;我患病或在監裡,你們沒有來探望我。 「那時,他們也要回答說:主啊!我們幾時見了你飢餓,或口渴,或作客,或赤身露體,或有病,或坐監,而我們沒有給你效勞? 「那時,君王回答他們說:我實在告訴你們:凡你們沒有給這些最小兄弟中的一個做的,就是沒有給我做。 「這些人要進入永罰,而那些義人,卻要進入永生。」

牧羊人的主題遍佈整部聖經。本主日, 教會以慶祝基督君王節來結束禮儀年, 而讀經也以此為這主題。為什麼牧羊人這主題如此重要?深層的訊息是甚麽?為甚麽要用它來慶祝基督君王節?

牧羊人是聖經裏一個常用的主題, 其中一個原因是古希伯來人是一個畜牧的半遊牧民族。在 《創世紀》, 亞巴郎和他的族人 — 羅特 — 擁有很多牛群羊群。為了避免內部衝突, 他們最終分道揚鑣 (參照 創 13:5-9)。雅各伯為了換取岳丈同意他娶辣黑耳為妻, 他為岳丈看守羊群多年 (創 29:15 及後)。在領以色列人出離埃及之前, 梅瑟也在米德楊作牧羊人 (出 3:1)。

更重要的是, 聖經用牧羊人的主題來啓示天主計劃中一個非常重要的訊息:世上的假牧者帶領祂的子民誤入歧途;但認真闗顧羊群的善牧 — 天主 — 會臨於我們中間, 親自牧養祂的子民。本主日的 《聖詠》, 描寫天主和祂的子民之間, 充滿愛與信任的關係時, 特別美麗絕倫, 傳統上將作者看作是既是牧羊人又是君王的達味:
上主是我的牧者,我實在一無所缺。他使我臥在青綠的草場,又領我走近幽靜的水旁,還使我的心靈得到舒暢。他為了自己名號的原由,領我踏上了正義的坦途。(詠 23:1-3)

在舊約時代, 天主委託祂所任命的牧人 — 以色列的領袖們 — 特別是耶路撒冷的政治和宗教領袖,去照顧祂的子民, 以色列。不幸的是, 在履行其神聖的職責上, 他們徹底失敗。因此, 天主用厄則克耳先知來斥責他們:「禍哉以色列的牧者!你們只知牧養自己 … 你們吃羊奶,穿羊毛衣,宰肥羊,卻不牧養羊群」(則 34:2-3)。在讀經一, 天主許諾說:「看,我要親自去尋找我的羊,我要親自照顧我的羊」(則 34:11)。

永遠忠信於祂自己的話的天主, 確實在降生成人的基督身上回來。在耶穌內, 天主的確親自牧養祂的羊。在新約時代, 「天主的羊」可被理解為指向新以色列 — 基督建立的教會。藉著教會的神職人員,祂繼續牧放我們。

在主耶穌基督普世君王節, 我們採用善牧這個主題來慶祝耶穌的王權最合適不過。猶如一個善牧, 君王認識並照顧他的子民 (参照 若 10:13-14)。然而, 祂不是一個普通的君王。猶如舊約中祂的典型預象 — 達味 (意思是:聖經裏的一個人物, 奧祕地預示了就要來臨的基督), 祂是牧人君王。祂「為羊捨掉自己的性命」(若 10:11)。

作為一個善牧, 耶穌集所有好國王的特質於一身, 基督君王不單保護祂的羊, 甚至為牠們流血捨身, 祂也用「鐵杖」來牧放牠們 (詠 2:9, 默 12:5)。換句話說, 祂管教羊並要求牠們為自己的行為負責。「失落的,我要尋找;迷路的,我要領回;受傷的,我要包紮;病弱的,我要療養;(但肥胖和強壯的,我要看守[筆者:或譯作「催毀」);我要按正義牧放他們」(則 34:16)。牧人君王的工作並未因祂升天,回到父那裏而完結。祂牧放的工作要待最後審判時才會結束, 那時「他要把他們 (祂的羊群) 彼此分開,如同牧人分開綿羊和山羊一樣」(瑪 25:32)。你上一次給飢餓的人食物、口渴的人水、招待陌生人、給赤身的人衣服、看顧患病的、探望在監獄的人是甚麼時候呢? (參照 瑪 25:35-36) 當我們還可以這樣做時, 讓我們好好準備自己,與牧人君王會面!

Posted: November 22, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期基督普世君王節:愛的考驗 吳智勳神父

禮儀年以耶穌將臨開始,以基督君王結束,象徵基督是元始,亦是終結。 作為君王必須有國土、有國民,才算是真真正正的君王。不少中國人認為孔子未王而王,但因為他既無國土,又無國民,故只能稱他為素王。今日的讀經告訴我們,基督是怎樣的君王,其王國是怎樣的,其國民又是怎樣的。

繼續閱讀 >