Is Christ the King in our Family?

The Solemnity Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe

Daniel 7:13 - 14

As the visions during the night continued, I saw one like a Son of man coming, on the clouds of heaven; when he reached the Ancient One and was presented before him, the one like a Son of man received dominion, glory, and kingship; all peoples, nations, and languages serve him. His dominion is an everlasting dominion that shall not be taken away, his kingship shall not be destroyed.

Revelation 1:5 - 8

Jesus Christ is the faithful witness, the firstborn of the dead and ruler of the kings of the earth. To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood, who has made us into a kingdom, priests for his God and Father, to him be glory and power forever and ever. Amen. Behold, he is coming amid the clouds, and every eye will see him, even those who pierced him. All the peoples of the earth will lament him. Yes. Amen. "I am the Alpha and the Omega, " says the Lord God, "the one who is and who was and who is to come, the almighty."

John 18:33B - 37

Pilate said to Jesus, "Are you the King of the Jews?" Jesus answered, "Do you say this on your own or have others told you about me?" Pilate answered, "I am not a Jew, am I? Your own nation and the chief priests handed you over to me. What have you done?" Jesus answered, "My kingdom does not belong to this world. If my kingdom did belong to this world, my attendants would be fighting to keep me from being handed over to the Jews. But as it is, my kingdom is not here." So Pilate said to him, "Then you are a king?" Jesus answered, "You say I am a king. For this I was born and for this I came into the world, to testify to the truth. Everyone who belongs to the truth listens to my voice."

The liturgical year ends with the Feast of Christ The King, which is our feast for this Sunday. “Christ The King” is named by the Church with central importance to our faith, in which Jesus is recognized as the Lord and King of the totality of our life. The Feast emphasizes that we should belong utterly to Him, and thus, we may agree with St. Paul, “and yet I am alive; yet it is no longer I, but Christ living in me” (Galatians 2:20).

Christ is our everything! Indeed, if we say anything other or less than that, we are horsing around with Christianity, and not really living out the faith. If we only pay lip service to Je-sus but do not submit completely to Him, we are fooling around with Christianity, and not taking it seriously! If we only pay attention to Christ for a few minutes every Sunday, only treating Him as a frivolous symbol, and pretend He is just one religious figure among many, or just another intriguing philosopher, then we are not honoring Christ as our King. Let us recall the image from C.S. Lewis, in which many of us would receive Christ in a “hall” of our house, a nicely decorated waiting place, but not into every room where we actually live our life (Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis). If we sequester Him only in some minor corners of our families, and not declaring Him in every aspect of our family life, we are not treating Him as King.

So, what does it mean by saying Jesus is the King of our family life? I would suggest two concrete examples. First, it means that we must treat every one of our family as an end, and never simply as a mean to achieve our personal desires. Unfortunately, when we look at families around, we see a lot of tension and difficulties arise precisely because of this, namely, parents are using children and vice versa, and brothers and sisters are using each other, as means to an end. We may hear “Look, I got something I want to accomplish, and I will use a family member as a means to that.” Think of parents who attempt to live their dreams and aspirations through their children; think of brothers and sisters who manipu-late each other even into adulthood. To make Christ the King in our family life means eve-ryone in our family is an end, but never simply a means. It means that they are the subject of infinite respect and dignity.

Secondly, everybody in the family are not looking towards him or herself, not even to oth-ers in the family, but are together looking to God, where everyone in the family is a little community of worship, journeying together towards God, and falling in love with God. There comes a point where couples’ love attains to a height of freedom and becomes the basis of autonomy (Amoris Laetitia 320). It happens when each spouse realizes that the other is not his or her own, but has a much more important master, the One Lord. Together we are adoring the One Lord, and together we are worshiping Him. Only in this way, our family and our relationship becomes like a temple. It becomes powerful, enduring, and strong. When the Lord is our King in the family, it becomes a school of virtue, and a building block of our wider society.

Jesus Lord is our King! When this fact sinks in, our families, society, and everything in our life, will change. Please remember: If Jesus is not lord of all, He is not lord at all.

Posted: November 25, 2018

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

“Do you think that I have come to bring peace on earth?” (Lk 12:51)
When we grow weary of the challenges we face in this world, we must look to Jesus who has looked beyond the Cross to the crown of glory that God… Continue Reading >
Faith Is Trusting That God Will Keep His Promises
We don’t know how and we don’t know when, but Jesus will return as he promised. When he does, we’d better be ready! Continue Reading >
For what do you live?
It is natural that we human beings have desires. A person without any desire soon loses one's purpose to live. Continue Reading >

耶穌是我們家中的君王嗎 ?

by Ben Cheng
2018-11-25
我們的主、耶穌基督、普世君王

達尼爾先知書 7:13-14


默示錄 1:5-8


若望福音 18:33-37


教會的禮儀年隨著本主日是基督普世君王節而結束。教會以「基督君王」為我們信仰的重心,承認耶穌為我們生命中的上主和君王。君王節強調我們必須完全屬於祂,所以,我們會同意聖保祿宗徒所說:「我生活已不是我生活,而是基督在我內生活」(迦 2:20)。

基督是我們的一切!真的,如果說基督不是我們的一切或少於一切的話,我們是與基督信仰鬧著玩,而不是活出信仰。如果我們只在嘴上說耶穌,而不完全臣服於祂,我們也是鬧著玩,對基督信仰並不認真。如果我們只是每星期日理會基督幾分鐘,輕率地把祂當作一位象徵人物,更假設祂是眾多宗教人物其中之一,或只是另一位發人深省的哲學家,那麼,我們也沒有尊崇基督為我們的君王。讓我們反思一下著名作家 C.S. Lewis 所描述的情況:很多人把基督迎進玄關,一個細心佈置的門廊,而不是把祂請到每一個我們生活起居的房間裡面 (Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis 著)。如果我們把祂隔離在家中冷清的一角,而沒有在家庭生活的每一方面都明認祂是君王,我們的主人,那麼,我們其實並沒有把祂當作君王。

那麼,說耶穌是我們家庭生活的君王是什麼意思呢?我想提供兩個具體例子。第一,我們要以家中每一個人為本,而不只是以他們作為手段去達到自己個人的期望。但是,環顧四周,我們卻很不幸看到很多家庭的矛盾和困難正因這原因而起:家長利用孩子,或孩子利用家長,又或者兄弟姊妹為求目的,互相利用。我們可能聽人說:「我我要達成事情,卻不介意利用家人去成就這事。」就如有些父母透過子女去實現自己未能完成的夢想與抱負;就如兄弟姊妹由小甚至長大成人後,都互相操縱計算。 我們應該知道,在家庭生活中以基督為王,意思是家人本身就是應得到無限尊重和尊嚴的對象,而不是用以實現目標的手段。

第二,家中各人都不只顧自己,甚至不是只顧家人,而是一起仰賴天主,家中各人成為欽崇天主的小群體,一起走向天主,一起愛天主。夫婦之愛達至高度自由的地步,成為自主的基礎 (教宗勸諭 《愛的喜樂》 論家庭之愛 320)。這就是當夫婦雙方都領略到他們不是彼此的主人,而是有一位更重要的主人:那唯一的主。我們一起愛慕天主,一起崇拜祂。只有這樣,我們的家庭和互相的關係才成為像聖殿一樣。變得有力,持久而又堅強。若上主是我們家的君王,家便成為美德的學堂,建設社會的基石。

主耶穌是我們的君王!只要能領悟這事實,並融會貫通,我們的家庭、社會以及生命中的一切,都會改變。請謹記:如果耶穌不是眾人的主,祂便不算是主了。

過往的同一聖言反思

其他文章

相關資訊