“They had argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).

Twenty-fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 2:12 , 17 - 20

The wicked say: Let us beset the just one, because he is obnoxious to us; he sets himself against our doings, reproaches us for transgressions of the law and charges us with violations of our training. Let us see whether his words be true; let us find out what will happen to him. For if the just one be the son of God, God will defend him and deliver him from the hand of his foes. With revilement and torture let us put the just one to the test that we may have proof of his gentleness and try his patience. Let us condemn him to a shameful death; for according to his own words, God will take care of him.

James 3:16 - 4:3

Beloved: Where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there is disorder and every foul practice. But the wisdom from above is first of all pure, then peaceable, gentle, compliant, full of mercy and good fruits, without inconstancy or insincerity. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace for those who cultivate peace. Where do the wars and where do the conflicts among you come from? Is it not from your passions that make war within your members? You covet but do not possess. You kill and envy but you cannot obtain; you fight and wage war. You do not possess because you do not ask. You ask but do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions.

Mark 9:30-37

Jesus and his disciples left from there and began a journey through Galilee, but he did not wish anyone to know about it. He was teaching his disciples and telling them, “The Son of Man is to be handed over to men and they will kill him, and three days after his death the Son of Man will rise.” But they did not understand the saying, and they were afraid to question him. They came to Capernaum and, once inside the house, he began to ask them, “What were you arguing about on the way?” But they remained silent. They had been discussing among themselves on the way who was the greatest. Then he sat down, called the Twelve, and said to them, “If anyone wishes to be first, he shall be the last of all and the servant of all.” Taking a child, he placed it in the their midst, and putting his arms around it, he said to them, “Whoever receives one child such as this in my name, receives me; and whoever receives me, receives not me but the One who sent me.”

In the workplace, have we ever wondered about our position in the team? Am I the best or one of the best in the team? From the worldly perspective, this is understandable; having put in time and effort, heart and mind into our work, we may inevitably and rightfully so, think about the return we can aspire to, some recognition, a raise, a promotion, and so forth.

Therefore it seems quite natural for the apostles, who at that time, have not received the Holy Spirit, to think about their discipleship in a human way. On their way through Galilee, Jesus was teaching his disciples and foretells his Death and Resurrection a second time. The prophecy could be frightening and confusing to the disciples, who “did not understand what he was saying” (Mk 9:32, Ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P 82). They argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).

When they were in Capernaum and in the house with Jesus, he called the twelve apostles and explained to them what true greatness is about, “Whoever wants to be the first must be last of all and servant of all” (9:35). In the eyes of God, greatness is measured by humility and service to others. As future leaders of the Church, the apostles must shun worldly honour and attention, in order that they can serve Christ more faithfully and effectively. Jesus himself puts this principle into practice, he said, “the Son of Man did not come to be served but to serve”(10:45). (Ref. Ibid).

Today, if we find ourselves living among contentions and seeing increasing intensive conflicts and disputes in the world, St. James’ in the second reading offers us an insight into the root cause, “Where there is envy and selfish ambition, there will also be disorder and wickedness of every kind” (Jas 3:16). Humanity too easily yields to the inclinations of their fallen nature. Wars among men are an expression of the spiritual war within themselves. It is their unending drive for power and possessions that spreads envy and violence throughout the world. St. James advises us to aspire to true wisdom from above that is “first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without a trace of partiality or hypocrisy” (3:17). Such wisdom will transform our heart and mind, and bring forth a pure and peaceable life, “A harvest of righteousness is sown in peace for those who make peace” (3:19, Ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P. 442).

If the Son of Man does not come to be served but to serve, as followers of Christ, shouldn’t we strive to do the same and live a pure and peaceable life?

Posted: September 19, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

The Joy of Knowing How to Read the Bible
This Sunday’s readings give us a good glimpse into Typology - an amazing biblical interpretation technique that enables us to see the unity of the Old and New Testaments. Continue Reading >
This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >

他們「彼此爭論誰最大」 (谷 9:34)。

常年期第二十五主日

智慧篇 2:12, 17-21

惡人胡思亂想,說:「我們要陷害義人,因為他太令我們討厭,反對我們的作為,指責我們違犯法律,控訴我們行為不檢。我們要看看他的話,是否屬實,看他究竟有什麼結局。「因為,如果義人是天主的兒子,天主一定會幫助他,拯救他脫離敵人的手。來吧!我們用恥辱和酷刑試驗他,查看他是否溫良,考驗他是否忍耐。我們判他受可恥的死刑,看他是否蒙受眷顧,如同他所說的一樣。」惡人這樣思想,真是荒謬,因為邪惡使他們喪失了理智。——上主的話。

雅各伯書 3:16-4:3

親愛的:那裡有嫉妒和紛爭,那裡就有擾亂,及種種惡行。至於從上而來的智慧,它首先是純潔的,其次是和平的、寬仁的、柔順的、充滿仁慈,及善果豐碩的、不偏不倚的、沒有偽善的。為締造和平的人,正義的果實,是在和平中種植的。你們中間的戰爭,是從那裡來的?爭端是從那裡來的?豈不是從你們的肢體,因私慾的爭鬥而來的嗎?你們貪戀,如果得不到,於是,便要兇殺;你們嫉妒,如果不能獲得,於是,就要爭鬥,起來交戰。你們得不到,是因為你們不求;你們求而不得,是因為你們求的不當,只想滿足自己的淫樂。——上主的話。

馬爾谷福音 9:30-37

那時候,耶穌和門徒經過加里肋亞。耶穌不願叫人知道,因為他那時正教訓他的門徒。耶穌給他的門徒說:「人子將要被交在人手中,為人所殺;被殺以後,過了三天,他必要復活。」門徒卻不明白這番話,又害怕詢問他。他們來到葛法翁,進入屋裡,耶穌問他的門徒說:「你們在路上爭論些什麼?」他們都默不出聲,因為他們在路上,彼此爭論誰最大。耶穌坐下,叫那十二人過來,給他們說:「誰如果想做最大的,就得做眾人中最小的,並要做眾人的僕役。」耶穌於是拉一個小孩子過來,放在門徒中間,又抱起他來,給門徒說:「誰因我的名字,收留一個這樣的小孩子,就是收留我;誰收留我,並不是收留我,而是收留那派遣我來的。」——基督的福音。

在職場,我們是否會思量自己在團隊的位置?自己是否是最優秀的,或是其中最優秀的一員呢?這個想法雖然世俗,但亦無可厚非;在工作上投入時間精神,盡心盡力,我們難免 — 而這也是理所當然的 — 會想及自己希望得到的回報,一些認同、加薪、升職等等。
所以,宗徒們用人的角度去思考自己作為耶穌追隨者的身分,看來也是人之常情 ,那時候,聖神還沒有降臨到他們身上。在前往加里肋亞的路上,耶穌教導們徒,並且第二次預言自己的死亡及復活。這預言可能令門徒既恐懼又困惑,因為他們「不明白這些話」(谷 9:32,參 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament 82頁)。他們彼此爭論誰最大 (谷 9:34)。
到了葛法翁,在屋裡與十二宗徒在一起時,耶穌叫他們過來,向他們解釋什麼才是真正的偉大,「誰若想做第一個。他就得做眾人中最末的一個,並要做眾人的僕役」(谷 9:35)。在天主眼中,偉大是以謙遜和服務來衡量的。宗徒們作為教會的未來領袖,便要棄絶麈世的榮譽和眾人的景仰,才能更忠信誠實地、更有效地為耶穌服務。耶穌自己更身體力行,祂說:「人子不是來受服事,而是來服事人」的 (10:45) 。(參 同上)。
今天,如果我們發現爭論環繞着自己的生活,和眼見世界上的衝突和抗爭越來越激烈的話,聖雅各伯在《讀經二》便讓我們洞察和領悟到爭拗的根本原因,「那裡有嫉妒和紛爭,那裡就有擾亂,及種種惡行 」(雅 3:16)。人類太容易屈服於人性的軟弱和墮落的傾向。人與人之間的戰爭,表示了他們自己的靈性也在交戰中。是人對權力和物質的無止境慾望,把妒忌和暴力散佈,並在世上蔓延。聖雅各伯勸導我們,要找尋那從上而來的真正智慧,「它首先是純潔的、其次是和平的、寬仁的、柔順的、充滿仁慈、及善果豐碩的、不偏不倚的、沒有偽善的」(3:17)。這智慧會轉化我們的心靈,為我們帶來純潔與和平的生活,「為締造和平的人,正義的果實,是在和平中種植的」 (3:18, 參 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P. 442)。
如果人子,不是來受服事,而是來服事人,那麼,作為基督的追隨者,我們不是應該努力效法祂,在乃役於人中,渡純潔而和平的人生嗎?

Posted: September 19, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

向天主坦誠我們的嫉妒 Fr. Justin Huang

在過去一年的某個時候,我真的很羨慕甚至眼紅理查德神父(Fr. Richard Conlin)。我記不清具體原因了,可能是因為有人們離開聖安東尼堂去了Corpus Christi堂,要也可能是因為他在YouTube上的點擊量比我多。一瞬間,我漸漸意識到:我沒有安全感;他比我做得好,他比我小15歲,他並不是那麼好嘛(開玩笑)!

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第廿五主日:耶穌 – 偉大的教育家 吳智勳神父

研究馬爾谷福音,便會發現這本福音雖然較短,但描述耶穌教育門徒則是最出色的。… 這是耶穌第二次預言被出賣及被殺害,「門徒不明白這些話,又不敢問祂」。本來這是教學常見的現象,學生在課室裡不敢問老師,寧願下課後問同學或問補習老師。不過,門徒不敢問可能另有意思。

繼續閱讀 >