Honesty With God About Our Envy

Twenty-fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 2:12 , 17 - 20

The wicked say: Let us beset the just one, because he is obnoxious to us; he sets himself against our doings, reproaches us for transgressions of the law and charges us with violations of our training. Let us see whether his words be true; let us find out what will happen to him. For if the just one be the son of God, God will defend him and deliver him from the hand of his foes. With revilement and torture let us put the just one to the test that we may have proof of his gentleness and try his patience. Let us condemn him to a shameful death; for according to his own words, God will take care of him.

James 3:16 - 4:3

Beloved: Where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there is disorder and every foul practice. But the wisdom from above is first of all pure, then peaceable, gentle, compliant, full of mercy and good fruits, without inconstancy or insincerity. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace for those who cultivate peace. Where do the wars and where do the conflicts among you come from? Is it not from your passions that make war within your members? You covet but do not possess. You kill and envy but you cannot obtain; you fight and wage war. You do not possess because you do not ask. You ask but do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions.

Mark 9:30-37

Jesus and his disciples left from there and began a journey through Galilee, but he did not wish anyone to know about it. He was teaching his disciples and telling them, “The Son of Man is to be handed over to men and they will kill him, and three days after his death the Son of Man will rise.” But they did not understand the saying, and they were afraid to question him. They came to Capernaum and, once inside the house, he began to ask them, “What were you arguing about on the way?” But they remained silent. They had been discussing among themselves on the way who was the greatest. Then he sat down, called the Twelve, and said to them, “If anyone wishes to be first, he shall be the last of all and the servant of all.” Taking a child, he placed it in the their midst, and putting his arms around it, he said to them, “Whoever receives one child such as this in my name, receives me; and whoever receives me, receives not me but the One who sent me.”

Sometime in the past year, I actually felt envious of Fr. Richard Conlin.  I can’t remember exactly why, but it was either because people were leaving St. Anthony’s to go to his parish, Corpus Christi, or because he was getting more YouTube views.  In one moment, it dawned on me: I’m insecure; he’s doing better than I am, he’s 15 years my junior, and he’s not even that good!  Anyway, it wasn’t a big deal, but I bring it up because everyone can be tempted to envy, and, just as I’m being vulnerable right now (because it’s petty for an older priest to be envious of a younger one), I hope you can be, too, in your heart.

What kinds of blessings in other people’s lives make you sad?  About whom do you gossip?  Is it with someone in your family, a friend, co-worker?  Do you resent any category of people: professionals, performers, company executives, married people, singles, children, retirees?

Envy strikes us in areas that are important to us.  I don’t care if people make more money than I, because it’s not important to me.  But apparently I do care about YouTube views!  If beauty is really important to you, then you’re probably sad concerning people who are attractive.  If you’re lonely, you may feel envious when it comes to other people’s relationships.

The Letter of St. James today teaches that envy stems from ourselves: “Where there is envy and selfish ambition, there will also be disorder and wickedness of every kind…  Those conflicts and disputes among you, where do they come from?  Do they not come from your cravings that are at war within you?” (Jas 3:16; 4:).

He connects envy with ‘selfish ambition’ and our ‘cravings.’  We want something, but don’t have it.  Therefore, because others do, we can’t be happy for them.  Consequently, we act differently around them, and then there’s disorder in our relationships.

Andy Stanley, the famous evangelical leader, says this verse also exposes our pettiness: We want something but don’t get it.  “If you have children then you’re very familiar with what James is talking about.  When you hear your children arguing, you know instinctively that the real issue isn’t the toy, the DVD, or who gets to sit in which seat; the real issue is that two people want their way, and one’s not getting it” (Enemies of the Heart, 162-3).

Whenever his three children are arguing, he actually draws on this Scripture passage, and, instead of trying to figure who’s at fault, he first has them all repeat: “Do you know what the problem is?  I’m not getting what I want.”  He says, “My kids hate it.  But something very interesting happens: The energy level and volume immediately drop by about half” (165).

St. James then writes, “You do not have, because you do not ask” (Jas 4:2).  Here’s the centre of the message today: Bring your desires to God the Father.  When we’re envious, we’re focusing on other people.  But St. James is telling us to focus on God the Father, to talk to Him about what we want.  He’s our Father, and will listen to us.  “If it’s important to you, then it’s important to God” (167).  He wants what’s best for us.  “Keep bringing it to him until you find… peace… and [can] face the day confident in the knowledge that he cares for you” (167-168).

But God may still not give us what we want.  St. James says, “You ask and do not receive, because you ask wrongly, in order to spend what you get on your pleasures” (Jas 4:2-3).  We sometimes ‘ask wrongly,’ in the sense that we ask for things that aren’t necessary, that we be taller, fix that part of our body that we don’t like, or get a raise.  Getting a better car, or more likes on social media may even ruin our soul and character.  These things are for our own ‘pleasure.’  And He could give them to us, but has chosen not to, for His own reasons.

Think about this: “Our disappointment with not getting what we want… pales in significance next to the fact that we’ve been given what we most needed.  In the shadow of the cross, it’s clear: God doesn’t owe us anything.  We owe him everything.  Including an apology.”  God the Father gave us the one thing necessary, the thing for which most people don’t ask, but which we need the most, and that’s the salvation offered us by Jesus.

If we start to appreciate that we’ve been offered eternal love and eternal life because we are loved by our Father, then that’ll tame our envy.  But, if we don’t appreciate this, that’s a sign that we’re still thinking and asking wrongly.

This is the wisdom about which St. James talks: “Wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits” (Jas 3:17).  Pure wisdom focuses on God, sees everything from His perspective, and talks to Him—this is the first thing we need to do.

The second thing we need to do is celebrate others’ gifts.  Wisdom is also ‘willing to yield,’ and this has to do with other people!

“You’ve got to celebrate the success… of those you’ve tended to envy.  You need to go out of your way to verbally express your congratulations over their accomplishments” (176).  Andy Stanley celebrates one of his best friends, another preacher, of whom he’s tempted to be envious, and says, “I’m his biggest fan!”  And, whenever another boy pitches better in baseball than Andy’s sons, he goes out of his way to find that boy’s parents and congratulate them!  This helps conquer our emotions of envy.

So, tell your sister that she looks good in that dress, that your brother-in-law has a great car, that your co-worker did well in that presentation, that your friend has the house of your dreams!

If this seems impossible for you, that might be a sign of a big wound.  You need to take this back to God the Father.  There might be a pain in your heart that He wants to heal.  Dr. Bob Schuchts, on this point, asks us to consider if we have a deep sense of unworthiness.  Are we beset by shame? (Be Healed, 96).

An easier step than celebrating might be for you to confess envy and, without going into too much detail, just name the nature of your envy, for example, “I don’t want my sister to have what I don’t have.”

If you can’t find it in yourself to do it for God, then do it for yourself, otherwise you’ll always be sad and resentful.  God wants you to be peaceful, joyful, and free of envy.

These two actions are what I did with Fr. Richard.  I talked to God about his YouTube success, and, after I vomited, I told Fr. Richard that I celebrated what God’s doing through him.

I’ve always wanted younger priests to be better than I am, and now, having been tested, I really mean it, and I’m happy they will be.  Instead of focusing on me, I’m focused on God the Father and others.

Posted: September 19, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

The Joy of Knowing How to Read the Bible
This Sunday’s readings give us a good glimpse into Typology - an amazing biblical interpretation technique that enables us to see the unity of the Old and New Testaments. Continue Reading >
This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >

向天主坦誠我們的嫉妒

常年期第二十五主日

智慧篇 2:12, 17-21

惡人胡思亂想,說:「我們要陷害義人,因為他太令我們討厭,反對我們的作為,指責我們違犯法律,控訴我們行為不檢。我們要看看他的話,是否屬實,看他究竟有什麼結局。「因為,如果義人是天主的兒子,天主一定會幫助他,拯救他脫離敵人的手。來吧!我們用恥辱和酷刑試驗他,查看他是否溫良,考驗他是否忍耐。我們判他受可恥的死刑,看他是否蒙受眷顧,如同他所說的一樣。」惡人這樣思想,真是荒謬,因為邪惡使他們喪失了理智。——上主的話。

雅各伯書 3:16-4:3

親愛的:那裡有嫉妒和紛爭,那裡就有擾亂,及種種惡行。至於從上而來的智慧,它首先是純潔的,其次是和平的、寬仁的、柔順的、充滿仁慈,及善果豐碩的、不偏不倚的、沒有偽善的。為締造和平的人,正義的果實,是在和平中種植的。你們中間的戰爭,是從那裡來的?爭端是從那裡來的?豈不是從你們的肢體,因私慾的爭鬥而來的嗎?你們貪戀,如果得不到,於是,便要兇殺;你們嫉妒,如果不能獲得,於是,就要爭鬥,起來交戰。你們得不到,是因為你們不求;你們求而不得,是因為你們求的不當,只想滿足自己的淫樂。——上主的話。

馬爾谷福音 9:30-37

那時候,耶穌和門徒經過加里肋亞。耶穌不願叫人知道,因為他那時正教訓他的門徒。耶穌給他的門徒說:「人子將要被交在人手中,為人所殺;被殺以後,過了三天,他必要復活。」門徒卻不明白這番話,又害怕詢問他。他們來到葛法翁,進入屋裡,耶穌問他的門徒說:「你們在路上爭論些什麼?」他們都默不出聲,因為他們在路上,彼此爭論誰最大。耶穌坐下,叫那十二人過來,給他們說:「誰如果想做最大的,就得做眾人中最小的,並要做眾人的僕役。」耶穌於是拉一個小孩子過來,放在門徒中間,又抱起他來,給門徒說:「誰因我的名字,收留一個這樣的小孩子,就是收留我;誰收留我,並不是收留我,而是收留那派遣我來的。」——基督的福音。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
在過去一年的某個時候,我真的很羨慕甚至眼紅理查德神父(Fr. Richard Conlin)。我記不清具體原因了,可能是因為有人們離開聖安東尼堂去了Corpus Christi堂,要也可能是因為他在YouTube上的點擊量比我多。一瞬間,我漸漸意識到:我沒有安全感;他比我做得好,他比我小15歲,他並不是那麼好嘛(開玩笑)!
不管怎麼說,這沒什麼大不了的,但我提起這件事是因為每個人都容易嫉妒,而且,就像我現在一樣,很脆弱(因為年長的神父嫉妒年輕的神父是很小氣的),我想你心裡也會這樣。別人的生活中的得到的哪些祝福讓你難過?你在說誰的閒話?是和你的家人、朋友、同事嗎?你憎恨哪一類人:專業人士、表演者、公司高管、已婚人士、單身人士、孩子、退休人員?
在對我們重要的領域,嫉妒會衝擊我們。我不在乎人們賺的錢比我多,因為這對我來說並不重要。但顯然我確實在乎YouTube的點擊量!如果美貌對你來說真的很重要,那麼你可能會因為有吸引力的人而感到難受。如果你感到孤獨,當涉及到別人的人際關係時,你可能會感到嫉妒。
今天的「雅各伯書」告訴我們,嫉妒源於我們自己:「因為那裡有嫉妒和紛爭,那裡就有擾亂和種種惡行。(…)。你們中間的戰爭是從那裡來的?爭端是從那裡來的?豈不是從你們肢體中戰鬥的私慾來的嗎??」(雅3:16;4:1)。
他將嫉妒與「私」和我們的「欲」聯繫在一起。我們想要一些東西,但沒有得到。因為別人有了,我們就不可能為他們高興。這意味著我們在他們身邊的行為會有所不同,然後我們之間的人際關係就失調了。
著名的福音派領袖安迪·斯坦利(Andy Stanley)說,這一節也暴露了我們的小氣:我們想要一些東西,但沒有得到。 「如果你有孩子,那麼你對雅各伯所說的話非常熟悉。當你聽到你的孩子爭吵時,你會本能地知道,真正的問題不是玩具、DVD,也不是誰可以坐在哪個座位上;真正的問題是,兩個人都想要得到什麼,而其中一個沒能得到。」(Enemies of the Heart, 162-3)
每當他的三個孩子爭吵時,他真的會引用這段聖經,而不是試圖找出誰對誰錯,他首先讓他們所有人都重複:「你知道問題出在哪裡嗎?我得不到我想要的。」。他說,「我的孩子們討厭這個。但是非常有趣的事情發生了:爭吵的力度和音量立即下降一半。」(165)
聖雅各伯隨後寫道:「你們得不到,是因為你們不求;」(雅4:2)。這裡是今天信息的中心:把你的願望交給天父。當我們嫉妒的時候,我們會把注意力放在別人身上。但是聖雅各伯告訴我們要專注於天父,告訴祂我們想要什麼。祂是我們的天父,他會聽我們的。 「如果你要的對你很重要,那麼對天主也很一樣重要」(167)。他想要給我們的是對我們最好的。 「一直告訴祂,直到你找到…。平和…。並且[可以]自信地面對這一天,因為祂知道祂關心你。」(167-168)
但天主仍然可能會不給我們想要的東西。聖雅各伯說:「你們求而不得,是因為你們求的不當,想要浪費在你們的淫樂中。」(雅4:2-3)。我們有時會「錯誤地要求」,比如我們要求一些不必要的東西,要求我們長得更高,改變我們不喜歡的身體部位,或者加薪。得到一輛更好的車,或者在社交媒體上獲得更多贊,甚至可能會毀了我們的靈魂和性格也在所不惜。這些東西都是為了我們自己的「淫樂」。
祂是可以把它給我們的,但祂選擇了不給,是出由於他祂自己的原因。
但想想看:「我們對得不到我們想要的感到失望,…。與我們得到了我們最需要的東西相比,它的重要性就相形見絀了。在十字架的陰影下,很清楚:天主不欠我們任何東西。我們欠他太多了,包括道歉。」。聖父給了我們一件必要的事,一件大多數人不會要求,但我們最需要的事,那就是耶穌給我們的救恩。
如果我們開始意識到,天主給了我們永恆的愛和永生,是因為我們被天父所愛著,那麼我們的嫉妒就會被馴服。但是,如果我們小看這一點,這跡象就表明了:我們仍然在錯誤地思考和請求。
這就是聖雅各伯所說的智慧:「至於從上而來的智慧,它首先是純潔的,其次是和平的,寬仁的,柔順的,滿有仁慈和善果的,不偏不倚的,沒有偽善的。」(雅3章17節)。純潔的的智慧專注於天主,從祂的角度看待一切,並與祂交談—這是我們需要做的第一件事。我們需要做的第二件事是為別人得到的恩賜而慶祝。智慧也是「甘心屈服」,與他人有關!
「你要為那些令你心生嫉妒的人慶祝他們的成功…。你需要不遺餘力地口頭祝賀他們的成就」(176)。安迪·斯坦利慶祝他最好的朋友之一,是另一位傳教士,一個令他心生嫉妒的傳教士,但他說:「我是他最大的『粉絲』」! 」而且,每當另一個男孩的棒球投球比安迪的兒子們更出色時,他就會不遺餘力地找到那個男孩的父母,並向他們表示祝賀!這有助於克服我們的嫉妒情緒。
所以,告訴你的妹妹,她穿著那條裙子很好看,你姐夫有一輛很棒的車,你的同事在那次演講中做得很好,你的朋友擁有你夢寐以求的房子!
如果這些對你來說是不可能做到的話,那可能是你有了一個大傷口的跡象。你需要把這個交給聖父。你的心裡可能有祂想要治癒的傷痛。鮑勃·舒茨博士在這一點上要求我們考慮一下,我們是否有一種深刻的不配感。我們是否被羞恥所困擾? (Be Healed, 96)
比慶祝更簡單的一步可能是你承認嫉妒,而且不需要太多細節,只要說出你嫉妒的性質就行了,比如,「我不想讓我妹妹擁有我沒有的東西。」
如果你自己不能為天主做這件事,那就為自己做吧,否則你永遠都會感到悲傷和怨恨。天主希望你平和、快樂、沒有嫉妒。
這兩個動作就是我對理查德神父(Fr. Richard)所做的。我和天主談論了他在YouTube上的成功,在我傾吐了這一切之後,我告訴了理查德神父。我慶祝天主通過他所做的一切。
我一直希望年輕的神父比我做得更好,現在,經過考驗,我是認真的,我很高興他們會做得更好。我關注的不是我自己,而是聖父和其他人。

Posted: September 19, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

他們「彼此爭論誰最大」 (谷 9:34)。 Shiu Lan

「誰若想做第一個。他就得做眾人中最末的一個,並要做眾人的僕役」(谷 9:35)。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第廿五主日:耶穌 – 偉大的教育家 吳智勳神父

研究馬爾谷福音,便會發現這本福音雖然較短,但描述耶穌教育門徒則是最出色的。… 這是耶穌第二次預言被出賣及被殺害,「門徒不明白這些話,又不敢問祂」。本來這是教學常見的現象,學生在課室裡不敢問老師,寧願下課後問同學或問補習老師。不過,門徒不敢問可能另有意思。

繼續閱讀 >