This Is My Body … This Is My Blood


This week we are celebrating the great feast of the Solemnity of Corpus Christi that originated in France in the mid thirteenth century and was extended to the whole Church by Pope Urban IV in 1264. While the three readings teach us the meaning of the Eucharist and its centrality in our life, this day gives us pause and urges us to give thanks to God for His greatest and most profound gift for humanity – His only Son, Jesus Christ, who became one of us even though He is without sin, journeyed with us, and even sacrificed His own life in exchange for ours. At the heart of this great feast is the Sacrament of the Eucharist which is Christ’s ultimate gift to us. The bread He gives is His own body and the wine he offers is His own blood. On this day of the Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ, let us reflect on two core messages: communion and bearing witness. When we receive the Communion, that is Christ’s flesh and blood, we “unite ourselves to Christ, who makes us sharers in His Body and Blood to form a single body” – the Church (CCC 1331). Equally significant, when we “eat this bread and drink the cup, [we] proclaim the death of the Lord until He comes” (1 Cor 11:26). In other words, everytime we receive the Eucharist, we are bearing witness to the greatest love of all.

All three readings chosen for this important day point to the meaning and importance of the Eucharist. In the first reading of Genesis, Melchizedek, “being a priest of God Most High”, “brought bread and wine” before blessing Abram. Melchizedek’s grand gesture prefigures the Church’s offering of bread and wine during the Eucharistic celebration, whereby, “in the Offertory we give thanks to the Creator for bread and wine, fruit of the ‘work of human hands,’ but above all as ‘fruit of the earth’ and ‘of the vine’ – gifts of the Creator” (CCC 1333). In the second reading, St Paul insists on “handing” the gift of the Eucharist to the Corinthians as it is what he has “received from the Lord”. Faithful to Jesus’s command of “do this in remembrance of me”, the Church “continues to do, in his memory and until his glorious return, what he did on the eve of his Passion: ‘He took bread …’, ‘He took the cup …’, the signs of bread and wine become, in a way surpassing understanding, the Body and Blood of Christ; they continue also to signify the goodness of creation”. (1Cor 11:24, CCC 1333). Finally, in the gospel reading, Jesus performs a great miracle of feeding five thousand men with only five loaves and two fish. This; however, is but a shadow of the true miracle of Jesus Himself becoming nourishment for our body, mind, and soul! Just like Melchezedek’s offering, Jesus’ action of taking the loaves and fish, “saying a blessing over them” and giving them away to nourish the hungry “prefigures the super-abundance of this unique bread of his Eucharist” (CCC 1335).

What a privilege for us to be members of Christ’s Mystical Body who are nourished by the Lord Himself! As members of the Body of Christ, indeed, we are sharers in Christ’s Body and Blood as well as witnesses to God’s unconditional love. Being in communion with each other and Christ does not only imply membership, and unity or harmony within a faith community, but a conviction; a complete openness and acceptance; a self-giving out of genuine love; an unbreakable bond to Christ. Not only has Christ taught us what love is and how to love one another, He has also shown us true love by laying down His own life in exchange for all of humanity’s. So, what does it mean for each of us to be in communion with Christ? Perhaps consider the multitude of creative ways in which we can share Christ’s love with those who are in need? Or, when it seems impossible to forgive or reconcile , pray for love and ask Jesus how He manages to forgive even as He’s dying on the cross, “Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing” (Lk 23:34). Most importantly, we continue to pray for the grace of humility and courage so that we may let go of our own ego and place our trust in our Heavenly Father, do what’s necessary to fulfill God’s will, and be Christ for one another. By the same token, whenever we receive the Eucharist, we are, indeed, proclaiming “Christ is Lord!”. Such is a powerful witness for Christ as we tell the world that Jesus is the Son of God who not only died for us but continues to nourish us with His Body and Blood through the Sacrament of the Eucharist. In short, when we genuinely love one another, we are exercising our rights and privileges as members of the Body of Christ.

St. Thomas Aquinas has beautifully and succinctly summed up the meaning of the Eucharist:
My dearly beloved, is it not beyond human power to express the ineffable delicacy of this sacrament in which spiritual sweetness is tasted in its very source, in which is brought to mind the remembrance of that all-excelling charity which Christ showed in His sacred passion? Surely it was to impress more profoundly upon the hearts of the faithful the immensity of this charity that our loving Savior instituted this sacrament at the last supper when, having celebrated the Pasch with His disciples. He was about to leave the world and return to the Father. It was to serve as an unending remembrance of His passion, as the fulfillment of ancient types — this the greatest of His miracles. To those who sorrow over His departure He has given a unique solace.
(quoted from “Corpus Christi Sunday”,
https://www.catholicculture.org/culture/liturgicalyear/calendar/day.cfm?date=2017-06-18)

Let us go forth, not only on this day of the great feast of Corpus Christi, but everyday, ⋯“give thanks to the Lord, call on his name; make known his deed among the nations; proclaim that his name is exalted” (Is 12:4)!

Posted:

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Laborers
Are we ready to accept the Lord’s invitation to exercise the lay apostolate and our common priesthood to become God’s “laborers” in our own different ways, each according to the… Continue Reading >
“Run so as to win”
Where does this “resoluteness” of Jesus come from? Continue Reading >
This Is My Body … This Is My Blood
When we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we unite ourselves to Christ and bear witness to the greatest love of all. Continue Reading >

這是我的身體 ⋯ 我的血


本星期我們慶祝基督聖體聖血節,這重要的節日在十三世紀中葉時,起源於法國,而在 1264 年,教宗烏爾巴諾四世將節日伸延至整個教會。三篇讀經教導我們聖體聖事的意義以及它是我們生命的中心。今天,教會讓我們停下來,敦促我們感謝天主,因祂賜給全人類最偉大和最奧秘的禮物 — 祂唯一的聖子耶穌基督 — 降生成人,雖然祂沒有罪,祂亦與我們同行,甚至犧牲自己的性命,以換取我們的生命。這重要節日的中心,就是聖體聖事 — 耶穌厚賜給我們的禮物。 祂給的食糧是祂自己的身體,祂奉獻的酒是祂自己的血。在今天基督聖體聖血節,讓我們反思兩個中心信息:共融和作證。當我們領聖體時,聖體是耶穌的血和肉,「我們與基督結合。基督使我們分享祂的體血,成為一個身體」 — 教會 (天主教教理 1331)。同樣重要的是,我們「每次吃這餅,喝這杯,[我們] 就是宣告主的死亡」 「直到主再來」(哥前 11:26)。換句話說,我們每一次領聖體,我們就是為這最偉大的愛作見證。

為這個重要日子所選的三篇讀經,都指出了聖體聖事的意義及其重要性。取自《創世紀》的《讀經一》,默基瑟德 ,「至高者天主的司祭」,「也帶了餅酒來」,祝福亞巴郎。默基瑟德的隆重表現預示了教會在感恩祭中奉獻餅酒,「在獻禮中,我們感謝造物主賜給我們餅酒 ──『人類勞動』的成果,但它們首先是『大地的產物』和『葡萄樹的果實』,是造物主的恩賜」 (天主教教理 1333)。在《讀經二》,聖保祿堅持把自己「從主所領受的」聖體聖事的恩典,「傳授」給格林多人。教會信實地遵從耶穌的命令「你們應這樣做,為記念我」,「為紀念祂,繼續做祂在受難前夕所做的: 『祂拿起餅來 …』,『祂拿起一杯葡萄酒 …』,直到祂光榮地再來。餅酒以超乎我們理解的方式成為基督的體血;餅酒的標記也繼續象徵天主創世的慈恩」 (格前 11:24, 天主教教理 1333)。最後,在《福音讀經》耶穌行了五餅二魚的奇蹟,讓五千人吃飽。五餅二魚,只不過是耶穌成為滋養我們身、心、靈的食糧這個真奇蹟的影子!像默基瑟德的獻禮,耶穌拿起餅和魚「祝謝後」,分給飢餓的群眾,讓他們吃飽,「預示祂感恩(聖體)聖事的獨特食糧是如此豐盛,取之不盡」 (天主教教理 1335)。

我們是基督妙身的肢體,由上主親自哺養,這是一個多大的榮幸!作為基督妙身的肢體,我們的確分享了基督的聖體和聖血,也見證了天主無條件的愛。彼此共融,及與基督共融不但意味着大家同屬一個信仰團體及其團結和諧,更是一個信念;完全開放和接受;憑着真愛而獻出自己;一個與基督不可分割的聯繫。基督不單教導我們什麼是愛,怎樣彼此相愛,祂亦向我們展示了真愛,付出自己的生命來換取全人類的性命。那麼,我們每人和基督共融是什麼意思?或許,我們可以考慮以多元的創意,把基督的愛分享給有需要的人?又或者,當我們好像不能夠寬恕或與人和解時,讓我們祈求仁愛,問耶穌當祂在十字架上死時,祂怎樣能夠寬恕人,「父啊!寬赦他們罷!因為他們不知道他們做的是什麼」 (路 23:34)。最重要的是,我們要繼續為謙遜和勇氣之恩而祈禱,放棄自己的自大,將信心放在我們天上的父親身上,努力承行天主的旨意,成為彼此的基督。同樣,當我們領受基督聖體時,我們的確宣認了「基督是主!」。憑著這強而有力的見證,我們告訴世人,耶穌是天主子,祂不但為我們死,更藉着聖體聖事,繼續以祂自己的聖體聖血,滋養我們。簡而言之,當我們真的彼此相愛,我們就履行了作為基督妙身的肢體的權利和義務。

聖多默 · 阿奎那曾經言簡意賅地總結了聖體聖事的意思:
我的至愛,聖體聖事如此微妙,不是人類能力無法形容的嗎?在這聖事內,在至聖之源,我們嘗到屬靈的甜蜜,至聖之源讓我們想起,聖體聖事是紀念基督在苦難和聖死,所表現出的無可比擬的仁愛。愛我們的救主,在與門徒慶祝逾越節的最後晚餐中,建立聖體聖事,讓信眾在心中對祂的偉大仁愛,留下更深刻的印象。那時,祂將離開世界,回歸聖父。聖體聖事是祂所行最偉大的奇蹟 — 祂受難的永遠紀念,完成了遠古的預示。為那些因祂離開而傷心的人,祂給了他們獨一無二的慰藉。
(節錄自 「耶穌聖體聖血節」https://www.catholicculture.org/culture/liturgicalyear/calendar/day.cfm?date=2017-06-18)

讓我們邁步前行,「稱頌上主,呼號祂的名!將祂的作為宣告於萬民,稱述祂的名是崇高的」,不只是在今天偉大的【耶穌聖體聖血節】,而是每一天 (依 12:4)!

Posted: June 19, 2022

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 基督聖體聖血節:信仰的高峰 吳智勳神父

聖體聖事是「整個基督徒生活的泉源與高峰」(《教會憲章》11),也集信仰的大成。每當神父祝聖了聖體聖血後,大家一同歡呼歌頌:「基督,我們傳報你的聖死,我們歌頌你的復活,我們期待你光榮地來臨。」這幾句話表達了基督徒最高的德行:愛德、信德和望德。讓我們對這幾句話作反省。

繼續閱讀 >