For What Should I Ask God?

Seventeenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

1 Kings 3:5, 7:12

The LORD appeared to Solomon in a dream at night. God said, "Ask something of me and I will give it to you." Solomon answered: "O LORD, my God, you have made me, your servant, king to succeed my father David; but I am a mere youth, not knowing at all how to act. I serve you in the midst of the people whom you have chosen, a people so vast that it cannot be numbered or counted. Give your servant, therefore, an understanding heart to judge your people and to distinguish right from wrong. For who is able to govern this vast people of yours?" The LORD was pleased that Solomon made this request. So God said to him: "Because you have asked for this— not for a long life for yourself, nor for riches, nor for the life of your enemies, but for understanding so that you may know what is right— I do as you requested. I give you a heart so wise and understanding that there has never been anyone like you up to now, and after you there will come no one to equal you."

Romans 8:28-30

Brothers and sisters: We know that all things work for good for those who love God, who are called according to his purpose. For those he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, so that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And those he predestined he also called; and those he called he also justified; and those he justified he also glorified.

Matthew 13:44-52

Jesus said to his disciples: "The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure buried in a field, which a person finds and hides again, and out of joy goes and sells all that he has and buys that field. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant searching for fine pearls. When he finds a pearl of great price, he goes and sells all that he has and buys it. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a net thrown into the sea, which collects fish of every kind. When it is full they haul it ashore and sit down to put what is good into buckets. What is bad they throw away. Thus it will be at the end of the age. The angels will go out and separate the wicked from the righteous and throw them into the fiery furnace, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth. "Do you understand all these things?" They answered, "Yes." And he replied, "Then every scribe who has been instructed in the kingdom of heaven is like the head of a household who brings from his storeroom both the new and the old."

This week’s first reading is from the first Book of Kings, and it is about Solomon, son of David and Bathsheba, the Israel king who built the great temple of Jerusalem. What is the one thing that we might ask the Lord if we know absolutely that it would not be refused? Solomon has such a choice. “God said, ‘Ask what I shall give you.'” (I King 3:5) This question has enormous power, as it forces one to look deep into oneself. As we attempt to give an honest answer, we will discover who we are at the most fundamental level.

The Bible passage has taken us back to the beginning of Solomon’s reign, when he was an inexperienced young man, who was most likely to be setback by all kinds of challenges and self-doubting. Generations ago, God has promised Abraham that his descendants would be as many as stars of the heaven. It seems to Solomon that time has come. The tribes of Israel have grown to great numbers living in all parts of today’s Holy Land; and Solomon, in his helplessness, cannot even count such numerous populations. How is he to lead all these people? He wants them to love the Lord, and he wants them to be happy and prosperous in the land. He is more burdened with the welfare of his people than his own. He knows there will be trouble among the people, which he must settle. He feels more like a child than the ruler of a great kingdom; how can he instruct those who have more experiences, and tell them what is right or wrong? Only God can help him to make these decisions. That is what Solomon believes, and so he asks: “Give thy servant therefore an understanding mind to govern thy people, that I may discern between good and evil; for who is able to govern this thy great people” (I King 3:9). God is so pleased with his answer that he determines to make Solomon the wisest man ever lives. “Because you have asked this, and have not asked for yourself long life or riches or the life of your enemies, but have asked for yourself understanding to discern what is right, behold, I now do according to your word” (I King 3:11).

Why is God pleased with Solomon’s answer? Since God needs nothing, He is always pleased by what brings us to a deeper life. It is not as though Solomon’s answer gives God something that He needs. In fact, when God is shown to be pleased in scripture, it means that we are entering into a deeper life. The pleasure of God is always connected with human flourishing. So, in asking for wisdom, Solomon is seeking to order his own life in accordance to God’s will, since wisdom is one of God’s principle attributes. St. Thomas Aquinas explains that wisdom is seeing from the height, it is seeing from the perspective of God (Thomas Aquinas, Summa Theologica, Vol.3, 1a. 13, 5-6). Solomon is, in fact seeking the ground and center of his life in an appropriate place, and the Lord has brought him properly “on track”, ordered his way aright. Once he receives wisdom that allows him to see things from the divine perspective, he knows what to do with good or evil that may come his way no matter what the circumstances are.

That is why when we hear this question for the week, let us dwell deeply on it. What would you ask if the Lord himself stands before you and say, “Ask, and I’ll give anything you want”? Think of these great answers of Solomon. What do you regularly ask from the Lord? Furthermore, as we are amazed by Solomon’s wisdom, we also know that Jesus is greater than Solomon (Luke 11:31). Therefore, the life-changing wisdom available today is superior to that available to Solomon! Let us imitate Solomon in asking for God’s wisdom in Jesus.

Posted: July 30, 2017

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

A New Fixed Star Is coming – An Apocalypse message from Jesus
Happy New Year! Today, the first Sunday of Advent, is the beginning of a new liturgical year. What an extraordinary commencement we have with the readings for today. We are… Continue Reading >
Celebrating the Greatest Decision
Today’s homily is about three great reversals, where Jesus flips our expectations. Let’s start with a video of today’s Gospel, and see if you can spot these reversals. Continue Reading >
Jesus — “The King of Kings and Lord of Lords” (Revelation 19:16)
This year, the celebration of the solemnity of our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe is highlighted by a reading from Daniel 7, a chapter that contains arguably some… Continue Reading >

我應該向天主請求些甚麽?

常年期第十七主日

列王紀上 3:5, 7-12

在夜間,上主於夢中顯現給撒羅滿。天主對他說:「你無論求什麼,我必賜給你。」撒羅滿說:「上主,我的天主,現在你使你的僕人,替代我父親達味為王,但我還太年輕,不知道如何處理國事。你的僕人處身在你所選的民族中間;這是一個多得不可統計、不可勝數的大民族。為此,求你賜給你僕人一顆智慧的心,可統治你的百姓,判斷善惡;否則,誰能統治你這樣眾多的人民呢?」因為撒羅滿求了這件事,獲得了上主的歡心。天主於是對他說:「因為你求了這件事,而沒有為你自己求長壽,也沒有為你自己求富貴,也沒有要求你敵人的性命,單單為你自己求了智慧,為能辨明正義。我必照你的話,賞賜你一顆聰明智慧的心,除你以外,前無古人,後無來者。」

羅馬書 8:28-30

弟兄姊妹們:我們知道:天主使一切,都有助於那些愛他的人,就是使那些按他的旨意蒙召的人,獲得益處。因為他已預定:他所預選的人,要與他兒子的肖像相似,好使他兒子,在眾弟兄中作長子。天主不但召叫了他所預定的人,而且也使他所召叫的人成義,並使成義的人,分享他的光榮。

瑪竇福音 13:44-52

那時候,耶穌對群眾說:「天國好像藏在地裡的寶貝;人找到了,就把它藏起來,高興地去賣掉他所有的一切,買了那塊地。「天國好像一個尋找完美珍珠的商人;他一找到一顆寶貴的珍珠,就去賣掉他所有的一切,買了那顆珍珠。「天國又好像撒在海裡的網,網羅各種的魚。網一滿了,人就拉上岸來,坐下,揀好的,放在器皿裡;壞的,扔在外面。在今世的終結時,也將如此:天使要出去,把惡人由義人中分開,把他們扔在火窯裡;在那裡要有哀號和切齒。「這一切你們都明白了嗎?」群眾說:「是的。」耶穌就對他們說:「為此,凡成為天國門徒的經師,就好像一個家主,從他的寶庫裡,拿出新的和舊的寶貝。」

本主日的讀經一是從舊約 <列王紀上> 選出來,記載着達味和巴特舍巴的兒子撒羅滿,那建造耶路撒冷聖殿的以色列王。 假如我們可以向上主要求一樣事物,而事先知道上主是絕對不會拒絕我們的,那我們會請求什麼? 撒羅滿有機會作這樣的選擇。 上主「說:『凡你要我給你的,求吧!』」(列上3:5)這個問題具有非常震撼的力量,因為它迫使人深深地去審視自己的內心。從我們出自真心的答案,可以發現基本上我們究竟是一個怎樣的人。

這篇聖經帶我們進入撒羅滿剛開始統治以色列的時代,當時他仍是一個沒有經驗的年輕人,随時可能在各種挑戰和自我懷疑中受到挫敗。天主應允了他的祖先亞巴郎,他的後裔將會像天上的星星一樣多。撒羅滿看到這應允似乎應驗了。以色列民族人口興盛,分佈在今天聖地各處,連撒羅滿也不能數算出有多少人口。他應怎樣帶領這些人呢?他希望他們能敬愛天主,他更希望他們能在這片土地上生活得幸福富裕。他將子民的福祉放在自己之上。他知道人民有困難,也必須提出解決辦法。他覺得自己像一個幼童而不是一個偉大王國的統治者; 這樣怎能吩咐比他有經驗的人,告訴他們甚麽是對與錯?撒羅滿堅信只有天主才能幫助他作出決定,所以他請求:「因此,求祢賜給祢的僕人一顆智慧的心,好能治理祢的子民,判斷善惡;否則,有誰能治理祢這樣眾多的人民呢﹖」(列王上3:9)。天主非常滿意撒羅滿的回答,決意讓他成為世上最有智慧的人,前無古人,後無來者。 「因為你求了這件事,而沒有為自己求長壽,求財富,或求消滅敵人,卻只為自己求了智慧,好能辨明正義。我就照你的話去做」(列王上3:11)。

為什麼天主會對撒羅滿的回答感到歡悅?理由是天主根本甚麽都不需要,祂對我們能對生命作出更深入的體會總是感到高興,並不是撒羅滿的答案滿足了天主的需要。事實上,每當在聖經中天主表現愉悅,便意味著我們在進入更深層次的生活。天主的歡悅經常與人類的成長緊緊連繫。撒羅滿要求智慧,是為尋求他自己的生命能按照天主的旨意而行,因為智慧是天主的本性之一。聖道茂.亞奎納解釋說,智慧是從高處宏觀來看,即是從天主的角度來看(聖道茂.亞奎納著 <神學大全> 第3卷,1a,13,5-6)。撒羅滿在適當的地方尋求生命的中心,而上主亦妥善地將他帶到「正軌」,走上正確的道路。一旦他有了智慧,他便能在任何情況之下,都從至聖天主的角度來看待事物,及處理他要面對的善與惡。

因此,這個星期,當我們聽到這個問題的時候,我們要深入探討一下。 如果上主站在你面前告訴你,「凡你要我給你的,求吧!」那你會要求甚麽? 想想撒羅滿的上佳答案吧。 你通常向天主祈求些什麼? 當我們對撒羅滿的智慧感到驚訝時,我們知道耶穌的智慧是大於撒羅滿的(路11:31)。所以,今天我們可獲得的能改變生命的智慧,比撒羅滿當年可獲得的智慧更優勝! 就讓我們仿傚撒羅滿,祈求天主在耶穌內的智慧。

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十七主日:我們明白天國的比喻嗎? 吳智勳神父

本主日福音有寶藏、珍珠、撒網三比喻,連同上兩主日撒種、莠子、芥子、酵母的比喻共七個比喻,瑪竇是以一個完美聖經數字來完成有關天國的比喻。 在寶藏的比喻中,那個發現寶藏、買下土地的人,似乎十分狡猾,沒有把發現的東西告訴地主,反而想辦法據為己有,這種人怎配進入天國?

繼續閱讀 >