Loving Jesus from the heart-knowledge

Sixth Sunday of Easter

ACTS 8:5-8, 14-17

Philip went down to the city of Samaria and proclaimed the Christ to them. With one accord, the crowds paid attention to what was said by Philip when they heard it and saw the signs he was doing. For unclean spirits, crying out in a loud voice, came out of many possessed people, and many paralyzed or crippled people were cured. There was great joy in that city. Now when the apostles in Jerusalem heard that Samaria had accepted the word of God, they sent them Peter and John, who went down and prayed for them, that they might receive the Holy Spirit, for it had not yet fallen upon any of them; they had only been baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus. Then they laid hands on them and they received the Holy Spirit.

1 Peter 3:15-18

Beloved: Sanctify Christ as Lord in your hearts. Always be ready to give an explanation to anyone who asks you for a reason for your hope, but do it with gentleness and reverence, keeping your conscience clear, so that, when you are maligned, those who defame your good conduct in Christ may themselves be put to shame. For it is better to suffer for doing good, if that be the will of God, than for doing evil. For Christ also suffered for sins once, the righteous for the sake of the unrighteous, that he might lead you to God. Put to death in the flesh, he was brought to life in the Spirit.

John 14:15-21

Jesus said to his disciples: "If you love me, you will keep my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate to be with you always, the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot accept, because it neither sees nor knows him. But you know him, because he remains with you, and will be in you. I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you. In a little while the world will no longer see me, but you will see me, because I live and you will live. On that day you will realize that I am in my Father and you are in me and I in you. Whoever has my commandments and observes them is the one who loves me. And whoever loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and reveal myself to him."

Jesus has one consuming passion before He leaves this world; that His disciples would continue to live in love with Him. Given the fact that human memory is fallible and the will feeble, how could this relationship prosper beyond His death? In response to these human limitations, Jesus has apparently spelled out a practical way of loving Him, that is, to keep His commandments (Jn 14:15). He will send the Spirit of truth to teach and remind His disciples of His word. He also promises them gifts, namely, the love of the Father, the abiding presence of the Son and the indwelling of the Holy Spirit (Jn 14:17, 20, 21).

It would seem that keeping Jesus’ commandments is the same as loving Him, that is, if we want to love Jesus (or show our love for Him), all we need to do is to keep His commandments. A deeper reflection may reveal to us the rationale in a different manner. Could “keeping Jesus’ commandments” be the result of loving Him? (that is, loving Jesus precedes the action of keeping His word). Is there a difference between the two? While the former is simply obedience to satisfy a conditional demand, the latter is a personal and affectionate relationship that gives rise to do what is requested willingly, pleasurably and spontaneously.

So what is this love for Jesus and how do we attain it? To the apostles, they had the privilege of being with Jesus and were acquainted with Him. To us, love for Jesus is a response to God’s love for us, “we love because He first loved us” (1 Jn 4:19). Jesus is the greatest revelation of God’s love (rf 2 Corinthians 4:6-7) for He loves us to the point of giving up His own life for us (rf Jn 3:6, Rm 5:8). Through the writings (in the form of the canonical gospels) of the four evangelists who were inspired by the same Spirit of truth, we can share the apostolic treasure of knowing Jesus. As we grow in intimate knowledge of Jesus’ words and deeds, we are able to receive Him into our hearts through faith; whereby faith leads to love.

When we love God, we will obey His commandments and His commandments will not be a burden to us (rf Mt 11:30), instead, they give us joy and peace (Ps 1:2, 112:1, 119:1-2). The Holy Spirit empowers us not only to want to obey but also to delight in doing so from our hearts, “To do your will, O God, is my delight, and your law is within my heart” (Ps 40:8). When we walk in life guided by the Holy Spirit and loving Jesus with the heart-knowledge, His promises to us are as true as they were to the apostles.

Posted: May 21, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

New Jerusalem - the Final Apocalypse
As we come close to the end of the Easter season, we have a great privilege to read the final chapters of the Book of Revelation, and the great story… Continue Reading >
Why does Jesus call the love commandment new?
Divine love does not come naturally to us, it needs practice Continue Reading >
“My sheep hear my voice. I know them, and they follow me” (John 10:27)
It is in our interior silence that we can perceive Jesus’ gaze and hear his call Continue Reading >

用發自心靈知識的愛去愛耶穌

復活期第六主日

宗徒大事錄 8:5-8,14-17

那時候,斐理伯下到撒瑪黎雅城,給眾人宣講基督。群眾留意斐理伯所講的話,都同心合意地聽教,並看見他所行的奇蹟:有許多附了邪魔的人,邪魔從他們身上,大聲喊叫著離開了,又有許多癱瘓的人和跛子,也被醫好了;為此,城裡的人皆大歡喜。 在耶路撒冷的宗徒,聽說撒瑪黎雅接受了天主的聖道,便打發伯多祿和若望去他們那裡。伯多祿和若望一到,就為他們祈禱,使他們領受聖神,因為聖神還沒有降臨在任何人身上;他們只是因主耶穌的名受過洗。那時,宗徒便給他們覆手,他們就領受了聖神。

聖伯多祿前書 3:15-18

親愛的諸位: 你們要在心裡尊崇基督為主;如果有人詢問你們心中所懷希望的理由,你們要時常準備答覆,且要以溫和、以敬畏之心答覆。要保持純潔的良心,好使那些誣告你們在基督內有良好品行的人,在他們誹謗你們的事上,感到羞愧。如果天主的旨意,要你們因行善而受苦,這總比因作惡而受苦更好,因為基督也曾一次為罪而死,且是義人代替不義的人,為將我們領到天主面前;就肉身來說,他固然被處死了;但就神魂來說,他卻復活了。

聖若望福音 14:15-21

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「如果你們愛我,就要遵守我的命令;我也要求父,他必會賜給你們另一位護慰者,使他永遠與你們同在。他是世界所不能領受的真理之神,因為世界看不見他,也不認識他;你們卻認識他,因為他與你們同在,並在你們內。 「我決不留下你們做孤兒;我要回到你們這裡來。不久以後,世界就再看不見我,你們卻要看見我,因為我生活,你們也要生活。到那一天,你們便知道我在我父內,你們在我內,我也在你們內。接受我的命令而遵守的,便是愛我的人;誰愛我,我父也必愛他,我也要愛他,並將我自己顯示給他。」

耶穌離世前的一個熱切渴望,就是祂的門徒們會繼續與祂活在愛內。因人的記憶並不可靠,意志也薄弱,怎樣才可使這愛情在耶穌死後,能延續下去呢?對人性的這些弱點,耶穌似是提供了一個愛祂的實際方法,就是遵守祂的誡命。祂會派遣真理之神去教導門徒們並且使他們記起祂的聖言。耶穌應許給門徒的恩典,就是聖父的愛,聖子的臨在及聖神的居所 (若 14:17, 20, 21) 。

這好像遵守耶穌的誡命便等同愛祂一樣,那就是說,如果我們要愛耶穌 (或向耶穌表示自己對祂的愛),我們只要遵守祂的誡命便可以了。但如深入地反思,我們可能會意識到一個不同的理解。遵守耶穌的誡命會否是愛耶穌的結果呢?(意思是,愛耶穌先於遵守祂的誡命)。二者有何不同? 前者是單純的服從以達成命令所要求的,而後者則基於個人愛慕的感情,自願自發地,喜樂地實踐要求。

那用怎樣的愛去愛耶穌,我們怎樣獲得這愛?宗徒們能實在地和耶穌在一起,有認識祂的特恩。而我們愛耶穌是回應天主對我們的愛:「我們應該愛,因為天主先愛了我們」(若望一書 4:19) 。天主最偉大的愛,彰顯於耶穌 (參 格林多後書 4:6-7) ,祂愛我們,愛至為我們而死(參 若3:6, 羅馬書 5:8)。四部福音的作者被同一的真理之神啟迪,讓我們能分享宗徒們的寶庫,就是對耶穌的認識。當我們對耶穌的言行有更密切深入的認識時,藉着信德,我們能把耶穌迎進心內,也因着信德的引領,我們便懂得愛耶穌。

當我們愛天主,我們會遵守祂的誡命,祂的誡命不會是我們的重擔,(參 瑪竇福音 11:30) 反而會給我們帶來喜樂和平安 (詠 1:2, 112:1, 119:1-2) 。天主聖神給我們的力量,不只是為服從而做,而是滿心歡喜地做:「我的天主,承行你的旨意為我所喜愛,你的法律常存於我的心懷。」(詠 40:8) 。在人生路上,在天主聖神的帶領下,當我們用發自心靈知識的愛去愛耶穌時,耶穌答應宗徒們的,也同樣真實地答應了我們。

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 復活期第六主日:愛使人經驗聖神 吳智勳神父

福音中有一句令人費解的話:「他是世界所不能領受的真理之神,因為世界看不見他,也不認識他;你們卻認識他,因為他與你們同在。」(若 14:17)這句話能產生一連串的問題:為甚麼只有基督徒才認識聖神?這是否對別人不公平?的確,耶穌的門徒猶達斯(非出賣主的那個)曾問:「主,究竟為了甚麼你要將自己顯示給我們,而不顯示給世界呢?」(若 14:22)

繼續閱讀 >