“The Lord is near.” (Philippians 4:5)

Third Sunday of Advent

Zephaniah 3:14-18A

Shout for joy, O daughter Zion! Sing joyfully, O Israel! Be glad and exult with all your heart, O daughter Jerusalem! The LORD has removed the judgment against you he has turned away your enemies; the King of Israel, the LORD, is in your midst, you have no further misfortune to fear. On that day, it shall be said to Jerusalem: Fear not, O Zion, be not discouraged! The LORD, your God, is in your midst, a mighty savior; he will rejoice over you with gladness, and renew you in his love, he will sing joyfully because of you, as one sings at festivals.

Philippians 4:4-7

Brothers and sisters: Rejoice in the Lord always. I shall say it again: rejoice! Your kindness should be known to all. The Lord is near. Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God. Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.

Luke 3:10-18

The crowds asked John the Baptist, “What should we do?” He said to them in reply, “Whoever has two cloaks should share with the person who has none. And whoever has food should do likewise.” Even tax collectors came to be baptized and they said to him, “Teacher, what should we do?” He answered them, “Stop collecting more than what is prescribed.” Soldiers also asked him, “And what is it that we should do?” He told them, “Do not practice extortion, do not falsely accuse anyone, and be satisfied with your wages.” Now the people were filled with expectation, and all were asking in their hearts whether John might be the Christ. John answered them all, saying, “I am baptizing you with water, but one mightier than I is coming. I am not worthy to loosen the thongs of his sandals. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire. His winnowing fan is in his hand to clear his threshing floor and to gather the wheat into his barn, but the chaff he will burn with unquenchable fire.” Exhorting them in many other ways, he preached good news to the people.

As more candles are lit and burning brightly in the Advent wreath, we go through another Sunday in the season of Advent. We are one week closer to commemorating and celebrating the coming of Jesus into this world through his birth.

In anticipation of the coming of Jesus Christ, Light of the world, this Sunday’s readings are brimming with the hope and joy of salvation, we should “Shout aloud and sing for joy, great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel”, “Surely God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid, for the Lord God is my strength and my might” (Responsorial Psalm, Isaiah 12). We should throw away our worries in joyful hope, “Do not worry about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God” (Philippians 4:5-6).

In the Gospel reading, we hear the question “What should we do?” asked by the crowds who gather to be baptized by John the Baptist. He gives them practical advice and teaches the tax collectors and soldiers to carry out their duties with honesty and integrity, “Collect no more than the amount prescribed for you” and “Do not extort money from anyone by threats or false accusation, and be satisfied with your wages” (Luke 3:13-14).

Then what about us, what should we do in this life, we who have been baptized in water and in the Holy Spirit? Let us ponder on St. Paul’s advice in the second reading: “Let your gentleness be known to everyone” (Philippians 4:5) and on John the Baptist’s immense humility when people think whether he might be the Messiah, to which he answers, “I baptize you with water; but one who is more powerful than I is coming; I am not worthy to untie the thong of his sandals” (Luke 3: 16).

Is this not who Jesus said He is, “I am gentle and humble of heart” (Matthew 11:29)?

Posted: December 16, 2018

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Where do I stand in response to God’s invitation
This Sunday Gospel reading shows that one can and should stand before God, individually, and assume spiritual responsibility. It confronts each of us with a big question, “Where do I… Continue Reading >
“[A]re you envious because I am generous?” (Mt 20:15)
Let us free ourselves from our presumptions, so that God’s big picture, beyond the limited reality we can perceive with our eyes, can be made visible to our heart. Continue Reading >
Envy
Some of you might have enjoyed the movie Parasite, a Korean film that won last year’s Academy award for best picture. The film is very well acted and well made,… Continue Reading >

「主快來了」(斐 4:5)

將臨期第三主日

索福尼亞先知書 3:14-18

熙雍女子,你應歡樂!以色列,你應歡呼!耶路撒冷女子,你應滿心高興喜樂!上主已撤銷了對你的定案,掃除了你的仇敵。以色列的君王——上主,在你中間,你再不會遇見災禍!在那一天,人必對耶路撒冷說:「熙雍,你不用害怕,不要雙手低垂!上主你的天主,在你中間;他是一位施救的勇士。他必為你喜不自勝;對你重溫他的愛情;且因你而歡躍喜樂,有如在慶節之日。」我必消滅打擊你的人,使你不再受羞辱。

斐理伯書 4:4-7

弟兄姊妹們:你們在主內應當常常喜樂;我再說:你們應當喜樂!你們的寬仁,應當叫眾人知道:主快來了。你們什麼也不要掛慮,只在一切事上,以懇求和祈禱,懷著感謝之心,向天主呈上你們的請求;這樣,天主那超乎各種意想的平安,必要在基督耶穌內,固守你們的心思念慮。

路加福音 3:10-18

那時候,群眾問若翰說:「那麼,我們該做什麼呢?」若翰答覆他們說:「有兩件內衣的,要分給那沒有的;有食物的,也應照樣做。」稅吏也來受洗,並問若翰說:「師父,我們該做什麼呢?」若翰向他們說:「除了規定給你們的,不要多收!」軍人也問若翰說:「我們該做什麼呢?」若翰向他們說:「不要勒索人,也不要敲詐;對你們的糧餉,應當知足!」那時,百姓都在期待【默西亞】,為此,人人心中推想:或許若翰就是默西亞。若翰便向眾人說:「我固然以水洗你們,但是,比我強的那一位,要來;就是解他的鞋帶,我也不配。他要以聖神和火洗你們。木 已放在他手中,他要揚淨自己的禾場,把麥粒收在倉內;至於糠秕,卻要用不滅的火燒掉。」若翰還講了許多其他勸言,給百姓傳報喜訊。

將臨環上,一支又一支的蠟燭燃點着,光輝明亮,我們又過了另一個將臨期主日。距離我們紀念和慶祝耶穌藉著祂的降生來到世上的日子,又近了一個星期。

期待着世界之光耶穌的來臨,本週的讀經充滿着對救恩的希望和喜樂,我們應該「歡呼高唱,因為以色列的聖者,在你們中間,是偉大的」,「天主是我的救援;我依靠祂,決不畏懼,因為上主是我的力量,是我的歌頌」(答唱詠 依 12)。我們應該在喜樂中,懷着希望,放下自己的憂慮,「什麼也不要掛慮,只在一切事上,以懇求和祈禱,懐著感謝之心,向天主呈上你們的請求」(斐 4:5-6)。

在福音讀經,我們聽到來受洗的群眾問若翰洗者這問題 「我們該做什麼呢?」。他給了他們實際的忠告並教導稅吏和軍人執行職務時要誠實廉正,「除了規定給你們的,不要多收」和「不要勒索人,也不要敲詐;對你們的糧餉,應當知足」 (路 3:13-14)。

那麼我們又該怎樣?我們這些曾經接受水和聖神洗禮的人,在我們的一生中,我們該做什麼呢?讓我們思考一下聖保祿在讀經二的勸告「你們的寛仁,應當叫眾人知道」(斐4:5)和洗者若翰的謙卑,當眾人心中推想若翰是否默西亞的時候,他回答說:「我固然以水洗你們;但是,比我強的那一位,要來;就是解他的鞋帶,我也不配」(路 3:16)。

這不就是談及自己時說:「我是良善心謙」的耶穌嗎 (瑪 11:29)?

Posted: December 16, 2018

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

丙年將臨期第三主日: 我們該做甚麼? 吳智勳神父

路加福音是一部很重視社會問題的福音,特別關心貧窮的人,常常透露天主不會捨棄他們。今天問問題的三批人,都是邊緣人物,他們沒有社會地位,甚至受人鄙視,但福音就偏偏把他們記了下來。至於其他重要人物問了甚麼,福音倒沒有興趣記載。

繼續閱讀 >