“This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad” (Psalm 118)

The Resurrection of the Lord

Acts 10:34A, 37-43

Peter proceeded to speak and said: “You know what has happened all over Judea, beginning in Galilee after the baptism that John preached, how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and power. He went about doing good and healing all those oppressed by the devil, for God was with him. We are witnesses of all that he did both in the country of the Jews and in Jerusalem. They put him to death by hanging him on a tree. This man God raised on the third day and granted that he be visible, not to all the people, but to us, the witnesses chosen by God in advance, who ate and drank with him after he rose from the dead. He commissioned us to preach to the people and testify that he is the one appointed by God as judge of the living and the dead. To him all the prophets bear witness, that everyone who believes in him will receive forgiveness of sins through his name.”

Colossians 3:1-4

Brothers and sisters: If then you were raised with Christ, seek what is above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Think of what is above, not of what is on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ your life appears, then you too will appear with him in glory.

John 20:1-9

On the first day of the week, Mary of Magdala came to the tomb early in the morning, while it was still dark, and saw the stone removed from the tomb. So she ran and went to Simon Peter and to the other disciple whom Jesus loved, and told them, “They have taken the Lord from the tomb, and we don’t know where they put him.” So Peter and the other disciple went out and came to the tomb. They both ran, but the other disciple ran faster than Peter and arrived at the tomb first; he bent down and saw the burial cloths there, but did not go in. When Simon Peter arrived after him, he went into the tomb and saw the burial cloths there, and the cloth that had covered his head, not with the burial cloths but rolled up in a separate place. Then the other disciple also went in, the one who had arrived at the tomb first, and he saw and believed. For they did not yet understand the Scripture that he had to rise from the dead.

Christ has died and is arisen. Darkness becomes light. Christ has redeemed all humanity from sin. We are in joyful hope that one day in God’s good time all those who have left this world will be resurrected like Jesus was.

In today’s Gospel reading, we heard how Jesus rose from the dead on the third day and appeared to Mary Magdalene. She recognized Jesus when He said to her “Mary!” (Gospel reading John 20:16). Later on the same day, Jesus appeared to his two sad-looking disciples who were on their way to a village called Emmaus. They recognized Jesus in the breaking of the bread: “When he was at the table with them, he took bread, blessed and broke it, and gave it to them. With that their eyes were opened and they recognized him,” (Alternate Gospel Reading Luke 24:30).

Every time we go to Mass, can we recognize Jesus during the Liturgy of the Eucharist? We learn from our Catholic faith formation or Catechism class that Jesus, body and blood, is truly present in the Holy Eucharist. But in addition to recognizing Jesus’ real presence in the Eucharist, what else does it mean for us to recognize Jesus?

Today’s Mass Readings give us some clues. To recognize Jesus also means that we must “seek the things that are above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God” (Second reading, Colossians 3:1-2). Knowing Jesus’ word in the Gospels is not enough, we must live it out every day. Jesus said, “If you continue in my word, you are truly my disciples; and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free” from being a “slave to sin” (Jn 8:31-32, 34).

Let us celebrate Easter in the way that St Paul taught the Corinthians, i.e. celebrating it “with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth” (Alternate Second reading, 1 Corinthians 5:8). A life lived in sincerity and truth is the core of our Christian faith. After the Easter bunnies, chocolates, and brunches, we must also remember the true reason for the joy of Easter.

Alleluia, Christ is risen!

Posted: April 16, 2017

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Remember!
Turn our gaze and see with eyes of an enlightened heart Continue Reading >
Life is a Test and Temporary Assignment
"The way you see your life shapes your life" (Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 41). Some people may see life as a journey, or a roller coaster (up and… Continue Reading >
"The holy Spirit … will teach you everything and remind you of all that [I] told you” (Jn 14:26)
The voice of the Holy Spirit may become clearer if we listen and pray with a faithful heart. Continue Reading >

「這是上主所訂的一天,我們要歡欣鼓舞。」( 詠 118)

耶穌復活主日

宗徒大事錄 10:34,37-43

那時候,伯多祿說:「你們都知道:在若翰宣講洗禮以後,從加里肋亞開始,在全猶太所發生的事:天主怎樣以聖神和德能,傅了納匝肋人耶穌,使他巡行各處,施恩行善,治好一切受魔鬼壓制的人,因為天主同他在一起。「耶穌在猶太人地區,及在耶路撒冷所行一切,我們都是見證人。但是,他們卻把耶穌懸在木架上,殺死了。第三天,天主使他復活了,叫他顯現出來,不是給所有百姓,而是給天主所預先揀選的見證人,就是給我們這些、在他從死者中復活後,與他同食共飲的人。「他吩咐我們向百姓講道,指證他就是天主所立:生者與死者的判官。一切先知都為他作證:凡信他的人,賴他的名字,都要獲得罪赦。」——上主的話。

哥羅森書 3:1-4

弟兄姊妹們:你們既然與基督一同復活了,就該追求天上的事;在那裡,有基督坐在天主的右邊。你們該思念天上的事,不該思念地上的事,因為你們已經死了,你們的生命,已與基督一同藏在天主內;當基督、我們的生命,顯現時,那時,你們也要與他一同,出現在光榮之中。——上主的話。

若望福音 20:1-9

一周的第一天,清晨,天還黑的時候,瑪利亞瑪達肋納,來到墳墓那裡,看見石頭已從墓門挪開了。於是,她跑去見西滿伯多祿,及耶穌所愛的那另一個門徒,對他們說:「有人從墳墓中,把主搬走了;我們不知道他們把他放在那裡。」伯多祿便和那另一個門徒出來,到墳墓那裡去。兩人一起跑,但那另一個門徒,比伯多祿跑得快,先來到了墳墓那裡。他俯身看見了放著的殮布,卻沒有進去。跟著他的西滿伯多祿,也來到了,進入了墳墓,看見了放著的殮布,也看見耶穌頭上的那塊汗巾,不同殮布放在一起,而在另一處捲著。先來到墳墓的那個門徒,也進去了,一看見就相信了。這是因為他們還不明白,耶穌必須從死者中復活的那段聖經。

基督已死而復活。黑暗變成光明。基督已把全人類從罪惡中拯救出來。我們在喜樂中期待,有一天,在天主所訂的時間裡,所有離世的人都會復活,像耶穌一樣。

在今天的福音讀經,我們聽到耶穌在第三天從死者中復活,顯現給瑪利亞瑪達肋納。當『耶穌給她說:「瑪利亞!」』(福音讀經 若20:16) 她便認出了耶穌。在當天稍後時間,耶穌顯現給祂的二位門徒,他們面帶憂傷,正前往一個名叫厄瑪烏的村莊。在擘餅時,他們認出了耶穌「耶穌和他們坐下進餐時,拿起餅來,祝福了,把餅擘開,分給他們。他們的眼便開了,認出了耶穌」(另福音讀經 路加福音24:30)

每當我們參加彌撒聖祭,我們能在聖祭禮儀內認出耶穌嗎?從天主教信仰培育或道理班,我們得知耶穌的體血真的在聖體聖事內。除此以外,為我們自己來說, 認出耶穌是什麼意思?

今天的彌撒讀經給了我們一些提示。認出耶穌是說我們必須「追求天上的事,在那裡基督坐在天主的右邊。」(讀經二,哥3:1-2) 。認識福音裏的耶穌聖言是不足夠的,我們必須在生命的每一天,活出福音。耶穌說過:「你們如果固守我的話,就確是我的門徒,也會認識真理,而真理必會使你們獲得自由」不致成為「罪惡的奴隸」。(若8:31-32, 34)

讓我們跟隨聖保碌教導哥羅森人的方式,以「純潔和真誠」的無酵餅來慶祝復活節吧 (另讀經二,格前 5:8)! 一生以至誠來活出基督真理是基督教徒信仰的核心。在以應節的小兔,朱古力和早午餐來慶祝復活節的時候,我們也要謹記復活節喜樂的真正原因。

亞肋路亞!基督已復活!

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 耶穌復活主日:尋找復活的基督 吳智勳神父

若望福音的主要信息是︰「天主降生成人,居住在我們中間」。復活的基督不再像以往一樣,在人間宣講及行奇跡,祂以另一方式存在。整個教會都努力去尋找及經驗居住在我們中間的基督。今日福音記載教會內有三種人,他們合作尋找復活的基督。

繼續閱讀 >