A Shoot from the Stump of Jesse and a Voice in the Desert

Second Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 11:1-10

On that day, a shoot shall sprout from the stump of Jesse, and from his roots a bud shall blossom. The spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him: a spirit of wisdom and of understanding, a spirit of counsel and of strength, a spirit of knowledge and of fear of the LORD, and his delight shall be the fear of the LORD. Not by appearance shall he judge, nor by hearsay shall he decide, but he shall judge the poor with justice, and decide aright for the land’s afflicted. He shall strike the ruthless with the rod of his mouth, and with the breath of his lips he shall slay the wicked. Justice shall be the band around his waist, and faithfulness a belt upon his hips. Then the wolf shall be a guest of the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid; the calf and the young lion shall browse together, with a little child to guide them. The cow and the bear shall be neighbors, together their young shall rest; the lion shall eat hay like the ox. The baby shall play by the cobra’s den, and the child lay his hand on the adder’s lair. There shall be no harm or ruin on all my holy mountain; for the earth shall be filled with knowledge of the LORD, as water covers the sea. On that day, the root of Jesse, set up as a signal for the nations, the Gentiles shall seek out, for his dwelling shall be glorious.

Romans 15:4-9

Brothers and sisters: Whatever was written previously was written for our instruction, that by endurance and by the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope. May the God of endurance and encouragement grant you to think in harmony with one another, in keeping with Christ Jesus, that with one accord you may with one voice glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Welcome one another, then, as Christ welcomed you, for the glory of God. For I say that Christ became a minister of the circumcised to show God’s truthfulness, to confirm the promises to the patriarchs, but so that the Gentiles might glorify God for his mercy. As it is written: Therefore, I will praise you among the Gentiles and sing praises to your name.

Matthew 3:1-12

John the Baptist appeared, preaching in the desert of Judea and saying, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand!” It was of him that the prophet Isaiah had spoken when he said: A voice of one crying out in the desert, Prepare the way of the Lord, make straight his paths. John wore clothing made of camel’s hair and had a leather belt around his waist. His food was locusts and wild honey. At that time Jerusalem, all Judea, and the whole region around the Jordan were going out to him and were being baptized by him in the Jordan River as they acknowledged their sins. When he saw many of the Pharisees and Sadducees coming to his baptism, he said to them, “You brood of vipers! Who warned you to flee from the coming wrath? Produce good fruit as evidence of your repentance. And do not presume to say to yourselves, ‘We have Abraham as our father.’ For I tell you, God can raise up children to Abraham from these stones. Even now the ax lies at the root of the trees. Therefore every tree that does not bear good fruit will be cut down and thrown into the fire. I am baptizing you with water, for repentance, but the one who is coming after me is mightier than I. I am not worthy to carry his sandals. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire. His winnowing fan is in his hand. He will clear his threshing floor and gather his wheat into his barn, but the chaff he will burn with unquenchable fire.”

A couple of takeaways to bring home with you from this Sunday’s readings for further reflection:

Isaiah’s Messianic Prophecy on a Shoot from the Stump of Jesse

Known for its significance for the New Testament and its unbelievably accurate prophecies that find perfect fulfilment in Christ, Isaiah is seen as “the fifth gospel” by some theologians (New Collegeville Bible Commentary on Isaiah, p.6). In this Sunday’s first reading, Isaiah shows us why this honor is well-deserved. Through the prompting and inspiration of the Holy Spirit, the prophet refers to the Messiah as “a shoot [that] shall sprout from the stump of Jesse” (Is 11:1).

“[T]he stump of Jesse” is a reference to Judah because Jesse, King David’s father, is from the tribe of Judah. As the only territory of the Davidic dynasty remaining under Jewish jurisdiction after the Babylonian Exile, Judea is like the desolate stump of a gigantic tree that has once been lofty and overpowering. The prophet predicts that out of this barren stump will grow a shoot or branch that will enable it to flourish again. What he is referring to is obviously the new Davidic kingdom – the Heavenly Kingdom that Jesus, the new David, will bring.

Not to be left unmentioned is the humor – the play on words – of the Scriptures: Jesus, the “shoot/branch” in Isaiah’s prophecy, grew up in a town called Nazareth, which literally means “branch town” (Lk 2:4, 39)!

Isaiah’s Prophecy on a Voice in the Desert

We can’t possibly celebrate the coming of Christ without mentioning the one who prepared the way before him. In this Sunday’s gospel reading, Matthew sees the appearance of John the Baptist in the desert of Judea as a fulfillment of another Messianic prophecy of Isaiah: “a voice of one crying out in the desert [will] prepare the way of the Lord” (Mt 3:3, Is 40:3).

A little background for John the Baptist’s appearance is in order. Around the time of Jesus, the Holy Land is a land of great unrest. The Davidic kingdom lies in ruins. Political uprisings against the Romans are common place. Israel has been waiting for centuries “the Prophet” that God had promised Moses – one like Moses, who would be able to see God face to face (cf. Deut 18:15, 34:10). Not only has the emergence of “the Prophet” remained an unfulfilled promise, Israel also has been without prophets for many years. For the chosen people of God, it feels as though they were living in a prolonged period of divine abandonment.

This explains why it is such a big deal when John the Baptist appears: finally, God is sending Israel a prophet, albeit the last O.T. prophet! What ensues is almost like a Ben-Hur moment. According to Matthew, “Jerusalem, all Judea, and the whole region around the Jordan were going out to him and were being baptized by him in the Jordan River” (Mt 3:5-6).

Turned out, an even bigger deal is still in store. It catches even John by surprise. Along with the multitudes of people that converge on the Jordan area where John’s baptism is being administered, Jesus, the person whose way he is to prepare, also appears (cf. Lk 3:7-14)! Like the crowds whom John admonishes as “brood of vipers”, he is also asking to receive baptism (Lk 3:7, Mt 3:13). Is Jesus the promised Prophet (cf. Deut 18:15, 34:10)? Why does he need John’s baptism? How are we supposed to understand all these twists and turns? That will be a whole new topic for us to contemplate on next Sunday – the 3rd Sunday of Advent.

Posted: December 8, 2019

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Epiphanies in our life
Today’s readings are about God’s epiphanies in our life, but we need patience, focused listening, and faith before we can hear or see them. Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >

從葉瑟的樹幹長出的嫩枝和曠野裡的聲音

將臨期第二主日

依撒意亞先知書 11:1-10

那一天,由葉瑟的樹幹將生出一個嫩枝;由它的樹根將發出一個幼芽。上主的神,智慧和聰敏的神,超見和剛毅的神,明達和敬畏上主的神,將住在他內。【他將以敬畏上主為快慰。】他必不照他眼見的,施行審訊,也不按他耳聞的,執行判斷。他將以正義,審訊微賤者,以公理,判斷世上的謙卑者,以他口中的棍杖,打擊暴戾者,以他唇邊的氣息,誅殺邪惡者。正義將是他腰間的束帶,忠誠將是他脅下的佩帶。豺狼將與羔羊共處;虎豹將與小山羊同宿。牛犢和幼獅一同飼養;一個幼童即可帶領牠們。母牛和母熊將一起牧放;牠們的幼雛將一同伏臥。獅子將與牛一樣吃草。吃奶的嬰兒將遊戲於蝮蛇的洞口;斷奶的幼童將伸手探入毒蛇的窩穴。在我的整個聖山上,再沒有誰作惡,也沒有誰害人,因為大地充滿了對上主的認識,有如海洋滿溢海水。那一日,葉瑟的根,將成為萬民的旗幟;列邦必將尋求他;他駐節之地,將是輝煌的。

羅馬書 15:4-9

弟兄姊妹們:其實,凡經上所寫的,都是為教訓我們而寫的,為叫我們因經典所教訓的忍耐和安慰,而獲得希望。願賜忍耐和安慰的天主,賞賜你們仿效耶穌基督的榜樣,彼此同心合意,一心一口,光榮我們的主耶穌基督的天主和父。為此,你們要為光榮天主,而彼此接納,猶如基督也接納了你們一樣。我要說:基督為了彰顯天主的信實,成了「割損」的僕役,為實踐那向先祖們所作的恩許,也使外邦人因天主的憐憫,而光榮天主,正如所記載的:「為此,我要在異民中稱謝你,歌頌你的聖名。」

瑪竇福音 3:1-12

那時候,洗者若翰在猶太曠野出現,宣講說:「你們悔改吧!因為天國臨近了。」這人就是那藉依撒意亞先知所預言的:「在曠野裡有呼號者的聲音:你們該當預備上主的道路,修直他的途徑。」這若翰穿著駱駝毛做的衣服,腰間束著皮帶,他的食物是蝗蟲和野蜜。那時,耶路撒冷、全猶太,以及全約但河一帶的人都出來,到若翰那裡,承認自己的罪過,並在約但河受他的洗。他見到許多法利塞人和撒杜塞人,來受他的洗,就對他們說:「毒蛇的種類!誰教你們逃避那即將來臨的憤怒?那麼,就結與悔改相稱的果實吧!你們自己不要想:我們有亞巴郎為父。我給你們說:天主能從這些石頭,給亞巴郎興起子孫來。斧刀已放在樹根上,凡不結好果子的樹,必被砍倒,投入火中。「我固然用水洗你們,為使你們悔改;但在我以後,要來的那一位,比我更強,我連提他的鞋也不配,他要以聖神及火洗你們。他的簸箕已拿在手中,他要揚淨自己的禾場,將他的麥粒收入倉內,至於糠秕,卻要用不滅的火燒掉。」

這個主日的讀經,有兩點值得我們反複思考咀嚼。

依撒意亞預言默西亞是從葉瑟的樹幹所長出的嫩枝

《依撒意亞先知書》對新約聖經有相當的重要性,而書中的預言難以置信地準確,且在基督內完滿實現,有一些神學家甚至視《依撒意亞先知書》為「第五福音」。(New Collegeville Bible Commentary on Isaiah, 第六頁)。從本主日的第一篇讀經,依撒意亞讓我們認識到他的榮譽是當之無愧的。通過天主聖神的啟發和默感,先知稱默西亞為「葉瑟的樹幹將生出[的]一個嫩枝」(依11:1)。

「葉瑟的樹幹」是指猶大,因為達味王的父親葉瑟出自猶大支派。當時達味王朝的領土,在流放巴比倫後,只餘下猶大屬於猶太人管轄。猶大像一棵只剩下荒蕪樹幹的樹木,而這樹曾經長得高大參天、無比茂密。然而,先知預言,這光禿瘦弱的的樹幹,會長出一個嫩枝幼芽,使樹木重新生長,蓬勃茂盛。當然,他指的明顯是新的達味王國 — 耶穌-新達味王帶來的天國。

另外不能不提的是聖經中語帶雙關的幽默,先知依撒意亞以「幼芽嫩枝」所預言的耶穌,是在納匝肋城長大的,而納匝肋的字面意思,正正是「樹幹之城」(路 2:4, 39)!

依撒意亞預言曠野裡的聲音

在我們慶祝基督來臨之際,不能不提到為祂預備道路的那一位。在本主日的福音讀經,瑪竇認為洗者若翰在猶大曠野出現,應驗了依撒意亞另一個有關默西亞的預言:「在曠野裡有呼號者的聲音:你們該當預備上主的道路」(瑪 3:3, 依 40:3)。

先交代一下洗者若翰是在甚麼時代背景之下出現的。耶穌時代的聖地,動盪不安。達味王國一片頹垣敗瓦。對抗羅馬人的政治抗爭,無日無之。數百年來,以色列在等待天主曾經應許梅瑟的「一位先知」— 一位像梅瑟一樣,能面對面看見天主的先知(參 申18:15, 34:10)。但是,這一位「先知」的出現不但仍然是天主未兌現的承諾,而且已有很多年沒有先知在以色列出現過。作為天主選民,他們感覺到長期生活在被天主遺棄中。

這也解釋了為什麼洗者若翰的出現是如此重大的事:終於天主再給以色列派遣一位先知了 — 儘管他是舊約中最後的一位先知!隨著出現的,就像一個賓虛的場面。根據《瑪竇福音》記載:「耶路撒冷、全猶太以及全約但河一帶的人,都出來到他那裡去,… 在約但河裡受他的洗」(瑪 3:5-6)。

原來,更大的事情仍在後頭,連洗者若翰也覺得出奇不已。群眾聚集於洗者若翰為人受洗的約旦河流域,而耶穌 – 約翰要為祂預備道路的那一位 – 竟然也出現了(參 路 3:21)!耶穌也要求若翰為祂施洗,就像被若翰訓斥為「毒蛇」的群眾一般(路 3:7, 瑪 3:13)。這麼一來,耶穌真是天主許諾的先知嗎(參 申18:15, 34:10)? 祂為什麼需要接受若翰的洗禮?我們應如何理解箇中道理?這將是下主日—將臨期第三主日—我們應該思考的題目。

Posted: December 8, 2019

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

甲年 將臨期第二主日 真心悔改吧 吳智勳神父

今天的福音有一位戲劇性的人物出現了,若翰洗者是舊約的一位先知,也是新約的序幕人物。他的形象有點不倫不類,穿著駱駝毛的衣服,以蝗蟲野蜜為食,有點像中國的濟公。但為猶太人,他是個震憾心弦的人物。

繼續閱讀 >