Advent is not only a time of promises and anticipation, but also a homecoming.

Second Sunday of Advent

Baruch 5:1-9

Jerusalem, take off your robe of mourning and misery; put on the splendor of glory from God forever: wrapped in the cloak of justice from God, bear on your head the mitre that displays the glory of the eternal name. For God will show all the earth your splendor: you will be named by God forever the peace of justice, the glory of God’s worship. Up, Jerusalem! stand upon the heights; look to the east and see your children gathered from the east and the west at the word of the Holy One, rejoicing that they are remembered by God. Led away on foot by their enemies they left you: but God will bring them back to you borne aloft in glory as on royal thrones. For God has commanded that every lofty mountain be made low, and that the age-old depths and gorges be filled to level ground, that Israel may advance secure in the glory of God. The forests and every fragrant kind of tree have overshadowed Israel at God’s command; for God is leading Israel in joy by the light of his glory, with his mercy and justice for company.

Philippians 1:4-6, 8-11

Brothers and sisters: I pray always with joy in my every prayer for all of you, because of your partnership for the gospel from the first day until now. I am confident of this, that the one who began a good work in you will continue to complete it until the day of Christ Jesus. God is my witness, how I long for all of you with the affection of Christ Jesus. And this is my prayer: that your love may increase ever more and more in knowledge and every kind of perception, to discern what is of value, so that you may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ for the glory and praise of God.

Luke 3:1-6

In the fifteenth year of the reign of Tiberius Caesar, when Pontius Pilate was governor of Judea, and Herod was tetrarch of Galilee, and his brother Philip tetrarch of the region of Ituraea and Trachonitis, and Lysanias was tetrarch of Abilene, during the high priesthood of Annas and Caiaphas, the word of God came to John the son of Zechariah in the desert. John went throughout the whole region of the Jordan, proclaiming a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins, as it is written in the book of the words of the prophet Isaiah: A voice of one crying out in the desert: “Prepare the way of the Lord, make straight his paths. Every valley shall be filled and every mountain and hill shall be made low. The winding roads shall be made straight, and the rough ways made smooth, and all flesh shall see the salvation of God.”

Advent is often described as a time of joyful and hopeful waiting; a time of quiet introspection, contemplation, and preparation. This week’s readings paint a vivid picture of what Advent is about. The first reading portrays a scene of absolute exuberance and joy as the Israelites’ time of waiting is finally over. Baruch reassures the people that God will gather “from the east and the west”, bringing their children back to them; Jerusalem will be revived and restored. They will be returning home in glory. They can cast off their “robe of mourning and misery; and put on the splendor of glory from God forever” (Bar 5:1). When the time comes, God’s glory, mercy and justice will overshadow Israel (ref. Bar 5:8). The same joy and relief is mirrored in the Responsorial Psalm. Singing praise and thanksgiving for the Lord’s deliverance, the Psalmist proclaims, “The Lord has done great things for us; we are glad indeed” (Ps 126:3). This good news is, once again, announced by John the Baptist, “proclaiming a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins”, and that, “‘all flesh shall see the salvation of God’”, recalling the powerful words of Prophet Isaiah (Lk 3: 3,6). Advent is not only a time of promises and anticipation, but also a homecoming.

It is widely accepted by scholars that Baruch was composed roughly a few years after the destruction of Jerusalem during the times of the Babylonian Exile (ref. The New Jerome Biblical Commentary 563-4) . The prophet assumes the role of Jerusalem’s comforter at the mourning ceremony, urging Jerusalem to exchange the “robe of mourning” for “the cloak of justice from God”; be proud to clothe herself with “the splendor of glory from God forever” (Bar 5:1-2). In other words, God will take away their shame and restore their pride; Jerusalem will, once again, be a place where peace and justice prevail and she will receive eternal glory of God’s worship (ref. The New Jerome Biblical Commentary 566). During these years of exile when the Israelites were drowning in their sorrows and brokenness, is it even possible for them to dream of peace, joy, justice, and most of all, returning home? Yet, they are told, “Up, Jerusalem!” and rejoice. It is possible, Baruch tells them, because “they are remembered by God” (Bar 5:5). God is eternally merciful and faithful; He will never abandon His chosen ones. Baruch reminds the people that they will continue their journey under the protection and tender loving care of God, “Israel may advance secure in the glory of God” where goodness and abundance “overshadowed Israel at God’s command” (Bar 5:7,8). As God gathers all those who have been scattered from east to west, He is also showing them a way home; the way that leads them back to God. This is as much a journey of geography as one of the heart.

As a pilgrim people, we can certainly relate to the brokenness, longing for home, and hope for salvation of the Israelites in exile. In our brokenness, we may not even recognize the presence of God in our lives; but continue to wander in our own spiritual exile. Though our journey may be long and strenuous, we can rejoice like the Israelites, for we, too, are “remembered by God” (Bar 5:5). Luke reminds us of the lone voice “crying out in the desert”; calling us to remember the goodness of the Lord, and that the only way home is to repent. John the Baptist tells us to “prepare the way of the Lord, make straight his paths” (Lk 3:5). Like Dorothy who finds the Wizard of Oz by following the “yellow brick road” , we, too, must follow Christ, who is the way, the truth and the life, so that our “love may increase … be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ” (Phil 1:9-11).

During the second week of Advent, may we be attuned to the voice crying in the desert of our hearts. Make straight our crooked ways; recognize the blindspots of our lives and fill our spiritual valley with compassion and kindness; level our mountain of pride and self-centeredness; and in the silence of our hearts, heed the promptings of the Holy Spirit. Let us rejoice and return home this Advent!

Posted: December 5, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

When the Word of God Is Proclaimed
Can we feel the awesome power of the Word that is enough to crush our pride and literally wrestle our bodies down to prostrate to the ground? Continue Reading >
Being Healed of Passivity
The point of today’s homily is that the Father wants us to become more active as persons, because we tend towards passivity. We want a better life, but we want… Continue Reading >
“Do whatever he tells you” (Jn 2:5)
Mary is our advocate who will intercede for us, even without our asking. So, we too, must be steadfast and faithful in doing whatever Jesus tells us to do all… Continue Reading >

將臨期不但是應許和期待的時刻,也是回家的時候。

將臨期第二主日

巴路克先知書 5:1-9

耶路撒冷!請你脫去守喪時悲傷的衣服,永遠穿上天主光榮的華服,披上天主正義的披肩;在你頭上,戴上永生者光榮的冠冕;因為天主要對天下萬邦,顯示你的榮耀;給你起名,永遠叫 「正義的和平」,和 「虔敬的光榮」。耶路撒冷!請你起來,站在高處,向東遠眺。看,你的子女奉聖者的命,由西方至東方集合;他們喜形於色,因為天主終於想起了他們。他們曾離你遠去,由仇人押送步行;如今,天主卻把他們給你再領回來;他們體面光榮,好像皇子一樣,被人抬著歸來;因為天主已命令,夷平一切高山和無盡的丘陵,填平所有山谷,使它們化為平地,好讓以色列在天主的光榮下,平安前行。森林和一切香樹,要依照天主的命令,給以色列遮蔭;因為天主要在喜樂中,以他固有的仁慈和正義,在自己榮耀的光輝下,親自領回以色列。

斐理伯書 1:4-6,8-11

我每次祈禱,總是愉快地為你們各位祈禱,因為你們從最初的一天,直到現在,就協助了宣傳福音的工作;我深信,在你們內開始這美好工作的那位,必予以完成,直到耶穌基督的日子。天主為我作證:我是怎樣以基督耶穌的情懷,愛你們眾人。我所祈求的是:願你們的愛德日漸增長,充滿真知識和各種見識,使你們能辨別卓絕之事,為叫你們直到基督的日子,常是潔淨無瑕的,賴耶穌基督,滿結義德的果實,為光榮讚美天主。

路加福音 3:1-6

凱撒提庇留執政第十五年,般雀比拉多作猶太總督,黑落德作加里肋亞分封侯,他的兄弟斐理伯作依突勒雅和特辣曷尼地方的分封侯,呂撒尼雅作阿彼肋乃分封侯,亞納斯和蓋法作大司祭時,在荒野中有天主的話,傳給匝加利亞的兒子若翰。若翰於是走遍約但河一帶地方,宣講悔改的洗禮,為得罪之赦。正如先知依撒意亞預言書上記載的:「在荒野中有呼號者的聲音:你們當預備上主的道路,修直他的途徑!一切深谷要填滿,一切山岳丘陵要剷平,彎曲的要修直,崎嶇的要闢成坦途!凡有血肉的,都要看見天主的救援。」

《將臨期》常被描寫成一個喜樂和懷着希望的期待;一個靜靜地內省、反思和準備的時間。本週的讀經,繪畫出一幅活潑生動的圖畫 — 將臨期是什麼。《讀經一》表達了一個絕對雀躍歡騰和喜樂的場面,以色列人的等待終於完結了。先知巴路克向以色列人再次保證,天主會「由西方至東方」集合他們的子女,把他們帶回來;耶路撒冷會重生和復興。他們會在光榮中回家。他們可以脫去「居喪悲傷的衣裳;永遠穿上天主光榮的華服」(巴5:1)。當時期一到,天主的光榮、慈悲和正義會給以色列遮蔭 (參 巴 5:7,8)。《答唱詠》也讚頌同樣的欣喜和寬慰。聖詠作者讚美和感謝上主的救援,「上主向我們行了偉大奇蹟,我們的確也覺得滿心歡喜 (詠 126:3)。洗者若翰也宣布了同樣的福音,他「宣講悔改的洗禮,為得罪之赦」,他也回憶起依撒意亞先知強而有力的說話,「『凡有血肉的,都要看見天主的救援』」(路 3: 3,6)。將臨期不但是應許和期待的時刻,也是回家的時候。
學者們都廣泛同意,《巴路克書》是在耶路撒冷被毁滅後的幾年寫成的,大約是在流放巴比倫期間 (參The New Jerome Biblical Commentary 563-4) 。先知承擔了責任,在哀悼禮中,作為耶路撒冷的安慰者,他敦促耶路撒冷以「天主正義的披肩 」來代替「居喪悲傷的衣裳」;要引以為傲地「永遠穿上天主光榮的華服」 (巴 5:1-2)。換句話說,天主會除去他們的恥辱,回復他們的自尊;耶路撒冷會重新成為固有和平與正義的地方,而在欽崇天主中,她得享永遠的光榮 (參The New Jerome Biblical Commentary 566)。多年的流放,淹沒於痛苦和支離破碎中的以色列人,做和平、喜樂、公義和最重要的歸家的夢,也彷彿是不可能?然而,他們被告知,「耶路撒冷!請你起來」,歡欣喜樂吧。巴路克告訴他們,是可能的,因為「天主終於想起了他們」(巴 5:5)。天主是永遠慈悲和信實的;祂永不離棄祂的選民。巴路克提醒以民,他們應在天主的保護和溫柔的愛惜、照顧下,繼續他們的旅程,「好讓以色列在天主的光榮下,平安前行」,善意和豐盛「要依照天主的命令,給以色列遮蔭」(巴 5:7,8)。當天主集合散居於從東方到西方的人,祂也為他們指出了歸家之路;他們重回天主之路。除了地理上的旅程,也是一個心路歷程。
旅途中的我們,必定會對流放中的以色列人那種破碎、渴望歸家和希望得到救贖的感覺感同身受。在我們自己的破碎中,我們甚至不能認出天主在自己生命中的臨在;繼續在靈性上的流放中遊蕩。雖然我們的旅程可能是長而且辛苦勞累,我們都可以如以色列人一樣滿心歡喜,因為我們也是「天主⋯想起」的人 (巴 5:5)。路加提醒我們,那孤單的聲音,在「沙漠裏呼喊」;召喚我們要記起上主的至善,而歸家的唯一途徑就是悔改。洗者若翰告訴我們「當預備上主的道路,修直他的途徑」(路 3:4)。正如桃樂菲跟隨一條「黃色的磚路」,找到《綠野仙蹤》裏面的魔法師,我們也一定要跟隨基督,祂是道路、真理、生命,使我們的「愛德日漸增長 ⋯ 為叫【我】們直到基督的日子,常是潔淨無瑕的,賴耶穌基督滿結義德的果實」(斐 1:9-11)。
在《將臨期》的第二週,願我們細心聆聽,捕捉自己心中的曠野呼號。修正我們的歪路;認出自己生命上的盲點,以憐憫和仁慈把我們靈性上的山谷填滿;夷平自己心中那驕傲和自我中心的山岳;更要在寧靜的心中,留意天主聖神的提點。讓我們在這將臨期,滿心歡喜地歸家去!

Posted: December 5, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

天主的安慰總是會到來的 Fr. Justin Huang

我們的第一個問題是:靈性的黑暗什麼時候會過去?在我們正在使用的一本書「婚姻中的靈性辨別Discernment of Spirits in Marriage」中,安妮看到了一種模式:當我們處於黑暗時期時,感覺就像是「將會持續一整天、一整週,甚至可能永遠持續下去,如果黑暗足夠嚴重的話。然後你發現並不是那樣,它結束得更早,通常比黑暗的嚴重性使你認為的要早得多。

繼續閱讀 >
丙年(路加) 將臨期第二主日: 具體地回應天主的救恩 吳智勳神父

若翰洗者首先代天主發言,要求我們把主的道路修直,意思就是要人把自己的心路修正,作為對天主救恩的回應,這也是將臨期的訊息。讓我們就拿第二篇讀經聖保祿的說話,作為將臨期的具體回應行動,好能經驗天主的救恩。

繼續閱讀 >