Are we born blind?

Fourth Sunday of Lent

1 Samuel 16:1B, 6-7, 10-13A

The LORD said to Samuel: "Fill your horn with oil, and be on your way. I am sending you to Jesse of Bethlehem, for I have chosen my king from among his sons." As Jesse and his sons came to the sacrifice, Samuel looked at Eliab and thought, "Surely the LORD's anointed is here before him." But the LORD said to Samuel: "Do not judge from his appearance or from his lofty stature, because I have rejected him. Not as man sees does God see, because man sees the appearance but the LORD looks into the heart." In the same way Jesse presented seven sons before Samuel, but Samuel said to Jesse, "The LORD has not chosen any one of these." Then Samuel asked Jesse, "Are these all the sons you have?" Jesse replied, "There is still the youngest, who is tending the sheep." Samuel said to Jesse, "Send for him; we will not begin the sacrificial banquet until he arrives here." Jesse sent and had the young man brought to them. He was ruddy, a youth handsome to behold and making a splendid appearance. The LORD said, "There—anoint him, for this is the one!" Then Samuel, with the horn of oil in hand, anointed David in the presence of his brothers; and from that day on, the spirit of the LORD rushed upon David.

Ephesians 5:8-14

Brothers and sisters: You were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light, for light produces every kind of goodness and righteousness and truth. Try to learn what is pleasing to the Lord. Take no part in the fruitless works of darkness; rather expose them, for it is shameful even to mention the things done by them in secret; but everything exposed by the light becomes visible, for everything that becomes visible is light. Therefore, it says: "Awake, O sleeper, and arise from the dead, and Christ will give you light."

John 9:1, 6-9, 13-17, 34-38

As Jesus passed by he saw a man blind from birth. He spat on the ground and made clay with the saliva, and smeared the clay on his eyes, and said to him, "Go wash in the Pool of Siloam" — which means Sent —. So he went and washed, and came back able to see. His neighbors and those who had seen him earlier as a beggar said, "Isn't this the one who used to sit and beg?" Some said, "It is, " but others said, "No, he just looks like him." He said, "I am." They brought the one who was once blind to the Pharisees. Now Jesus had made clay and opened his eyes on a sabbath. So then the Pharisees also asked him how he was able to see. He said to them, "He put clay on my eyes, and I washed, and now I can see." So some of the Pharisees said, "This man is not from God, because he does not keep the sabbath." But others said, "How can a sinful man do such signs?" And there was a division among them. So they said to the blind man again, "What do you have to say about him, since he opened your eyes?" He said, "He is a prophet." They answered and said to him, "You were born totally in sin, and are you trying to teach us?" Then they threw him out. When Jesus heard that they had thrown him out, he found him and said, "Do you believe in the Son of Man?" He answered and said, "Who is he, sir, that I may believe in him?" Jesus said to him, "You have seen him, and the one speaking with you is he." He said, "I do believe, Lord," and he worshiped him.

In today’s Gospel reading, we hear the story of Jesus healing a man born blind. We are invited to reflect on both the literal and the deeper symbolic significance. Jesus is performing a physical miracle, but his every action should be read symbolically as we try to uncover a deeper spiritual meaning.

As we know from the Bible, blindness is often interpreted as a symbol of sin according to Jewish tradition (Jewish Encyclopaedia, 1920). Not only does sin weaken our will, but also clouds our mind and vision spiritually. The blind man by birth, in fact, represents all of us who often fail to correctly see and are “blinded” to the deeper truth of God envisioned. We are often tempted to see this world as a collection of antagonistic individuals – our ego, being provocative, life over against one another, threat from others, or opportunities for our own aggrandizement – All of these are spiritual blindness. Even worse, many of us do not see it that way. As St. Thérèse puts it, “We must be humbled and recognize our nothingness, and that is what so many are not willing to do” (Letters to her brother missionaries VI). There are certainly many people who are unwilling to “be humbled” and recognize their “nothingness”; however, I believe the bigger problem is that so many people simply do not see it. They sincerely do not realize that they are sinners. They are spiritually blind.

So blindness to one’s sin is a big problem today. And why is it a problem? The Good News is not really “news” if we do not care about it. Why should we get excited about God’s abundant mercy for sinners if we do not really think we are sinners? Why go to confession when we fail to recognize our failures or wrong doings? At times, we must have done something wrong — and again, not just one thing, but probably lots of things. I mean, we are all sinners (see Rom 3:23, 1 Jn 1:8-10), and we all desperately need God’s mercy. Many of us may be enthusiastically agree, “That’s right! We’re all sinners!” In fact, we may even be congratulating ourselves: “Oh, thank goodness I’m not like those spiritually blind people. I clearly see my sins.” But do we? Spiritual blindness extends even to those who recognize that they are sinners. Jesus once told St. Faustina, “If I were to reveal to you the whole misery that you are, you would die of terror.” (St Faustina Diary – 718)

So, how does Jesus approach this blind man, and to our blindness? He spits on the ground, and makes a mud paste – salve. The symbol is very powerful. “The spittle represents the divinity of Christ, his divine power. The earth represents his humanity. The incarnation itself is the salve that heals sin-sick eyes” (St. Augustine commentary, Tractate 44). As Jesus gently applies this healing salve on this man’s eyes, he is also healing our sight. His incarnation and his presence among us are what allow us to see!

After applying the salve, Jesus tells the man to wash in the pool of Siloam, in Hebrew it means “sent”. This is baptism. All of us are baptized into Christ, and we are washed by God’s living water. Baptism means that we are sharing Christ’s divine life. How do we learn to see today? In the Church! Once we are baptized into the power of Christ, and then become part of His Church, His mystical body, we are able to see. “I am the light of the world” (Jn 8:12) – Jesus is the light by which we see the nature of things. He is the light that provides vision. He is also the light by which we can walk safely and soundly – how to see, to understand, and to act.

What is the man’s response to Jesus? He bows down and worships the true God. The blind man is recreated! Not only is his physical vision restored, but more importantly, his spiritual vision is renewed. That is why this is also our story when we boldly sing, “I once was lost but now I’m found. Was blind but now I see.” (Amazing Grace)

Posted: March 26, 2017

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

“[A]re you envious because I am generous?” (Mt 20:15)
Let us free ourselves from our presumptions, so that God’s big picture, beyond the limited reality we can perceive with our eyes, can be made visible to our heart. Continue Reading >
Envy
Some of you might have enjoyed the movie Parasite, a Korean film that won last year’s Academy award for best picture. The film is very well acted and well made,… Continue Reading >
Forgive and You Shall Be Forgiven
We continue to go about our business in God’s presence, acting nonchalant and pretending our unforgiving hearts somehow don’t really matter to God. Continue Reading >

我們是天生瞎子嗎?

四旬期第四主日

撒慕爾紀上 16:1,6-7,10-13

那時候,上主對撒慕爾說:「把你的角盛滿油;我派你到白冷人葉瑟那裡,因為在他的兒子中,我已為我選定了一位君王。」撒慕爾等人一來到,看見厄里雅布,心裡想:這一定是站在上主面前的受傅者。但上主對撒慕爾說:「你不要注意他的容貌,及他高大的身材;我拒絕要他。因為天主的看法與人不同:人看外貌,上主卻看人心。」葉瑟就叫他的七個兒子,都來到撒慕爾面前。撒慕爾對葉瑟說:「上主沒有揀選這些人。」撒慕爾於是問葉瑟說:「孩子們都到齊了嗎?」葉瑟回答說:「還有一個最小的,他正在放羊。」撒慕爾對葉瑟說:「快派人帶他來,因為他不來,我們決不入席。」葉瑟於是派人把最小的兒子帶來;他是一個有血色,眉清目秀,外貌英俊的少年。上主說:「起來,給他傅油,就是這一位。」撒慕爾就拿起盛著油的角,在他兄弟們面前,給他傅了油。從那天起,上主的神便降臨於達味身上。

厄弗所書 5:8-14

弟兄姊妹們:從前你們原是黑暗,但現在你們在主內卻是光明;生活自然要像光明之子一樣。光明所結的果實,就是各種良善、正義和誠實。你們要體察什麼是主所喜悅的事。不要參與黑暗無益的作為,反而要加以指摘,因為他們暗中所做的事,就是連提起,也是可恥的。一切事情,一經指摘,便在光明中,顯露出來;凡顯露出來的,成為了光明。所以說:「你這睡眠的,醒來吧!從死者中起來吧!基督必要光照你!」

若望福音 9:1,6-9,13-17,34-38 【短式】

那時候,耶穌看見了一個生來瞎眼的人。耶穌吐唾沫在地上,用唾沫和了些泥,把泥抹在瞎子的眼上,對他說:「去,到史羅亞水池裡洗洗吧!」──史羅亞解說「被派遣的」──瞎子去了,洗了,回來就看見了。於是,鄰居和那些經常見他討飯的人,就說:「這不是那曾坐在這裡討飯的人麼?」有的說:「就是這人,」有的說:「不,是另一個很相似他的人。」那人卻說:「就是我。」他們便將那先前瞎眼的人,帶到法利塞人那裡。耶穌和泥開了他眼睛的那天,正是安息日。於是,法利塞人又盤問他怎樣看見了。那人就向法利塞人說:「他把泥抹在我的眼上,我洗了,就看見了。」法利塞人中有的說:「這人不是從天主來的,因為他不遵守安息日。」有的卻說:「一個罪人怎能行這樣的奇蹟?」他們中間便發生了紛爭。於是,他們又問瞎子說:「對於那開了你眼睛的人,你說什麼呢?」瞎子說:「他是一位先知。」法利塞人卻向他說:「你整個人都生於罪惡之中,竟來教訓我們?」便把他趕出去了。耶穌聽說法利塞人把他趕了出去,後來遇見了他,就給他說:「你信人子麼?」那人便回答說:「主,是誰,好使我去信他呢?」耶穌對他說:「你已看見他了,和你講話的就是!」那人於是說:「主,我信。」就俯伏朝拜了耶穌。

在今天的主日讀經,我們聽到耶穌治癒一個胎生瞎子的故事,讓我們思考這故事的表面意思和更深層的象徵意義。耶穌行了一個實實在在的奇蹟,但要嘗試尋找奇蹟裡面更深層的屬靈意義, 我們要明白祂每個行為動作所象徵的是什麼。

我們知道在聖經裡,按照猶太人傳統,失明往往被解讀為犯了罪的象徵 (猶太百科全書 1920)。罪不只削弱我們的意志,也渾濁我們的心靈,使我們視而不見。那個胎生瞎子,代表我們這些未能正確明白天主真理的,「瞎了眼」的人。我們受到考驗,看見的世界是由對立的人組成,自我中心,互相挑釁,鬥個你死我活,受人恐嚇,或增加自己的權力財富地位,都是心靈上的失明。更糟的是,我們中間很多人不這樣看。像聖女小德蘭說:「我們要謙卑自下,認識自己的虛無,而這正是許多人不願意做的」(致遠方傳教兄弟的書信 – 六) 。無疑,很多人不會願意「謙卑自下」和認識自己的「虛無」,但我卻相信更大的問題是人根本看不出問題所在。他們真的不知道他們自己犯了罪。他們的心靈瞎了眼。

因此,現今的大問題是人們對自己的罪視而不見。為什麼這是大問題呢?如果我們不希罕,福音便不是「喜訊」了。如果我們真的不認為自己是罪人,為什麼我們會為天主對罪人的慈悲而雀躍?如果我們未能看到自己的失敗或錯誤行為,為什麼要辦修和聖事?有時,我們會犯錯,當然,不只是在一件事情上犯錯,而是可能在很多事情上犯錯。我的意思是,我們都犯了罪因此極需天主的慈悲。很多人都可能同意: 「對!我們都犯了罪!」事實上,我們甚至可能會感到自己值得慶賀:「多感恩,我不像那些心靈瞎了眼的人,我清楚看到自己的罪。」但,我們是否深深體會到自己的罪? 那些承認自己犯了罪的人,都可以是心靈上盲目失明的。耶穌曾對聖女傅天娜說:「如果我向妳揭露妳所有的卑劣悲哀, 妳一定會被驚嚇致死。」 (聖女傅天娜日記 – 718 )

那麼,耶穌如何接近這瞎子和我們的視而不見?祂把唾沫吐在地上,用唾沬和了泥 – 药膏。這是一個強而有力的標記。「唾沬代表基督的天主性,祂的權柄來自天主。泥代表祂的人性。药膏是基督取得肉軀,降生為人,為治癒因罪而失明的雙眼」(聖奧思定注釋, 短文 44) 。當耶穌輕輕地把药膏抹在瞎子的眼上,祂亦治癒了我們的視力。我們看得見是因為基督取得肉軀,降生為人,居住在我們中間。

耶穌用唾沬和了泥,抹在瞎子的眼上以後,耶穌叫那人到史羅亞水池裡去洗洗,希伯來語史羅亞是「奉差遣」的意思。這是洗禮。我們受洗於基督,被天主的活水洗淨。洗禮的意思是我們分享基督那來自天主的生命。今天,我們如何學習看得見?在教會內! 一旦我們受洗於基督的權能,我們便成為基督的教會和基督奧體的一份子,我們便看得見。「我是世界的光」(若 8:12) – 耶穌是光,讓我們看得見事情的本質。祂是那光,讓我們有目光視野。祂也是那光,讓我們一路平安 – 怎樣看,怎樣明白,怎樣做。

那瞎子怎樣回應耶穌? 他跪下崇拜了真天主。瞎子重生了! 不僅他的視力恢復過來,最重要的是,他也重拾心靈的目光。當我們無畏地唱出:「我曾失喪,今復皈依,瞎眼今得看見」(奇妙救恩),瞎子的故事也就是我們的故事。

Posted: March 26, 2017

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 四旬期第四主日(喜樂主日):信仰的代價 吳智勳神父

耶穌治好胎生的瞎子,一方面顯示出祂是世界的光,讓在黑暗中的人看到光明,另一方面此事象徵著洗禮帶來新的創造。創世紀記載天主用泥土造人,現在耶穌用唾沫和泥土抹在瞎子眼上,並派遣他到史羅亞池(有被派遣的意思)洗洗,瞎子便開始了新生命。

繼續閱讀 >