“[A]re you envious because I am generous?” (Mt 20:15)

Twenty-fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 55:6-9

Seek the LORD while he may be found, call him while he is near. Let the scoundrel forsake his way, and the wicked his thoughts; let him turn to the LORD for mercy; to our God, who is generous in forgiving. For my thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways my ways, says the LORD. As high as the heavens are above the earth, so high are my ways above your ways and my thoughts above your thoughts.

Philippians 1:20C-24, 27A

Brothers and sisters: Christ will be magnified in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me life is Christ, and death is gain. If I go on living in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. And I do not know which I shall choose. I am caught between the two. I long to depart this life and be with Christ, for that is far better. Yet that I remain in the flesh is more necessary for your benefit. Only, conduct yourselves in a way worthy of the gospel of Christ.

Matthew 20:1-16A

Jesus told his disciples this parable: "The kingdom of heaven is like a landowner who went out at dawn to hire laborers for his vineyard. After agreeing with them for the usual daily wage, he sent them into his vineyard. Going out about nine o'clock, the landowner saw others standing idle in the marketplace, and he said to them, 'You too go into my vineyard, and I will give you what is just.' So they went off. And he went out again around noon, and around three o'clock, and did likewise. Going out about five o'clock, the landowner found others standing around, and said to them, 'Why do you stand here idle all day?' They answered, 'Because no one has hired us.' He said to them, 'You too go into my vineyard.' When it was evening the owner of the vineyard said to his foreman, 'Summon the laborers and give them their pay, beginning with the last and ending with the first.' When those who had started about five o'clock came, each received the usual daily wage. So when the first came, they thought that they would receive more, but each of them also got the usual wage. And on receiving it they grumbled against the landowner, saying, 'These last ones worked only one hour, and you have made them equal to us, who bore the day's burden and the heat.' He said to one of them in reply, 'My friend, I am not cheating you. Did you not agree with me for the usual daily wage? Take what is yours and go. What if I wish to give this last one the same as you? Or am I not free to do as I wish with my own money? Are you envious because I am generous?' Thus, the last will be first, and the first will be last."

“It’s just not fair!”

“I deserve it!”

“They don’t deserve anything!

How many times have we heard or uttered these powerful words? The feelings of discontent, anger, and jealousy, though real in every sense and we must not casually dismiss or ignore them, are often rooted in our misunderstanding of the big picture and our inability to look beyond the reality in front of our eyes. Further, “fair” and “deserve” may not be the right terms to express such reality. When a sibling receives more attention from the parents; when a colleague receives more recognition for the same amount of work; when a student is given more time and/or resources to complete the same task at school; when someone skips the line at the restaurant or grocery store; all these scenarios seem to be far too familiar to all of us. Such examples are certainly not lacking in the Bible: the “Parable of the Prodigal Son”; the “Parable of the Lost Sheep”; and of course, this week’s Gospel from Matthew, “The Labourers in the Vineyard”. Each of these stories reveals a truth about God’s Kingdom and vision, one that is drastically different from and beyond our perception. This week’s readings invite us to free ourselves from our presumptions so that God’s big picture, beyond the limited reality we can perceive with our eyes, can be made visible to our heart.

This week’s Gospel from Matthew offers a scenario that is quite puzzling. The landowner goes out to hire labourers to work for the agreed upon “usual daily wage” (Mt 20:2). This individual seems nice enough, and even benevolent, as he keeps hiring people throughout the day as long as people need employment. The interesting twist in the story is that he decides to pay everyone the same daily wage regardless of the number of hours they spend working in his vineyard! At this junction, even readers can’t help but protest, “It’s not fair!” That’s exactly what one of the labourers said, “These last worked only one hour, and you have made them equal to us who have borne the burden of the day and the scorching heat” (Mt 20:12). The landowner doesn’t get angry or give in, he simply says, “are you envious because I am generous” (Mt 20:15)?

Let’s not pretend that this is easy to swallow or understand; however, Isaiah explains this mystery perfectly, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways my ways, says the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts” (Is 55:8-9). Our human “thoughts” and “ways” are limited and short-sighted. The story of “The Labourers in the Vineyard” as well as Isaiah’s words demand a paradigm shift in our perception and understanding of what’s right and just. Does giving everyone the exact same resources, regardless of individuals’ needs and circumstances, seem “fair”? What’re the better and more merciful options? Mahatma Gandhi once said, “A nation’s greatness is measured by how it treats its weakest members.” Indeed, such is the measure of the Kingdom of God. This certainly resonates with what St. Paul has been teaching us all along, “the members of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, and those members of the body that we think less honourable we clothe with greater honour, and our less respectable members are treated with greater respect; whereas our more respectable members do not need this. But God has so arranged the body, giving the greater honour to the inferior member, that there may be no dissension within the body, but the members may have the same care for one another. If one member suffers, all suffer together with it; if one member is honoured, all rejoice together with it” (1Cor 12:22-26).

Through the lens of God’s Kingdom, God’s mercy is ever richer to those who need it; even for the “unrighteous”, “let that person return to the Lord that he may have mercy on them, and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon” (Is 55:7). God’s mercy is without limit and is abundant for everyone who is willing to receive it. Indeed, like the Psalmist says, “The Lord is just in all his ways and kind in all his doings” (Ps 145:17). God’s justice is not our justice; God’s ways are not our ways; He does everything out of kindness. In truth, justice and mercy go hand in hand.

Indeed, at the heart of God’s kingdom is love from which God’s grace flows freely and generously. It will be presumptuous for any one of us to think that we “deserve” anything from God; our everything – our life – is a pure gift of love from our Heavenly Father. Like the landowner, God chooses and calls each of us by name to enter into His Kingdom (the vineyard); into an intimate and genuine relationship as children instead of servants.

Posted: September 20, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Solemnity of All Saints
Experiencing the Mystical Body of Christ
The doors of the Church that I knocked on 43 years ago are opening up to an abyss of mysteries far deeper than any human mind can fathom! Continue Reading >
Solemnity of All Saints
Religious Life and Social Life Become One in Love
Love is what brings our religious life (love of God) and social life (love of neighbor) into unity. Continue Reading >
Solemnity of All Saints
“Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21)
May our earthly commitments be guided by a beacon of light from the divine Continue Reading >

「因為我好,你就眼紅嗎?」(瑪 20:15)

常年期第二十五主日

依撒意亞先知書 55:6-9

趁可找到上主的時候,你們應尋找他;趁上主還在近處的時候,你們應呼求他。罪人應離開自己的行徑,惡人該拋棄自己的思念,來歸附上主,好讓上主憐憫他。請來歸附我們的天主吧!因為他是富於仁慈的。因為我的思念,不是你們的思念,你們的行徑,也不是我的行徑:上主的斷語。就如天離地有多高,我的行徑離你們的行徑,我的思念離你們的思念,也有多高。

斐理伯書 1:20-24, 27

弟兄姊妹們: 我或生或死,總要叫基督,在我身上受頌揚。因為在我看來,生活原是基督,死亡乃是利益。但如果我生活在肉身內,還能獲得工作的效果,那麼,我自己也不知道,要選擇那一樣了。我正夾在兩者之間。我渴望解脫,為與基督在一起;這實在是再好沒有了。但是,我存留在肉身內,卻對你們十分重要。你們生活度日,應合乎基督的福音。

瑪竇福音 20:1-16

那時候,耶穌給門徒講了這個比喻,說:「天國好像一個家主,清晨出去,為自己的葡萄園僱用工人。他與工人議定:一天一個『德納』,就派他們到葡萄園去。「約在第三時辰,家主又出去,看見還有些人在街市閒立著,就對他們說:你們也到我的葡萄園去吧!凡照公義,該給的,我必給你們。他們就去了。「約在第六和第九時辰,家主又出去,也照樣做了。「約在第十一時辰,家主又出去,看見還有些人站在那裡,就對他們說:為什麼你們站在這裡,整天無所事事?他們對家主說:因為沒有人僱用我們。家主對他們說:你們也到我的葡萄園去吧!「到了晚上,葡萄園的主人,對他的管工說:你叫工人來,發給他們工資,由最後的開始,直到最先的。「那些約在第十一時辰來的人,每人領了一個『德納』。那些最先僱用的,心想自己必會多得,但是,他們也只領得一個『德納』。「他們一領了,就抱怨家主,說:這些最後僱用的人,不過工作了一個時辰,而你竟然把他們,與我們整天受苦受熱的,同等看待。家主答覆其中一個說:朋友!我並沒有虧待你,你不是和我議定了一個『德納』嗎?拿你的,走吧!我願意給最後來的,和給你的一樣。難道不許我,拿我的財物,做我所願意的事嗎?或是因為我好,你就眼紅嗎?「這樣,最後的,將成為最先的;最先的,將會成為最後的。」

「這太不公平了!」

「這是我應得的!」

「他們一點都不值得!」

這些激動的說話,我們說過或聽過多少遍呢?不滿、憤怒及妒忌等情緒,雖是真實,我們也不要等閒視之。這種種情緒往往源於我們對大局的誤解和看不到眼前的現實以外的情況。再者,「公平」和「應份」這些字眼,卻不一定能正確表達事實。當有兄弟姐妹得到父母更多的關注;當有同事和其他人做同等份量的工作,卻獲得更多的表揚;當有同學得到更多資源或時間去做同樣的作業;當有人在餐廳或超市排隊時插隊;這些情景,可說屢見不鮮。這些例子在聖經中也俯拾即是:「蕩子的比喻」;「亡羊的比喻」;而當然還有,本週《瑪竇福音》中,「葡萄園僱工的比喻」。每一個故事都顯示一個徹底有別於和超越我們所理解的天國真理和視野。本週的讀經邀請我們從自己的假設中解放出來,走出憑眼中所見而領悟的有限現實,好能從心中看到天主的整個大局。

本週的《瑪竇福音》讀經是一個令人困惑的場面。家主出去僱用工人,與工人議訂日薪「一天一個『德納』」 (瑪 20:2)。這人看來心腸很好,甚至可以說是仁慈,只要有人需要工作,他就整天不斷地僱用工人。而故事裏面一個有趣的轉捩點就是家主決定每人都得到一天的工資,無論他們在他的葡萄園裏工作了多少個小時!在這裏,甚至讀者都會禁不住抗議,「這是不公平的!」其中一個工人正是這樣說:「這些最後僱的人,不過工作了一個時辰,而你竟把他們與我們這整天受苦受熱的同等看待」(瑪 20:12)。家主沒有動怒也沒有屈服,他只說道:「因為我好,你就眼紅嗎」(瑪 20:15)?

我們不要假裝這是容易接受或容易理解的;依撒意亞卻圓滿地解釋了這奧秘,「因為我的思念,不是你們的思念,你們的行徑,也不是我的行徑:上主的斷語。就如天離地有多高,我的行徑離你們的行徑,我的思念離你們的思念,也有多高」(依 55:8-9)。我們人的「想法」和「行徑」是有限和短視的。「葡萄園僱工」的故事和依撒意亞的話語,要求我們對是非和公平的看法和理解轉變立場。是否不論個人需要和境況,每人得到完全一樣的資源,看來便是「公平」?有什麼比較好和慈悲的選擇?聖雄甘地曾說過:「一個國家有多偉大,準則是她怎樣看待最弱勢的國民」。事實上,這是天主的國的準則。而這準則跟聖保祿一直以來對我們的教導互相呼應,「那些似乎是身體上比較軟弱的肢體,卻更為重要;並且那些我們以為是身體上比較欠尊貴的肢體,我們就越發加上尊貴的裝飾,我們不端雅的肢體,就越發顯得端雅。至於我們端雅的肢體,就無須裝飾了。天主這樣配置了身體,對那缺欠的,賜以加倍的尊貴,免得在身體內發生分裂,反使各肢體彼此互相關照。若是一個肢體受苦,所有的肢體都一同受苦;若是一個肢體蒙受尊榮,所有的肢體都一同歡樂」 (格前 12:22-26)。

藉着天國的眼光,天主的慈悲遠遠比人所需,甚至是比「惡人」所需的豐厚得多,「來歸附上主,好讓上主憐憫他;來歸附我們的天主,因為祂是富於仁慈的」 (依 55:7).。天主的慈悲沒有界限,每一個願意得到的人,都會豐富地獲得。的確,如聖詠作者所言:「上主在他的一切路徑上,至公至義,上主在他的一切化工上,聖善無比」 (詠 145:17)。上主的公義,不是我們的公義:上主的路徑,不是我們的路徑;祂做每一件事,都出於仁愛。真理是,公義和慈悲是手挽手的。

的確,天國的中心是仁愛,從這裏,天主的恩寵源源不絕,慷慨送贈。如果我們任何一個認為自己是「值得」從天主那裏得到什麼,就有一點自大;我們的一切—我們的生命—是我們天上的父親賜予的一份純粹出於愛的禮物。像那家主,天主選擇以我們的名字逐一召叫我們,進入祂的天國(葡萄園);展開與祂親密和真正的子女關係,而不是僕人。

Posted: September 20, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿五主日:歡迎天主的慈悲慷慨 吳智勳神父

我們往往喜歡用自己的尺度量度天主,要天主跟從我們的做法。但正如第一篇讀經中天主說:「我的思想不是你們的思想,你們的行徑也不是我的行徑。」今天福音的比喻正好說明這點。

繼續閱讀 >
嫉妒 Fr. Jusin Huang

你們中的一些人可能喜歡「寄生蟲Parasite」這部韓國電影,它去年剛贏得了最佳影片獎。這部電影演得很好,製作也很好,但讓我告訴你為什麼我認為這不是一部好電影:因為它為道德上的邪惡辯護。這部電影的主旨是一個貧窮的家庭過著悲慘的生活,但為了過上更好的物質生活,他們大肆撒謊,導致他們失業和身體傷害,並且偷竊,損壞財產,蓄意謀殺,實際上是殺人。這部電影也對這些輕描淡寫,沒把它們刻畫成錯誤的行為。

繼續閱讀 >