Envy

Twenty-fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 55:6-9

Seek the LORD while he may be found, call him while he is near. Let the scoundrel forsake his way, and the wicked his thoughts; let him turn to the LORD for mercy; to our God, who is generous in forgiving. For my thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways my ways, says the LORD. As high as the heavens are above the earth, so high are my ways above your ways and my thoughts above your thoughts.

Philippians 1:20C-24, 27A

Brothers and sisters: Christ will be magnified in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me life is Christ, and death is gain. If I go on living in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. And I do not know which I shall choose. I am caught between the two. I long to depart this life and be with Christ, for that is far better. Yet that I remain in the flesh is more necessary for your benefit. Only, conduct yourselves in a way worthy of the gospel of Christ.

Matthew 20:1-16A

Jesus told his disciples this parable: "The kingdom of heaven is like a landowner who went out at dawn to hire laborers for his vineyard. After agreeing with them for the usual daily wage, he sent them into his vineyard. Going out about nine o'clock, the landowner saw others standing idle in the marketplace, and he said to them, 'You too go into my vineyard, and I will give you what is just.' So they went off. And he went out again around noon, and around three o'clock, and did likewise. Going out about five o'clock, the landowner found others standing around, and said to them, 'Why do you stand here idle all day?' They answered, 'Because no one has hired us.' He said to them, 'You too go into my vineyard.' When it was evening the owner of the vineyard said to his foreman, 'Summon the laborers and give them their pay, beginning with the last and ending with the first.' When those who had started about five o'clock came, each received the usual daily wage. So when the first came, they thought that they would receive more, but each of them also got the usual wage. And on receiving it they grumbled against the landowner, saying, 'These last ones worked only one hour, and you have made them equal to us, who bore the day's burden and the heat.' He said to one of them in reply, 'My friend, I am not cheating you. Did you not agree with me for the usual daily wage? Take what is yours and go. What if I wish to give this last one the same as you? Or am I not free to do as I wish with my own money? Are you envious because I am generous?' Thus, the last will be first, and the first will be last."

[Listen to Fr. Justin’s homily here.]
https://youtu.be/DGMGmgtSAGw

Some of you might have enjoyed the movie Parasite, a Korean film that won last year’s Academy award for best picture. The film is very well acted and well made, but let me tell you why I think it’s not a good film: It’s because it justifies moral evil. In the film, there is a rich and poor family, and in order to have a better life, the impoverished family gravely lies, causes people to lose their jobs, causes bodily harm, steals, damages property, attempts murder, and kills. The movie does not portray these as wrong actions, but sometimes even makes light of them.

Again, while there are some good things about the film, it desensitizes us and our culture to moral evil, in particular, to the harm of envy.

Let’s go to the Gospel parable, which gives us an insight into God’s generosity and warns us about envy. A landowner hires labourers early in the morning and agrees to pay them the daily wage. Then he goes out at nine o’clock, noon, three and five o’clock and hires more labourers in exchange for the same daily wage. At evening, all the labourers get paid the same wage, and the ones who started early in the morning complain to the landowner, “These last worked only one hour, and you have made them equal to us who have borne the burden of the day and the scorching heat” (Mt 20:12). Their criticism is that he’s being unjust. They worked twelve hours, so they should get twelve times as much as those who worked one hour.

The landowner responds factually, “Friend, I am doing you no wrong; did you not agree with me for the usual daily wage? Take what belongs to you and go; I choose to give to this last the same as I give to you” (Mt 20:13-14). Let’s establish the facts: The landowner is not cheating them nor is he being unjust. The early labourers agreed to what they earned: the fair daily wage.

Because he’s responded to their accusation of unfairness, he then shifts the discussion from fairness to generosity: “Am I not allowed to do what I choose with what belongs to me? [The answer is, ‘Yes.’] Or are you envious because I am generous?”

The landowner didn’t cheat anyone, but chose to be generous with people who didn’t earn it. And he exposes what’s in their heart: They were not cheated, but they’re angry that others got a gift.

Let’s ask a question if we were in the place of the early labourers: Can’t we be happy for people who receive a gift? We got the amount for which we agreed to work, and they received a gift—why can’t we be happy for them?

If they were our brothers and sisters and we loved them, instead of nameless people to whom we have no connection, wouldn’t we be happy that they got a gift?

The parable can really only be understood if we see the landowner as God the Father, who wants to give the daily wage to everyone, even those who come late.

Let’s say there’s a family business, and I, the eldest, work from morning. If I had a good relationship with my father and understood that he wants to give my younger brothers and sisters a chance to work and give them a good wage as a sign of love, even though they didn’t earn it, then I would be happy for them, because I would understand what my father is doing.

Jesus is calling out human envy, which is “the misery, grief, sadness of loss or pain that one feels when another experiences success or prosperity” (Our Sunday Visitor’s Catholic Encyclopedia, ed. Fr. Peter Stravinskas, 358). But if we were to see them as our brothers and sisters and God the Father blessing them, then we’d be happy!.

Let’s go back to the movie Parasite and remember that we’re analyzing the moral message of the film, not its artistic merit. The wealthy family has so much materially. Can’t we be happy for them? It’s never made known in the film that they got their wealth illegally or immorally. For argument’s sake, let’s say the wealthy family is evil. Does that justify the poor family’s envy, resentment, and immoral actions?

It would seem that most people are unaware of the moral message of the film that justifies, or at least, is sympathetic to envy. That’s a serious concern for our culture and our souls. Most people with whom I spoke did not pick up on the justification of envy.

For most of us participating in this Mass today, we have the necessities of life and should never be envious of what other people have.

Please watch this three-minute clip from another film, Cinderella Man, about the true story of a boxer who was very wealthy and then lost everything during the Great Depression. It’s worth noting that his family’s financial condition was far worse than that of the Korean family in Parasite: Cinderella Man shows how the father skips his breakfast so that his children can simply eat. In this clip, we see his son has stolen meat so that they can eat and how his father teaches him that you never steal no matter how little you have (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AzOR_EjFvWs).

There are a few lessons here:

Never be sad or resentful that other people have more than we.

Let me paraphrase the father: There are many people worse off than we, but just because things aren’t easy doesn’t give anyone the excuse to take what’s not theirs—that’s stealing. And we don’t steal. No matter what happens, we don’t steal. Not ever. You got me?

Remember what we said two weeks ago about moral commitments and never lying (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/09/06/warning/). The father in this film is very good because he asks his son’s word to promise never to steal. We should all make the same moral commitment.

Be grateful for who you are and what you have.

Never condone stealing or sympathize with envy.

Most importantly, the father promises never to send his son away. That’s what God the Father promises us: We will always have what we need, not materially, but spiritually.

Today’s parable is really about eternal life: God offers eternal life to everyone, even those who show up late—that’s we. The Jewish people were those who labored in the Lord’s vineyard since the early morning, and they bore the heat of the day. They shouldn’t be envious that we’re offered the same gift.

God wants us to be spiritually rich, and that means to be a person of love, and love is the perfection of morality. And He gives us everything we need to be so. The poor Korean family was not only materially poor, but worse than that, they were spiritually poor. The boxer’s family were always spiritually rich because they had moral integrity.

Don’t be envious. Be grateful and happy that God our Father is generous to our brothers and sisters.

Source: The JustMeasure : Envy

Posted: September 20, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Solemnity of All Saints
Experiencing the Mystical Body of Christ
The doors of the Church that I knocked on 43 years ago are opening up to an abyss of mysteries far deeper than any human mind can fathom! Continue Reading >
Solemnity of All Saints
Religious Life and Social Life Become One in Love
Love is what brings our religious life (love of God) and social life (love of neighbor) into unity. Continue Reading >
Solemnity of All Saints
“Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21)
May our earthly commitments be guided by a beacon of light from the divine Continue Reading >

嫉妒

常年期第二十五主日

依撒意亞先知書 55:6-9

趁可找到上主的時候,你們應尋找他;趁上主還在近處的時候,你們應呼求他。罪人應離開自己的行徑,惡人該拋棄自己的思念,來歸附上主,好讓上主憐憫他。請來歸附我們的天主吧!因為他是富於仁慈的。因為我的思念,不是你們的思念,你們的行徑,也不是我的行徑:上主的斷語。就如天離地有多高,我的行徑離你們的行徑,我的思念離你們的思念,也有多高。

斐理伯書 1:20-24, 27

弟兄姊妹們: 我或生或死,總要叫基督,在我身上受頌揚。因為在我看來,生活原是基督,死亡乃是利益。但如果我生活在肉身內,還能獲得工作的效果,那麼,我自己也不知道,要選擇那一樣了。我正夾在兩者之間。我渴望解脫,為與基督在一起;這實在是再好沒有了。但是,我存留在肉身內,卻對你們十分重要。你們生活度日,應合乎基督的福音。

瑪竇福音 20:1-16

那時候,耶穌給門徒講了這個比喻,說:「天國好像一個家主,清晨出去,為自己的葡萄園僱用工人。他與工人議定:一天一個『德納』,就派他們到葡萄園去。「約在第三時辰,家主又出去,看見還有些人在街市閒立著,就對他們說:你們也到我的葡萄園去吧!凡照公義,該給的,我必給你們。他們就去了。「約在第六和第九時辰,家主又出去,也照樣做了。「約在第十一時辰,家主又出去,看見還有些人站在那裡,就對他們說:為什麼你們站在這裡,整天無所事事?他們對家主說:因為沒有人僱用我們。家主對他們說:你們也到我的葡萄園去吧!「到了晚上,葡萄園的主人,對他的管工說:你叫工人來,發給他們工資,由最後的開始,直到最先的。「那些約在第十一時辰來的人,每人領了一個『德納』。那些最先僱用的,心想自己必會多得,但是,他們也只領得一個『德納』。「他們一領了,就抱怨家主,說:這些最後僱用的人,不過工作了一個時辰,而你竟然把他們,與我們整天受苦受熱的,同等看待。家主答覆其中一個說:朋友!我並沒有虧待你,你不是和我議定了一個『德納』嗎?拿你的,走吧!我願意給最後來的,和給你的一樣。難道不許我,拿我的財物,做我所願意的事嗎?或是因為我好,你就眼紅嗎?「這樣,最後的,將成為最先的;最先的,將會成為最後的。」

(本篇譯稿略經修輯,特為黃謙善神父主日講道即埸傳譯之用,所有引用語出處省掉,若有內容不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。出處省掉,若有內容不一致的情況,一概以 http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/09/20/envy/”>英文原稿 為準。)

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]
https://youtu.be/DGMGmgtSAGw

你們中的一些人可能喜歡「寄生蟲Parasite」這部韓國電影,它去年剛贏得了最佳影片獎。這部電影演得很好,製作也很好,但讓我告訴你為什麼我認為這不是一部好電影:因為它為道德上的邪惡辯護。這部電影的主旨是一個貧窮的家庭過著悲慘的生活,但為了過上更好的物質生活,他們大肆撒謊,導致他們失業和身體傷害,並且偷竊,損壞財產,蓄意謀殺,實際上是殺人。這部電影也對這些輕描淡寫,沒把它們刻畫成錯誤的行為。

還有,雖然這部電影有一些好的地方,但它讓我們和我們的文化對道德上的邪惡,特別是嫉妒造成的傷害變得不敏感。

讓我們來看看福音寓言,它讓我們深入了解到上帝的慷慨,讓我們警惕嫉妒。地主一大早僱傭的工人,協議按日支付工資。然後,他在九點、中午、三點和五點出門,僱傭了更多的工人,他們得到同樣的日工資。到了晚上,所有的勞動者都拿到了相同的工資,那些清早開始工作的人向地主抱怨說:「這些最後僱的人,不過工作了一個時辰,而你竟把他們與我們這整天受苦受熱的,同等看待。」 (瑪20:12) 他們批評地主不公正。他們工作12個小時,所以他們的工資應該是那些工作1小時的人的12倍。地主實事求是地回答說:「他答覆其中的一個說:朋友! 我並沒有虧負你,你不是和我議定了一個『德納』嗎?拿你的走吧! 我願意給這最後來的和給你的一樣。」 (瑪20:13-14) 讓我們確定事實:地主既沒有欺騙他們,也沒有不公正。清早開始工作的人同意拿到他們正常的每天工資。

因為他回應了他們關於不公平的指控,所以他將討論從公平轉向慷慨:「難道我不能用屬於我的東西做我選擇的事情嗎?答案是「是的。」。還是「因為我慷慨大方,你就羨慕我?。」

這位地主沒有欺騙任何人,但選擇對那些沒有掙到錢的人慷慨解囊。他揭露了他們的內心:他們沒有被欺騙,但他們對別人得到禮物感到憤怒。

讓我們問一個問題,如果我們那些清早開始工作的人,我們就不能為收到禮物的人感到高興嗎?我們拿到了我們工資,他們也收到了禮物–為什麼我們不能為他們高興呢?

如果他們是我們的兄弟姐妹,我們愛他們,而不是與我們毫無聯繫的陌生人,我們不會為他們得到禮物而感到高興嗎?

只有當我們把地主看作天主聖父時,這個比喻才能真正被理解; 即使他們遲到了, 祂也想給每個人整天的工資,。

假設有一家家族企業,我是老大,從早上開始工作。如果我和父親的關係很好,並理解他想給我的弟弟妹妹一個工作的機會,給他們一份好的工資作為愛的表示,即使他們不應該掙到工資,我也會為他們感到高興,因為我會理解我父親在做什麼。

耶穌顯然在呼喚人類的嫉妒,它的定義是「當其他人經歷成功或繁榮時,人們感受到的痛苦、哀傷、損失或痛苦的悲傷。(Our Sunday Visitor’s Catholic Encyclopedia, ed. Fr. Peter Stravinskas, 358) 但是,如果我們把他們看作是我們的兄弟姐妹,聖父祝福他們,那麼我們就會很幸高興!

讓我們回到電影「寄生蟲」,記住,在這種情況下,我們分析的是這部電影的道德信息,而不是它的藝術價值。這個富裕的家庭擁有如此多的物質財富。我們就不能為他們高興嗎?在這部電影中,無從得知他們是否非法或不道德地獲得財富的。

為了便於辯論,比如說那富裕的家族是邪惡的。難道就證明這個貧窮家庭的嫉妒、怨恨和不道德行為是正當了嗎?

似乎大多數人都沒有意識到這部電影所傳達的道德信息,它證明了嫉妒是正當的,或者至少是同情嫉妒的。這對我們的文化和我們的靈魂來說是一個嚴重的問題。與我交談過的大多數人對這種嫉妒並不敏感。

對於我們今天參與彌撒的大多數人來說,我們擁有生活必需品,永遠不應該嫉妒別人擁有的東西。

請看另一部電影「灰男人Cinderella Man」中三分鐘的片段,它講述了一個拳擊手的真實故事,他非常富有,然後在大蕭條期間失去了一切。值得注意的是,他的家庭的經濟狀況在遠遠比「寄生蟲」片中的韓國家庭差得多:灰男人展示了這位父親是如何節省了早餐,這樣他的孩子就可以有東西吃。在這段視頻中,我們看到他的兒子偷了肉讓他們吃,以及他的父親是如何教導他,無論你擁有的再少,也永遠不要偷竊。 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AzOR_EjFvWs)

這裡有幾個教訓:

永遠不要因為別人比我們擁有更多而感到悲傷或怨恨。

讓我來解釋一下這位父親的話:有很多人的情況比我們更糟糕,但任何人不能用因為事情不容易作為藉口去拿走不屬於他們的東西–這就是偷竊。而且我們不偷東西。不管發生什麼事,我們都不偷。永遠不會。明白了麼?。

還記得我們兩週前說過的關於道德承諾和永不撒謊的話嗎?(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/09/06/warning/) 這部電影中的父親非常好,因為他要求兒子承諾永遠不偷東西。我們也應該做同樣的道德承諾。

為現在的你感恩,感激你所擁有的。

我們永遠不應該寬恕偷竊,也不應該同情嫉妒。我們應該為人們有福氣而感到高興。

最重要的是,請注意這位父親:他承諾永遠不會把他的兒子送走。這就是天父對我們的應許:我們將永遠擁有我們所需要的,不是物質上的,而是靈性上的。

今天的寓比喻實際上是關於永生的:天主將永生賜給每個人,即使是那些遲到的人—–其實就是我們。猶太人就是那些從清早就在主的葡萄園裡勞作的人,他們忍受著白天的炎熱。外邦人是誰?就是我們。我們來晚了,但天主仍賜給我們永生。他們不應該嫉妒我們得到同樣的禮物。

天主要我們在靈性上富足。這意味著做一個有愛心的人,而愛是道德的完美。把我們所需要的一切都給了我們。這個貧窮的韓國家庭不僅物質上貧窮,更糟糕的是,他們靈性上也很貧窮。這位拳擊手的家人,靈性上很富有, 因為他們高尚的道德。 。

不要嫉妒。要感謝天主聖父對我們兄弟姊妹的慷慨。

Posted: September 20, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

「因為我好,你就眼紅嗎?」(瑪 20:15) Susanna Mak

讓我們從自己的假設中解放出來,走出憑眼中所見而領悟的有限現實,好能從心中看到天主的整個大局。

繼續閱讀 >
甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿五主日:歡迎天主的慈悲慷慨 吳智勳神父

我們往往喜歡用自己的尺度量度天主,要天主跟從我們的做法。但正如第一篇讀經中天主說:「我的思想不是你們的思想,你們的行徑也不是我的行徑。」今天福音的比喻正好說明這點。

繼續閱讀 >