Caught with Our Foot in Our Mouth

Eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sirach 27:4-7

When a sieve is shaken, the husks appear; so do one's faults when one speaks. As the test of what the potter molds is in the furnace, so in tribulation is the test of the just. The fruit of a tree shows the care it has had; so too does one's speech disclose the bent of one's mind. Praise no one before he speaks, for it is then that people are tested.

1 Corinthians 15:54-58

Brothers and sisters: When this which is corruptible clothes itself with incorruptibility and this which is mortal clothes itself with immortality, then the word that is written shall come about: Death is swallowed up in victory. Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting? The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brothers and sisters, be firm, steadfast, always fully devoted to the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.

Luke 6:39-45

Jesus told his disciples a parable, "Can a blind person guide a blind person? Will not both fall into a pit? No disciple is superior to the teacher; but when fully trained, every disciple will be like his teacher. Why do you notice the splinter in your brother's eye, but do not perceive the wooden beam in your own? How can you say to your brother, 'Brother, let me remove that splinter in your eye,' when you do not even notice the wooden beam in your own eye? You hypocrite! Remove the wooden beam from your eye first; then you will see clearly to remove the splinter in your brother's eye. "A good tree does not bear rotten fruit, nor does a rotten tree bear good fruit. For every tree is known by its own fruit. For people do not pick figs from thornbushes, nor do they gather grapes from brambles. A good person out of the store of goodness in his heart produces good, but an evil person out of a store of evil produces evil; for from the fullness of the heart the mouth speaks."

Martin Luther King Jr., one of the most iconic figures during the Civil Rights Movement in North America, spoke passionately and with authority about human dignity and against the ideologies that allowed certain groups to subjugate others based on race. His words are so powerful that even over half a century later, his “I have a Dream” speech still resonates in the here and now where injustice and inequity are rampant, and many continue to live in fear and isolation, particularly under the oppression of systemic discrimination. Indeed, words are a powerful tool. Dr. King’s words have penetrated the hearts of many, and throughout generations, continue to challenge “anyone with ears” to exchange fear and hatred for trust and love; subjugation and segregation for freedom; and division for communion (Mt 13:9). Contrary, Hitler’s words which are equally powerful, albeit in a destructive way, have literally obliterated millions during the Second World War. Our words, depending on how we use them, can either build up or tear down.

This Sunday’s readings remind us that the power of words can restore or destroy, save or kill. Sirach cautions readers to be mindful of their words before speaking. We definitely would not want to be caught with our foot in our mouth! Saying inappropriate things is indeed embarrassing, however, these words may also hurt in ways beyond our intentions. Further, Sirach explains that when we speak, our “faults” will also appear like “refuse” shaken from a sieve (ref. Sirach 27:4). Our “speech”, like fruits from a tree, “discloses the cultivation of the mind” (Sirach 27:6). If we feed our heart and mind with treachery and lies, the fruits produced will be bitter and poisonous. For instance, when we mistaken being critical for critical thinking, we tend to “see the speck in [our] neighbour’s eye” rather than noticing the “log” in our own eye (Lk 6:41). Jesus warns us of our hypocrisy when we can only see others’ fault but are blind to our own.

Further, in this week’s second reading, Paul juxtaposes the written law that is the “power of sin” bringing only death, with Jesus’ victory over death that brings “imperishability” and “immortality” (1Cor 15:56,54). Paul encourages us to be “steadfast, immovable, always excelling in the work of the Lord”, not because of the letter of the law but in good faith and out of a genuine love for God (1Cor 15:58).

Inevitably, good words come from a good heart “for it is out of the abundance of the heart that the mouth speaks” (Lk 6:45). When we allow God to nurture our heart with the One true Word – the Word made flesh, Christ our Lord – we will be able to produce an abun-dance of good fruits that reflect God’s glory. Indeed, words sprung from such loving soil give life and build up. “Figs are not gathered from thorns, nor are grapes picked from a bramble bush” (Lk 6:44).

Posted: March 3, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

What our eyes cannot see, our heart perceives and understands
The Spirit in us; the same Spirit promised by Jesus and given to us through the sacrament of confirmation, sharpens all our senses, and most importantly our heart, to “taste… Continue Reading >
Fullness of Life in Community
I wish all of you had a group of Christian friends who could encourage, challenge and pray with you, meeting weekly online or in a park. I wish that everyone… Continue Reading >
Jesus said, “You are witnesses of these things.” (Lk 24:48)
“That the Christ is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day.” (Lk 24:46) Continue Reading >

說不恰當的話

常年期第八主日

德訓篇 27:5-8

篩篩子,總留下一些渣滓;人的言談,也總有一些不乾不淨。爐火試煉陶匠的陶器;言談試驗人的人格。一棵樹的栽培,可由它所結的果實看出來;同樣,一個人的心意,也可從他思想後,所說的話看出來。一個人沒有發言以前,不要讚美他,因為人的好壞,從言談中,才可見到。

格林多前書 15:54-58

弟兄姊妹們:幾時這可朽壞的,穿上了不可朽壞的;這可死的,穿上了不可死的,那時,就要應驗經上所記載的:「在勝利中,死亡被吞滅了。」「死亡!你的勝利在那裡?死亡!你的刺在那裡?」死亡的刺,就是罪過;罪過的權勢,就是法律。感謝天主,他賜給了我們,因我們的主耶穌基督,所獲得的勝利。所以,我親愛的弟兄,你們要堅定不移,在主的工程上,該時常發奮勉力,因為你們知道,你們的勤勞,在主內決不會落空。

路加福音 6:39-45

那時候,耶穌對門徒講了這個比喻:「瞎子豈能給瞎子帶路?不是兩人都跌在坑裡嗎?「沒有徒弟勝過師父;凡受過完備教育的,僅相似自己的師父而已。「怎麼,你看見你兄弟眼中的木屑,而不理會你眼中的大樑呢?你怎能對你的兄弟說:兄弟,讓我取出你眼中的木屑吧!而你竟看不見自己眼中的大樑呢?假善人啊!先取出你眼中的大樑,然後才看得清楚,以便取出你兄弟眼中的木屑。「沒有好樹結壞果子的,也沒有壞樹結好果子的。每一棵樹的好壞,憑它的果子,就可認出來。人從荊棘上,收不到無花果;從蒺藤上,也摘不到葡萄。善人從自己心中的善庫,發出善來;惡人從惡庫中,發出惡來;因為心裡充滿什麼,口裡就說什麼。」

馬丁•路德•金(Martin Luther King Jr. )是北美洲民權運動中最具代表性的人物之一,他對人類尊嚴,以及反對某些團體允許以種族為由而征服他人的思想的講話充滿熱忱和權威。他的言辭如此有力,甚至在超過半個世紀之後的今時今日,他的演說「我有一個夢想」,在有不公義和不公平的地方,仍然引起極大的共鳴。在這些地方,人繼續生活在恐懼和孤立中,尤其是在系統性歧視的壓迫中。的確,言語是一個強而有力的工具。金博士的話已經深入人心,一代一代繼續挑戰「有耳的」人,將恐懼和仇恨轉化成信任和愛,奴役和孤立換成自由; 分裂變成共融(瑪 13:9)。相反,希特拉的言辭同樣有力,卻具有極大的破壞性,在第二次世界大戰期間毀滅了數百萬人。我們的說話能建設亦能破壞,取決於我們如何去使用。

本主日的讀經提醒我們,言語的力量可以修復或破壞,拯救或殺害。《德訓篇》提醒讀者在講話之前要三思。我們絕對不想說不恰當的話!說不恰當的話確實尷尬,更可能無意中傷害別人。此外,《德訓篇》解釋,當我們說話時,我們的「不乾不淨」也會像篩篩子時留下的「渣滓」(參見 德訓篇 27:4)。(Translation team’s notes: 篩蒒子, 留下 from Chinese Sunday missal, RT checked that both are 篩)如樹上的果實,我們「的心意,也可從【我們】思想後所說的話看出來」(德訓篇 27:6)。如果我們以背逆和謊言來餵養自己的心靈,那麼所結的果實就會苦澀有毒。例如,當我們誤以吹毛求疵的批評為批判性思考時,我們便傾向只「看見兄弟眼中的木屑」,卻看不見自己眼中的「大樑」(路 6:41)。耶穌警告我們,當我們只能看到別人的錯,但卻對自己的錯誤視而不見,我們便是偽善。

此外,在本週的讀經二中,保祿將律法,只會帶來死亡的「罪過的權勢」,並列於耶穌戰勝死亡,帶來「不可朽壞的」和「不可死的」(格前15:56, 54)。保祿鼓勵我們「堅定不移,在主的工程上,該時常發憤勉力」,不是因為律法中的文字,而是出於對天主的信心和真誠的愛(格前 15:58)。

無可否認,好的說話來自一顆善良的心,「因為心裡充滿什麼,口裡就說什麼」(路 6:45)。當我們讓天主以唯一的真理聖言─聖言成為血肉,我們的主基督─來孕育我們的心靈,我們便可以產生豐盛的好果子,反映天主的榮耀。實際上,從愛的土壤中培養的說話會帶來豐盛的生命,並繼續增長。「人從荊棘上,收不到無花果,從茨藤上,也摘不到葡萄」(路 6:44)。

Posted: March 3, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加)常年期第八主日:弱點 吳智勳神父

今日福音的三個比喻,可能是耶穌在不同時間講的,路加把它們收在一起,作為耶穌對門徒有連貫性的教訓;但也有可能是耶穌的一種教學法,不用長篇大論,而用一連串精簡比喻,吸引聽眾的注意力。

繼續閱讀 >