Experiencing the Mystical Body of Christ

Solemnity of All Saints

Revelation 7:2-4, 9-14

I, John, saw another angel come up from the East, holding the seal of the living God. He cried out in a loud voice to the four angels who were given power to damage the land and the sea,“Do not damage the land or the sea or the trees until we put the seal on the foreheads of the servants of our God.”I heard the number of those who had been marked with the seal, one hundred and forty-four thousand marked from every tribe of the children of Israel. After this I had a vision of a great multitude, which no one could count, from every nation, race, people, and tongue. They stood before the throne and before the Lamb, wearing white robes and holding palm branches in their hands. They cried out in a loud voice: “Salvation comes from our God, who is seated on the throne, and from the Lamb.”All the angels stood around the throne and around the elders and the four living creatures. They prostrated themselves before the throne, worshiped God, and exclaimed: “Amen. Blessing and glory, wisdom and thanksgiving, honor, power, and might be to our God forever and ever. Amen." Then one of the elders spoke up and said to me,“Who are these wearing white robes, and where did they come from?”I said to him,“My lord, you are the one who knows.”He said to me, These are the ones who have survived the time of great distress; they have washed their robes and made them white in the Blood of the Lamb.”

1 John 3:1-3

Beloved: See what love the Father has bestowed on us that we may be called the children of God. Yet so we are. The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Beloved, we are God’s children now; what we shall be has not yet been revealed. We do know that when it is revealed we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. Everyone who has this hope based on him makes himself pure, as he is pure.

Matthew 5:1-12A

When Jesus saw the crowds, he went up the mountain, and after he had sat down, his disciples came to him. He began to teach them, saying:“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of heaven. Blessed are they who mourn, for they will be comforted. Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the land. Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be satisfied. Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. Blessed are the clean of heart, for they will see God. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God. Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the Kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when they insult you and persecute you and utter every kind of evil against you falsely because of me. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven.”

It’s hard to believe, but it’s been 43 years since I was baptized and received into the Catholic Church! In my 3rd year as a university student, I had completed enough courses required by my Accounting major to allow me to test my feet in the deep waters of Philosophy, which was never as clear-cut as the debits and credits of accounting journal entries. For whatever reason, the gods of Philosophy had always occupied the upper echelons of my youthful heart and captured my imagination of intellectual excellence. As soon as my accounting business was more or less dealt with, I couldn’t wait to take a few courses in Philosophy and dive right into the ancient world of the Greek philosophers and medieval thinkers.

The connection shared by many of these early thinkers to the Judeo-Christian culture soon took me further back in history to one man who somehow seemed to me, a beginner learning to polish his tools of rational thinking, to be both the beginning and the end of all philosophical explorations – a Jewish sage named Jesus Christ. Looking back, it was no coincidence that I would join the Chinese Catholic Community on campus and, through them, the RCIA of the Assumption campus community. The Philosophy courses simply were insufficient to quench my thirst to learn more about this man. On this Feast day of All Saints, as I reflect on the Mass readings, I can see how the journey that first began when it took me to the doorsteps of the Catholic Church 43 years ago has given me much more than what I was bargaining for.

The man who had aroused so much interest in me turned out to be more than just a man, he is both human and divine! He is the Word of God, “the Alpha and the Omega” that all wisdoms of this world come from and must return to, including the wisdom of every single philosopher that I’ve studied (Jn 1:1, Rev 21:6)! He came so that the world “might have life and have it more abundantly” (Jn 10:10). “See what love the Father has bestowed on us that we may be called the children of God. Yet so we are”, John marvels in the 2nd reading (1 Jn 3:1).

The doors of the Church that I knocked on 43 years ago, looking for answers to my quest for the true meaning of life, are opening up to an abyss of mysteries far deeper than any human mind can fathom! As I walk inside and look around with reverence and awe, I find myself standing on holy ground. I can relate to how Moses must have felt when he stood on Mt. Horeb in front of the burning bush (cf. Ex 3:1-5). When I look further, I realize I’m not alone. I see, as John does in this Sunday’s first reading, “a vision of a great multitude” – hundreds of thousands of people “from every nation, race, people, and tongue”, wearing white robes made “white in the Blood of the Lamb” (Rev 7:9, 14). These are the martyrs of the universal Church! They are chanting, “Glory and holiness and praise!” together with the angels, who are countless in number.

Tiptoeing further along with my heart in my throat, I see many renowned figures that I’ve come to know through the writings of the Church Fathers. There’s St. Irenaeus of Lyons, waving at me and holding a book in his hand – his famous apologetic work, Against Heresies, in which he defends the Christian faith against heretical doctrines and traditions. Over there, on the other side of this heavenly place, stands St. Justin Martyr, wearing a bright and cheerful smile in spite of his horrific death. How can we thank him enough for testifying bravely to the Roman emperor of his days on how the Church worshiped (cf. CCC 1345)? And who is this medieval scholar who looks a little overweight? O, my Lord! Could this be St. Thomas Aquinas? He’s still working on Summa Theologica, the uncompleted work he left behind when he died in 1274. This is a little overwhelming! Where am I? Why am I in the midst of all these martyrs and saints?

Like all children of God, the Mystical Body of Christ is my true dwelling place day in and day out. We receive spiritual nourishments and graces lavishly and unceasingly from the Head of the Body – Christ himself (cf. Eph 5:23). We are drawn closer to Christ in the unity of this holy communion by the intercessory prayers of the saints (CCC 956-7). As a resident in Canada, we must observe the law of the country. Similarly, to be worthy of the privilege of the children of God, we must follow Jesus’ teaching. The Beatitudes in this Sunday’s gospel are in many ways “the new Torah brought by Jesus” that requires our close adherence (Jesus of Nazareth I, p.68). I will certainly do my best to follow his teaching and make sure I remain in his Mystical Body. Hopefully in my next Mystical Body experience, I’d be able to bump upon St. Augustine! Oh, I wouldn’t mind seeing St. John Paul II too!

Posted: November 1, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

What is your call to Nineveh?
What is God calling you to do? What is the task that God has given to you? What is your call to Nineveh? That is the only question really worth… Continue Reading >
“Come and see” (John 1:39)
“Here I am Lord; I come to do your will” (Psalm 40) Continue Reading >
The Baptism of the Lord
With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility
The Holy Spirit empowers us to let our inner “superhero” out and be the person whom God has called. Continue Reading >

在基督奧體內的奇妙經歷

諸聖節

默示錄 7:2-4, 9-14

我,若望,看見了另一位天使,從太陽東升之處上來,拿著永生天主的印,大聲向那獲得授權,能傷害大地和海洋的四位天使呼喊,說:「你們不可傷害大地、海洋和樹木,等我們在我們天主的眾僕人額上,先蓋上印。」以後,我聽見蓋了印的數目:在以色列子孫各支派中,蓋了印的,共有十四萬四千。在這些事以後,我看見有一大夥群眾,沒有人能夠數清,是來自各邦國、各支派、各民族、各異語的;他們都站在寶座和羔羊面前,身穿白衣,手持棕櫚枝,大聲呼喊說:「救恩來自那坐在寶座上的、我們的天主,並來自羔羊!」於是,所有站在寶座、長老和那四個活物周圍的天使,在寶座前,俯伏於地,朝拜天主,說:「阿們。願讚頌、光榮、智慧、稱謝、尊威、權能和勇毅,全歸於我們的天主,至於無窮之世。阿們。」長老之中,有一位問我說:「這些穿白衣的人是誰?他們是從那裡來的?」我回答他說:「我主,你知道。」於是,他告訴我說:「這些人是由大災難中來的;他們曾在羔羊的血中,洗淨了自己的衣裳,使衣裳雪白。」

聖若望一書 3:1-3

親愛的諸位:請看:父賜給我們何等的愛情,使我們得稱為天主的子女,而且我們也真是如此。世界所以不認識我們,是因為不認識父。可愛的諸位,現在我們是天主的子女,但我們將來如何,還沒有顯明;可是,我們知道:一顯明了,我們必要相似天主,因為我們要看見他實在怎樣。所以,凡對天主懷著這希望的,必聖潔自己,就如那一位是聖潔的一樣。

聖瑪竇福音 5:1-12

那時候,耶穌一見群眾,就上了山,坐下;他的門徒來到他面前,他於是開口教訓他們說:「神貧的人是有福的,因為天國是他們的。哀慟的人是有福的,因為他們要受安慰。溫良的人是有福的,因為他們要承受土地。飢渴慕義的人是有福的,因為他們要得飽飫。憐憫人的人是有福的,因為他們要受憐憫。心裡潔淨的人是有福的,因為他們要看見天主。締造和平的人是有福的,因為他們要稱為天主的子女。為義而受迫害的人是有福的,因為天國是他們的。幾時人為了我而辱罵迫害你們,捏造一切壞話毀謗你們,你們是有福的。你們歡喜踴躍吧!因為你們在天上的賞報是豐厚的。」

說來有點難以置信,但我領洗加入天主教會已經 43年了!大學第三年時,我完成了主修會計學的必修科目後,便嘗試在深不可測的哲學領域裡探索一下;雖然哲學並不像會計帳目的收支記錄般清楚明確,分毫不差。不知何故,在我的青葱歲月裡,哲學界的眾神很早便高踞在我年輕的心靈深處。在我想像中,他們是卓越優秀的知識分子和學者。當我的會計課程差不多修完的時候,我立刻選修了幾個哲學科目,急不及待地進入了希臘哲學家和中世紀思想家的遠古世界中。

猶太基督文化與早期思想家的連結和關係,迅速把我帶到歷史上更早期的一位人物。對我這個在理性思維上初出茅廬的初學者來說,他好像是所有哲學探討的開始和終結一般 — 這位猶太裔智者,名叫耶穌基督。回想起來,我參加校園裏的《中國天主同學會》,和通過這團體而參加《聖母升天大學校園事奉團體》的成人慕道班,並不是巧合。哲學課程並不能滿足我要多點了解耶穌這個人的渴望。在這諸聖節,當我為彌撒讀經作一點反思時,我清楚看到 ,這個43 年前展開,把我帶到天主教教會門前的旅程,所帶給我的要比我想像中的的更多。

那位引起我極大興趣的人物,原來不單是人,祂同時擁有人性和天主性!祂是天主的聖言,是「『阿耳法』和『敖默加』,元始和終末」,世上所有智慧都來自祂,也要歸向於祂,包括我所曾研讀過的每一位哲學家的智慧(若 1:1, 默 21:6)!祂來到世上,「為叫他們獲得生命,且獲得更豐富的生命 」(若 10:10)。若望在 《讀經二》驚嘆道,「請看父賜給我們何等的愛情,使我們得稱為天主的子女,而且我們也真是如此」 (若一 3:1)。

43 年前我敲了教會的門,為生命的真正意義尋求答案,這門開啟後出現在眼前的,是個奧秘的深淵,其深度遠遠超越任何人類思維所能達的界限!當我步入這奥境,並以虔誠和敬畏的心四處觀望時,我發現自己站在聖地上。我可以明白梅瑟站在曷勒布山上,在被火燃燒的荊棘叢前面的心情(參閱出 3:1-5)。我再望過去,發覺原來自己不是獨自一人。我看到的,是如若望在本主日《讀經一》所看到的「看見有一大夥群眾」— 成千上萬的人「來自各邦國、各支派、各民族、各異語的」,身穿「曾在羔羊的血中洗淨了⋯使【之】雪白」的白衣(默 7:9, 14)。他們是公教會的殉道者!他們與多不勝數的眾天使一起頌唸「光榮、至聖和讚頌」。

我心如鹿撞,用腳尖輕輕往前走,看見很多我在教父著作裏認識的著名人物。聖依勒內主教手持書本向我招手—他著名的護教著作《反駁異端邪說》。在書裏,他維護基督徒的信仰並有力地駁斥異端邪說的教導和傳統。在這天堂一樣的地方的另一邊,站着殉道者聖猶思定,他的死亡雖然可怕,但卻面帶燦爛愉快的微笑。我們要怎樣多謝他才足夠呢?他曾勇敢地向當時的羅馬君王見證教會如何欽崇天主(參閱 天主教教理 1345)。而這個似乎有少少超重的中世紀學者是誰呢?我的天!他可是聖多瑪斯.阿奎納?他還在寫《神學大全》( Summa Theologica )—那部在他1274年離世時遺下的未完成之作。這實在有點令人難以接受!我在哪裏?為什麼我會在雲雲殉道者和聖人當中?

像天主所有的子女,基督的妙身是我日常的真正居所。在這裏,我們不斷得到從妙身的頭 — 基督自己 — 而來的豐富的靈性滋養和恩寵(參 弗 5:23)。在這神聖的聯繫和共融內,諸聖的代禱使我們日益接近基督(天主教教理 956-7)。作為加拿大居民,我們一定要遵守本國法律。同樣地,讓自己堪當享有天主子女的特權,我們要跟隨耶穌的教導。從很多方面看,本主日福音的真福八端可以稱為「耶穌帶來的新梅瑟律法」,我們必須緊緊遵守 (Jesus of Nazareth I, p.68)。我一定盡我所能,做到最好,跟隨他的教導,讓我可以留在祂的奧體內。希望在下一個基督奧體的經歷中,我會遇上聖奧斯定!啊,我不介意也看到聖若望保祿二世!

Posted: November 1, 2020

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

牧羊人與君王
耶穌不是普通的君王。猶如舊約中祂的預象 — 達味 — 祂是牧... 繼續閱讀 >
甲年(瑪竇) 常年期基督普世君王節:愛的考驗
禮儀年以耶穌將臨開始,以基督君王結束,象徵基督是元始,亦是終... 繼續閱讀 >
是富者越富, 貧者越貧嗎?
在天主永福的國度裏,不會有資源的短缺,亦不會有不公平的對待。 繼續閱讀 >