God Speaks Only One Word in the Whole Bible

Seventeenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

2 KINGS 4:42-44

A man came from Baal-shalishah bringing to Elisha, the man of God, twenty barley loaves made from the firstfruits, and fresh grain in the ear. Elisha said, “Give it to the people to eat.” But his servant objected, “How can I set this before a hundred people?” Elisha insisted, “Give it to the people to eat.” “For thus says the LORD, ‘They shall eat and there shall be some left over.’” And when they had eaten, there was some left over, as the LORD had said.

EPHESIANS 4:1-6

Brothers and sisters: I, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to live in a manner worthy of the call you have received, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another through love, striving to preserve the unity of the spirit through the bond of peace: one body and one Spirit, as you were also called to the one hope of your call; one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.

JOHN 6:1-15

Jesus went across the Sea of Galilee. A large crowd followed him, because they saw the signs he was performing on the sick. Jesus went up on the mountain, and there he sat down with his disciples. The Jewish feast of Passover was near. When Jesus raised his eyes and saw that a large crowd was coming to him, he said to Philip, “Where can we buy enough food for them to eat?” He said this to test him, because he himself knew what he was going to do. Philip answered him, “Two hundred days’ wages worth of food would not be enough for each of them to have a little.” One of his disciples, Andrew, the brother of Simon Peter, said to him, “There is a boy here who has five barley loaves and two fish; but what good are these for so many?” Jesus said, “Have the people recline.” Now there was a great deal of grass in that place. So the men reclined, about five thousand in number. Then Jesus took the loaves, gave thanks, and distributed them to those who were reclining, and also as much of the fish as they wanted. When they had had their fill, he said to his disciples, “Gather the fragments left over, so that nothing will be wasted.” So they collected them, and filled twelve wicker baskets with fragments from the five barley loaves that had been more than they could eat. When the people saw the sign he had done, they said, “This is truly the Prophet, the one who is to come into the world.” Since Jesus knew that they were going to come and carry him off to make him king, he withdrew again to the mountain alone.

Through all the words of Sacred Scripture, God speaks only one single Word”, and that Word is Jesus (CCC 102). The Church Fathers also taught that “one and the same Word of God extends throughout Scripture, that it is one and the same Utterance that resounds in the mouths of all the sacred writers” (St. Augustine, En. In Ps 103, 4, 1:PL, 1378). Personally, I like Pope Benedict XVI’s eloquent expression of this concept. He considers the Sacred Scripture, which is inspired by the Holy Spirit and written by many different sacred writers, “a symphony of the word, a single word expressed in multiple ways: a polyphonic hymn” (Verbum Domini 7). Jesus himself says just as much in his encounter with the two disciples on their way to Emmaus. He interprets to them what “all the scriptures” say about him, “beginning with Moses and all the prophets” (Lk 24:27).

The Church has always read the Scripture on the understanding that the whole book is about Christ and points us to him. If something in the Scripture, especially in the Old Testament books, reminds us of Christ or bears resemblance to something he does or teaches in the Gospel, don’t see it as just an isolated “coincidence”. The resemblance or connection is often the Divine Author’s extraordinary literary expression, an integral part of His awe-inspiring narrative, meant to enlighten our mind, edify our faith, and draw us deeper into God’s unfathomable love and mystery. More importantly, their relationship is often sequential, one leading to the other, anticipating and heralding the final and definitive act in Christ. When the long-anticipated Christ event finally arrives, it often catches us completely by surprise: while the resemblance to the harbinger OT event is there, it comes with a theological significance and finality no scriptural readers could have expected.

A good case in point is this Sunday’s readings. Both Prophet Elisha and Jesus are the architect of an incredible miracle. Elisha orders his servant to use “twenty barely loaves made from the first fruits, and fresh grain in the ear” to feed a hundred men (2 Kgs 4:42). When the servant objects because Elisha’s order seems so impossible, Elisha doubles down and promises that “They shall eat and there shall be some left over” (v. 43). The miracle happens just as Elisha has promised. In the gospel reading, Jesus orders his disciples to feed 5,000 men, which Philip considers as a mission impossible. “Two hundred days’ wages worth of food would not be enough for each of them to have a little”, he protests (Jn 6:7). But the mission, seemingly impossible for Philip, is miraculously completed by Jesus using “five barley loaves and two fish”. When all said and done, everyone is full and leftover fragments collected are enough to fill twelve wicker baskets (Jn 6:9-13).

While both miracles are impressive and look similar, Jesus’ story is one that emerges from a Passover background. Central to the Feast of Passover, as we know well, is food consumption – the eating of the Passover lamb and unleavened bread (Ex 12:1-20). In ancient Jewish tradition, sharing meal is more than just a basic biological need driven by human appetite; it symbolizes unity and communion among the partakers of the meal. More importantly, its liturgical expression in relations with God communicates a divine will to strike a relationship of intimacy with the human party, as was the case in the ratification of the Mt. Sinai covenant, when Moses, Aaron, Nadab, Abihu together with the seventy elders of Israel went up the holy mountain where they “beheld God, and they ate and drank” (Ex 24:11; Theological-Historical Commission, The Eucharist, Gift of Divine Life, p.103). With this ancient Jewish tradition in mind, we recognize in Jesus’ miracle an added layer of mystique and significance: It points us to the unity, communion, and intimacy of the Eucharist.

Following the principle that one and the same Word extends through the Scripture, we can safely conclude from these two readings that Elisha’s multiplication of the loaves is a prelude or prefiguration, if you will, of Jesus’ multiplication of the loaves in John 6, pointing us to something bigger, more significant and definitive that Christ will bring. What’s that something? Note that Jesus’ multiplication of the loaves is strategically placed immediately before his extensive discourse on the “bread of life” in 6:35-59, which is by all accounts a discourse on the Eucharist (Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament on John 6:1-14). Therefore, the two episodes can be seen as John’s one-two punch that introduces us to “the source and summit of the Christian life” – the Eucharist (CCC 1324).

In summary, it’s fair to say that Jesus’ multiplication of the loaves is prefigured by Elisha; its meaning and significance revealed and magnified by his discourse on the bread of life; its institution as a Sacrament liturgized in the Last Supper; its celebration faithfully carried out by the Church, his spouse. All of this has been mysteriously scripted by the sacred writers over the years in the course of the human history, under the inspiration of the Divine Author; and is finally “finished” by Jesus on the Cross, where the Body of Christ, the Heavenly Bread lovingly placed on a wooden holder for our consumption, is hung for all to behold and adore (Jn 19:30). Thus, the whole human history that has gone so wrong because of “the fruit of the tree” in the beginning, is finally set aright by the divine fruit of the tree – Christ on the Cross (Genesis 3:3).

Posted: July 25, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

“They had argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).
Jesus said to the twelve, “Whoever wants to be the first must be last of all and servant of all” (9:35). Continue Reading >
Perfect Freedom is Found in Christ
In June of this year, I read an article by Sohrab Ahmari, an Iranian who converted to Catholicism in 2016, and about his anxiety as a new father. The anxiety… Continue Reading >
The Mystery of Suffering
The next time we are confounded by the human fear of suffering, will we choose to follow James’ advice to persevere for spiritual maturity? Or, will we adopt the pre-Pentecost… Continue Reading >

《整部聖經都在講述同一天主聖言》

常年期第十七主日

列王紀下 4:42-44

那時候,有一個人從巴耳沙里沙來,在自己的行囊裡,給天主的人,帶來二十個用初熟大麥做的餅,和一些新麥穗。厄里叟說:「分給眾人吃吧!」僕人說:「我怎能將這一點東西,擺在一百人面前呢?」厄里叟說:「你儘管分給眾人吃,因為上主這樣說:眾人吃了,還有剩餘。」於是,僕人將食物擺在眾人面前;他們都吃了,並且還有剩餘,正如上主所說的。

厄弗所書 4:1-6

弟兄姊妹們:我這在主內為囚犯的,懇求你們:行動務要與你們所受的寵召相稱;凡事要謙遜、溫和、忍耐,在愛德中彼此擔待,盡力以和平的聯繫,保持心神的合一。因為只有一個身體和一個聖神,正如你們蒙召,同有一個希望一樣。只有一個主,一個信德,一個洗禮;只有一個天主和眾人之父,他超越眾人,貫通眾人,且在眾人之內。

若望福音 6:1-15

那時候,耶穌渡過加里肋亞海,即提庇黎雅海,到對岸去。大批群眾,因為看見耶穌在患病者身上,所行的神蹟,都跟隨著他。耶穌上了山,和他的門徒一起,坐在那裡。那時,猶太人的慶節,即逾越節,已臨近了。耶穌舉目,看見大批群眾來到他面前,就對斐理伯說:「我們從那裡買餅給這些人吃呢?」他說這話,是為試探斐理伯;他自己原知道要做什麼。斐理伯回答說:「就是二百塊『德納』的餅,也不夠每人分得一小塊。」有一個門徒,即西滿伯多祿的哥哥安德肋,說:「這裡有一個兒童,他有五個大麥餅和兩條魚;但是,為這麼多的人,這算得什麼?」耶穌說:「你們叫眾人坐下吧!」 在那地方有許多青草,於是眾人便坐下,男人約有五千。耶穌就拿起餅,祝謝後,分給坐下的人;同樣,也把魚分了;讓眾人任意吃。他們吃飽以後,耶穌向門徒說:「把剩下的碎塊,收集起來,免得糟蹋。」他們就把眾人吃飽後,所剩下的五個大麥餅的碎塊,收集起來,裝滿了十二筐。眾人見了耶穌所行的神蹟,就說:「這人確實就是那要來到世界上的先知。」耶穌看出他們要來強迫他,立他為王,就獨自又退避到山裡。

「天主透過聖經的所有言語,只說一句話,就是祂的唯一聖言」,而聖言就是耶穌(天主教教理 102)。這也是教會教父們的教導:「在整部聖經內是同一個天主聖言,在所有聖經作者口中迴響的,也是同一個聖言」(聖奧斯定 《聖詠漫談》詠 103, 4, 1:PL, 1378 )。我個人很喜歡教宗本篤十六世表達這理念優美的手法。他認為,由天主聖神啟迪,由不同聖經作者寫成的聖經,是「聖言的交響樂,同一的聖言但用不同的方式表現出來:一首複調的聖詩 (《上主的話》宗座勸諭 7)。耶穌的兩個門徒在往厄瑪烏途中與主相遇的時候,耶穌自己也說了同樣的話。祂「從梅瑟及眾先知開始」,給他們解釋了「全部經書」論及衪的話 (路:24:27)。

一直以來,教會是以這樣的理解來閱讀聖經的 — 整部聖經都是有關基督和把我們指向祂的。如果在聖經內,尤其是在舊約聖經中,有令我們想起基督的地方,或與祂在福音中的行實和教導有類同之處的話,我們不要以為這只是一個沒有關連的「巧合」。其相似和相連之處往往是天上那位至聖作者特別的表達手法,是祂讓人嘖嘖稱奇的講述不可或缺的一部份,目的是為了開啟我們的心靈、增強我們的信德,和把我們更深入地帶進天主深不可測的愛和奧秘裏。而重要的是,他們的關係是有連續性和有次序的,從一件事帶到第二件,期待和預示着基督最終和決定性的一幕。當期待已久的基督大事終於來臨時,它往往會令我們驚訝不已:事情所帶來的神學意義和終結性,往往是沒有一個聖經讀者能預期的。
本主日的讀經就是一個好例子。先知厄里叟和耶穌都行了令人不能置信的奇蹟。厄里叟吩咐他的僕人以「二十個用初熟大麥做的餅,和一些新麥穗」讓一百人吃飽了 (列下 4:42)。當他的僕人提出反對,因為厄里叟的吩咐似乎沒有可能做得到,厄里叟便應允他們說:「衆人吃了,還有剩餘」(43 節)。奇蹟就像厄里叟所答應的一樣發生了。在福音讀經,耶穌吩咐祂的門徒讓五千人吃飽,斐理伯認為是不可能的任務。他抗議說:「就是二百塊『德納』的餅,也不夠每人分得一小塊」(若 6:7)。但在斐理伯看來不可完成的任務,卻被耶穌用「五個大麥餅和兩條魚」奇蹟地完成了。在眾人吃飽後,所剩下的大麥餅碎塊,收集起來,裝滿了十二筐 (若 6:9-13)。
雖然兩個奇蹟都給人留下深刻印象,並看起來很相似,但耶穌的故事卻出自逾越節的背景。我們都知道逾越節的重點與享用食物有關 — 要吃巴斯掛羔羊和無烤餅 (出 12:1-20)。 在古代猶太人的傳統,共享一頓飯並不只是由人類食慾引起的基本生理需要,而是象徵着用餐者的團結和共融。重要的是,這是一個與天主有關的禮儀表達,傳達了天主的聖意,就是與人建立親密關係,如在西乃山建立盟約時,當梅瑟、亞郎、納達布、阿彼胡以及以色列長老中的七十人上到聖山,在那裏「他們看見了天主,還能吃能喝」 (出 24:11; Theological-Historical Commission, The Eucharist, Gift of Divine Life, p.103)。在這古老猶太傳統的背景下,我們可以看到,耶穌的奇蹟增添了多一層的奧秘和重要性:它把我們指向聖體聖事的團結、共融和親密關係。
根據整部聖經都在講述同一天主聖言的原則,我們可以用這兩篇讀經作出以下結論:厄里叟的增餅就是耶穌在《若望福音》第六章增餅的序幕或預兆,為我們指向耶穌將會帶來的更大、更重要和更確定的事情。那是什麼事情?值得留意的是,耶穌的增餅,巧妙地發生在6:35-59祂對「生命之糧」的詳細論述之前;從各方面看,這經文論述的是聖體聖事 (Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament on John 6:1-14) 。故此,我們可以將增餅奇蹟和生命之糧的言論這兩件事,看成若望著意地先打响頭炮,然後才全軍出動;他用這手法給我們介紹了「整個基督徒生活的泉源與高峰」— 聖體聖事(天主教教理 1324)。
總括而言,我們可以說,先知厄里叟的增餅是耶穌增餅的預象;其意義和重要性,在耶穌生命之糧的論述裡被顯示和增強;它作為聖事的地位,在最後晚餐的禮儀中被確立;它的紀念和慶祝,由基督的淨配聖教會忠誠和從不間斷地舉行。這一切,在人類歷史中被聖經作者,在天上至聖作者的默感下,奧妙地撰寫出來;最後,被耶穌在十字架上「完成了」。耶穌聖體 — 天上的食糧 — 被充滿愛意地放在聖木上給我們享用,並懸掛起來供世人仰望和朝拜 (若 19:30)。就這樣,因「樹上的果子」而急轉直下的人類歷史,也因著神聖的樹上的果子 – 在十字架上的基督 – 從此扶搖直上(創3:3) 。

Posted: July 25, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十七主日:基督使我們飽飫 吳智勳神父

今天福音提到的增餅奇蹟,是四部福音也有提到的。傳統上教會把這奇蹟理解為反映聖體聖事,若望在福音內並沒有提及耶穌建立聖體聖事,但卻在這裏花了許多筆墨,把增餅的奇蹟詳細地寫出來,並加上一大段生命食糧的言論。耶穌在這裏所說的話,所做的動作,跟最後晚餐的是一樣,同樣是:「拿起餅,祝謝了,分開,交給眾人。」所以若望福音雖然沒有提及建立聖體聖事,但其實已在這裏說了。

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:教會的合一及大公主義
繼續閱讀 >