God’s Precepts Versus Human Precepts

Twenty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Deuteronomy 4:1-2, 6-8

Moses said to the people: “Now, Israel, hear the statutes and decrees which I am teaching you to observe, that you may live, and may enter in and take possession of the land which the LORD, the God of your fathers, is giving you. In your observance of the commandments of the LORD, your God, which I enjoin upon you, you shall not add to what I command you nor subtract from it. Observe them carefully, for thus will you give evidence of your wisdom and intelligence to the nations, who will hear of all these statutes and say, ‘This great nation is truly a wise and intelligent people.’ For what great nation is there that has gods so close to it as the LORD, our God, is to us whenever we call upon him? Or what great nation has statutes and decrees that are as just as this whole law which I am setting before you today?”

James 1:17-18, 21B-22. 27

Brothers and sisters: All good giving and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no alteration or shadow caused by change. He willed to give us birth by the word of truth that we may be a kind of firstfruits of his creatures. Humbly welcome the word that has been planted in you and is able to save your souls. Be doers of the word and not hearers only, deluding yourselves. Religion that is pure and undefiled before God and the Father is this: to care for orphans and widows in their affliction and to keep oneself unstained by the world.

Mark 7:1-8, 14-15, 21-23

When the Pharisees with some scribes who had come from Jerusalem gathered around Jesus, they observed that some of his disciples ate their meals with unclean, that is, unwashed, hands. —For the Pharisees and, in fact, all Jews, do not eat without carefully washing their hands, keeping the tradition of the elders. And on coming from the marketplace they do not eat without purifying themselves. And there are many other things that they have traditionally observed, the purification of cups and jugs and kettles and beds. — So the Pharisees and scribes questioned him, “Why do your disciples not follow the tradition of the elders but instead eat a meal with unclean hands?” He responded, “Well did Isaiah prophesy about you hypocrites, as it is written: This people honors me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me; in vain do they worship me, teaching as doctrines human precepts. You disregard God’s commandment but cling to human tradition.” He summoned the crowd again and said to them, “Hear me, all of you, and understand. Nothing that enters one from outside can defile that person; but the things that come out from within are what defile. “From within people, from their hearts, come evil thoughts, unchastity, theft, murder, adultery, greed, malice, deceit, licentiousness, envy, blasphemy, arrogance, folly. All these evils come from within and they defile.”

The phrase “race to the bottom” has, unfortunately, become one of the dominant characteristics of contemporary society. In a society where “I-specialists” are rampant and the “me-first” attitude reigns, people tend to operate with an individualistic mindset rather than a communal one. When everyone constantly tries to trample over each other to get to the top, wherever that is, the cohesive fabric of society is effectively torn and what’s left is just brokenness, isolation, and hopelessness. No wonder that in our society, so many have silently fallen through the cracks, while others continue to live according to their desires.

Catholic Christians are constantly called to action; to be the salt and light of the world (ref. Mt 5:13-16). In baptism, we say “yes” to love and “no” to worldly attitudes. From that day forth, we live in Christ and for Christ, that is, a life of love and sacrifice. Faith is not something airy-fairy but a call to action. It is certainly not enough to say, “I believe” if our faith has no effect on our actions, words, and thoughts. This week’s readings succinctly sum up what our Christian faith is about: be “doers”, not “hearers”, of the word and bear witness to God’s love in all we say and do (Jas 1:22, ref. Dt 4:6, ref. Mk 7:6-7).

In the Old Testament, God patiently teaches the Israelites the “statutes and ordinances” and commands that they must not “add … nor subtract from it” (Dt 4:1-2). These rules are extremely detailed and specific, dictating every aspect of their lives; however, they all point to their ultimate destination, the Promised Land. By observing these ordinances, God explains, they “may live, and may enter in and take possession of the land” (Dt 4:1). This is both a promise to the Israelites that they will possess the Promised Land and a prefiguration of God’s kingdom. The Israelites are taught as if they were little children as their faith and understanding of God’s precepts are rather immature. However, if they persevere, they will become a shining beacon among all nations: “Observe them carefully, for this is your wisdom and discernment in the sight of the peoples, who will hear of all these statutes and say, ‘This great nation is truly a wise and discerning people’” (Dt 4:6). God is telling His people, firstly, that they will bear witness to His glory, and secondly, to be patient and to place their trust in Him, as in the days of their exodus from Egypt.

In the New Testament, Jesus further reveals the treasure hidden in God’s statutes and ordinances. It is, in fact, more harmful to pay lip service to these rules if the heart is untouched or unaltered. In the Gospel of Mark, the Pharisees and scribes, once again, decide to challenge Jesus. They accuse His disciples of eating their meals with unwashed hands, hence, breaking Moses’ law of purification. Jesus, noticing their hardness of heart, said to them, “You disregard God’s commandment but cling to human tradition. How well you have set aside the commandment of God in order to uphold your tradition” (Mk 7:8-9). It seems that the Pharisees and scribes have weaponized Moses’ law to empower themselves, and perhaps, to “trick” Jesus into admitting fault. Their argument against Jesus only reveals their shallow and self-serving understanding of their own faith and God’s precepts. Jesus counters their argument by explaining that “everything that goes into a person from outside cannot defile … All these evils come from within and they defile (Mk 7:18,23).

In truth, we must be honest with ourselves, and let God’s light reveal what’s in our heart. Are we, like the Pharisees and scribes, merely “hearers” of God’s word, or as St. James teaches, “doers” who “care for orphans and widows in their affliction and to keep oneself unstained by the world” (Jas 1:27)? When we claim that we are Catholics, we are not just “telling” the world who we are, but more importantly, living as such, “ to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God” (Mic 6:8). Let us put our faith in action and begin healing our divided and broken world.

Posted: August 29, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >

天主的誡命與人的法律

常年期第二十二主日

申命紀 4:1-2, 6-8

梅瑟勸勉人民說:「以色列!現在,你要聽從我教訓你們的法令和規律,並盡力遵行。這樣,你們才能生活,才能進入和佔領,上主你們祖先的天主,所賜給你們的地方。「我吩咐你們的話,你們不可增刪,但要按照我所訓示你們的:上主你們天主的誡命,完全遵行。「你們務要謹守,並遵行我的誡命,因為這樣,在萬民眼中,才能顯出你們的智慧和見識。「萬民一聽到這一切法令,必會說:『這實在是一個有智慧,有見識的大民族!』有那一個大民族的神,這樣接近他們,如同上主我們的天主,在我們每次呼求他時,這樣親近我們呢?又有那一個大民族,有這樣公正的法令和規律,如同我今天在你們面前,所頒布的這一切法律呢?」

雅各伯書 1:17-18, 21-22, 27

弟兄姊妹們:一切美好的贈與,一切完善的恩賜,都是從上而來,即從光明之父降下來的;在他內沒有變化,或轉動的陰影。他自願用真理之言,生了我們,為使我們成為他受造物中的初果。你們要脫去一切不潔,及種種惡習,並要以柔順之心,接受那種在你們心裡的聖言;這聖言能拯救你們的靈魂。你們務要按這聖言來實行,不要只聽,自己欺騙自己。在天主父前,純正無瑕的虔誠,就是看顧患難中的孤兒和寡婦,保持自己不受世俗的玷污。

馬爾谷福音 7:1-8, 14-15, 21-23

那時候,法利塞人,及一些從耶路撒冷來的經師,聚集到耶穌面前。他們看見耶穌的幾個門徒,用不潔的手,就是用沒有洗過的手吃飯。原來,法利塞人和所有猶太人,都拘守先人的傳統:若不仔細洗手,就不吃飯;從街市上回來,若不先沐浴,也不吃飯;還有其他許多按傳統,應拘守的事:如洗杯、洗壺、洗銅器等。法利塞人和經師們就問耶穌說:「你的門徒,為什麼不遵守先人的傳統,竟然用不潔的手吃飯?」耶穌對他們說:「依撒意亞論及你們這些假善人的預言真好,正如所記載的:『這民族用嘴唇尊敬我,他們的心,卻遠離我。他們恭敬我,也是虛假的,因為他們所講授的教義,是人的規律。』你們離棄天主的誡命,而只拘守人的傳統。」耶穌又叫群眾來,對他們說:「你們都要聽我,且要明白!不是從人外面進入他裡面的,能使人污穢,而是從人裡面出來的,才使人污穢。因為從裡面,從人心裡出來的,是惡念、邪淫、盜竊、兇殺、姦淫、貪吝、毒辣、詭詐、放蕩、嫉妒、毀謗、驕傲、愚妄:這一切惡事,都是從裡面出來的,並且使人污穢。」

非常不幸,「為打倒競爭對手,不惜一切」的現象已成為現今社會的主要特徵。社會上充斥著「唯我獨尊」和「以我為先」的態度,人傾向於以自我為中心,並沒有視自己為社群中一份子的心態。當人人都不斷互相踐踏向上爬,社會的凝聚力被撕裂,剩下來的便是陷入支離破碎、孤立和絕望的境地。難怪在我們這社會,很多人已經悄悄被遺忘,而其他人則繼續依照自己的意欲過生活。
天主教徒不斷被召喚去採取行動;要成為世上的鹽與光(參考 瑪 5:13-16)。在聖洗聖事中,我們向愛說「是」,向世俗的心態說「不」。從受洗那天起,我們便活在基督內,為基督而活,也就是過著以愛和犧牲為本的人生。信仰不是虛無飄渺的東西,而是行動的召喚。假如我們祇是用口說「我信」,但信仰卻沒改變我們的行為、言語和思想,這絕對是不足為訓的。本週的讀經簡明扼要地總結了我們的基督徒信仰是什麼:要作聖言的「行動者」,而不是「聆聽者」,並在自己的一切言行中,見證天主的愛(雅 1:22,參考 申 4:6 , 參考 谷 7:6-7)。
在舊約中,天主耐心教導以色列人如何遵守祂的「法令和規律」,命令他們不可「增刪」(申 4:1-2)。這些規則極其詳細和具體,規劃著他們日常生活的各方面;為他們指向最終的目的地,天主應許之地。天主這樣解釋說,通過遵守這些規條,他們「纔能生活,纔能進入佔領 ⋯ 賜給你們的地方」(申 4:1)。這既是對以色列人的應許,他們將擁有這應許之地,也是天主國度的預象。天主教導以色列人像教小孩子一樣,因為他們對天主誡命的信德和理解還未成熟。但是,如果他們堅持下去,他們將成為天下萬國的指路明燈:「你們務要謹守,並遵行我的誡命,因為這樣,在萬民眼中,纔能顯出你們的智慧和見識;萬民一聽到這一切法令,必會說:『這實在是一個有智慧,有見識的大民族』」(申 4:6)。天主告訴祂的子民,首先,他們要見證祂的榮耀,然後,要忍耐並信賴祂,就像當年他們出埃及時一樣。
在新約中,耶穌進一步揭示了隱藏在天主的法令和規律中的寶藏。事實上,如果內心沒有因為受觸動而改變,而祇是在口頭上遵守這些規則,則更為有害。在《馬爾谷福音》中,法利塞人和經師再次決定挑戰耶穌。他們指責衪的門徒不洗手吃飯,違反了梅瑟的潔淨法。耶穌留意到他們的心硬,就對他們說:「你們離棄天主的誡命,而只拘守人的傳授 ⋯ 真好啊!你們為拘守你們的傳授,竟廢除了天主的誡命」(谷 7:8-9)。法利塞人和經師似乎把梅瑟的律法作武器來攻擊耶穌,用「詭計」來逼使耶穌承認錯誤。他們反對耶穌的論點,只表明了他們對自己的信仰和天主誡律的理解,是如何的膚淺和自以為是。耶穌反駁他們的論點,並解釋說「不是從人外面進入他裡面的,能使人污穢 ⋯ 這一切惡事,都是從裡面出來的,並且使人污穢」(谷 7:18, 23)。
事實上,我們必須對自己誠實,讓天主的光來揭示我們心內有什麼。我們是否像法利塞人和經師一樣,只是「聽道者」,或是像聖雅各伯所教導的那樣,做一個「看顧患難中的孤兒和寡婦,保持自己不受世俗的玷污」的「實行者」(雅 1:27)?當我們聲稱自己是天主教徒時,我們不僅在「告訴」世界我們是誰,更重要的是,我們的生活應該是「履行正義,愛好慈善,虛心與你的天主來往」(米 6:8)。讓我們將信德付諸行動,開始治癒我們這個分裂和破碎的世界。

Posted: August 29, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

改變自己 Fr. Justin Huang

今天讓我直截了當地說:不管是什麼,困擾著我們,或者存在於我們的腦海中,但凡是它讓每一天或一周變得很艱難,就不要過度關注它。耶穌要我們反觀自己。其他人不是我們的問題,我們才是。如果有什麼東西偷走了我們的幸福,那是我們自己選擇的結果。
今天福音的關鍵詞是「玷污defile」。法利賽人和經師們認為,用不潔的手(沒洗過的手)吃東西會玷污一個人,使他們在儀式上變得不潔,從而不能崇拜天主。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第廿二主日:守法律的精神 吳智勳神父

今天第一與第三篇讀經都提到守法問題,這問題到今時今日仍具時代意義,故值得作為今天反省的題目。  第一篇是梅瑟死前的訓話,當時以色列人還未進入福地,梅瑟要求人民守法,表示忠於盟約。虔誠的以色列人,不會以守法為負擔,反而認為是一種光榮,因為沒有一個民族能夠那麼接近天主,並有天主親自頒布法律給他們。嚴格來說,所謂梅瑟的法律是指天主的十句話,即十誡,但亦可引伸為梅瑟五書所載的法律,

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:倫理的原則
繼續閱讀 >