Change Myself

Twenty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Deuteronomy 4:1-2, 6-8

Moses said to the people: “Now, Israel, hear the statutes and decrees which I am teaching you to observe, that you may live, and may enter in and take possession of the land which the LORD, the God of your fathers, is giving you. In your observance of the commandments of the LORD, your God, which I enjoin upon you, you shall not add to what I command you nor subtract from it. Observe them carefully, for thus will you give evidence of your wisdom and intelligence to the nations, who will hear of all these statutes and say, ‘This great nation is truly a wise and intelligent people.’ For what great nation is there that has gods so close to it as the LORD, our God, is to us whenever we call upon him? Or what great nation has statutes and decrees that are as just as this whole law which I am setting before you today?”

James 1:17-18, 21B-22. 27

Brothers and sisters: All good giving and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no alteration or shadow caused by change. He willed to give us birth by the word of truth that we may be a kind of firstfruits of his creatures. Humbly welcome the word that has been planted in you and is able to save your souls. Be doers of the word and not hearers only, deluding yourselves. Religion that is pure and undefiled before God and the Father is this: to care for orphans and widows in their affliction and to keep oneself unstained by the world.

Mark 7:1-8, 14-15, 21-23

When the Pharisees with some scribes who had come from Jerusalem gathered around Jesus, they observed that some of his disciples ate their meals with unclean, that is, unwashed, hands. —For the Pharisees and, in fact, all Jews, do not eat without carefully washing their hands, keeping the tradition of the elders. And on coming from the marketplace they do not eat without purifying themselves. And there are many other things that they have traditionally observed, the purification of cups and jugs and kettles and beds. — So the Pharisees and scribes questioned him, “Why do your disciples not follow the tradition of the elders but instead eat a meal with unclean hands?” He responded, “Well did Isaiah prophesy about you hypocrites, as it is written: This people honors me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me; in vain do they worship me, teaching as doctrines human precepts. You disregard God’s commandment but cling to human tradition.” He summoned the crowd again and said to them, “Hear me, all of you, and understand. Nothing that enters one from outside can defile that person; but the things that come out from within are what defile. “From within people, from their hearts, come evil thoughts, unchastity, theft, murder, adultery, greed, malice, deceit, licentiousness, envy, blasphemy, arrogance, folly. All these evils come from within and they defile.”

Let me get right to the point today: Whatever’s bothering us, or is on our mind, has made the day or week hard, don’t focus on that.  Jesus wants us to look at ourselves instead.  Other people aren’t our problem, we are.  If something is stealing our happiness, that’s our choice.

The key word in the Gospel today is ‘defile.’  The Pharisees and scribes believe that eating with unclean hands defiles a person, making them ritually impure so that they can’t worship God.

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]

This is analogous to what we sometimes think: I can’t pray because I’m too tired and too busy; fatigue and busyness have defiled me.  I’m angry because my spouse, children, parents are so _______–they’ve defiled me.  It’s so hard to live life because of COVID—COVID has defiled our situation.

So, what has defiled us recently?

Then Jesus called the crowd again and said to them, ‘Listen to me, all of you, and understand: there is nothing outside a person that by going in can defile them, but the things that come out of a person are what defile them.  For it is from within, from the human heart, that evil intentions come: fornication, theft, murder, adultery, avarice, wickedness, deceit, licentiousness, envy, slander, pride, folly.  All these things come from within, and they defile a person” (Mk 7:14-15,21-23).

This message is so important that Jesus calls the crowd back so that all can hear it, and He tells us that we need to listen carefully to the following teaching: There is nothing outside of us that can defile us: not the people with whom we live or work, not our situation.

Consider that Jesus and Mary were never defiled.  No matter what happened to them, they were always united with God the Father.  When Jesus was being tortured and on the Cross, He and Mary were never defiled.

Suffering can’t touch our closeness to God the Father.  It can put pressure on it and make it hard to stay close.  But that which unites us to God is what?  Love.  And love comes from the inside.

‘The things that come out of a person are what defile them.  For it is from within, from the human heart, that evil intentions come.’

Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn famously wrote, “If only there were evil people somewhere insidiously committing evil deeds, and it were necessary only to separate them from the rest of us and destroy them.  But the line dividing good and evil cuts through the heart of every human being” (The Gulag Archipelago, 168).  This comes from a man who spent eleven years as a communist prisoner in the Soviet Union.  It would have been easy for him to blame his circumstances for his life and declare that he’s innocent and the Marxists were evil.  But, he was aware that there’s good and evil inside all of us.

Many people in our culture constantly blame others.  If only the people in Canada who cause all the problems would change, then things would be better.  Someone reminded me of how some people have a victim mentality: They act helpless, it’s never their fault, they predict doom and gloom, and exaggerate misfortune.  But that’s a lie.

Jesus then gives twelve examples of evil that come from our hearts: six sinful acts and six sinful dispositions: ‘Fornication [this means any sex before marriage], theft, murder, adultery, avarice [or greed], wickedness [I looked everywhere and couldn’t find what specific sin this is referring to], deceit [lying or tricking others], licentiousness [shocking indecency], envy, slander, pride, folly [being foolish].’  And He reminds us that these are choices that defile us.

This teaching is life-giving!  Whenever I read these words of Jesus, my attitude and heart change, and then I smile.

But, Jesus gives us something even better, and that’s a new heart.  What defiles us are our moral choices, so we need a moral solution, and that’s God’s mercy and forgiveness.  The greatest gift Jesus gives us is not His teaching, but His love and forgiveness, which give us a new heart!

I want to invite you again to sign up and invite others for the spiritual growth programs we have in September 2021.  A few people asked: Wow!  There are so many.  Which do I choose?  Choose whatever will help you and others grow.  The reason why we have so many is because our parish has reached a level of maturity where we can offer different programs at the same time, because people have different needs.  Having different programs is something to celebrate!

1) So, first we have Alpha.  This is to explore faith.  And it’s a great way for people to encounter Jesus’ teaching without pressure.  Do you know anyone searching for more in life?  The human heart is looking for Jesus’ mercy.

2) Faith Studies is for those who want to get closer to Jesus’ heart.  Changing ourselves often happens in conversation with other people.  Faith Studies provides guided discussion for this inner growth.

3) Journey Through Scripture is to understand the Bible better.

4) Finally, The Marriage Course is to enrich marriages.

I’m asking you to think most strongly about inviting people to Alpha and The Marriage Course, because we’re good at nourishing ourselves, but don’t think much about other people’s spiritual welfare.  So, in the next few weeks, could we pray and think about whom to invite to Alpha and The Marriage Course, please?  Thanks, everyone!

Jesus’ teaching on what defiles us is very rarely heard today, and I’d ask you to reflect on how our culture embraces or rejects His teaching.  For example, in July 2021, during the height of the church burnings in Canada, Harsha Walia, Executive Director of the BC Civil Liberties Association, tweeted, “Burn it all down”.  When people rightfully criticized this comment, one person defended her, “As usual Canadian whiteness is gleefully tone-policing and harassing a powerful, racialized woman from telling the truth”.  This woman blames external forces, racism, for the criticism, but, in fact, people were criticizing Walia’s comment.

People should fight against racism, but you can’t blame racism for everything bad that happens in your life, especially your own freely chosen comments.  But this is happening more and more in society: blame the government, the patriarchy, religion, etc., while there’s never talk about fixing our own hearts.  It’s good to fix corrupt systems, but where’s the talk about fixing the human person?

This is Uncle Kieth (he spells it this way) Baggoo.  He married my aunt in 1963, and some people wouldn’t rent to them because of his skin colour.  But, let me tell you why my whole family admires him: He endured racism but rose above it.  I’ve known him my whole life and he is a man of dignity and class, and shows no bitterness or resentment.  He and Auntie Elizabeth fought against racism in their lives but never let it defile their hearts.  Do we hear stories like this today?  Do we celebrate rising above evil?

 

In 2003, Uncle Kieth told me, “Justin, if you become a priest, I’ll become Catholic.”  “Okay,” I said.  But Auntie Elizabeth said, “Oh, he’s just saying that.”  However, in 2014, he was baptized.  I bring this up, because, as virtuous as Uncle Kieth is, he still needs a saviour, as we all do, someone to purify the sins of his heart.  Do you know anyone in your life like Uncle Kieth that needs Jesus, too?  We have an opportunity to invite them!

I finish with a quote from Catholic author, Matthew Kelly, which is always like balm for my soul whenever I read it: “Changing the world is an inside-out job.  When we look to change the world, too often we look outside ourselves.  When God looks to change the world, he looks deep within us, driving straight to the heart of the matter: human behaviour” (The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic, 143).  By changing ourselves, nothing can defile us.

Source: Change Myself

Posted: August 29, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >

改變自己

常年期第二十二主日

申命紀 4:1-2, 6-8

梅瑟勸勉人民說:「以色列!現在,你要聽從我教訓你們的法令和規律,並盡力遵行。這樣,你們才能生活,才能進入和佔領,上主你們祖先的天主,所賜給你們的地方。「我吩咐你們的話,你們不可增刪,但要按照我所訓示你們的:上主你們天主的誡命,完全遵行。「你們務要謹守,並遵行我的誡命,因為這樣,在萬民眼中,才能顯出你們的智慧和見識。「萬民一聽到這一切法令,必會說:『這實在是一個有智慧,有見識的大民族!』有那一個大民族的神,這樣接近他們,如同上主我們的天主,在我們每次呼求他時,這樣親近我們呢?又有那一個大民族,有這樣公正的法令和規律,如同我今天在你們面前,所頒布的這一切法律呢?」

雅各伯書 1:17-18, 21-22, 27

弟兄姊妹們:一切美好的贈與,一切完善的恩賜,都是從上而來,即從光明之父降下來的;在他內沒有變化,或轉動的陰影。他自願用真理之言,生了我們,為使我們成為他受造物中的初果。你們要脫去一切不潔,及種種惡習,並要以柔順之心,接受那種在你們心裡的聖言;這聖言能拯救你們的靈魂。你們務要按這聖言來實行,不要只聽,自己欺騙自己。在天主父前,純正無瑕的虔誠,就是看顧患難中的孤兒和寡婦,保持自己不受世俗的玷污。

馬爾谷福音 7:1-8, 14-15, 21-23

那時候,法利塞人,及一些從耶路撒冷來的經師,聚集到耶穌面前。他們看見耶穌的幾個門徒,用不潔的手,就是用沒有洗過的手吃飯。原來,法利塞人和所有猶太人,都拘守先人的傳統:若不仔細洗手,就不吃飯;從街市上回來,若不先沐浴,也不吃飯;還有其他許多按傳統,應拘守的事:如洗杯、洗壺、洗銅器等。法利塞人和經師們就問耶穌說:「你的門徒,為什麼不遵守先人的傳統,竟然用不潔的手吃飯?」耶穌對他們說:「依撒意亞論及你們這些假善人的預言真好,正如所記載的:『這民族用嘴唇尊敬我,他們的心,卻遠離我。他們恭敬我,也是虛假的,因為他們所講授的教義,是人的規律。』你們離棄天主的誡命,而只拘守人的傳統。」耶穌又叫群眾來,對他們說:「你們都要聽我,且要明白!不是從人外面進入他裡面的,能使人污穢,而是從人裡面出來的,才使人污穢。因為從裡面,從人心裡出來的,是惡念、邪淫、盜竊、兇殺、姦淫、貪吝、毒辣、詭詐、放蕩、嫉妒、毀謗、驕傲、愚妄:這一切惡事,都是從裡面出來的,並且使人污穢。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
今天讓我直截了當地說:不管是什麼,困擾著我們,或者存在於我們的腦海中,但凡是它讓每一天或一周變得很艱難,就不要過度關注它。耶穌要我們反觀自己。其他人不是我們的問題,我們才是。如果有什麼東西偷走了我們的幸福,那是我們自己選擇的結果。
今天福音的關鍵詞是「玷污defile」。法利賽人和經師們認為,用不潔的手(沒洗過的手)吃東西會玷污一個人,使他們在儀式上變得不潔,從而不能崇拜天主。

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]

這與我們有時的想法類似:我不能祈禱,因為我太累, 太忙了;疲勞和忙碌玷污(Defiled)了我。我很生氣,因為我的配偶、孩子、父母都是如此如此-他們玷污了我。因為COVID-COVID玷污了我們的處境,生活變得如此艱難。
那麼,最近是什麼玷污了我們呢?
「耶穌又叫過群眾來,對他們說:你們都要聽我,且要明白!不是從人外面進入他內的,能污穢人,而是從人裡面出來的才污穢人。因為從人裡面,從人心裡出來的是些惡念,邪淫、盜竊、兇殺、姦淫、貪吝、毒辣、詭詐、放蕩、嫉妒、誹謗、驕傲、愚妄。這一切惡事,都是從內裡出來的,並且使人污穢。」(谷7:14-15,21-23)。
這條信息如此重要,以至於耶穌把人群召回,好讓所有人都能聽到,祂告訴我們,我們需要仔細聆聽下面的教導:我們外部沒有任何東西可以褻瀆我們:不是和我們一起生活或工作的人,更不是我們的處境。
考慮到耶穌和聖母瑪利亞從未被玷污過。無論他們發生了什麼事,他們總是與天父團結在一起。當耶穌被拷打和釘在十字架上時,祂和瑪利亞從未被玷污過。
苦難不能動搖我們與天父的親近。這可能帶來壓力,使得難以保持親密。但是把我們團結在天主面前的是什麼呢?是愛。愛是發自內心的。
從一個人身上出來的東西就是玷污他們的東西。因為邪惡的意圖是從內心,從人類的內心傳出來的。 “。
亞歷山大·索爾仁尼琴(Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn)有一句名言:「要是有邪惡的人在某個地方陰險地做壞事,只要把他們與我們其他人分開並消滅他們就好了。但善與惡的分界線刺穿了每個人的心。」(The Gulag Archipelago, 168)。這句話出自一個在蘇聯當了11年共產主義囚犯的人。他很容易將自己的生命歸咎於自己所處的環境,並宣稱自己是無辜的,馬克思主義者是邪惡的。但是,他意識到我們每個人的內心都有善與惡。
在我們的文化中,很多人總是責怪別人。只要加拿大那些造成所有問題的人改變了,事情就會好起來。有人提醒我,有些人有一種受害者心態:他們表現得無助,這從來不是他們的錯,他們預測厄運和悲觀,誇大不幸。但那是個謊言。
然後,耶穌列舉了十二個發自我們內心的罪惡例子:六種罪惡的行為和六種罪惡的性情:「邪淫(指婚前性行為)、盜竊、謀殺、通姦、貪婪(或貪心)、邪惡(我四處尋找,卻找不到這指的是什麼具體的罪)、欺騙(撒謊或欺騙他人)、放蕩(令人震驚的猥褻)、嫉妒、誹謗、驕傲、愚蠢(荒謬)。」祂提醒我們,選擇做這些會玷污我們。
這一教導給人以生命!每當我讀到耶穌的這些話,我的態度和心就會改變,然後我就會微笑。
但是,耶穌給了我們更好的東西,那就是一顆嶄新的心。玷污我們的是我們的道德選擇,所以我們需要一個道德的解決方案,那就是天主的憐憫和寬恕。耶穌給我們的最大禮物不是他的教導,而是他的愛和寬恕,這給了我們一顆新的心!
我想再次邀請您報名,並邀請其他人參加我們9月份的靈性成長計劃。有幾個人問:「哇!太多了。我該選哪一個呢?」選擇任何一個能幫助你和他人成長的。之所以有這麼多,是因為我們的堂區已經到了可以同時提供不同課程的成熟程度,因為每個人都有不同的需求。有不同的項目是值得慶祝的!
所以,首先我們有「啟發(Alpha)」。這是為了探索信仰的。這是一個讓人們在沒有壓力的情況下與耶穌相遇的教導的方式。你認識有意在生活中尋找更多意義的人嗎?人類的心在尋找耶穌的憐憫。
「信仰研究( Faith Studies)」是為那些想要更接近耶穌內心的人準備的。改變自己的事常常發生在與他人的轉化中。信仰研究為這種內在成長提供了引導性的討論。
「聖經之旅(Journey Through Scripture)」是為了讓人更好地理解聖經。
最後,「婚姻課程(The Marriage Course)」 旨在豐富婚姻。我要求你慎重考慮邀請人們參加啟發和婚姻課程,因為我們一般善於滋養自己,但不會多為他人的精神福利設想。那麼,在接下來的幾周里,我們可否祈禱並考慮邀請誰來參加啟發和婚姻課程?謝謝大家!
耶穌所教導關於什麼玷污我們的教義,在今天我們已經很少聽到了,我想請您反思一下我們的文化是如何接受或拒絕祂的教義的。例如,今年7月,在加拿大教堂被人焚燒的高峰期,卑詩省公民自由協會(BC Civil Liberties Association)的執行董事哈莎·瓦利亞(Harsha Walia) 在推特上寫道,“燒毀一切” “Burn it all down” (https://twitter.com/nicoslobinsky/status/1411719393453645830?s=20)。當人們理所當然地批評這一評論時,一位網友為她辯護,「像往常一樣,加拿大白人是在幸災樂禍地進行個人攻擊和騷擾一位有權勢的種族主義女性,從而阻撓她說出真相。」(https://twitter.com/wickdchiq/status/1411724910884536324?s=20)。這名婦女將責難歸咎於種族主義和外部力量,但事實上,人們是在批評瓦利亞的言論。
人們應該與種族主義作抗爭,但你不能把生活中發生的每件壞事都歸咎於種族主義,尤其是你自己自由選擇的言論。
但這種情況在社會上越來越多發生:責怪政府、父權制、宗教等,但從來沒有人說過要修復我們自己的心。修復腐敗的系統是好的,但是關於修復人類的言論在哪裡呢?
這是凱斯叔叔Kieth Baggoo(他是這樣拼寫的)。他在1963年和我阿姨結婚,有些人因為他的膚色而不願意把房子租給他們。但是,讓我告訴你為什麼我們全家都欽佩他:他忍受了種族歧視,但戰勝了種族主義。我認識他一輩子了,他是一個有尊嚴、有風度的人,沒有任何哀怨和忿恨。他和伊麗莎白阿姨在生活中與種族主義作鬥爭,但從未讓種族主義玷污了他們的心。我們今天可曾聽到過這樣的故事?我們要慶祝超越邪惡嗎?
2003年,凱斯叔叔跟我說,「Justin,如果你成為神父,我就成為天主教徒。」 「好的。」我說。而伊麗莎白阿姨說:“「哦,他只是說說而已。」但是,在2014年,他領了聖洗。我提起這件事是因為,儘管凱斯叔叔是個善良的人,但他仍然需要一個救主,就像我們所有人一樣,需要一個人來淨化他內心的罪孽。你知道你生活中有誰像凱斯叔叔一樣也需要耶穌的人嗎?我們有機會邀請他們!
最後,我引用天主教作家馬修·凱利(Matthew Kelly)的一句話,每次讀到都會給我的靈魂以安慰:「改變世界是一項由內而外的工作。當我們著眼於改變世界時,我們卻總是會把目光投向外部。當天主希望改變世界時,祂會深入我們的內心,直奔問題的核心:人類行為。」((The Four Signs of a Dynamic Catholic, 143). )。通過改變自己,沒有什麼能玷污我們。

資料來源:Change Myself

Posted: August 29, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第廿二主日:守法律的精神 吳智勳神父

今天第一與第三篇讀經都提到守法問題,這問題到今時今日仍具時代意義,故值得作為今天反省的題目。  第一篇是梅瑟死前的訓話,當時以色列人還未進入福地,梅瑟要求人民守法,表示忠於盟約。虔誠的以色列人,不會以守法為負擔,反而認為是一種光榮,因為沒有一個民族能夠那麼接近天主,並有天主親自頒布法律給他們。嚴格來說,所謂梅瑟的法律是指天主的十句話,即十誡,但亦可引伸為梅瑟五書所載的法律,

繼續閱讀 >
天主的誡命與人的法律 Susanna Mak

要作聖言的「行動者」,而不是「聆聽者」,並在我們的一切言行中,見證天主的愛。

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:倫理的原則
繼續閱讀 >