How to turn our littleness into greatness?

Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time

Isaiah 55:1-3

All you who are thirsty, come to the water! You who have no money, come, buy grain and eat; Come, buy grain without money, wine and milk without cost! Why spend your money for what is not bread; your wages for what does not satisfy? Only listen to me, and you shall eat well, you shall delight in rich fare. Pay attention and come to me;listen, that you may have life.I will make with you an everlasting covenant,the steadfast loyalty promised to David.

Romans 8:35, 37-39

What will separate us from the love of Christ? Will anguish, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or the sword? No, in all these things we conquer overwhelmingly through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor present things,* nor future things, nor powers, nor height, nor depth,* nor any other creature will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Matthew 14:13-21

When Jesus heard of it, he withdrew in a boat to a deserted place by himself. The crowds heard of this and followed him on foot from their towns. When he disembarked and saw the vast crowd, his heart was moved with pity for them, and he cured their sick. When it was evening, the disciples approached him and said, "This is a deserted place and it is already late; dismiss the crowds so that they can go to the villages and buy food for themselves." [Jesus] said to them, "There is no need for them to go away; give them some food yourselves." But they said to him, "Five loaves and two fish are all we have here." Then he said, "Bring them here to me," and he ordered the crowds to sit down on the grass. Taking the five loaves and the two fish, and looking up to heaven, he said the blessing, broke the loaves, and gave them to the disciples, who in turn gave them to the crowds. They all ate and were satisfied, and they picked up the fragments left over—twelve wicker baskets full.Those who ate were about five thousand men, not counting women and children.

As the world goes through a rough year of uncertainties, helplessness, conflicts and tragedies, how encouraging and comforting it is to hear from St. Paul in the second reading that no hardship, persecution or sword will separate us from the love of Christ (Ref. Rm 8:35). Whatever the circumstances, we shall overcome, “We are more than conquerors through him who loved us” (Rm 8:35).

Indeed, St. Paul’s statement of faith, Isaiah’s prophecy “come to me … listen, so that you may live” (Is 55:3) and the Psalmist’s beautiful verse of gratitude “You open your hand to feed us, Lord, and satisfy our needs” set the scene for one of Jesus’ greatest miracles – the famous miracle of the five loaves and two fish (Ps 145) .

In the Gospel reading, we hear that Jesus has been healing the sick. It has become late. The place is deserted so the disciples ask Jesus to send the crowds to the villages to buy food for themselves. But Jesus said “[Y]ou give them something to eat” (Mt 14:16). To the disciples, that seems a formidable if not impossible task for “there were about five thousand men” (Lk 9:14) and “[t]wo hundred silver coins would not buy enough bread for each of them to have a piece” (Jn 6:7).

Pope Francis spoke about this miracle on the Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ in the Church of Santa Maria Consolatrice on 23 June 2019. By requesting his disciples to give the crowds something to eat, Jesus is telling us, whatever we have, no matter how little it is, can bear fruit if we share, if we give it away as the boy, who has five loaves and two fish, has done (Ref. Jn 6:9). The Holy Father said that “The Lord does great things with our littleness, as he did with the five loaves”. God’s omnipotence is all about love and love can accomplish great things with little. Our little has great value in the eyes of Jesus if we do not keep it to ourselves.

The miracle happens when Jesus “raised his eyes to heaven, pronounced the blessing, broke the loaves, and handed them to the disciples to distribute to the people” (Mt 14:19). The first actions that Jesus does are to pray and to bless; praying for God’s providence and blessing for turning the five loaves and two fish into enough food for the crowds. Jesus shows us what the blessing means by freely distributing the loaves. The Holy Father reminded us that blessing is not about saying nice words but about speaking goodness with love. When God blesses us during Mass, we receive the encouragement to go on. When we praise God together in church, we are in turn blessing Him and it is the joy of praise that heals our hearts.

The emphasis of the gospel account is not on the multiplication of the bread but on the act of sharing (Jesus breaking the loaves, and handing them to the disciples to distribute to the people) and trusting in God the Father and his providence. “Surprisingly, the account of the multiplication of the loaves does not mention the multiplication itself”; “He does not change the five loaves into five thousand” but “those fives loaves never run out”, the Holy Father said.

Having received the blessing at the end of the Mass, if we in turn bless others, we are doing something for them, speaking a goodness with love, turning a word into a gift, then the goodness will never run out.

Posted: August 2, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Are We Worthy of God’s Mercy?
“Each of us is more than the worst thing we’ve ever done” (Bryan Stevenson) Continue Reading >
God’s Epiphanies in our life
Today’s readings are about God’s epiphanies in our life, but we need patience, focused listening, and faith before we can hear or see them. Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >

怎樣將我們的微不足道變成偉大?

常年期第十八主日

依撒意亞先知書 55:1-3

啊!凡口渴的,請到水泉來!那沒有錢的,也請來罷!請來買不花錢,不索值的酒和奶吃!你們為什麼為那些不能充食的東西花錢,為那些不足果腹的東西浪費薪金呢?你們若細心聽我,你們就能吃豐美的食物,你們的心靈必因脂膏而喜悅。你們如側耳,走近我前來聽,你們必將獲得生命;我要與你們訂立一項永久的盟約,即誓許於達味的慈惠。

羅馬書 8:35, 37-39

那麼,誰能使我們與基督的愛隔絕?是困苦嗎?是窘迫嗎?是迫害嗎?是饑餓嗎?是赤貧嗎?是危險嗎?是刀劍嗎?然而,靠著那愛我們的主,我們在這一切事上,大獲全勝,因為我深信:無論是死亡,是生活,是天使,是掌權者,是現存的或將來的事物,是有權能者,是崇高或深遠的勢力,或其他任何受造之物,都不能使我們與天主的愛相隔絕,即是與我們的主基督耶穌之內的愛相隔絕。

瑪竇福音 14:13-21

那時候,耶穌聽說若翰死了,就上船,獨自退到荒野;群眾聽說了,就從各城步行而來,跟著耶穌。耶穌一下船,看見一大夥群眾,便對他們動了憐憫的心,治好了他們的病人。到了傍晚,門徒到耶穌面前,說:「這地方是荒野,時候已不早了,請你遣散群眾!叫他們各自到村莊,去買食物。」耶穌卻對門徒說:「他們不必去,你們給他們食物吧!」門徒對耶穌說:「我們這裡什麼也沒有,只有五個餅和兩條魚。」耶穌說:「你們拿來給我吧!」耶穌於是吩咐群眾坐在草地上,然後,拿起那五個餅和兩條魚,望天祝福了;把餅擘開,遞給門徒,門徒再分給群眾。眾人吃了,也都飽了。然後,他們把剩餘的碎塊,收了滿滿十二筐。吃的人數,除了婦女和小孩外,約有五千。

當這一年世界經歷疑惑、無助、衝突和悲劇時,聖保祿在讀經二的說話,沒有困苦、迫害或刀劍能使我們與基督的愛隔絕,是如何的鼓舞和安慰人心 (參 羅 8:35)。無論什麼環境,「靠著那愛我們的主」,我們會克服並「大獲全勝」(羅 8:35)。

的確,聖保祿的信德陳述,依撒意亞的預言「走近我前來聽,你們必將獲得生命」 (依 55:3) 和《聖詠》作者美麗的感恩句「你伸出了你的雙手,滿足了眾生的需求」 (詠 145:16) 為耶穌最偉大的奇蹟之一,著名五餅二魚的奇蹟,作了場景。

在福音讀經裏,我們聽到耶穌在治癒病人。到了傍晚,由於地處荒野,門徒們便請耶穌遣散群衆,叫他們各自到村莊去買食物。耶穌卻說「你們給他們吃的罷!」 (瑪 14:16)。對門徒來說,這任務非常艱巨,甚至不能完成,「原來男人大約有五千」(路 9:14)而「就是二百塊『德納』的餅,也不夠每人分得一小塊。」 (若 6:7)。

2019年6月23日基督聖體聖血節 ,教宗方濟各在 Santa Maria Consolatrice 教堂談及這奇蹟。耶穌要求祂的門徒給群衆食物,是告訴我們,我們所有的,無論是如何的微不足道,只要我們願意拿出來和人分享,就會結出果實,像群眾中那有五個大餅和兩條魚的男孩 (參 若 6:9)。教宗說:「主耶穌用我們的渺小,辦偉大的事情,正如衪用五個餅所做的事情一樣」。天主的全能,是為仁愛,而愛能以卑微而成就大事。在耶穌眼中,只要我們不保留給自己,願意拿出來,我們的微小會有莫大的價值。

耶穌 「望天祝福了;把餅擘開,遞給門徒,門徒再分給群眾」,奇蹟便發生了 (瑪14:19)。耶穌首先做的事是祈禱和祝福;祈求天主的保祐和恩典,讓五餅二魚足以讓群眾吃飽。耶穌隨意派餅,讓我們領略到祝福和恩典的意思。教宗亦提醒我們,祝福別人,不是說說好聽的話,而是用愛心道出善意。天主在彌撒中祝福我們,我們得到鼓勵,繼續前行。當我們在教堂一起讚美天主時,我們在祝福祂,而來自讚美天主的喜樂卻會治癒我們的心靈。

這段福音的記載,重點不是增餅,而是在於分享 (耶穌把麵餅擘開,交給門徒們,分派給眾人) 以及信任天主聖父和祂的護蔭。教宗説:「奇妙的是,增餅的記載並沒有說及餅如何變多」;「 祂沒有將五個餅變成五千個」,而是「那五個餅,取之不竭」。

彌撒禮成後,我們獲得祝福,若我們也祝福別人,我們便為他們做了一件事,把善意以仁愛之心說出來,把說話變成一份禮物,那麼,這份善意也會生生不息,取之不竭。

Posted: August 2, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十八主日: 做個自信、有人情味的基督徒 吳智勳神父

我們常聽人這樣說:「身為基督徒,我們應該多愛耶穌」。但愛必須由認識開始,愛一個素未謀面的人並不容易。透過聖經的記載,我們可以拼揍出耶穌的面貌,而今日的福音,更有助我們認識耶穌在個人生活、培育門徒以及牧養人靈上的可愛之處。

繼續閱讀 >