“I need to be baptized by you, and do you come to me?” (Matthew 3:14)

The Feast of the Baptism of the Lord

Isaiah 42:1-4,6-7

Thus says the LORD: Here is my servant whom I uphold, my chosen one with whom I am pleased, upon whom I have put my spirit; he shall bring forth justice to the nations, not crying out, not shouting, not making his voice heard in the street. a bruised reed he shall not break, and a smoldering wick he shall not quench, until he establishes justice on the earth; the coastlands will wait for his teaching. I, the LORD, have called you for the victory of justice, I have grasped you by the hand; I formed you, and set you as a covenant of the people, a light for the nations, to open the eyes of the blind, to bring out prisoners from confinement, and from the dungeon, those who live in darkness.

Acts 10:34-38

Peter proceeded to speak to those gathered in the house of Cornelius, saying: “In truth, I see that God shows no partiality. Rather, in every nation whoever fears him and acts uprightly is acceptable to him. You know the word that he sent to the Israelites as he proclaimed peace through Jesus Christ, who is Lord of all, what has happened all over Judea, beginning in Galilee after the baptism that John preached, how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and power. He went about doing good and healing all those oppressed by the devil, for God was with him.”

Matthew 3:13-17

Jesus came from Galilee to John at the Jordan to be baptized by him. John tried to prevent him, saying, “I need to be baptized by you, and yet you are coming to me?” Jesus said to him in reply, “Allow it now, for thus it is fitting for us to fulfill all righteousness.” Then he allowed him. After Jesus was baptized, he came up from the water and behold, the heavens were opened for him, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and coming upon him. And a voice came from the heavens, saying, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.”

This Sunday we celebrate the Baptism of the Lord. This reminds me of my own Baptism many years ago when I was a teenager and I seemed to understand quite well then what Baptism meant to me. I eagerly looked forward to receiving the Sacrament that takes away my sins and cleanses my dull soul to a spotless sparkling white. The forgiveness one receives at Baptism is full and complete including original sin, personal sins as well as penalties for these (CCC 978).

Jesus is sinless, why would He want to be baptized by John the Baptist? This may be in John’s mind, too, who proclaims a baptism of water for the forgiveness of sins, for “a change of heart” and the one who is to come after him is more powerful and will baptize them in the “Holy Spirit and fire” (Matthew 3:11). So when Jesus comes to the Jordan to be baptized, John said to Jesus, “I need to be baptized by you, and do you come to me?” (Matthew 3:13). Jesus answers that the Baptism is fitting to “fulfill all righteousness” (Matthew 3:15). Indeed, in the first reading, we hear Isaiah’s prophecy that the Lord has called Jesus “in righteousness”, given him as “a light to the nations … to bring out … those who sit in darkness” (Is 42:6-7). Through His Baptism, Jesus identifies with the sinners. It is a “manifestation of his self-emptying” (CCC 1224), taking on “the nature of a servant, made in human likeness” (Philippians 2:7).

In this Sunday’s Gospel reading, we also hear that after Jesus is baptized by John in the Jordan, his divinity as the Beloved Son in the Triune God is revealed, “… suddenly the heavens were opened to him and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him. And a voice from heaven said, ‘This is my Son, the Beloved, with whom I am well pleased’” (Matthew 3:16-17).

The grace of Baptism delivers us from sin but does not deliver us from inclination to sin. The frailties in character that may lead us to evil are “left for us to wrestle with” (CCC 1264). When the risen Christ instructs the Apostles to “make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you” (Matthew 28:19-20), He is also giving us the key to win the wrestle with our own weakness in character, temptation and inclination to sin, that is, to live out what he teaches us every day in our lives.

Posted: January 12, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Are we ready to accompany Jesus into Jerusalem and point out His true identity to others?
It is not until after Jesus' death does His true identity is revealed. Continue Reading >
Doing What We Should Do
There are certain things that we should be doing right now but maybe don’t feel like doing. Like what? Forgiving, smiling, doing our duty, being agreeable. Some of us are… Continue Reading >
We are spiritually dead. Who can help?
In this 5th Sunday of Lent, we continue our Lenten journey with a magnificent meditation from the Gospel of John, the story of raising Lazarus from the dead. The details… Continue Reading >

「我本來需要受你的洗,而你卻來就我嗎?」(瑪 3:14)

主受洗節

依撒意亞先知書 42:1-4,6-7

上主這樣說:「請看,我扶持的僕人,我心靈喜愛的所選者!我在他身上傾注了我的神,叫他給萬民傳報真道。他不呼喊,不喧嚷,在街市上也聽不到他的聲音。破傷的蘆葦,他不折斷;將熄的燈心,他不吹滅;他將忠實地傳報真道。他不沮喪,也不失望,直到他在世上奠定了真道,因為海島都期待著他的教誨。「我,上主,因仁義召叫了你,我必提攜你,保護你,立你作人民的盟約,萬民的光明,為開啟盲人的眼目,從獄中領出被囚的人,從牢裡領出住在黑暗的人。」

宗徒大事錄 10:34-38

那時候,伯多祿說:「我真正明白了:天主是不看情面的;凡在各民族中,敬畏他,而又履行正義的人,都是他所中悅的。「他藉耶穌基督——萬民之主——宣講了和平的喜訊,把這道先傳給以色列子民。「你們都知道:在若翰宣講洗禮以後,從加里肋亞開始,在全猶太所發生的事:天主怎樣以聖神和德能,傅了納匝肋的耶穌,使他巡行各處,施恩行善,治好一切受魔鬼壓制的人,因為天主同他在一起。」

瑪竇福音 3:13-17

那時候,耶穌由加里肋亞,來到約但河、若翰那裡,為受若翰的洗;但若翰想要阻止他,說:「我本來需要受你的洗,而你卻來就我嗎?」耶穌回答他說:「你暫且容許吧!因為我們應當這樣,以完成全義。」於是若翰就容許了耶穌。耶穌受洗後,隨即從水裡上來,忽然,天為他開了。耶穌看見天主聖神,有如鴿子降下,來到他上面;又有聲音由天上說:「這是我的愛子,我所喜悅的。」

本主日慶祝主的受洗。這讓我想起自己多年前的洗禮,那時候,十多歲的我似乎相當了解領洗對自己的意義。我熱切期待領受聖洗,因為聖事會免除我的罪過,把我暗啞的靈魂洗滌得潔白亮麗。況且,在聖洗聖事中所得到的罪赦是圓滿及完整的,包括原罪、本罪及罪罰,皆全部獲得赦免 ( 天主教教理 978)。

耶穌是無罪的,但祂為何要洗者若翰為祂施洗呢?很可能若翰也如此想,他宣講水的洗禮,使人「悔改」而在他之後要來的那一位比他更強,會用「聖神及火」來替他們洗禮 (瑪 3:11)。所以,當耶穌來到約旦河要若翰替祂施洗之時,若翰對祂說:「我本來需要受你的洗,而你卻來就我嗎?」(瑪 3:13)。耶穌回答說:受洗是應該的,「以完成全義」(瑪 3:15)。果然,在讀經一,我們聽見依撒意亞的預言,「上主因仁義召叫了」耶穌,又把祂賜給世人成為「萬民的光明…領出住在黑暗的人」(依 42:6-7)。耶穌藉著祂的受洗,把自己置於罪人的位置,體諒他們。這是「自我空虚」的表現 (天主教教理 1224)。祂「取了奴僕的形體,與人相似」( 斐 2:7)。

在本主日的福音讀經,我們又聽到若翰在約旦河為耶穌施洗之後,祂的天主性,三位一體天主至愛的聖子,得到彰顯:「忽然,天為他開了。耶穌看見天主聖神,有如鴿子降下,來到祂上面;又有聲音由天上說:『這是我的愛子,我所喜悅的』」(瑪 3: 16 -17)。

洗禮的恩典拯救我們於罪惡,卻不能免除我們的犯罪傾向。我們仍然要與自己人性脆弱而導致的邪惡「搏鬥」(天主教教理 1264)。當復活的基督教導宗徒們「去使萬民成為門徒,因父及子及聖神之名給他們授洗,教訓他們遵守我所吩咐你們的一切」(瑪 28:19-20),耶穌亦給了我們如何戰勝與人性弱點、誘惑和犯罪傾向搏鬥的鑰匙和關鍵,就是在我們的人生,活出祂的教導。

Posted: January 12, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年 主受洗節:耶穌的抉擇 吳智勳神父

人一生不斷要在很多事情上作決定。小時候,父母給我們安排一切,照顧我們的衣食住行、教育,甚至我們的宗教信仰。但是,當我們逐漸長大,在很多事情上,開始為自己作決定,

繼續閱讀 >
如何意識到自己真的很特別 Fr. Jusin Huang

鮑勃Bob在父親離開家人時只有十三歲。他是七個孩子中的老二,他覺得他必須成為家中之主。幾週後,當他的籃球教練試圖非禮他時,他感到非常震驚。他的傷痛持續至一年後,當父親最終建立第二個家庭並移居佛羅里達州時,創傷重新綻開。

繼續閱讀 >