Love “with all your heart,and with all your soul,and with all your strength” (Dt 6:6)

Thirty-first Sunday in Ordinary Time

Deuteronomy 6:2-6

Moses spoke to the people, saying:"Fear the LORD, your God,and keep, throughout the days of your lives, all his statutes and commandments which I enjoin on you, and thus have long life. Hear then, Israel, and be careful to observe them, that you may grow and prosper the more, in keeping with the promise of the LORD, the God of your fathers, to give you a land flowing with milk and honey. "Hear, O Israel! The LORD is our God, the LORD alone! Therefore, you shall love the LORD, your God, with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength. Take to heart these words which I enjoin on you today."

Hebrews 7:23-28

Brothers and sisters: The levitical priests were many because they were prevented by death from remaining in office, but Jesus, because he remains forever, has a priesthood that does not pass away. Therefore, he is always able to save those who approach God through him, since he lives forever to make intercession for them. It was fitting that we should have such a high priest: holy, innocent, undefiled, separated from sinners, higher than the heavens. He has no need, as did the high priests, to offer sacrifice day after day, first for his own sins and then for those of the people; he did that once for all when he offered himself. For the law appoints men subject to weakness to be high priests, but the word of the oath, which was taken after the law, appoints a son, who has been made perfect forever.

Mark 12:28B-34

One of the scribes came to Jesus and asked him, "Which is the first of all the commandments?" Jesus replied, "The first is this: Hear, O Israel! The Lord our God is Lord alone! You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength. The second is this: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. There is no other commandment greater than these." The scribe said to him, "Well said, teacher. You are right in saying, 'He is One and there is no other than he.' And 'to love him with all your heart, with all your understanding, with all your strength, and to love your neighbor as yourself' is worth more than all burnt offerings and sacrifices." And when Jesus saw that he answered with understanding, he said to him, "You are not far from the kingdom of God." And no one dared to ask him any more questions.

Love “with all your heart,and with all your soul,and with all your strength” (Dt 6:6). This week’s readings remind us what love is and challenge each one of us,wherever we are on our life’s journey,to love humbly,courageously,passionately and unconditionally.

What is love? Is it a priceless diamond ring or a beautiful bouquet of flowers? A mug of hot chocolate on the coldest day? A grandmother’s hand-knitted sweater? Mom’s special soup? What about a willingness to walk with someone in their darkest hours? Standing by someone when everyone else has abandoned them? I believe it is all of the above! Indeed,love takes effort and courage.

In the Gospel of Mark,Jesus commends the scribe that he is not “far from the kingdom of God”,when the scribe “answered with understanding” to the question of the most important commandment – love (Mk 12:34). The ultimate destination of love is God,“‘to love [God] with all your heart,with all your understanding,with all your strength,and to love your neighbour as yourself’ is worth more than all burnt offerings and sacrifices” (Mk 12:33).

To love God with everything we have and love our neighbours as ourselves are the most important commandments of all. When Mary accepts Simeon’s mysterious words at the Temple,“and a sword will pierce your own soul too”,and thirty-three years later,gazes upon her son crucified and accepts Jesus’ last words,“Woman,here is your son”,that puts her in John’s care,love is made concrete by Mary’s humility and vulnerability (Lk 2:35,ref. Jn 19:26). Mary embraces her mission and loves with all her heart,soul,understanding,and strength.

Peter,who first boldly proclaims his loyalty to Jesus,“Lord,I am ready to go with you to prison and to death!”,later denies Jesus three times in the high priest’s courtyard (Lk 22:33). Peter,like all the others,has abandoned Jesus. After realizing what he has done,“he went out and wept bitterly” (Lk 22:62). Peter’s gut-wrenching sobs reveal his deep love for his beloved teacher and friend. Is he weeping for himself or Jesus? If Peter doesn’t love Jesus,he would not have wept so bitterly out of a broken heart. Indeed,Peter’s heart is broken by both his deep love for Jesus and his own weakness; recognizing his own lack of courage to love at such a pivotal moment. Nonetheless,Jesus lifts him up from his brokenness and makes him whole again. Indeed,love takes courage. After His resurrection,Jesus asks Peter,“Simon son of John,do you love me more than these?” three times; to each Peter answers with conviction,“Yes Lord; you know that I love you”(Jn 21:15-17). These three ‘yeses’ may never erase the hurt caused by the first three ‘nos’; however we have good reason to believe that something more than human is happening here in this special reconciliatory process that Jesus administers for Peter. Each resounding ‘yes’ encourages Peter,and each one of us,to go on even when the going gets tough. One by one,each ‘yes’ heals the wound left behind by each “no”. In the final moments with Jesus,Peter steps up to the challenge,finally,and accepts the “belt” placed around him and his eventual “death by which he would glorify God” (Jn 21:19). Peter loves with all his strength as he treads the road of martyrdom.

What is love,then? Love is when Mary walks the final hours with her son; when Peter weeps bitterly for betraying his teacher and friend; love is when Jesus prays,“My Father,if it is possible,let this cup pass from me; yet not what I want but what you want” (Mt 26:39).

Posted: October 31, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Laborers
Are we ready to accept the Lord’s invitation to exercise the lay apostolate and our common priesthood to become God’s “laborers” in our own different ways, each according to the… Continue Reading >
“Run so as to win”
Where does this “resoluteness” of Jesus come from? Continue Reading >
This Is My Body … This Is My Blood
When we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we unite ourselves to Christ and bear witness to the greatest love of all. Continue Reading >

「當全心、全靈、全力,愛上主、你的天主」(申 6:6)。

常年期第三十一主日

申命紀 6:2-6

我,若望,看見了另一位天使,從太陽東升之處上來,拿著永生天主的印,大聲向那獲得授權,能傷害大地和海洋的四位天使呼喊,說:「你們不可傷害大地、海洋和樹木,等我們在我們天主的眾僕人額上,先蓋上印。」以後,我聽見蓋了印的數目:在以色列子孫各支派中,蓋了印的,共有十四萬四千。在這些事以後,我看見有一大夥群眾,沒有人能夠數清,是來自各邦國、各支派、各民族、各異語的;他們都站在寶座和羔羊面前,身穿白衣,手持棕櫚枝,大聲呼喊說:「救恩來自那坐在寶座上的、我們的天主,並來自羔羊!」於是,所有站在寶座、長老和那四個活物周圍的天使,在寶座前,俯伏於地,朝拜天主,說:「阿們。願讚頌、光榮、智慧、稱謝、尊威、權能和勇毅,全歸於我們的天主,至於無窮之世。阿們。」長老之中,有一位問我說:「這些穿白衣的人是誰?他們是從那裡來的?」我回答他說:「我主,你知道。」於是,他告訴我說:「這些人是由大災難中來的;他們曾在羔羊的血中,洗淨了自己的衣裳,使衣裳雪白。」

希伯來書 7:23-28

肋未人成為司祭的,人數眾多,因為死亡阻礙他們長久留任,但是,耶穌因永遠長存,具有不可消逝的司祭品位。因此,凡由他而接近天主的人,他都能全部拯救,因為他常活著,為他們轉求。這樣的大司祭,才適合我們。他是聖善的、無罪的、無玷的、有別於罪人的、高於諸天的;他無須像那些大司祭一樣,每日要先為自己的罪,後為人民的罪,祭獻犧牲;因為他奉獻了自己,只一次,就永遠完成了這事。因為法律所立為大司祭的人,是有弱點的;可是在法律以後,以誓言所立的聖子,卻是成全的,直到永遠。

馬爾谷福音 12:28-34

有一個經師前來,問耶穌說:「一切誡命中,那一條是第一條呢?」耶穌回答說:「第一條是:以色列!你要聽!上主、我們的天主,是唯一的天主。你應當全心、全靈、全意、全力,愛上主、你的天主。第二條是:你應當愛近人,如你自己。再沒有別的誡命,比這兩條更大的了。」那經師對耶穌說:「不錯,師父說的實在對:天主是唯一的,除他以外,再沒有別的。我們應全心、全意、全力愛他,並愛近人如自己;這遠超過一切全燔祭和犧牲。」耶穌見他回答得明智,便對他說:「你離天主的國不遠了。」從此,沒有人敢再問他。

你當全心、全靈、全力,愛上主你的天主 (申 6:6)。本週的讀經提醒我們,愛是什麼,也挑戰我們每一位,無論自己的生命旅程是在甚麼位置,我們都要謙卑地、勇敢地、懇切地和無條件地去愛。
愛是什麼? 愛是否一隻價值連城的鑽戒,或是一個美麗的花束? 是在極寒冷的一天送上一杯熱朱古力?是祖母編織的毛衣?是媽媽的拿手好湯 ?或是願意與人走過他最黑暗的時刻?是支持一個遭所有人遺棄的人?我相信上述的都是愛!的確,愛是需要努力和勇氣的。
在《馬爾谷福音》當經師對最重要的誡命 — 愛的誡命 — 「回答得明智」時,耶穌稱讚他說:「你離天主的國不遠了」(谷 12:34)。愛的最終目標是天主,「『以全心、全意、全力愛【天主】,並愛近人如自己』,這遠超過一切全燔祭和犧牲」(谷 12:33)。
愛天主在萬有之上和愛人如己,是所有誡命中,最重要的。當瑪利亞在聖殿裡接受了西默盎所說的充滿奧秘的話:「有一把利劍剌透你的心靈」,而三十三年後,當她注視着釘在十字架上的兒子時,她接受了耶穌所講的最後幾句話,把她付托給若望照顧:「女人,看,你的兒子!」,愛,就在瑪利亞的謙遜和脆弱中表露無遺 (路 2:35,參 若 19:26)。瑪利亞緊抱自己的使命,並以全心、全靈、全意和全力去愛。
伯多祿最初勇敢地向耶穌表達他的忠誠。他說:「主,我已經準備同你一起下獄,同去受死」,但稍後卻在大司祭的庭院中三次不認耶穌 (路 22:33)。伯多祿就如其他人一樣,摒棄了耶穌。當他意識到自己做了什麼,「一到外面,就悽慘地哭起來」(路 22:62)。伯多祿肝膽俱裂的哭泣,表現了他對自己至愛的師傅和朋友的深切愛情。他是為自己還是為耶穌而哭呢?如果伯多祿不愛耶穌的話,他不會因為心碎而如此悲苦地痛哭流淚。的確,伯多祿因他對耶穌深切的愛,及他自己的軟弱而心碎了;在如此關鍵的時刻,他認識到自己沒有勇氣去愛耶穌。儘管如此,耶穌從破碎中把他扶起,讓他重拾完整的自己。真的,愛需要勇氣。在祂復活之後,耶穌問伯多祿三次:「若望的兒子西滿,你比他們更愛我嗎?」;而每一次,伯多祿都堅定地回答說:「主,是的,你知道我愛你」(若 21:15-17)。這三個「是的」,可能永遠不能把以前那三個「不是」所帶來的傷害抹去;無論如何,我們有充分的理由相信,耶穌特別為伯多祿而設的修和過程是超越人性的。每一個「是的」,都在鼓勵伯多祿,鼓勵我們每一個,無論情況有多險惡,我們都要繼續下去。每一個「是的」,治癒了每一個「不是」所帶來的傷痛。在與耶穌相處的最後時光,伯多祿迎接挑戰,後來更接受了被人「束上腰」,最終以「死,去光榮天主」(若 21:19) 。 伯多祿全力去愛,走上殉道之路。
那麼,愛是什麼呢?愛,是當瑪利亞在她兒子生命的最後時刻,與祂同行;愛,是當伯多祿因為出賣自己的師傅和朋友而悽慘痛哭;愛,是當耶穌這樣祈禱時:「我父!若是可能,就讓這杯離開我罷!但不要照我,而要照你所願意的」(瑪 26:39)。

Posted: October 31, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

跟隨真理 Fr. Justin Huang

你上一次對重要事情改變看法是在什麼時候?這很難做到。我們不願意承認我們在某些事情上做「錯了」。
然而,作為一個知性誠實的人,尤其是身為基督的門徒的我們,會一直跟隨真理的指引, 無論何方,即使這意味著改變我們的想法。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第三十一主日:從愛人到愛主 吳智勳神父

耶穌在走向耶路撒冷這條不歸路上,一直在培訓門徒有關基督徒應有的精神,例如得勇於捨棄、要背十字架、要與耶穌建立密切的關係等等;但實際地該怎樣做呢?讓我們來看 看耶穌給我們的答案。

繼續閱讀 >