The mystery of the Resurrection cannot be understood by the intellect or empirically explained.

Third Sunday of Easter

Acts 5:27-32, 40B-41

When the captain and the court officers had brought the apostles in and made them stand before the Sanhedrin, the high priest questioned them, “We gave you strict orders, did we not, to stop teaching in that name? Yet you have filled Jerusalem with your teaching and want to bring this man’s blood upon us.” But Peter and the apostles said in reply, “We must obey God rather than men. The God of our ancestors raised Jesus, though you had him killed by hanging him on a tree. God exalted him at his right hand as leader and savior to grant Israel repentance and forgiveness of sins. We are witnesses of these things, as is the Holy Spirit whom God has given to those who obey him.” The Sanhedrin ordered the apostles to stop speaking in the name of Jesus, and dismissed them. So they left the presence of the Sanhedrin, rejoicing that they had been found worthy to suffer dishonor for the sake of the name.

Revelation 5:11-14

I, John, looked and heard the voices of many angels who surrounded the throne and the living creatures and the elders. They were countless in number, and they cried out in a loud voice: “Worthy is the Lamb that was slain to receive power and riches, wisdom and strength, honor and glory and blessing.” Then I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and in the sea, everything in the universe, cry out: “To the one who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be blessing and honor, glory and might, forever and ever.” The four living creatures answered, “Amen,” and the elders fell down and worshiped.

John 21:1-19

At that time, Jesus revealed himself again to his disciples at the Sea of Tiberias. He revealed himself in this way. Together were Simon Peter, Thomas called Didymus, Nathanael from Cana in Galilee, Zebedee’s sons, and two others of his disciples. Simon Peter said to them, “I am going fishing.” They said to him, “We also will come with you.” So they went out and got into the boat, but that night they caught nothing. When it was already dawn, Jesus was standing on the shore; but the disciples did not realize that it was Jesus. Jesus said to them, “Children, have you caught anything to eat?” They answered him, “No.” So he said to them, “Cast the net over the right side of the boat and you will find something.” So they cast it, and were not able to pull it in because of the number of fish. So the disciple whom Jesus loved said to Peter, “It is the Lord.” When Simon Peter heard that it was the Lord, he tucked in his garment, for he was lightly clad, and jumped into the sea. The other disciples came in the boat, for they were not far from shore, only about a hundred yards, dragging the net with the fish. When they climbed out on shore, they saw a charcoal fire with fish on it and bread. Jesus said to them, “Bring some of the fish you just caught.” So Simon Peter went over and dragged the net ashore full of one hundred fifty-three large fish. Even though there were so many, the net was not torn. Jesus said to them, “Come, have breakfast.” And none of the disciples dared to ask him, “Who are you?” because they realized it was the Lord. Jesus came over and took the bread and gave it to them, and in like manner the fish. This was now the third time Jesus was revealed to his disciples after being raised from the dead. When they had finished breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” Simon Peter answered him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Feed my lambs.” He then said to Simon Peter a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Simon Peter answered him, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Tend my sheep.” Jesus said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Peter was distressed that Jesus had said to him a third time, “Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep. Amen, amen, I say to you, when you were younger, you used to dress yourself and go where you wanted; but when you grow old, you will stretch out your hands, and someone else will dress you and lead you where you do not want to go.” He said this signifying by what kind of death he would glorify God. And when he had said this, he said to him, “Follow me.”

A lot of ink has been spilled on today’s Gospel reading. Starting from the disciples’ failed attempt of fishing to their miraculous haul, the exact counting of the catch, the breakfast that Jesus prepared, the three questions posed to Peter and the three commands of Jesus, the whole episode was filled with theological color. In light of the many exegeses which have provided a good comprehension of the text, today I would like to highlight only one area.

It is the mysteriousness of Jesus’ appearance. Pope Benedict XVI in his book, Jesus of Nazareth (Holy Week), has dealt with this point quite extensively. Careful reading of the text reveals the “special mysterious nature of the risen Lord’s new existence” (P. 266). Together with the other “appearance” accounts, this one vividly displayed many loose ends. Apart from the practical questions of how did Jesus come and where did He get the fish and bread, the mysteriousness comes from His non recognition by the disciples. “None of the disciples dared ask Him, ‘Who are you?’ They knew it was the Lord” (Jn 21:12). It must have been ineffable for the disciples to comprehend the totally new experience of Jesus’ presence and therefore they did not dare to ask. He was of “real physicality” but “not bound by physical laws”. He was both the “same embodied man” and “a new man embodied in a new way” (P.266, 268). According to Pope Benedict XVI, these loose ends were the proofs of the veracity of the resurrected Lord (P. 266-267). If the Resurrection story was invented, it would have been patched up nicely to make it more believable. It was with such originality that the text bore witness to this real encounter (cf P.275).

I would say that this mysteriousness is important not so much for its theological implication but more for our faith. The risen Lord was definitely not a ghost (spirit) for He had a body (cf Lk 24:39-43; Jn 20:27) and yet was freed from bodily constraints (cf Lk 24:31, 36; Jn 20:19, 26). His coming back from the dead was not something eerie or a paranormal phenomenon but “a new dimension of human existence” (P.274) that cannot be understood by the intellect or empirically explained. “Since we ourselves have no experience of such a renewed and transformed……….kind of life” (P.274), it is only with and through faith that we can come to accept the reality of this unthinkable event and not only accept, but believe that this new kind of life, brought about by Jesus, “the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep” (1 Cor 15:20-23), has been made possible for us.

Posted: April 10, 2016

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Advent is not only a time of promises and anticipation, but also a homecoming.
Make straight our crooked ways; recognize the blindspots of our lives and fill our spiritual valley with compassion and kindness; level our mountain of pride and self-centeredness; and in the… Continue Reading >
Recognizing and Deflecting Desolation
Mark wrote in his journal that things are a mess. This past month for him has been dark, and he’s keeping his wife at a distance. He’s not praying as… Continue Reading >
A New Fixed Star Is coming – An Apocalypse message from Jesus
Happy New Year! Today, the first Sunday of Advent, is the beginning of a new liturgical year. What an extraordinary commencement we have with the readings for today. We are… Continue Reading >

復活故事的奧秘是不能以智力來理解,或憑實證經驗來解釋的

復活期第三主日

宗徒大事錄 5:27-32,40-41

那時候,聖殿警官和差役,把宗徒領來之後,叫他們站在公議會前。大司祭審問他們,說:「我們曾嚴厲命令你們,不可用這名字施教。你們看,你們卻把你們的道理,傳遍了耶路撒冷;你們是有意把這人的血,歸到我們身上!」伯多祿和眾宗徒回答說:「聽天主的命,應勝過聽人的命。我們祖先的天主,復活了你們下毒手懸在木架上的耶穌。天主以右手舉揚了他,叫他做首領和救主,為賜給以色列人悔改和罪赦。我們就是這些事的證人,並且,天主賜給服從他的人的聖神,也為此事作證。」大司祭命令宗徒:不可再因耶穌的名字講道,然後,釋放了他們。他們喜喜歡歡由公議會出來,因為他們配為這名字受侮辱。

默示錄 5:11-14

我、若望,看見和聽見在寶座、活物和長老的四周,有許多天使的聲音;他們的數目千千萬萬,大聲喊說:「被宰殺的羔羊,堪受權能、富裕、智慧、勇毅、尊威、光榮和讚頌!」我又聽見一切受造物,即天上、地上、地下和海中的萬物,都說:「願讚頌、尊威、光榮和權力,歸於坐在寶座上的那位和羔羊,至於無窮之世!」那四個活物就答說:「阿們。」長老們於是俯伏朝拜。

若望福音 21:1-19

那時候,耶穌在提庇黎雅海邊,又顯現給門徒。耶穌是這樣顯現的:當西滿伯多祿、號稱狄狄摩的多默、加里肋亞加納的納塔乃耳、載伯德的兩個兒子,同其他兩個門徒在一起的時候,西滿伯多祿對他們說:「我去打魚。」他們回答說:「我們也同你一起去。」他們便出去,上了船;但那一夜什麼也沒有捕獲。已經到了早晨,耶穌站在岸上;門徒卻沒有認出他是耶穌。於是,耶穌對他們說:「孩子們,你們有魚吃嗎?」他們回答說:「沒有。」耶穌向他們說:「向船右邊撒網,就會捕到。」他們便撒下網,因為魚太多,竟不能把網拉上來。耶穌所愛的那個門徒,就對伯多祿說:「是主。」西滿伯多祿一聽見是主;他當時赤著身;就束上外衣,縱身跳入海裡。其他門徒因離岸不遠──約有二百肘──就坐著小船,拖著一網魚回來。當他們上了岸,看見放著一堆炭火,上面放著魚和餅。耶穌對他們說:「把你們剛才所打得的魚,拿一些來!」西滿伯多祿便上船,把網拉到岸上,網裡都是大魚,共一百五十三條;雖然這麼多,網卻沒有破。耶穌向他們說:「你們來吃早飯吧!」門徒中沒有人敢問他:「你是誰?」因為知道是主。耶穌於是上前,拿起餅來,遞給他們;也同樣拿起魚來,遞給他們。耶穌從死者中復活後,向門徒顯現,這已是第三次。吃完了早飯,耶穌對西滿伯多祿說:「若望的兒子西滿,你比他們更愛我嗎?」伯多祿回答說:「主,是的,你知道我愛你。」耶穌就對他說:「你餵養我的羔羊。」耶穌第二次又問伯多祿說:「若望的兒子西滿,你愛我嗎?」伯多祿回答說:「主,是的,你知道我愛你。」耶穌就對他說:「你牧放我的羊群。」耶穌第三次問伯多祿說:「若望的兒子西滿,你愛我嗎?」伯多祿因耶穌第三次問他說:「你愛我嗎?」便憂愁起來,於是向耶穌說:「主啊!一切你都知道,你曉得我愛你。」耶穌對他說:「你餵養我的羊群。「我實實在在告訴你:你年少時,自己束上腰,任意往來;但到了老年,你要伸出手來,別人要給你束上腰,帶你到你不願意去的地方。」耶穌說這話,是指伯多祿將以怎樣的死,去光榮天主。說完這話,又對他說:「跟隨我吧!」

今天的福音讀經在很多方面都給著墨過。從門徒嘗試捕魚失敗開始到他們神奇的重載,漁獲的確實數量,耶穌準備早餐,向伯多祿提出的三個問題,以及耶穌的三個指示等等,整個事件都充滿著神學的色彩。鑒於許多釋經學對本文已提供了良好的解釋,今天我只想強調一個要點。

那就是耶穌顯現的神秘感。教宗本篤十六世在他的「納匝肋人耶穌:聖週 (Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week)」一書中,相當充實地解釋了這個要點。仔細閱讀之下, 該文揭示了「復活的主新存在的特殊神秘性質亅(第 266 頁) 。連同其他「顯現」的記述,這一記述明確地展現了許多枝節的問題。除了耶穌怎樣到來,及衪從哪裡得到魚和麵包等切實問題之外,那神秘感來自門徒沒有認出衪是耶穌。「門徒中沒有人敢問他:「你是誰?」因為知道是主。」(若21:12) 。為門徙們,理解耶穌顯現定是個不可言喻的全新體驗,因此他們不敢問。衪是「真正的肉身」,但却「不受物理定律的約束亅。他是「一個體現的人」也同時是「新方式體現的新人」(第266頁,268頁) 。據教宗本篤十六世,這些枝節是復活的主真實性的證明(第 266-267 頁)。因為如果復活故事是虛構的,它必會被好好修改,使它更具可信性。正是這文本的原創性,證明了這是個真實的事蹟(參看 第275頁)。

我認為這神秘感重要的不在於其神學的含義,而是更在於我們的信仰。復活的主肯定不是鬼魂(幽靈),因為他有一個肉體 (參看 路24:39-43;若20:27),但却不受肉體的約束 (參看 路24:31,36;若20:19,26) 。衪從死者中復活,不是怪異可怕或一般超自然的現象,而是「一度人類存在的新方式」 (第274頁) ,並不能以智力來理解或憑實證經驗來解釋的。「由於我們自己沒有經歷過這種…更新和轉化的生命」(第274頁) ,只有憑著信德,我們才可以接受這個不可思議的現實。不僅是接受,而且相信耶穌, 因衪「做了死者的初果」(格前15:20-23) 帶來的這種新生命,為我們已成為了可能的事。

Posted: April 10, 2016

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙年復活期第三主日:教會 吳智勳神父

本週的福音大概是附錄,加上去的時候可能伯多祿已逝世,而耶穌所愛的門徒仍然活著。這個附錄清楚啟示基督教會的面貌,讓我們就以教會為主題作反省。

  教會是傳福音的團體:福音讀經說:「西滿伯多祿對其他門徒說,我要去打魚」。通常船是代表教會,而打魚則象徵傳福音。教會的首要工作是傳福音,這是耶穌給與教會的使命,若教會只專注社會服務而不傳福音,就喪失她本有的價值。教會內每位基督徒也肩負為主捕魚的使命,不傳福音就不是使徒。

繼續閱讀 >