Preparing for the Royal Visit

Thirty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 6:12-16

Resplendent and unfading is wisdom, and she is readily perceived by those who love her, and found by those who seek her. She hastens to make herself known in anticipation of their desire; Whoever watches for her at dawn shall not be disappointed, for he shall find her sitting by his gate. For taking thought of wisdom is the perfection of prudence, and whoever for her sake keeps vigil shall quickly be free from care; because she makes her own rounds, seeking those worthy of her, and graciously appears to them in the ways, and meets them with all solicitude.

1 Thessalonians 4:13-18

We do not want you to be unaware, brothers and sisters, about those who have fallen asleep, so that you may not grieve like the rest, who have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose, so too will God, through Jesus, bring with him those who have fallen asleep. Indeed, we tell you this, on the word of the Lord, that we who are alive, who are left until the coming of the Lord, will surely not precede those who have fallen asleep. For the Lord himself, with a word of command, with the voice of an archangel and with the trumpet of God, will come down from heaven, and the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive, who are left, will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. Thus we shall always be with the Lord. Therefore, console one another with these words.

Matthew 25:1-13

Jesus told his disciples this parable: "The kingdom of heaven will be like ten virgins who took their lamps and went out to meet the bridegroom. Five of them were foolish and five were wise. The foolish ones, when taking their lamps, brought no oil with them, but the wise brought flasks of oil with their lamps. Since the bridegroom was long delayed, they all became drowsy and fell asleep. At midnight, there was a cry, 'Behold, the bridegroom! Come out to meet him!' Then all those virgins got up and trimmed their lamps. The foolish ones said to the wise, 'Give us some of your oil, for our lamps are going out.' But the wise ones replied, 'No, for there may not be enough for us and you. Go instead to the merchants and buy some for yourselves.' While they went off to buy it, the bridegroom came and those who were ready went into the wedding feast with him. Then the door was locked. Afterwards the other virgins came and said, 'Lord, Lord, open the door for us!' But he said in reply, 'Amen, I say to you, I do not know you.' Therefore, stay awake, for you know neither the day nor the hour."

Waiting …
Whether it is waiting in line at the Covid test site, grocery store, bank, or Timmy’s, for the Covid vaccine, the train, a call to get through, delivery, the birthday party, Christmas, or our loved ones to come home, our patience has been put to the test time and time again. The funny thing is that we all get upset, every single time, when we are asked to wait, even if we know that there’s a good reason for it.

Preparing …
I don’t know about you, but many of us find it challenging to keep on top of EVERYTHING: our job/career, laundry, grocery shopping (who knows our loved ones and the little people in our lives can eat so much =D) , preparing breakfast, lunch, snacks, and dinner, cleaning up (if only we have the fleet of servants from “Downton Abbey”) , kids’ school and extracurricular activities, and, of course, laundry again. In my family, my sisters and I have always been taught to always pick up after ourselves and keep our humble home clean; who knows when our next visitors may pop up! Well, easier said than done! How could we keep our house clean at all times and be ready for visitors at a moment’s notice?

If we feel anxious and impatient about waiting in line, imagine how the Thessalonians and, as Paul describes, those “who are alive”, may feel as they await “the coming of the Lord” (1Thess 4:15)! At the time, Paul wrote to the Thessalonians out of a great concern for the converts who lived under constant pressure of paganism and faced intensifying persecution (ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible 371). Paul wants to strengthen their faith and spiritually journey with them during such challenging times. The tone of Paul’s letter is encouraging and hopeful, rather than defeating and lamenting. He constantly reminds readers, some of them who “are anxious about the fate of their deceased relatives and friends (1 Thess 4:13), [that] as God raised Jesus from the dead and carried him into heaven, so too he will raise the righteous at the blast of the final trumpet and escort them into glory (4:14-18)” (ICSB 371). During their time of suffering and waiting, there is only one certainty: God has not abandoned nor forsaken them; that Jesus Christ will come again in glory. Not only does Paul encourage his readers that “Then we who are alive, who are left, will be caught up in the clouds together with them to meet the Lord in the air; and so we will be with the Lord forever”, but he also asks them to “encourage one another with these words” (1 Thess 4:17-18). As a community of believers, we, too, are tasked with encouraging and supporting one another, especially during challenging times. During such times, we know that there’s one certainty: our hope rests on the fact that God will never abandon nor forsake us; that His only Son continues to journey with us, every difficult step of the way, until He comes again in glory. Preface I of Advent – Eucharistic Prayer beautifully proclaims, “For he assumed at his first coming the lowliness of human flesh, and so fulfilled the design you formed long ago, and opened for us the way to eternal salvation, that when he comes again in glory and majesty and all is at last made manifest, we who watch for that day may inherit the great promise in which now we dare to hope”.

Since we are certain that Christ will come again, how do we prepare our “house” for the royal visit? To put it simply, it takes a lot of hard work and vigilance “for [we] know neither the day nor the hour” (Mt 25:13). If we love this house, we must care for it and all that is in it. We strive to keep this house in tip-top condition; after all, St. Paul reminds us that our body is the “temple of the Holy Spirit” (1Cor 6:19). This week’s Gospel reading, “The Parable of the Ten Bridesmaids”, speaks to the need for preparation and watchfulness. Though the story’s characters are categorized into “wise” and “foolish”, it is not a story about one’s intelligence. Rather, it is a story of the heart. Five of the ten bridesmaids care enough to take extra oil with them while the other five do not. Later that evening when the bridegroom finally arrives, the “wise” bridesmaids “got up and trimmed their lamps” while the “foolish” ones have to scramble to buy oil (Mt 25:7). So, the “wise” ones are welcomed into the wedding feast while the “foolish” ones are turned away at the gate, “Truly I tell you, I do not know you” (Mt 25:12). Indeed, if we do not live like we “know” Christ every single day and bear Christ in our hearts, how do we expect Christ to “know” us when He comes again? If we, like the “wise” bridesmaids, always keep Christ in our hearts and minds, we will always be ready for Christ, no matter what time it is. Wisdom is not a measure of our intellectual capabilities but a gift from God, waiting to be received. “Wisdom” is to be “found by those who seek her” and “she goes about seeking those worthy of her, and she graciously appears to them in their paths, and meets them in every thought” (Wis 6:12,16). When we sincerely seek “wisdom”, “wisdom” will cross paths with us.

So, sisters and brothers in Christ, do not lose patience as we wait in joyful hope! Do not lose heart during challenging times! We know with certainty that our friend and teacher, Jesus Christ, journeys with us every step of the way. Let’s get our house in order and our hearts ready, together as a faith community, for the Royal visit.

Posted: November 8, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >
Our Bodies Are Good
A few weeks ago, some students in our school asked me if Catholics should support the LGBTQ movement—it’s wonderful that they spoke about what was really on their minds. I… Continue Reading >

為救主君王的蒞臨作準備

by Susanna Mak
2020-11-08
常年期第三十二主日

智慧篇 6:12-17


得撒洛尼前書 4:13-18


瑪竇福音 25:1-13


等待...
無論是在冠狀病毒檢測中心、超市、銀行或咖啡店排隊,或是等待冠狀病毒疫苗、火車、未接通的電話、送遞、生日慶祝會、聖誕節,或等候至愛的親人回家,我們的耐性一次又一次的受到考驗。有趣的是,不論理由多麽充份,每次知道要等待時,我們都會感到煩亂。

準備…
我不知道你如何,但我們當中很多人都發覺很難掌握一切:例如我們的工作或事業、洗衣、購物(誰知道自己的家人和小傢伙們可以吃那麼多=D),準備早餐、午餐、小吃和晚餐、打掃(除非我們有好像《唐頓莊園》中的那一隊僕人),孩子們的學校和課外活動,還有,當然又是洗衣。 我們家姊妹幼承庭訓,要時刻收拾好自己的東西,使我們簡樸的家保持整潔;誰知道下一個訪客幾時會出現!這些,說來容易做時難!究竟我們如何才能時常保持家居整潔,為隨時到訪的客人作好準備?

如果我們對排隊等候感到焦慮和不耐煩的話,請想像一下,得撒洛尼人以及保祿所描述的 「【那些】活著」的人等待「主來臨」的心情會是怎樣(得前 4:15)!當時,保祿寫信給得撒洛尼人,是出於對皈依的信徒表示關注,他們在異教信仰的不斷壓力下生活,面臨與日俱增的迫害(參見《依納爵天主教聖經研讀》 371)。在這充滿挑戰的時刻,保祿要加強他們的信德,並在精神上與他們同行。保祿在信中,語氣令人鼓舞,充滿希望,而不是失敗和沮喪。他不斷提醒在他的讀者中,那些「為已故親友的命運而憂心的人(得前 4:13)【既然】天主把耶穌從死裡復活並將祂帶到天堂,所以在最後的號聲響時,祂也要領那些死於耶穌內的義人到光榮中(得前 4:14-18)」(依納爵天主教聖經研讀 371)。在他們受苦和等待的時間,有一點是肯定的:天主沒有拋棄,也沒有放棄他們;耶穌基督會光榮地再來。保祿不僅鼓勵他的讀者說:「然後我們這些活著還存留的人,同時與他們一起要被提到雲彩上,到空中迎接主:這樣,我們就時常同主在一起」,但他也要求他們「為此,你們要常用這些話彼此安慰」(得前 4:17-18)。作為一個信仰團體,我們也肩負相互鼓勵和支持的責任,尤其在充滿挑戰的時期。此時此刻,我們知道這一點是肯定的:我們的希望建基於天主永不放棄或拋棄我們這個事實;祂的獨生子繼續在旅途中與我們同行,即使舉步維艱,直到祂光榮地再來。《將臨期頌謝詞一》優美地宣布:「基督第一次來臨時,屈尊就卑,降生成人,完成了祢預定的計劃,並為我們開闢了永生的途徑,使我們在祂第二次光榮地來臨時,終能獲得我們日夜期待的恩許」。(translation team’s notes: from 信友彌撒經書 香港版)

既然已經肯定基督會再來,我們該如何準備自己的「房子」來迎接君王的探訪?簡單地說,需要很大的努力和警覺,「因為【我們】不知道那日子,也不知道那時辰」(瑪 25:13)。如果我們喜歡這房子,我們必須好好地照顧它以及裡面的所有東西。我們努力保持這所房子在最佳狀態;畢竟,聖保祿提醒我們,我們的身體是「聖神的宮殿」(格前 6:19)。本週的福音讀經《十童女的比喻》,說明了準備和醒寤的重要性。儘管故事的人物分為「明智」和「糊塗」,但這不是一個關於智力的故事。相反,這是一個關於內心的故事。十個童女中有五個能小心帶備額外的燈油,而其他五個則沒有。那天晚上,新郎終於到了,「明智的」童女起來,「裝備他們的燈」,而「糊塗的」童女則爭先恐後去買燈油(瑪 25:7)。因此,「明智」的可赴婚宴,而「糊塗」的則在門外被拒絕了,「我實在告訴你們,我不認識你們」(瑪 25:12)。的確,如果我們不能生活得像我們每一天都「認識」基督,並把基督放在心中,那麼,當祂再來時,我們如何能期望基督會「認識」我們呢?如果我們像「明智的」童女,一直將基督放在心靈中,那麼,無論什麼時間,我們都會為基督做好準備。智慧不是我們智力水平的衡量,而是來自天主的恩賜,等待我們接受。 「尋覓【智慧】的,就可找到她」,而「智慧到處尋找配得上自己的人,她在路上親切地把自己顯示出來,很關心地迎接他們」(智 6:12,16) 。當我們真誠地尋求 「智慧」,「智慧」便會與我們相遇。

因此,基督內的兄弟姐妹們,當我們懷着喜悅的希望而等待時,不要失去耐性!在備受挑戰的時刻,不要灰心!我們肯定地知道,我們的朋友和老師,耶穌基督,與我們同行,亦步亦趨。今天,讓我們這個信德團體,為救主君王的蒞臨,一起來準備好我們的房子和內心。

其他文章